Rent Battlefield: Bad Company for PS3
view large frontback

Battlefield: Bad Company

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.5

7938 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

multiplayer review

posted by omni77 (Minneapolis, MN) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

57 out of 60 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I found the multiplayer experience in this game to be absolutely unbelievable. With a few minor hitches . heres the breakdown

the good ..
TONS of destructible goodness. Buildings breaking apart nicely. The sounds of war are just what you would imagine. The weapons feel and perform nicely. Rank and unlock system are set up well , offering some very fine additions to your arsenal. Team play has a TON of potential. Vehicles of all types (land,sea,air,amhibious). Support units as well (artillery,rockets). Easy to get the hang of. Goldrush is a fun twist on the multiplayer shooter model. The smoke in the sky looks so real you might find yourself killed a few times for stopping to take in the eerie beauty of a large scale battle in progress .. and the maps are quite sizeable.

the bad ..
Voice chat support is limited to your own squad, and they are random so getting into a squad with a friend is not easy. Some weapons are a bit overpowered and some are a tad weak. only 8 maps. There is currently no mode other than goldrush (Albeit goldrush is absolutely killer fun in my opinion). Buildings dont fully crumble, they all have some areas that remain.

in closing ..
I have played many multiplayer FPS and never been very succesfull at them. This game I find myself with near the highest score on my squad any time I deliver a decent ammount of effort.

GOLDRUSH : 2 teams .. attackers and defenders. The objective is to destroy or defend crates of gold .Any member of the attacking team can harm the crates with standard weapon fire, explosives, vehicle weapons , or by walking up to it (: and placing a charge by holding O. Defenders can disarm the charge by getting to the crate and holding O. Attackers have limited reinforcements (spawns) once these are depleted the defenders win . As each set of (2) crates is destroyed the map opens further and the attackers get more reinforcements (spawns). once all the crates ( 3-5 sets per map ) are destroyed the attackers win!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not so Bad company

posted by darkfox703 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

49 out of 52 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

First off, I am not a fan of battlefield games in general. I've played almost all of them, and was left was the same experience every game....With Bad company being the exception.

What first made the game attractive was the introduction of the frostbite engine. So in response to the common question "how powerful is it really?" It shatters the unreal engine, and anything unreal 3.0 is going to hope to do. This new engine allows for the destruction of....well...anything. If you find yourself playing an assault class and decide you need a door to a building pronto, then have no fear our rifle mounted grenade launchers are here. Nearly any wall or building is subject to destruction, which makes the gameplay that much more interesting. Hiding from that big tank inside a building isn't going to work like it did in Halo. This opens up a whole new realm of tactics, especially in capture gametypes.

More often than not, these "genre defining engines" are riddled with flaws, the most common is the graphical support, that have made far to many revolutionary games look terrible. This is not a problem in B company as it looks stunning and rarely experiences framerate drops (massive artillery strikes tend to weigh you down a little)

The single player is excellently written and designed. It does suffer from the occasional cheesy line, or less than funny joke, but it makes up for it with superb single player gameplay. The difficulty is on excellent par with it's it's play types and is sure to satisfy hardcore BF players to people new to the shooter genre

The Multi-player aspect of BF games has always been it's focus,and B Company is no different. It offers dozens of unlockable weapons, but sadly, many of the weapons are hard to distinguish between performances. The M16 for example has excellent range for an assault wep, but it isn't very noticeable in gameplay. The other issue with the multiplayer derives from its massive scale, which causes frequent lag.
Def worth the buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good-bye call of duty....

posted by silyrabbit (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

27 out of 30 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

After playing just the demo of battlefield online, I had to take my copy of COD4 (which I LOVE btw) and trade it in to preorder Battlefield. Other than crowded servers, I can't find anything that I just don't like about the game. The ability to interact with the environment i.e. mowing down trees with the machine gun on top of the tank, or blow the wall out of the side of a building w/a helicopter only to reveal three enemies hiding behind the wall begging you to shoot them :D, is awesome. This is my first foray into the battlefield arena. I've played many FPS', but for me it's #1 on my list. It's a very fast moving watch your back, and your buddies back kind of game. Multiple maps and 5 different classes to choose from each with seperate "special" abilities that when "well played" requires a good amount of teamwork. i.e. the support class "tagging" a tank with a laser so the demo class can lock on a missle. A medic frantically chasing his squad down tossing first aid kits to keep the drive alive.
I can ramble most of the day about how much fun I've had. I guess the only drawback I've really found is trying to find enought time in the day to squeeze a lil more Battlefield time in.
Sooo if you dedcide to try it, look for me online, sillyjackrabbit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I only played campaign and it was HORRIBLE!

posted by GF_casualgamer (MANTECA, CA) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seems like people like this game for the online multi-player. I only play single campaign, so my review is based on that.

I had to stop playing the campaign. The missions are short and there's long cut-scenes that are BORING and POINTLESS. The characters try to be funny and there's hit and miss. But after awhile, I hated the cut-scenes and there were way too many. It interrupted the game-play. I suppose if you just want to F around in the game and blow up stuff, this may be your thing.

Not for me though. I want a good linear story. Graphics are nice and movement/controls are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ever wanted to play a game based on Kelly's Heroes

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Jun 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

or Three Kings for the younger set, well here's your chance. If you know anything about those movies, or seen any of the trailers for the game, you know this is going to be a very irreverent FPS. Frankly after the numerous Tom Clancy and CoD games and clones out there it's about time. My only experience with the Battlefield series was BF2 (on Xbox), and compared to that (with the switching between characters on the fly and going for a more realistic battle setting) this is nothing like that. It's also nothing like the other squad/tactical shooters out there, as you have no control over your squad's movements. However that's no reason to give this one a pass. If you like shooters this is definitely worth renting, after all if nothing else there's ton of gold to find ;)

What you do have are explosions, an almost fully destructible environment, explosions, a good variety of weapons and some vehicles (one very unique one at that, mentioned below), explosions, explosive barrels about every 20ft which yield (did I happen to mention) explosions :D The levels themselves are very straight forward. The controls are typical FPS layout so there's little learning curve. The AI could be better but is acceptable. The graphics and effects look great. The cut scenes, even though they are skippable, have been amusing enough to keep me watching.

The only reasons I didn't rate it higher are because the sound didn't really thrill me. By default you start in "Hi-Def" and you have the option for "Home Theater" (or something like that, I guess the book explains more) but even on presumably the best quality the surrounds weren't doing much. The standard walking pace was a bit slow/sluggish. Finally I also wish they designed the other squad mates to drive the vehicle while I shoot.

Despite those minor flaws, so far I have thoroughly enjoyed the game. I mean what other game is going to give you the opportunity to assault a fortified position in a golf cart :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than most combat games ... w/ potential

posted by thamuffins (PAWLING, NY) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

first off, i am NOT a fan of military first person shooters or multiplayer combat games, but i thought this one had some humor and some promise.

to me it seems they were billing this game as not your average serious military endeavor... like "stripes" meets "call of duty". the plot was enjoyable, at times the writing fell a bit flat and needless. while the characters were quirky, i'd have liked to see them more "off the wall"

being a complete first person shooter novice, i chose the easy level and finished the game in about 6 hours. now i did enjoy the open playing field, allowing you to outflank your directives and not be forced to go straight at them or forced in a particular direction. (as opposed to many of the call of duty scenarios)

there were some "reality" glitches. several times i would take out a shack, demolishing a structure with an RPG only to find that the enemy within was immune to the strike AND subsequent missiles. (how does one survive repeated hits like this?). they would only go down with a rifle, not a grenade....

no doubt the (nearly) destructible environment, as well as the variety of weapons, made for some fun whoopin'.

perhaps they can take this concept to the next level and twist it even more into a more "adultly" irreverent title. (hear that rockstar?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This rating is based on single play only

posted by Mark22036 (WILLIAMSON, NY) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I had this game, noone and I mean NOONE
was playing online. I wonder if the servers were down that day or something.

The single player version of this game looks good.
But if you a Rainbow Six or Metal Gear player, you are going to be frustrated with the controls. You cant take cover on walls in fact, I found myself continuosly dying because there is no way to take any kind of cover. The fact that the walls can be blown up, is fun at first, but it becomes just another thing. note on that.. I put C4 o the back of a tank, and detinated, and it did nothing. While this game might have some good points, if you like Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six, or Call of Duty, this game may just frustrate you .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlefield: A Great Game!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just recently was able to have the opportunity to play this game. I have it for both systems too. I was much hoping of the game to be quite good, I didn’t think it was going to be as great as the outcome as it was! The characters are hilarious with what they say throughout the game, different kind of humor, in comparison to Army of Two. Humorous lines & good game play.

I was a little on the shaky side of how well the A.I. would be for co-op play, I was very impressed with the smoothness & not too sensitive response when it came to healing/recovering your characters condition in battle.

Game play is easy to follow, I picked up on the hidden messages throughout the game, there are secrets throughout the game, for those who haven’t played & those that have, now you know, even if you didn’t before hand.

Controls are very simple, that’s my hardest critique of any game I play & rate. Very smooth, not ultra sensitive, just enough to fly thru battle, reload, high five your men in combat & keep on blowing stuff up! It’s a very entertaining, highly fun & addictive in my view. I hope this was helpful. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bad Company isn't bad.... but good.

posted by Nemesis28 (Poughkeepsie, NY) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bad Company is an extreme short game. Its singleplayer can easily be beaten in less then 2 hours.

This game may be a turn for the better of Battlefield games to come.

Its singleplayer may be short but its a load of fun. Blowing things up and watching the physics work it's eye shattering magic is certainly something to awe at.

The game certainly brings alot of the old weapons, and classic traditions of Battlefield back to both the singleplayer and multiplayer but also adds alot of new stuff. The squad based combat is one of these new things but while sometimes your comrades help you, the majority of the time they are prove to be useless. They just run around and sometimes even get in your way.

The difficulty of the singleplayer game is extremely easy. Health is only a swap of a weapon away. A simple injection will restore yourself to full health and can be used infinitely. The only thing stopping you from constantly doing it is a timed reuse of the injection. But, as long as you have cover - its not hard to wait.

Multiplayer certainly is STILL the main thing going for the new battlefield game. Its still the best thing in the game. Its alot of fun and will keep you entertained for at least a week. It takes on a Call of Duty 4 style of unlocking weapons and leveling up and perfects it.

DICE says for the multiplayer they will be bringing the classic style conquest mode to Bad Company soon which will further increase its life span.

Im not exactly sure if I recommend someone buying this game. I DO recommend you rent it from Gamefly right now. But the life span of the game doesn't exactly justify its $60 price tag. The $45 price tag Gamefly lets you keep it at the time of this writing is certainly a GREAT deal but, whether you should buy it or not is up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatt

posted by henryandre (TOPSFIELD, MA) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a mixture of the great shooter of cod4 and the tactics of rainbowsix: vegas2, it has an addicting story that is also funny with great online play as well. the graphics and weapon choices are fantastic. get this game and u wont regret it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok game not so great grapheks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Call of Duty Rip Off!

posted by Zademan22 (MILFORD, MI) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is completely horrible! The gameplay seems unstable and underworked. The grapics and sounds are OK. I do like, however that the evoironment is a completely live atmosphere that is completely destrucable.

Pros:
Live Enviroment
Graphics & Sounds

Cons:
Gameplay
Mechanics
Storyline

Zademan22

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game that deserves it's sequel.

posted by EvanCD (BERTHOUD, CO) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Battlefield: Bad Company is a fun game, but not extremely worth buying. I could say that it's a amazing military game with no flaws, but thats a lie. The vehicles are clunky, the AL is pretty good; but EDGE could have put more effort into them, way too short to buy anyways, and the guns don't really feel like their meant for this generation of games. But there are pros, so don't be worried about this being a terrible game. The enviroments are beautiful, the multiplayer is average, and finding all of the guns and getting all the trophies is fun too. Destroying the enviroment is cool also.

So I would say this is worth my ratings, but you decide youself. (In other words, rent it or try it someway else.) So, read on fellow renters, and may my review help you!

Pros=

+ Beutiful Enviroments

+Destructable Enviroments

+Good AL and average multiplayer

Cons=

- Clunky-handling vehicles

- Guns aren't that good

-Only worth a rental= EDGE goes bankrupt. =(

- Short. Very, very short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good War Game

posted by kingdeej (GLENSIDE, PA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ya know, the problem with most shooting games, especially involving war, is that the developers don't give us in depth characters, characters that that the gamer has a reason to care about. When they do it, it makes the game more interesting, which is why games like Call of Duty 4 is considered one of the best, arguably the best. The characters of Battlefield: Bad Company are just fun to follow. I find myself laughing at your buddies Haggard and Coldwater while shooting the enemies the entire time.

Overall, the game is a lot of fun. Blowing up stuff, funny moments, one of the best sniper controls I've seen in a shooting game, and a awesome story. Plus, for lazy gamers, if you die at some point, it restarts at the last checkpoint, BUT all the enemies killed before you die stay dead. Perfect! Plus, my favorite thing that most games don't have, the ability to fix your vehicles, i.e. your tanks.

BUT....the game has flaws. The AI can be completely useless at times. At some points, you'll think you're the only one killing enemies....that's because you are. You'll find the AI staring off into space at times in the middle of battle. The AI does has promising moments still, like explosion-crazed Hagged will come through with some good rocket launcher shots.

The Helicopter controls were a bit sketchy, I also did feel like there were some bugs near the end of the game (enemies not showing up on radar, sniping enemies in the head and they don't react, etc.).

BUT...if you like war/shooting games and enjoy the story like I did, you will manage to look over these things. Definitely worth a rental, if you have the money, worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gold!!

posted by invincible (MONROVIA, IN) May 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best first-person shooter games on the market right now. A great (And funny) storyline, incredible Multiplayer game modes and ranking systems, great weapons, and awesome destruction effects make this game great. The only reason this game did not get a 10, is because the gameplay gets a little repetitive after 4 or 5 levels (There are only 6 in the game. But don't worry, they are very long). This is a great game, and definetly worth the incredibly cheap price of $20.00

I hope you find this review helpful, and love the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Hit for the Battlefield franchise

posted by ninefaces (BEAVERTON, OR) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been playing the Battlefield games since Battlefield 1942 was released. I got so hooked on it that I bought every Battlefield game for the PC on the day of release. I couldn't with this one because I didn't have a PS3 then. However it was the first game I bought for the system when I did.
I loved that this was the first Battlefield game to have an actual single player campaign, and also the fact that it was the first Battlefield game to have destructible walls. It was always amusing playing the previous titles and a wooden box or picket fence could stop a tank round. The best part of the destructible walls is that you can't sit with your sniper rifle hiding behind a wall only to occasionally pop up and pick someone off. No one is safe now.
My only complaints are is that unlike previous titles there are no longer fixed wing aircrafts, you also can't choose the server you want to go into online and I still haven't figured out how to use the voice chat in game with my headset despite seeing others talking and the game advertising headset use.

The storyline is really fun. It's not too deep but the voice actors are top notch. Haggard and Sweetwater make me laugh so often that I get distracted by their bantor quite frequently. Sarge really reminds me of Dennis Haybert of The Unit. I am hoping to see Haggard and Sweetwater return in Bad Company 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shell Shocked

posted by bluelou247 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an entertaining game but if you've recently spent time playing Call of Duty you may get bored quickly. Destroying buildings was a nice touch but between yours and your team mates virtual immortality, you'll find it quite easy to run through...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's fun until it isn't.

posted by GAMERPLUS (MILTON, FL) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

EA's attempt at another shooter, BC, was well intended. The controls were good but your character's movements aren't as versatile as in other shooters. Graphics are fine, not bad, not great. Sound is good. Accurate sound effects for weapon fire.

This game is all about the plot. They didn't diversify the levels. Every mission feels the same. You run towards the triangle on your map, shooting enemies along the way, blowing up buildings, checking rooms, picking up weapons, blow some armored vehicles up, meet at the red smoke. The dialog is ok, but gets repetitive for example, "I'd hate to see you on a bad day."

I found myself feeling like I was playing for no reason. I wanted to find out the rest of the story, but felt monotony of the levels getting to me.

The good thing is the game as very flexible. You can ride any vehicle, fix vehicles, blow up any wall, and go almost anywhere.

If you like a slightly mindless shooter with some innovative qualities, and don't mind repetition, this game is for you. If you're hoping to get a COD4-like combat experience, don't get your hopes up. Online play is not as fast as COD4, but also has it's innovations.

Bottom line, this game is better the bad, but not great. A must rent because you may love it or hate, depending on the type of player you are. Rent it first, to see if it suits you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Future Hasn't Quite Arrived

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

BC is energetic and addictive. The Frostbite engine seems custom-made for the PS3: nowhere is this more obvious than in the beautifully destructible environments that you've probably heard so much about. In the end, though, I was a little disappointed.

AUDIO
Sensational. Gunfire, explosions, crumbling buildings, revving vehicles - the sounds of combat are truly "in your ear."

STORY/SQUADMATES/VOICEOVER
The storyline is forgettable, and the implausible, anticlimactic ending really mars what's already a pretty brief singleplayer experience. Your squadmates have their moments in terms of witty banter (watch the cutscenes where they play "Rock, Paper, Scissors"), but you won't get attached to them, as you find out during your "lone wolf" mission. Some of the dialogue is truly repetitive and grating.

GRAPHICS
A mixed bag. Yes, being able to destroy literally EVERYTHING is a liberating experience, but the visuals themselves are inconsistent. Your squadmates are well-detailed, but enemies are just so many clones of the same figure. The landscape has some nicely done rolling fields, woodland patches, and stone outbuildings that look like they came right out of a watercolor, but there are also plenty of dull, blocky mountains and rivers, and the vistas have little depth to them. A monotony broken up by occasional industrial/storage facilities. 90% of the structures you enter are completely empty duplicates of each other.

WEAPONS
Rich variety - crisp, vivid. Everything from handguns to bazookas to guided missiles...this is one of the great features of the game.

VEHICLES
A good assortment of tanks, jeeps, boats, armored cars. The helicopter mission tested my patience with what's otherwise a fine control scheme.

Rent it and enjoy the chaos, but don't expect the destructible environment to compensate for the game's shortcomings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's not bad

posted by Profane (SEAGOVILLE, TX) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm not heavily into military games, but Call of Duty 4 sort of dragged me into them. That said, Battlefield: Bad Company plays a little more like an FPS with an almost turn-based style to it. You go from one objective to the next, blasting the same kind of enemies, fulfilling the same kind of tasks. The silly dialogue helps chase some boredom away, but it's really just a time-waster game.

Online multiplayer could be great, except that few people have headsets (making any team strategy impossible) and even those that do end up with massive audio glitching. There's also the occasional you-will-die 30-second freeze. If it weren't for the lack of team strategy, however, online play could be really fun. (Assuming over half your team doesn't run AWAY from what they're supposed to be defending.) The destroyable environments make for really interesting fights, and hiding in a corner near a gold crate, waiting for an enemy to stupidly run at it provides a lot of amusement.

Battlefield: Bad Company is, more or less, a much lighter military game than Call of Duty 4. If you've already played through most PS3 games, this is a good game to fool around with. It's just about shooting enemies and occasionally blowing things up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow

posted by YuRmAiNhOe (GREAT FALLS, VA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When I put battle field bad company on my game Q, I was truly excited, but when i played the game i was less than satisfied. The graphics are nothing special, and the game play is fairly solid, but through out most of game, YOU DO THE EXACT SAME THING. 75 % of the missions are the exact same thing, and after 15 minutes of the game you will get tired of it. I don't recommend this game to anyone, except people who love doing the same thing throughout an entire game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but weak in areas

posted by Fire215 (COTTONWOOD, ID) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Like I said the game was good but weak in areas. Online was fun to play, getting into tanks, Helos, Hummers, or what ever else to drive or fire like big guns. But the problem with both online or game is that every weapon you get can not shoot through walls. Give me a break here, You can't tell me that a 60 machine gun or a high powered 50 cal sniper rifle can not shoot through a wall. But if you want to jump into a tank you can blow the s#%t out of buildings, but to kill the bad people you have to shoot them dead on to kill them. It was fun to play, it only took me 1 and half hours to go through the game. Sounds were ok, the rest was ok to fair. Intil they come out with something better and more real life I'll stick with my COD4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Action, Lousy Gameplay

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The graphics and animation are top-notch, with destructible, realistic environments. The missions, however, are repetitive and tedious. "Go to this one village that looks like all the others. Kill everyone. If you die, respawn and kill everyone. Repeat for next 20 missions." If a pretty but totally repetitive shooter is what you're after, this is for you. Otherwise, pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad game, decent online

posted by andrewhose (MARTINSBURG, WV) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What was EA thinking when they made this game? The respawning in the middle of missions is so stupid. Since you respawn, you often have to run back to where you were and the enemies are already dead since you killed them the last time. The game becomes very easy and boring. Online is decent. Get tom clancy or cod before this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Challenges COD4 for best FPS on a console

posted by illest (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You know, I hear people run their mouths about games like Perfect Dark (N64) and Halo (XBOX) talking about best FPS of all time. I just don't buy it. The current gen will ALWAYS be better, IMO. Now, that doesn't mean that EVERY current gen FPS will be better than EVERY predecessor. It simply means that ground breaking only matters to me within the context of now. To be fair, I still love games like Perfect Dark and Halo, and I believe that, at the time of their release, they represent some of the biggest FPS blockbusters, but I will never prefer to play a game with inferior graphics regardless of the ground-breaking gameplay and such.

With that out of the way, COD4 has occupied my PS3 for some time. It was the first game I ever rented from Gamefly and one of the only FPS console games that I ever felt a need to finish the single player campaign. As with most games, the first day or so is fun, but their flaws show through quickly. COD4's engaging single player campaign and wildly fun (read: addictive) multiplayer experience spoiled every FPS game I've played since...until now.

I had been excited about Bad Company for a while. I was excited about Haze, but it was a POS. Army of Two was an interesting concept, but the controls and story wore thin. MGS4 is an amazing game for fans of the series, but as I am not one, I haven't played it since the first hour. I approached BBC with a certain level of trepidation. Playing the online demo from the Playstation Store assuaged many of my concerns. It was certainly the best demo I had ever played. Well, the actual game didn't disappoint.

I've played a fair amount of the single player campaign and a good bit online. The characters in BBC are some of the best written and voice-acted for a FPS. The chemistry (no, not alchemy) in this group of four keeps the game fresh and interesting. From combat nerd Sweetwater to redneck Haggard, the cast, graphics, and gameplay keep me coming back for more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse