Rent Battlestations: Midway for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlestations: Midway

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
5.9

3910 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Micro Management at its best.

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

30 out of 32 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Do you like RTS games? Do you like games like Battlefield 1942 on the PC? If you answered yes, then somebody up there loves you. Melt the two together and that what you get.

Battlestations:Miday is not for everyone, not even for most people. Its not going to be a best seller, its not going to win game of the year, but if it fits into your gaming niche you will be very happy. Fans of Chromehounds will know what I mean. This title is sure to be somewhat of a cult classic.

First of all the learning curve is pretty steep, and that after the hour long boring tutorial (and dont skip it, you'll regret it). You will learn everything there, from commanding units/squads, to submerging your submarines.

Like I said in the title, micromanagment is everything, and its too much to even touch on with the space im given here. Example: When launching a squadron of plans, you can selece weapons loadout and type of plane, tell then what you want them to do, then you have to tell them to land in order to reload. You also have to maintain the health of your vehicle by constantly repairing them. Someone else said it best "it like 50 pots boiling over at one time".

The graphics leave alot to be desired, but they do the job, even by nex-gen standards.

The campain is fun and challenging, but as ussual the meat and potatos lies in multiplayer. The modes are a bit limited, but its still has some staying power.

I can see myself spending endless nights battling it out in the South Pacific for along time with this game. I recommend anyone who is a fan of games like Chromehounds or even Over-G to at the least give this one a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hey, you spilled action game all over my RTS game!

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Feb 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

83 out of 92 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

One of the best things about Battlestations Midway is that you can play it your way. Many times during Real-Time Strategy games, you want to take control of one of your units and actually DO something instead of watching the whole time. That's what this game is for. You can build a variety of planes and ships and switch freely amongst all of them. You can give your units orders and then take control of a group of planes and do that bombing run yourself. It's a great mix. You can still, however, play this game as strictly a RTS if you want. My brother spends almost all his time on the tactical map screen and only switches back to the game to create more units.

The single-player campaign basically spans the U.S. involvement in the Pacific from Pearl Harbor to the Battle of Midway (hence the title). You start out with relatively little options as you only have control over one unit. Towards the end (which I'm not quite at yet), you get control of a TON of units, like 30 or 40. It's almost too much to manage, but hopefully your time with the game has prepared you enough. Speaking of preparation, I just have to mention that the training missions are beyond boring. That's probably my only real gripe about the game.

Online, this game is a blast. Like Gears of War, the most you can do is 4 on 4. Each player gets control over a Unit Generator, like a shipyard, airfield, or carrier. You have a limited amount of units you can have out at a time, and a limit to the number of units your base can make total. If you are considering this game, you can download the free online demo from Xbox Live marketplace. Playing it, I'm sure, will be a better explanation than I can write here.

A good player can play against a team of 4 players and still have a shot. Are you better on a team or better coordinating all the attacks yourself? While I would much rather play with friends, I don't HAVE to, and that makes this stand out in the multiplayer world. It's a solid 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Action

posted by 39Mustang (ALLEN, TX) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Only negative is sometimes hard to target ship to fire on, but otherwise you feel like you're right in the action! Sitting in PT boat in Pearl Harbor shooting at all the Zero's from all directions it doesn't get any better! Buy this game for sure...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than I expected

posted by SKOOT2006 (MANSFIELD, TX) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't think I was gonna like this game - mostly because I kept seeing RTS tossed around and as fun as RTS is.. it just doesnt fly well on a console and I usually end up getting frustrated rather quickly. This game is not an RTS game.. at least not in the traditional warcraft/starcraft/c&c fashion. Its way more simplistic than those games.

positives

+ The map/command screen makes commanding your units a breeze..and it makes switching between your units super easy (wish all "RTS" games had something easy like this..scrolling on a console sucks)

+ You can take over any of your units at any time..nothing like launching some fighters..then shooting at the incoming bombers with your destroyer while your planes take off..then switching to your fighters for an intense dogfight

+ Training may be boring..but the training and the first couple of missions do a fantastic job of easing you into the game and the controls.

negatives

- Could not adjust the brightness..which wasnt really a major problem..except for the cut scenes..some of them were kinda dark on my tv

- I had some major issues with the submarine controls..maybe its just me..but i found it difficult to control the subs..which sucks because thats the unit id most like to take charge of (and resurfacing for air every 5 mins is just a pain)

- Some of the missions can drag on a bit..I understand that they started you off at such a great distance at times to make you use some strategy..but seriously..sometimes it just took way longer than necessary to get into the action.

Bottom Line: Surprisingly fun gameplay. Even with the release of the sequal, the multiplayer for this game is still alive and kicking. Certainly worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How To enjoy this game.

posted by RollCallx (ANTLERS, OK) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Battlestations: Midway is an exciting fast pace game that can only be witnessed by trying it out and play the game. Battlestations: Midway is a break from the shooter style game play that is so popular, but at the same time is a good game for friend and buddys to come together and play in old WWII ship to ship combat. Battlestations: Midway the same tactic's never work, so you have to change them and find a new one ever time you play. I highly recomend that fellow 360 play give this game a try and join the fight on the water.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Danm.What a good game

posted by calijack (TRUCKEE, CA) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dudes you got to get this heck of a good game.
the graphics are great and it has a great story line. you battle though the pacific in every thing from little elco pt boats to behemoth japanese battlships.so I say you should get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by webbypete (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

excellent RTS game
i rented it and blew my mind away but i think the training couldve been less annoying
one more thing they left out some things from WW2 from the pacific.
1 the didn't include a Kamikaze plane
2 and there were some other planes the americans and japanies both had that werent included
any way these dont bother me but it wouldve been nice to be included

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY FUN and DON'T IGNORE BECAUSE IT'S AN RTS!!!!!

posted by gamemonkey (CORONA, CA) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

THis game really surprised me, when I first downloaded the demo I thought it was going to be an average game but boy was I wrong. Everyone I played with online couldn't wait till this game was out, and so was I. It's heavy action mixed with a tactical map and smart AI to make it somewhat of an RTS.

You could play commander or dive right into a
plane squad leader's shoes or a captain of a battleship, submarine, cruiser, etc. I had the most fun being a pilot because the dog fighting is very intense with a hint of realism. You could be chased while your dive bombing but then you turn off your engine so the guy passes right next to you and you shoot him down.

As I said before AI is smart, especially in planes. Once I was chasing a a bomber before it dropped it's bomb at the shipyards but then it made a steep turn and I lost it. The dive bomber was way high up but then flipped over and started dive bombing, I couldn't believe how sophisticated they were when they did this. Then the maps are BIG. It may take you about 3 mins to reach your target, or more, by ship but the excitement of me being able to fight their ships and torpedo planes was too fun to let go of the controller.

The ships also have a repair aspect, where if a gun was jammed, the ship was taking in water, or there's a fire on deck you would need to take care of that by sending men to deal with the problem or your ship would sink soon. Also when the airfield or shipyard your taking care of is is destroyed you can't spawn any more units, BUT other team mates could give you a squad or ship to take care of so you can still enjoy the action

This would make war game fanatics go crazy and leave others wanting more of the intense and tactical action.

DON'T IGNORE THIS GAME BECAUSE IT'S AN RTS!!!

You owe your self to have tons of fun playing this game, if you can BUY THIS GAME it's that fun EVEN IF IT"S AN RTS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BSMW

posted by OblivionIV (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Graphics-8.0 Not the best, also not the worst.

Sound 8.5-Explosives sound real.

Game play-8.3 Bit hard to get use to Creating the
Ships,planes. controlling.ect

Over all-8.8!

it is a fun game which sometimes can last for hours battling over xbox live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

May be fun if you're really, really patient.

posted by Dissension (EUGENE, OR) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I'd first like to note that this review is about the single player game only.

Battlestations Midway is a World War 2 game that takes place almost entirely in the air and on the ocean. You command boats, ships, airplanes, and submarines, and can generally switch between your units for precise control (rather than constantly relying on AI to do the fighting for you like in a typical RTS.)

My biggest personal problem with the game is the frustrating speed and mission length. Missions can be very difficult, which is cool, but the game forces you to complete long, multi-objective missions without checkpoints, AND without a sufficient briefing. You are only told your very first objective before many of the missions, and in my case I faced some bitter disappointment when I thought I'd finished a mission only to have it enter a surprise second or third phase that promptly killed me. And many missions start with a minute and a half of flying or floating in one direction just waiting until the enemies are actually in range.

The graphics are definitely sub-par and disappointing by almost any standards. The water looks good... but water always looks good these days. And the voice acting is pretty laughable. Especially the guy who narrates the boring training missions. He sounds like a white guy trying to imitate Bill Cosby.

I can understand and appreciate that this game will have an audience, but that audience isn't me. It's a slow and sluggish game, particularly when controlling ships. (Difficult to complain about because it's probably quite realistic.)

And in reference to some other reviews I've read: You don't really create units at all. You just dispatch them with extremely limited quantities and options. Often you'll only have one unit to choose from...

The appeal of this game is NOT in unit creation, but rather in strategic planning, exploiting enemy weaknesses by optimizing your fleets strengths, and by controlling the units yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlestations Midway

posted by slygehrett (CHILI, WI) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games i have ever played anyone who likes to control ships, airplane, and aircraft carries all at once will have fun. Don't forget about those submarines that can come up from the deep.

This is a must play. The only problem i see is the graphics..the water detail could be better and so could the land detail. The fire and smoke coming from ships are totally realistic looking.

The sound is the best and....wow! You can download this game from the xbox live marketplace or it just came out on 2/1/07. I already have it and i am telling you its GOOOOOOD!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Underrated game

posted by VinceVega (BESSEMER, AL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was blown away by this game. I wasn't expecting a whole lot going in, and it surprised me to no end. The concept of blending Action and Strategy is something that I had long hoped for, but never seen done... or done well. But they really pulled it off quite nicely. All of the ships/planes/subs are a blast to control and the strategy is easily as deep as most other Strategy games out there now.

If you're a strategy fan, I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good gameplay

posted by bobgnik (NEW CASTLE, KY) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is not for everyone, as it can be very slow, but once you are within range, it becomes fast, and quick. My personal dislike was the voice acting and cutscenes in single player. The multiplayer is also very good, as it gives you more of a challenge than facing cpu controlled ships that don't use damage control or manuever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Only On Multiplayer

posted by Garfinkel (NEW PALTZ, NY) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If i had to give the single player rating i would rate it horrible. But it's the multiplayer action that makes this game so sweet. Many people find the amount of controls horrible but for me their isn't much to learn. Since this game was rented it was hard to figure out everything without the manual but the game provided it with the strength & weakness charts as well as tutorials to teach you to use each control. I also love the fact that it allow me to not only do strategies but to jump into any ship, sub or plane i want, which is one of my favourite things to do in the game. This is a great game and i was surprised to find it had such a low rating. This is one of the few games that i would give a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game buy it and enjoy

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is one of a kind just amazing. it looks so good. its like you are right there in the battle 1942. i love sea battles and you dont see any of this kind on the home systems. battleship fights they look so real. buy this game you cant go wrong. i will always have this game. you can replay it and its still fun. i like to see more of this kind of games. enough of the call of duty war games. lets bring out the navy fights in games. i mean great battles in war war 2 on the seas. and this game even has subs. has it all great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Replay game.

posted by Bigazzkid (DELTONA, FL) Jan 30, 2009

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very fun game when you get passed the tutorial part in the beginning. Although needed the tutorial is drawn out and boring.
There is a lot of things going on in this game at once so it makes you have to keep moving. The battles are large and intense. Lots of action and fair control of the game makes you keep playing. Not to mention all the different ways you can immerse yourself in the battles. From battleships, destroyers, planes, submarines and aircraft carriers. You have total control of what is happening during the battles the game play changes each time you play. Worth checking it out if you like war games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Innovative Game

posted by socomseal (HAVERTOWN, PA) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is cool!!! I've never seen a game like this before it is very innovative. The only draw back is the story but who cares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ok game but get Bored...ing

posted by xxFoxxx (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the game but it just get so Bored...ing, hard to control airplanes (in dog fights), easy to control ship (good at least); and is a pain taking out some target on story mode with nothing but airplanes like there this one battles ship that just keep fixing itself and not dying and a fleet the attacks your base (and you only have planes to take out like 10 ships.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A good, tough, game

posted by Xanax457 (NEWTOWN, CT) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this one. It's a got a mix of strategy and RTS all rolled up into one. Be forewarned though - some of the missions are fairly time consuming, you'll end up retrying several times to get them right.

But all in all, a fun game.

I gave it a 5 because I didn't think the graphics were the best, there were OK. Also, I think on some missions the game play was just too long. One mission took almost 15 minutes just to get in artillery/torpedo range of the enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD BLEND OF STRATEGY AND ACTION.

posted by huskerian (GENOA, IL) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

as always i will go over the pros and cons.

PROS-good strategy aspect, allows you to take over any plane or ship at any time.

CONS- weak graphics, a far too short story mode.

OVERALL- just a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How to win the battle luzon

posted by peyton (Aiea, HI) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First you have to cover the bombers here is a tip head full speed toured the enemy planes and BLAST THEM OUT OF THE SKY! When you start to attack the battleship in the make sure that you sink the oil tanker to. When you start your attack on the real battleship make sure that you hit it in the cargo hold to help you (be careful though if you attack it by a torpedo it can doge it). When you get in range of the battle ship send every single plane at the battleship to help you get out of range. When the battleship gets between the two small islands that should be where it will sink.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring, repetetive, tedious.

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 27 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

I can't play this game any more. The gameplay is slow, the controls are sluggish, the graphics aren't all that great... Why it's getting all these high scores is beyond me. Even the voice actors suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Re-enact Pearl Harbor

posted by expyeb (GARDENA, CA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you are a war buff this game may suit you. It can be a little slow but there is enough variety to not totally bore you. IMHO the dogfights were the most enjoyable. As an ex-navy vet I probably got more out of the game than the average player.
A slight learning curve but not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battle stations midway

posted by haloman4 (BUFORD, GA) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I like how the producers made battle stations midway.I like how u can command a battle ship,planes,suburane

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN GAME

posted by bonceboy (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

dont DONT!!! ignore this one because it wups battle field out of the water,kills Blazing Angels,and destroys all of the Call of Duities.To me a must play...PLAY IT!!!!Best Wll game yet!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse