Rent Battleship for PS3
view large frontback

Battleship

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, DS, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
5.2

333 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

mot bad

posted by shmeegul7700 (NORWAY, ME) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

really i had my doughts a video game made from a movie but actually i was really suprised at how realistic the game looked i definatly hope for a sequel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Battleship

posted by xXShifftyXx (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I dont quite understand why this game got bad scores...

While its built on the CoD Engine the game stays unique doesnt have the same feel as a generic FPS game.

Im one to normally Stay Away from Games made from Movies but this one did well.... didnt follow the Movie Story exactly like others do.

Gameplay wise it was ok didnt really run into many issues i think my game froze once while playing it.

I played to get the platinum so was playing on hardest mode from the beginning and it wasnt too difficult there were some parts that were frustrating but over all it was fun and easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unique gameplay elements, but where's the story

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you've never played the board game Battleship, what have you been doing, but anyway lets move on. Battleship the movie is hitting theaters tomorrow May 18, 2012. Battleship the video game is based off of the movie and, while it's fun to play there's very little plot within the game.
Battleship places you on an Island in the middle of the ocean when all of the sudden an alien spacecraft comes crashing into the ocean. Battleship is very light on plot. There's hardly any character development and the game doesn't even explain what the alien spacecraft could be or what it has to do with anything. That is what blew away about battleship, one of the worst stories in a game in a long time.
The graphics in Battleship are descent, but nothing special, the scenery is descent and the lighting is pretty good. The character models reminded me of Crysis 2 which is a much better game.
The gameplay in battleship is the one thing they did very well. The shooting is solid and the movement is somewhat speedy. The campaign can be played 2 ways, First Person or Battle command. Battle command turns the game into more of an RPG that an FPS. This is what impressed me about Battleship as it reminded me of the board game somewhat.
Overall Battleship the video game is just another generic FPS with the option of RPG game play. There's not even standard multiplayer which would add some longevity to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What does it take to become a rated reviewer?

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) May 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I read a bunch of reviews still don't understand how some get TOP RATED TAG.
What you have here is a typical 3rd person movie shooter. AVERAGE Graphics. Nothing that will shock you or make you have to have, play or rent this game. In my opinion it is simply a OK GAME. But there are some troublesome things that make you wonder why be bothered.

- Weapon selection, I grade it a D-.
Only five weapons to choose from. We are suppose to believe you are in the Navy. Stationed on a Navy vessel, yet you can't find your way to the armory.

-Over all game, I grade this game a C-
The battle scenes are okay at first. Then it's the same action sequence over and over again. If you sink one Alien ship. You get the same movie scene for any other that you sink. Makes game boring.

-Storyline, Not much storyline, want more. SEE MOVIE.
-Maybe if they used a SEAL TEAM in movie, we would have gotten more weapons and better AI team members. But I grade this a D.

-Game controls, I grade it a B. Typical easy to learn.

Game is short, AI team members are typical= they stand around, get shot, offer little to no help. Little to no replay value for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Have been better!!!

posted by SoloAssaszin (DUNNELLON, FL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphic's in the game are not that good..The story mode was ok.The game play was spot on.I got to the last chapter of the story an it kept loading & loading i couldn't play it,I have to say we are in a new generation were these kind of games are more or less out dated. I dont understand how some companys can put out great graphics but chessie game play or vice versa!! I give this game a 4 out of 10,,, Its really not even worth a rent !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blech!

posted by vandal (MODESTO, CA) May 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

boring,repetitive ,stupid ,typical cheap movie game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK

posted by gregdefelice (CONYERS, GA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I can sum up my dislike for this game pretty quickly. There are two parts to play for this game. One is a first person shooter that is not that bad, which is why I gave it a "4" rating. However, the second part, you need to take control of the boats. I can't even explain how weak it is, so I won't waste your time. This game is the EXACT reason to be a part of GAMEFLY, b/c if I bought this game, I would act like the people in their commercial and bang my head against the wall. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME RENTING. Greg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok Game but has flaws

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an ok Game but it has Flaws mainly the controls i.e. the Triggers No FPS should EVER use the L-1 and R-1 as the aim and triggers I will never understand why these games are made this way PS3 Controllers are not designed for them to be this way it makes playing these much more difficult then need to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Battleship

posted by badboy3rd160 (BULLHEAD CITY, AZ) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you only get to control the ships for 20 sec at a time ! no online Battle?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly Good

posted by moose87 (PALMETTO, FL) May 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Was expecting the worst, but the the game was actually pretty decent. Probably would not buy it, but it is definitely worth the rent. Experienced a few freezes but that was it glitch wise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RTS MEETS FPS IN THIS TITLE!

posted by indocrusader (LODI, CA) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

REAL TIME STRATIGY MEETS FIRST PERSON SHOOTER in this epic rts/fps title . fans of c&c and call of duty alike will love this game. fight off invading aliens with superb tech using a commtech you can take control of various naval vessels in your immediate area to fire ordinance fight off enemy ships . steal alien guns from your adveraries , blow stuff up . great game for the price!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much better thanYouThink

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Vary fun and well made nice trophies injoyed playing it for the rain of fire gold trophie just go to last mishon and have both of your two asalt ships in the two suport spots and call..call call its farly fast just keep healing or resurrection your ships and have your good music playen to pass the time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Crashed and Returned

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) Feb 3, 2013

Member since May 2011

It is a horrible game. Built on the COD engine, it just sucks. Seriously, I rented it from Gamefly to get the platinum and it was so bad I sent it back without finishing it.

Main reason for my anger: The enemy has these launched missile things called peg bombs. After I finished the 3rd level on Hard, and during a cinematic, a peg bomb lands, but since I can't move (in a cinematic remember?), the game freezes on me. I load it back up and I have to play the whole final part over again. Ummm, no, time to send back to Gamefly. LOL, garbage bin game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BattleShip, like the boardgame only worse...much

posted by MrGamerscore (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

man i was all excited to "be a battle ship" but you walk around shooting dudes mostly. you get to control the ship but its like point and shoot all your weapons untill they die in 5 seconds. there were 3-4 guns i found in the first several levels before i quit, it was cool having artilary from the ships where ever u wanted it got old fast..... i think i played 4 levels through. bummer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh!

posted by romelloadonis (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Let me be clear, the highlight to this game is the incorporation of the grid-based Battleship game mixed with the common FPS. But even that lackluster lasts only for the first cpl of stages. There is no story at all and the game is very short. Overall this is a nice RENTAL! Although fun, don't expect much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was ok not for me

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This my game review i didnt like it it was boring and enemy pretty smart reptive. If u like games reptive this for you i hate it because you most time stop what you doing see how is your ship doing you have use the cards if u want destory the ship in battle you need wild card there other cards too. I stop level three it was not for me you guy rent it to try it me not my type of game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

battleship

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

awesome game i would definly purchase this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hit and Run

posted by x9ZachAttack5x (FRANKLIN, TN) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

You play it once, you've played it enough. I only had 4 or 5 trophies left, but it became to boring to me so 6 outta 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »