Rent Battlefield: Bad Company for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlefield: Bad Company

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.5

18840 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BF: Bad Company

posted by pillow (PALO ALTO, CA) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wonderful game
Bit Quick to complete, but realy fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bf:bad company

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing this is what fps's should be the campaign is kinda boring. but the multiplayer is awesome this game has great replay value
it never gets old. live long bad company. your only 4 years old.
you still have a long life to go. amazing in full hd

gameplay 10 out of 10

multiplayer perfect

campaign kinda boring 7 out of 10

replay value no words or numbers needed.

can't wait for bad company 3 in 2 or 3 years i know they just got done with Battlefield: 3 so it will be worth the wait. i hope.......................................................................................................................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unbelievably Realistic- Good or bad thing?

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Mar 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is without a doubt the most realistic FPS I've played to date, especially for modern warfare. You and 3 of your Bad Company soldiers fight through a nice long campaign. The story is really good, and the characters have unique and sometimes hilarious personalities.

The destruction elements and interactive environments are what sets this game apart from the rest. You can blow holes through walls to get to your enemies instead of using the door, with grenades, launchers, rpgs, c4, etc. It's awesome. You can blow up anything though, not just walls obviously---Destroying houses & vehicles watching all the bits of wood and metal fly around is addicting

There are plenty of guns to use, as well as explosives. You can also drive all types of vehicles and even control ac130 type air destroyers.

The game is almost TOO realistic for my tastes though. I thought MW2 had a better campaign, but this one's much longer and different because of the destruction capabilities.

Enemies are frustrating and can easily pick you off from cover miles away. Luckily you have infinite healing and respawning, so if you want to start on Hard it's not THAT bad.

Online play is sweet, very similar to the new one if you've played that. I only touched the surface of online but has potential and lots of replay value. Definitely a solid rent, or even buy for the $17 Gamefly says it costs me. Great FPS. Great graphics, sound, story...the works. Highly recommend.

Milt Drucker-xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlefield - Way more than I expected!

posted by Mosquito (GRAND FORKS, ND) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

56 out of 66 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Battlefield I thought would be a gimic, I saw the commercials and thought they were funny, but didn't expect much of the game itself. The campaign is fun, but the on-line play is absolutely engulfing, I am a first-person shooter fan first and formost and this game plays better than most. It is a cross between the game play of Call of Duty and Halo. Earning new weapons takes work and is worth everystep of the way. The graphics and presentation are spectacular, and being able to blow your way to any enemy through a wall is something that will set the bar really high for games to follow. This is one for any FPS collections, a true must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by XXcoltonXX (HENDERSON, TX) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! Graphics were off the hook, I mean these are the best graphics in the Battlefield series! Sound is great! I like just blowing stuff just to hear the realistic explosions! And speaking of explosions, the new game engine, Frostbite, allows a whopping 90% of the enviroment to be destroyed! Multiplayer is as awesome ever! There's even a new game mode called Gold Rush, where there are two teams. One team has todestroy all the gold crates to win, and the other team pust protect the gold crates to win. Oh and btw, this game actually has a decent singleplayer. Yes, I know, the Battlefield series is a multiplayer series, but this game has a singleplayer worth playing!

PROS:

graphics
sound
decent singleplayer
new multiplayer mode
more DESTRUCTION

CONS:

?????????????????????
?????????????????????
?????????????????????

THANKS FOR READING,BYE!

(p.s. my xbox live gamertag is GaMiNg DuDe 159)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

By far one of the best games I own

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Battlefield is for me the best war game on the Xbox 360. Yes COD I said it. I mean this game reinvents the genre! A great story, awesome characters, and destructible environments. First off Bad Co has an awesome story about a group of soldiers that hunt for gold and rescue russian president and officials. The cast of characters are great, there is a nerd, an idiot, and a strict sergeant. The voice acting is nothing short of amazing, one of the greatest scores. The real reason I love this is destructible environments. This is the first shooter of its kind that provides ACTUAL environments not some junk. Like when you fire a grenade launcher it makes actual damage like you there is a huge hole that you can go through, there is wood from the house on the ground. You can also cut through fences and cut down trees. Weapons are good but there aren't as much as in COD. Environments are great there are normally open areas with many houses with soldiers in them, sourowned by trees. There is only ONE concern, for this amazing game. Sometimes It can glitch u while knifing tree's like you push RT and you don't see the knife move but you see the impact.
Bad Co is simply one of my favorite games. I got it for $5, and if you denis this deal you just made a horrible mistake.
9.7/10 extraodinary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE BEST RPG SHOOTERS EVER

posted by cool360 (GROVER, MO) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is unlike the call of duty games because in a way it's less mission oriented. For example in air force one you don't have to stay in the helicopter the whole mission, you can get out when you want. You can also drive several vehicles, and in what other game can you DRIVE A TANK ON A GOLF COURSE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlefield: One of My Favorite Shooters

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

153 out of 185 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I just recently was able to have the opportunity to play this game. I was much hoping of the game to be quite good, I didn’t think it was going to be as great as the outcome as it was! The characters are hilarious with what they say throughout the game, different kind of humor, in comparison to Army of Two. Humorous lines & good game play.

I was a little on the shaky side of how well the A.I. would be for co-op play, I was very impressed with the smoothness & not too sensitive response when it came to healing/recovering your characters condition in battle.

Game play is easy to follow, I picked up on the hidden messages throughout the game, there are secrets throughout the game, for those who haven’t played & those that have, now you know, even if you didn’t before hand.

Controls are very simple, that’s my hardest critique of any game I play & rate. Very smooth, not ultra sensitive, just enough to fly thru battle, reload, high five your men in combat & keep on blowing stuff up! It’s a very entertaining, highly fun & addictive in my view. I hope this was helpful. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game Multiplayer Review

posted by hermz1337 (RIDGE, NY) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

34 out of 40 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

The good: The multiplayer portion of the game is immensely fun and in depth. With a full range of classes and vehicles the game allows for numerous options too keep it interesting. The new gold rush online mode is extremely entertaining yet still keeps battlefields uniqueness. The 25 different ranks and numerous unlockable weapons will keep you determined to keep playing.
Graphics are amazing with very detailed lighting.

The bad: The concept of breaking down the 12 player team into two squads is very good but not well implemented. Warning markers on map for team mates for things like air strikes and enemy spotting are not there and would be very helpful.

Overall: Great game. Just the multiplayer portion will keep you entertained for weeks. If you are a fan of previous battlefields, you will feel right at home in this installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, experience with a lot of replayability.

posted by THERExUxR (TEMPE, AZ) Jun 26, 2008

Member since May 2007

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I got this game in my mailbox, I was extremely excited. I have been a big fan of the Battlefield series, and since their last game on the console was quite good, I figured this one would be, too. Boy was I right! The single player is a welcomed addition to Battlefield, it offers depth and humor, one of the best combinations in a video game. The only thing I didn't like about the single player was the lack of offline or online co-op. Many games today offer some type of co-op, and with four people in your squad, there is no excuse as to why they couldn't have it. On to the multiplayer, wow. I haven't had this much fun online since Battlefield: MC came out! The destructibility available to you is truly an innovation. It is not dynamic, but the cover system is good enough so that you don't even notice. It is a pain, though, when you shoot a grenade at the wall in front of you and the wall to the right blows up. On the note of cover, the graphics are top notch. There are few games that can compare to the level of detail, and lack of detail once a city or village has been wiped clean by tanks and artillery. Along with tanks and artillery, there are many other vehicles to toy with, a staple from the Battlefield series. Unfortunately, the game does not let you customize your controls, so the Helicopters may be harder to fly for some people who like it none inverted. If you want a fun, exciting online experience and an enjoyable singleplayer, then this game is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Compelling But Multiplayer needs a Fix Up

posted by Pacheco (KYLE, TX) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

47 out of 63 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I highly enjoyed this game from the beginning of single player to where i am at right now. So basically if you don't know the story yet your 3 squad members are B-Company(basically convicts in the army.) that were given a second chance to do something right for your country.

You can easily tell this was built from the ground-up hence destructable trees walls etc. The missions are long and fun. Visually this game impresses with its stunny graphics and physics.

I didn't get a chance to try out multiplayer due to the refreshing servers menu to never go away and made me restart my xbox outta frustration. You can easily tell this game needs a patch for multiplayer but hey all game started out a little laggy in the beggining stages (halo 2,Army of 2, etc. etc.) So im willing to give it a 2nd chance when the patch comes out.

Also I heard there was a free download coming out called Conquest which was in Battlefield MC I Think.

So ill break it down like this
Gameplay 10/10
Visuals 8/10
Dialogue 9/10
Multiplayer ?/10
Presentation 6/10
Difficulty 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Would be a 10, but....

posted by fr0znX (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

BattleField Bad Company is a top notch single player and multiplayer MASTERPIECE, but the fact that the game freezes up way too frequently in online multiplayer (forcing a console reset) takes away my 10 score and makes it a 9.

It's THAT good, and if your console DOESN'T freeze up when you play this online, then it's a 10 !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game, played Bad Co.2 first so eh...

posted by matoya (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

first off I will start by saying that I played the second game first which is something you should never do when playing a series. But I did. Compared to the second game, this one was ok. I didn't care for the story much, although the pimped out heli was sweet..but the controls were annoying on it. Anyway, back to the reasons why I gave it a 5. It wasnt bad, infact I had been wanting to play this game for a while but didn't want to buy it because I hate buying games and finding out I hate them. But as I said in the start, I played the second one first and loved it, still play it today, but going back to the first made it not so great when comparing the two. The cast is great, dont get me wrong, and the game play is nice and simple, pretty much stright forward kill or be killed, the AI was annoying at times, but what AI is perfect right? Good game, but playing the second one first ruined it I think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good rental, But not worth buying

posted by aleksi (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As far as shooters go, Battlefield: Bad Company is a very solid game. It has almost everything a shooter should have: descent graphics, amusing characters and a fairly long plot. there is only three things that I think needs changing.The plot itself, blood and swearing. While I love the length of the plot, it seemed too transparent. It needed a few twists to make it feel more real. The reason that i think that blood is necessary is to give you the authentic feeling of actually being on the battle field. Without it, it just doesn't feel right. Same with the swearing. These are the reasons why I think this game is a good rental, but not worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What I Thought

posted by Jarrett (AMELIA COURT HOUSE, VA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was definitely one of the best shooter games I've ever played. The graphics were incredible and missions were very realistic. The only problem that i had with this game was it's length. It seemed like within six or seven hours of playing this game i had completed all the missions which was very dissappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its time to blow some stuff up!

posted by MaSaBoii (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game is super fun to play. I have played like 2 levels and it took me about 4-5 hours so the levels are long. Blowing stuff up is great and it sort of makes you feel good inside. Big wall in your way? Blow it up and make your own passage. There is even an achievement for it which I have got :D it has the super awesome theme of a war game with a humor twist that just makes it very enjoyable, trust me. you wont go wrong with this game.

BTW the online isn't up yet. no biggie. It will in the next few days. maybe even tomorrow or tonight.

Ehhh
MaSaBoii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What about Co-Op???

posted by RussTbags (AVON, CO) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why more and more games are single player! Your in a group of 4 squad mates and your telling me you can't have a buddy play with you. Oh but surely you can go online with a friend... uh no. Other than that it's a great game, I love the destructible environments but I have roommates and the last thing they want to do is watch me play a one player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Company

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

25 out of 56 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I was not really impressed with this game. I played the demo and didn't really like that, but my brother bought the game, loved it, so I borrowed it and played it for free.

PROS
-The graphics are excellent (some of the best I've seen) in certain places, but not overall gameplay.
-The game is pretty funny
-maps are huge and it seems like you can almost go anywhere
-the camera moves and the sounds seem more realistic
-multiplayer is pretty fun

CONS
-aiming just feels weird, uber sensitive (I tweaked the controls and still didn't like it)
-no cover system! (with an open field, it's really hard to be good at this game)
-tanks get really annoying because you have to find special equipment to take them down
-all the levels look and feel pretty much the same
-clumsy controls for weapons and healing oneself

Overall this game just didn't seem that solid to me. Mostly caos, where COD4 or Vegas 2 I felt like I was more in control, could tell how accurately I was shooting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG

posted by demon2878 (NORMAN, OK) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If there is a perfect game out there it has to be Battlefield Bad Company. There are few flaws when it comes to this game. This is pretty much your average first person shooter. It takes it much more farther then that though. When it comes to the story line it's great. You play as Prestion Marlo who could've been sent to jail for what ever he did (he never says what it is) but insted they send him to bad company. Bad company is where they send all the people who are sapposed to go to jail but can be used in the army. In the story you do numerous missions along with your squad which consits of Hagard, Sweetwater, and the Sarg. Redford. Baisicly you are in a war between the U.S. and Russia. Within the end of the first mission you find out that Russia has hired The Legonaire who is a mercenary who rumored to have the greatest army in the world. You go through the game trying to find all of his gold boxses that he has along with your squad who have a mind of their own. When it comes to the acctual Gameplay it's amazing. The sound affects are the most amzing that I'v ever heard. Along with that I'v never played a game that you can blow up the walls of a house just to walk in. The best part of the game is online. Well the single player is awsome the multiplayer is unimaginary. They take all the fun of the singleplayer and put it in the online multiplayer. You play a simple attacker and defender and conquest if you download the conquest add on.
So overall this game is amazing and is my favorite game. If you like first person shooters this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent first strike

posted by cherypepsi (LANCASTER, PA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

LOVED the variety of weapons in the game, though if you fall in love with one, it can be used to pretty much walk through with it. The wisecracking characters were more tame than I had anticipated, and the story line was particularly weak, considering what COULD have been in there. Backgrounds and settings, especially how interactive they were, really helped the game along, although I'd have like more of an open area to wander in, and maybe some more random encounters. Also, it could have been a boost to have something to spend the gold on, an maybe a reward for killing the soldiers other than the obligatory 'grab their gun, see if it's better than mine' routine. It became just as easy to run through, not bothering to kill as many as I could have, since there was no reward for body count. Overall, it was a fun play through, though, so I boosted the rating a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad....Company?

posted by rubey2378 (Corvallis, OR) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game, overall, is ok. Its nothing to rave about, yet nothing to complain about....much.

Pros : The graphics are great, blowing everything up is pretty entertaining for a while. Decent multiplayer, although it gets old after a while. The gun selection is pretty cool too.

Cons: The aiming in this game just doest feel fluid. I cant really explain it, but i just wasn't really satisfied with it. In single player the enemy AI can pretty much kill you with a shotgun from a 1/4 mile away, while your teammates cant kill someone with a machine gun 3 feet away. Its pretty annoying. Overall the campaign is kind of bland.

Worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best single-player FPS' I've played

posted by besieged (RENTON, WA) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, so let's face it, the quality of the single-player stories in FPS' have been going downhill for some time now; this game has, hands down, one of the most entertaining stories I've played in ages. The graphic detail is excellent and generally very smooth, with only a few very minor glitches detected over the course of game-play. The story was engaging and humorous, as were the interactions between the NPC members of Bravo One Charlie. There weren't any veiled jabs at any of the countries portrayed in the game, nor did the developers attempt to inject any political rhetoric or forced philosophy into the game which I have seen in some others recently. There weren't any particularly radical new technologies or weapons or game designs to be found here, but the game-play is excellent, generally intuitive, rather immersive and suitably long enough to be worth a GameFly rental even if you don't plan on playing multi-player, which I have not done, so I cannot rate that aspect of the game here. I can say that it was perfectly captivating to play for a fair portion of a weekend, and I found myself lamenting only a lack of local co-op or multi-player modes, though given the graphics detail of the game and need to really be able to see what's going on, this lack isn't entirely surprising, as this is one of the games that really makes me feel that my 32" LCD just isn't big enough, and superlatively pleased that I have a TV that supports 1080i. All in all, definitely worth the rental - I upgraded my account to two rentals just to get this one, and was not disappointed in my decision to do so at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BAD? OR GOODCOMPANY

posted by Blevins (BRADENTON, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok so this game is a blast with all the vehicles and upgrades and unique traits for each class of soldier. Ok so if you like COD4 this shooter will not be the same. The game itself is fun but you will not have the one on one shooting expeirience like cod4. But where cod comes short with no vehicles this game makes up for 10 fold. again its hard to place where the problem is when your shooting someone but its just different a little lagged i think. The game is super fun for a while but the limited game types online is a little irritating. The only game type there is actually is GOLDRUSH in which there are attackers and Defenders. The single player is fun and HARD is actually HARD. Game is great i think its actually a buyer but put it in your Q and try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rent It!

posted by taosphil (EL PRADO, NM) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Another Game the designer could have made a Great game - 9.5, with a little more intelligent design. Instead, we have another game that rates a rent, but not a waste of $60 bucks! What is going on with these game designers, why do they all have their heads up their butts? This one is real close to being a very progressively FUN game, but misses the mark due to small things, like no ammo when you need it, loss of fun progressive play due to poor checkpoint placement, the ability to carry just one weapon ( makes things a lot more exciting when you have more choices on what weapon to use for different situations, no extra vehicles when you stray off the path - one way to play and that's it folks! What do these brainless idiots do all day, besides play multi-player, which this game is made for. If they'd spend a little more time on the single player, they's have a great game in no time. They make less content, but think we're going to think it's a long game by making things like looking around for Gold Bars a major part of the game. When in fact it's a waste of game time, and makes the game less progressive to play. Boy, these guys missed their mark and will loss a lot of money, just because they didn't take the time to get outside opinions about their game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great story but needs work in multiplayer

posted by gametime (CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Battlefield Bad Company is a great game and can't be overlooked. It has a very funny and suspenseful
story. A fun, but not as advanced as Call of Duty 4's, leveling up in multiplayer. Unfortunately the multiplayer usually gets disconnected and lags. ALOT. Of course that can be overlooked easily considering all this game has to offer. Destructible environments, 25 levels in the multiplayer, a 24 player max server size, many vehicles, and very large maps. The achievements aren't amazing hard to unlock but some are pointless and require alot of time. For example one achievement, Manic Lumberjack, requires that you demolish 1000 trees. They really push the whole destructible environment aspect alot by the way. Their are 25 ranks on multiplayer, upon leveling up you will unlock a credit, credits basically unlock guns. Although you don't always earn a credit for every level. Their are no customizable weapons like in Call of Duty4. The vehicle controls are not so good but, for example the helicopter is virtually the best vehicle in the game but flying it takes time to master. Overall Battlefield has a very fair game play and it also revolutionized the FPS on every platform.
This is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse