Rent Battlestations: Pacific for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlestations: Pacific

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

3355 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by TheZeeMan (ROSEVILLE, MI) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

55 out of 58 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This particular series is only for a few. Kids will not like this game, they don't understand it nor want to which makes it great for the adult players that play online. Most of the time (unless you are in a packed room online), you are playing from the map overview because there are so many units under your control, that you have to see what's going on with everything at once, otherwise if you just focus on flying/controlling a ship then the game seems boring to most.

The first one was fantastic and this one is even better. I do agree with one of the other reviewers that the controls are completely different which made it much easier and more fun to play, however they did amp up with strategizing against the enemy. Missions take many hours compared to the first one where it sometimes only took minutes. The AI has been greatly enhanced that even on Rookie difficulty, you will meet your match based on what scenario you play. You also never play the same game twice (possibly if you use the same strategy).

Lastly, this game is authentic and realistic. Boats and planes move slow, because, well it is 1940's. These things were big and slow, and this is the realism factor. This is not an arcade style game where your boats move 200mph and you get from Point A -> Point B in a matter of seconds. Also most people don't know how to fire from boats, so here's a hint. Few boats back then had 360 rotating turrets. Most were 180 degree and some 90/45 degree along with wing turrets which I think had a less arc than that. But much didn't change from the pirate days to WWII days, you still have to turn your boat sideways in order to use all your weapons. Plus the turrets were not practical at all, so it took awhile to move from the west to east for example. With that note, if you have patience, love WWII accurate and detailed models, real time strategizing against the enemy, then this is the game for you. It never gets dull nor did the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid WW2 Simulation

posted by gamer4real (NAPA, CA) May 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

You can tell the hard work that went into this game. The battles are deep and engaging, I found my self playing this game for hours. Tons of naval, sea, and air units to choose and customize from. If you take the time to understand the game you will enjoy Battle Stations Pacific. (B+)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent strategy and mild sim game

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the excellent presentation and History Channel style narration, the clips of WWII archival footage- this game really speaks to anyone interested in real history versus battling aliens and elves.
The direct control of the various units is very easy to grasp but still seems realistic enough to keep it from feeling like an arcade game. Each unit has a totally appropriate feel and differences are what makes the game so interesting. My only nitpick is how fast vessels start and stop- in real life it's much slower, but I understand the need on the part of the developers to make it faster.
The strategy portion is not going to be of much interest to the twitch players. But you can experiment with different tactics and have a real effect on the outcome. It actually achieves effective tactical decision making like very few console games are able.
Battles are often multi-stage affairs that keep the action evolving, and do a great job of making the use of each kind of unit involving and rewarding.
Despite the length of some of the battles, you will find yourself replaying them to do better and try new tactics. You can easily blow an entire evening playing and not even realize it's 2am.
The controls are improved over the first game and make even serious dogfighting a real joy that even a casual gamer will be able to become an ace- but without being 'trained monkey easy' either.
This might be a good candidate for purchase as opposed to rent- you probably won't finish the game end to end in a single sitting.
If your idea of gaming is twitching like you have epilepsy, then you might want to avoid this title.
If you like real history in your games, and a solid mix of strategy and action, this is a game you'll come back to time and again. I'm already hoping for new titles in the European theater where you use vehicles instead of ships.
I absolutely recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BATTLESTATIONS

posted by bigbadbear (BESSEMER, AL) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a challenging game til well i tried the mock battles and learned the 50 or so manuvurers you have to use to win some battles. Now the japanese side of this game is a little tougher for me on all leveles and yes i am still playing. You can go through on rookie with no problem and your upgrades are small and trivial but as you progress on other level your rewards are better and far more rewarding. I will keep playing this one for weeks on end just to get all th upgrades and to get through on the upper levels just to see where we go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game! easy 10!

posted by Smar19 (RUMFORD, ME) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Huge Fan of this game i absolutly love it and am really hoping for a follow up to Pacific! lets say Battlestations Atlantic? lol
My only complaints are i wish there were more Countrys/Factions to choose from like Russia/China/Germany/Great Britian etc. turn it into a world game doesnt have too be real life history after all it is a game , this game is amazing but really could be unbelievably amazing with a little more add-ons in a follow up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Sequel Ever

posted by DaReaper (LEAGUE CITY, TX) May 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The graphics are so much better than the first one. The new japannese campaine is great for extra playing time. The online play is great and the fact they added a non-online skimish mode will keep you hooked for days even if you don't have Xbox Live. If your a fan of the battlestations game, even if your not a fan you would still be pulled in through the graphics and detailing of every part of the ship or the plane. This is a MUST HAVE if you are into stratagy, action, 1st person/3rd person , or you just like to command giant armys from a stratigic map a couple thousand feet up in the sky, then this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Kchido (MC ARTHUR, OH) May 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Whether your into aerial combat or bombardment with the most well known sea born artillery platforms of WW2, your in for a treat. The game lets you play either as the American or Japanese in an RTS campaign that you can control from either the map or the hotseat of any weapon on the battlefield. I have played many RTS games but until this game most of my free time was playing turn based or shooters. When I played the demo on XBox live I was simply impressed and had to get my hands on a copy, which I don't regret because there is almost endless replay value with the campaign and skirmish mode.

Graphics are beautiful, controls are simple and the battles are won by a mix of strategy with skill. If your in the market for an RTS style game dont pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An overall fun game.

posted by SmilingCat (Palmdale, CA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game turned out to be fairly fun. The campaign is fun to play through, although I doubt I would play through again. I would like to try to play with a team of friends online where I think this game would really shine.

Pro
Game creates a dynamic large mild simulation military battles with the option to jump into any vehicle or position and fight yourself. You can often do much better by controlling a unit yourself than letting the AI handle things making for a decent trade off in that you lose control of the over all battle.

Con
On any campaign mission in which your giving a large task force and island capture missions strategy often seems to break down. Either because controlling formations and moving with the AI in control often leads to slow clusters of ships slowing and stupidly grinding away at the enemy. Other times individual units like PT boats or smaller ships would perform sub par when given a simple task. Micro-managing becomes the norm to get the AI to do what your want.

I often found I could do much better by having most of my units back out of the battle and defend themselves while I devastated the enemy using a much smaller force under my direct control. You lose the engrossing large battles in what turns into an almost one man show instead of a coordinated large offensive with multiple intermixed confrontations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very deep

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Battlestations Midway was a big hit. So of course they have to come back with an amazing sequel. And they did just that. If you havnt played the first one let me say that its not just flying around in planes and driving around in boats. You actally stradegize the map and send people out. So you can really do a lot of stuff in this game. In this game there are two campaigns. The real one where the US wins. And the what-if one where the japanise won. Both are really deep and very fun to finish. Theres also a skirmish mode that has a lot of maps and game modes to play on. The graphics for this game are really really good. Also the controls are kind of different and you have to get used to them. The controls for the plane are the left stick is up and down for throttle and left and right for left and right. The right stick is for going up and down and manuvering your plane. The boat controls are pretty basic though. The online is pretty good for this game and will keep you going longer. So overall this game is really good and fill with a bunch of stuff. Try it out today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by ryan1043 (WILLS POINT, TX) May 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is good for people who enjoy WWII history like me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

oops

posted by Zachzman (BUFFALO, MO) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

2 weeks ago i added this to my game q should of took it off yesterday because i bought the game from gamestop yesterday BUT IT IS AAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWSSSSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by daniel117 (LINCOLN, AL) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is great i loved it u get more options than the last one a scale 1 threw 10 i would give it a 10 good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by RockCity (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I'll preface this review by saying im a huge history buff and strategy game fiend, however, THIS GAME SUCKS.

I was hoping it was a "Command and Conquer" type game but it wasn't, this should be considered a first person shooter because you only control one unit.

Oh and I've read the reviews about online play, WHERE THE HECK ARE THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY THIS ONLINE. I've had this game an entire week and have yet to find ANYONE playing it online.

I should've known when I saw the purchase price at 14 bucks that the game sucked. oh well, save yourself the pain of learning to play this game (another drawback)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no where near as good as MIDWAY was....

posted by blueoakley (ORANGE, CA) May 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

While the game unquestionably ADDS more features to the game, they sacrificed the FUN factor of the original BS: MIDWAY that made it such a hit. Gone are an easy control system, easy screens and menus in game and out of the game. Yes there is more, but it is complicated and not as responsive and just not as fun as the first game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very complicated

posted by raym94 (KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game was extremely complicated and the directions given by Gamefly didn't make any sense. I would guess that if you were to buy this game it would come with a thick manual explaining how to play. The in-game tutorials were brief and didn't help much. The most annoying thing was that you literally had to micromanage each aspect of every battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by Sharkdog (CANTON, ME) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game sucks because the controls are horrible and gameplay is worst then any other airplane simulater

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a shame...

posted by theshark (HATFIELD, PA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game had soooo much potential but it falls short. The strategy and gameplay is solid but it certainly faulters in other areas. Trying to command your squads AND look at everything going on around you is frustrating and annoying. It was too difficult to try and command all your units, but the icing of the cake was how bad the AI was. I was EXTREMELY dissappointed in the game...although I do think that it was probably fun as heck on the PC. Sucks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Battlestations

posted by darksreven (OBERLIN, KS) May 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 26 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Well, I played this game! And well, it kind of reminds me of Deadliest Catch Alaskan Storm. So that's all I have to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

battle stataions pacific a game of history

posted by puffdaddy (ESCONDIDO, CA) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dissapointing

posted by kainebiker (WILMINGTON, DE) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Not as flexible as I would have liked. Gameplay was so/so. Ehhhh, JUNK IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great graphics - very little freedom

posted by scifiguy (MISHAWAKA, IN) May 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 36 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

You get several objectives in a mission, but you cannot even fire on ships out of order of your objectives. The weapons will not even fire unless you are firing on the assigned target.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Amazing

posted by kvedar12 (BURLINGTON, CT) Jun 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game has great graphics compared to the game before,new controls,much more vehicles, and more. If you like to use strategy or action or like human history and wwII this is you game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

battle stations pacific

posted by Quinnsteris123 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this is one awsome game if u love dogfights,or bombing the enemy.u are going to love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by Vincy22 (DEPEW, NY) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Im a big fan of Airplane games and this one is prolly at the bottom of my list. The planes are cool but the missions are awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game for History buffs

posted by JustinCH (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I'm a history major and I have got to say this is an awesome game and it faithfully recreates every unit and engagement in the pacific. The gameplay is fun and varied to keep you playing for hours on end. The graphics are nothing short of gorgeous and all the units are very detailed. I really have no qualms with this game whatsoever. And even if you aren't a history person you should still rent this game just because you get to shoot the big guns on the Battleships which is always fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse