Rent Bayonetta for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bayonetta

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

10464 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bayonetta Review

posted by Toast288 (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Building off of the Devil May Cry, God of War, etc. formula, Bayonetta delivers an action packed experience. As far as action games of this caliber goes, it may just be the best of the lot. The fighting is a simple combination of kick, punch, shoot, dodge, so it's all about reaction time. What makes this game great is that it is refined, well paced, and has its share of epic moments where the player feels truly badass.

What lost it a point for me was the story that I didn't really care about and the music that didn't suit my tastes. Since neither of those really got in the way of the amount of fun I had I combined them for a -1. Also, having a highly sexualized woman lead and having to listen to a little girl cry, "Mummy! Mummy!" at the same time sometimes disturbed me, if nothing else did.

Tons of extras, plenty of homage to the games that it built on, and sonic rings make Bayonetta a must play game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NICE

posted by MBD (PAGOSA SPRINGS, CO) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is 1 of the best games you will ever play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyed!

posted by Lorenxana (FOUNTAIN HILL, PA) May 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well the game play is awesome her use of guns kicks a&% and the fighting is great I dare say better then DMC (the first one at least) Has for the story things are pretty obvious from the get, Though things do tend to get a bit confusing after awhile it's still a great game to play..And if your into perfection then you wanna play it over and over to get Platinum trophies all the way through. Has well has maxing out all the treasures in Rodins shop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not more then a 5

posted by orpheo (BLOOMINGDALE, GA) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had potential. I wanted to give it a chance but that potential was not realized.

Any rating higher then a 5 is a blatant slap in he face falsehood to all real good games.

Pros:
seductive sultry but not revealing heroine
cool finishers i did like those
thats about it

cons:
graphics not bad but should be better by todays standards
cutscenes laughable and arcady(sega Time Crisis esque)
gameplay predictable and not flowing well

overall just a mediocre game with unrealized good potential

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stylish

posted by pittypat24 (MAPLE HEIGHTS, OH) May 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Bayonetta has to be one of the most well formed games i have played. This is inventive along the lines of god of war. Some of the dancing gets annoying at times but other than that a good mix of combos and weapons. This game makes you think as a player and does not allow you to button mash and be successful. The fighting style makes you pay attention to the entire way through. It was a very enjoyable game and would recommend that anyone that likes video games to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Entertaining Game

posted by sportsjunk (LOS ALAMITOS, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

29 out of 35 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Great game! To tell you the truth I was a little skeptical of this game from all the mixed reviews it was getting but I just finished it and really enjoyed it. Definitely a rental because these kind of games don't have much replay value to me. The graphics looked pretty nice, overall challenging and entertaining giving it a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

outstanding!

posted by poontang (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

let me just simply say that the visuals and action keep you hooked from start to finish. story is a lil hard to follow cuz the beginning is filled with a fight scene which takes place on a falling clock tower while the narrator is telling the main tale. but that first fight will tell you how the game will turn out. i highly recommend a play-through on easy just to get adjusted to the camera angles and combo-splicing before tackling normal. oh and lastly, bayonetta makes lara croft look like whoopi gold-berg...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very nice gameplay and mediocre story

posted by Champ89 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Bayonetta has very good gameplay and controls. The game itself is quite long and just when you think its over, its not. There are a lot of cut scenes and they aren't exactly short either. Some cut scenes are live action and some are like photos or something but with dialogue. Bayonetta is a very powerful witch who takes on foes very much larger than she is, kinda like Ninja Gaiden. Is the game worth $60... I don't think so because the replay value isn't very high so I suggest renting it. Overall Bayonetta is a very fun adventure, she has some cool moves and this game is definitely worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game - Strange Story

posted by Spidey008 (KING, NC) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed Bayonetta. It was strange story, but the gameplay was fun. There were a lot of funny moments, but there are also some stupid ones. The graphics are good and but very hectic. For the most part I enjoyed my time with Bayonetta.

If you enjoy hack and slash genre give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good different game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 31, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Bayonetta is a pretty cool game. You are Bayonetta and you kill demon things (I dont know the real name of them). This game is basically a button mashing type of game. You can do combos and theres a bunch of them. You can use weapons including pistols and other weapons. You can customize things in this game inside the gates of he11. The storyline of the campaign is suprisingly good for a game like this. And you get to be a sexy lady. So its kind of like Tomb Raider. This game is very different from most, but it is a real blast to play. Theres no online, so thats one downside. But this game is awesome to play and its not boring. Try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cheesy campy goodness

posted by casey37 (HURST, TX) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Bayonetta doesn't take itself seriously at all and that's a nice change. There's plenty of button mashing goodness with replay value thrown in to net those coveted achievement points.

I'm still shooting for better scores on the first few chapters now and feel I will for some time. Definitely worth a rent if you're in for some mindless action with good combo timing requirements thrown into the mix. If you find that enjoyable pick it up like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Totally Awesome Game.

posted by LadyD37 (SARASOTA, FL) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I recently received Bayonetta, and was very impressed with the graphics, storyline, and fights. I would highly recommend this game to anyone. I in fact am planning on keeping it and adding it to my video game collection. Since I received it a couple weeks ago, I play it everyday for hours at a time, have passed the game plays very easy, easy, now doing normal.

And it is a total joy to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best action games I've played in years!

posted by Phinix (LA MIRADA, CA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Bayonetta is one of the best games I've played in years. Among the action/adventure genre, it's my number 1 pick,...ever!

Understand from the start; This game is WAY over the top!
You'll get a feel for the pace of the game as soon as your see the Prologue cinematic and watch Bayonetta's clothes get ripped off to be replaced by her hair as she pummels countless angels. It's the most shameless scene I can ever recall seeing in a video game. From that point on, you'll learn to Love Bayonetta and he sexy demeanor.

The gameplay is incredibly enjoyable. While you can beat the entire game in under 3 hours if you skip cinematics and rush through levels, the replayability has enticed me to play for over 55 hours now!... (My first run through actually took me about 14 hours, because I kept going back to get better scores and to find secret items I had missed).

Combat is perfectly done.
You may feel overwhelmed at first, but after a few levels you'll be conducting a symphony of blows with extremely gratifying results. This game pulled me in with an undeniable yearning to master it. I find myself constantly trying new moves, combinations, and tactics to improve my fighting style and am rewarded by a more and more finessed style of play. There are so many fine aspects to improve upon as you're playing that I'm beginning to think this game will never get old.

Graphics are beatiful.
As you'll read on most gaming sites, this game is best played on the Xbox 360. The only problem you'll notice is a bit of screen tearing while exploring. This doesn't occur during combat and doesn't interrupt the flow of the game. But it is there.

One of my few gripes is the soundtrack. While it's very well matched, it also gets repetitive. Playing your own music and turning off music in the game can be less than fruitful, as there is a lot of background noise even with the music disabled.

While the game has a couple of negative points, it does not prevent me from giving this game a 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by nitro211 (DALLAS, OR) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is jaw dropping amazing, the graphics, the gameplay, the cutscenes are just all around amazing. This is what Devil May Cry should have been all along, Devil May Cry is a good series don't get me wrong but this game just blows that series away.

The story mode is awesome, long story mode, it will take you awhile if you play on Normal starting out. Awesome and creative boss fights, and the voice actors were great.

One thing I didn't like about this game is that everything is way to expensive, you need a lot of money to buy things, but other then that I never noticed anything wrong with the game, once you beat it there is a lot more to do in the game. If your reading this, just know, rent this game first off on here, or if you can't wait BUY IT! you will not be disappointed if you like these type of games.

Also, I've noticed a lot of people get abut 2 missions in the game and they don't know whats going on so they quit and send it back <--- Don't be like them, actually play the game all the way through, it all makes sense, some people can't handle stuff like that I guess. Anyways amazing game, I recommend buying it, but if your not for sure rent it and it's for sure worth the wait!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

turns out, its awesome

posted by headhunter (WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I wanted to hate this game.
I didnt like Devil may cry or onimusa.
but somewhere along the way, while playing bayonetta, the unexpected happened.
The game became so freakin awesome!
Rent it, even if sceptical. give it past the boring opening tutorial stages, and it gets so over the top that it is just fun to be along for the crazy ride.
Truly a game to impress the sceptics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

much better than ninja gaiden 2

posted by alex9876 (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if you like games like ninja gaiden 1 and 2, god of war 1 and 2, and the devil may cry series, then you will like this game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent adult game

posted by LacyBlack (MERCER, PA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Wouldn't recommend letting anyone young watch because it does have alot of suggestive moments, but for adults it's a beautifully made game, lots of great gameplay and it's worth playing on all the difficulties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The pinnacle of next gen action games.

posted by savagefoe (CINCINNATI, OH) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has great style, graphics, ect, but the game play is so incredibly deep and yet really fun and accessible right of the bat. Also, the game constantly scales up in terms of epicness, creatures that you think are boss fights turn out to be common foes later in the game, and the actual boss fights will blow your mind. Thankfully, its really tough but forgiving. So you get a challenge but don't have to stomach that Ninja Gaiden BS where you have to got through three really tough segments and a boss fight without saving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Game With "Smokin' Sick Style"

posted by Elapse (WEST JORDAN, UT) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Bayonetta is the latest HOLY ZOMG DID YOU SEE THAT WHOA! Game from the Creator of Devil May Cry. This game was mind blowingly fun, over-the-top, and stylish. From kicking an Angle into a Iron Maiden to chopping one in half with a hair dragon this game will have you saying whoa every time you start the Climaxes.

Bayonetta is a amazing game with combat that is an absolute blast and a story full of humor and hurt. The artists did a great job while Bayonetta is very stylish and sexy shes not what catches your eye. What catches it the the combat. I love games that say here's a group of enemies destroy them and make it awesome. I mean dodging an attack and going into a break-dance spin of destruction flowing seamlessly into a devastating combo that destroys all that ails you.

But I'm rambling, the story goes you're a witch who fights Angles and you have serious amnesia but unlucky for the Angles you remember how to kill them quite well. The games characters all have a great sense of charm to them and they fit right in with Bayonetta's craziness.

While the game can be hard at times requiring quick reaction and skillful mashing (break out the Dews and Monsters) it is in no way too hard. There are no problems with the game what so ever its a masterful hack and slash that goes with the greats.

In short its a female Dante with a British accent and on crackspeedariods(DO NOT PICTURE THAT!).
This game gets a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bayonetta: A review

posted by MrVicchio (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

We heard about this game, and put it in our Gamefly Queue for our shiny new PS3. However, DO NOT do this, the PS3 version is the Suk compared to the Xbox360.

Now, on to the review.

If you are hyper religious, do NOT get this game. In it, you play a witch that hunts "angels" and other heavenly beings and use their halo's for $$ with an arms dealer.

I was a bit off put by this, but an article I read on the game said to look at the game from an Asian "Ying Yang" sort of view, that takes serious liberties with Western Christian Themes. If you can do that, it's all good.

The game is jarringly odd in it's style. One minute it's fluid, smooth and just a dream to watch (and play) and the next it's hyper speed over the top. Then the slow down hits and cut scenes, fully voiced over have the characters not moving (but everything around them does). It's very odd to watch.

The story is still... baffling, I have not beat it yet, so I cannot say if it's worth the effort.

The gameplay ranges from highly entertaining to maddeningly hard. I have been playing in "Normal Mode" Which you must beat to unlock the harder levels. There are times it's a breeze, and everything rolls well, and other times it's highly annoying and you get your rear handed to you. Frequently.

I have had to put the game down, take a break, and then start back up. I think there is an element of "sensory overkill" going on here. There is so MUCH going on, that your brain sort of goes numb to it all. You walk away, clear your head, and hit it back up again.

Over all, it's worth renting to find out if it works for you. (We're returning it to GF and are going to purchase it when we get the chance).

I give it 9 out of 10. Mostly for the ARt, gameplay and the story thus far.

If it HAS a huge glaring negative? The music is like... 1990 J-pop in a Sonic Game. UHG, make your ears bleed bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beyond Beautiful Awesomeness

posted by Perfec7 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

59 out of 92 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Finally, a game designer that gets the point of playing games in HD. Greater variety, easier combos, little-to-no riddiculous boss battles, everything Devil May Cry needed to be, with a hot chick to boot.

Warning-playing this game will attract spectators that will marvel at your skill and performance (truly a guilty pleasure)!!!

So if you're tired of that artificial "super-difficulty" feeling you get from games like Ninja Gaiden and DMC, and just want something fun to mesmerize your significant other and keep you both "in the mood" -then try this game.

If you want to throw your controller down like a baby and ruin everyone's good mood, or get so angry you want to pop even Jebus the mouth ('hey-zeus' in espanol) in , then try - Ninja Gaiden II, Stormrise, or Endgame with a broken mic and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent action

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros: Wonderful graphics and environments, fun action. The style is different from the usual serious Devil May Cry boredom.

Cons: The camera is constantly poring over Bayonetta's backside and bosom. I'm not a prude, but the developers come off as depraved teenagers. It gets old real fast and is a disservice to the good gameplay.

It's like they were insecure about whether you'd like the game, so they put in continual eye candy. I'm getting tired of these over-erotic Japanese games.

The cutscenes are tedious and overlong. They are almost as self-indulgent as the MGS4 scenes. There was a scene where two characters literally out-posed each for like 30+ seconds. Skip them all you won't miss a thing, seriously.

You're watching Bayonetta in CG cutscenes doing these amazing moves, and then you're so underpowered in the actual gameplay compared to that. It seems to a problem with many Japanese-made games.

The J-pop was not to my liking for this sort of game. It ran against the grain for the music my brain was expecting.

The level design felt constrained. I realize that these type of action games usually are extremely linear, but I still felt like the environments could have been opened up a bit more. I think it was due to the constant cutscene interruptions that made me feel this way.

Still, this game is superior to Ninja Gaiden II and Devil May Cry 4. If they trim the posing excess, then I'll definitely play the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

epic witch hunt

posted by jimmy00011 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

a really great game for anime and devil may cry fans, although i had fun in the beginning with it i felt like the game never ended,i know some of you might think its a good thing but there were moments where you had to fight the same bosses over and over again i found that kind of annoying, oh and i think the xbox version is a bit better since ps3 has that loading problem,a very challenging single player ( not if you have it on easy, play it on normal or higher to really make your palms sweat) the graphics are wonderful,capcom knows how to make a good looking game, bayonetta is a witch with a confusing past and loves the thrill of every battle she enters, the plot isnt the strongest asset but the gameplay sure will get you sucked in because of intense fast action enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bayonetta

posted by deadpeople (MIAMISBURG, OH) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

bayonetta is a very good game and a very good story and it is very cool that u can ride a motorcycle and play as bayonettas sister. And anyone who likes devil may cry seris u would like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like Devil May Cry, you will like Bayonetta.

posted by Gaming81 (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Rent Bayonetta if you like fast paced kung fu action that doesn't take itself seriously. The story is fun and silly with a dark tone. The game focuses on the combat and that's where games count, in its playability. So many moves to unlock and fighting combinations. After you beat the game on Normal, try to beat it on the Hard mode. Challenge yourself and try not getting hit once. That is where this game truly shines.

This game is so much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse