Rent Battlefield: Bad Company 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlefield: Bad Company 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

20336 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a blast!

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

58 out of 60 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

In Bad Company you play as Preston Marlowe throughout the campaign (except for the first mission which is a prelude of sorts taking place during WWII). Marlowe is a member of 'Bad Company' alongside Sweetwater, Haggard, and Sarge. Each character has an eccentric personality of their own that develops throughout the campaign and by the end you'll feel that you really know the characters. In a way the campaign has two stories, the small scale story of Bad Company (and their interactions with each other) and the larger scale story that Bad Company plays a role in.

One of the best things that Bad Company 2 does is provide a variety of missions. Each mission has a character all its own, from the environment to the way the mission is carried out. There are plenty of driving missions in a variety of vehicles and they all behave differently. You'll command jeeps and four-wheelers which are a blast to rip through the environment in, and you'll also control tanks and helicopters. Beyond driving missions (or driving parts of individual missions) there's even more variety. In one mission you're separated from your squad in a snow storm and not only have to fight enemies in near zero visibility but you have to keep warm to avoid freezing to death. You do this by running into buildings or shooting explosive barrels to survive.

Another unique thing about Bad Company is the destructibility in the game. Practically everything you set your eyes on the game can be destroyed piece by piece. You can blow out the walls of buildings one by one until the collapse, you can blow out windows taking away enemies' cover, you can even shoot down trees, guard towers and water towers which can fall onto other things causing even greater destruction. Note, however, you're not the only one with destructive power, your enemies can do the same to you. This makes things much more interesting especially when the wall you were hiding behind is blown apart by 50 caliber machine gun fire.

Incredible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Feels New

posted by Liberated8 (PALMYRA, PA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

182 out of 208 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you haven't played the first battlefield game, whats wrong with you!? The game looks the same and keeps some of the core elements from the first one. feels like there is indeed more destruction and enviorment interaction which is saying a lot as it is what really made it stand out. It's still no Red Faction in terms of destruction, but is realistic.

The class system is all switched up with some new weapons and special gadgets. There is no more specialist class. The C4 went to the sniper, and the Guns to the Engineer. It feels more balanced this way. And instead of picking up ammo or med kits you stand near them, making it more group friendly.

My favorite new gadget is the Defibulator, it will bring dead comrads back to life if you get to them in about 10 seconds. Invaluable to attackers and defenders alike. The helicopters are still powerfull but not overbearing like they felt at least to me in the first one. (I still can't fly the dam thing though they did make it easier to control)

Overal - Great game, The first battlefield got me off halo and havent touched it since, and This one is going to do the same for me with Modern warfare 2.

1-10 (1 being worst and 10 the best)
Fun Factor- 10
Graphics - 9
Longevity/Replay Value - 10
Audio - 9
Online Play - 9 (still can only speak to your squad, some may love this some may not)

-Liberated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

makes you forget about call of duty

posted by NinjaPat (BEDFORD, OH) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

this game is way better than the first bad company..its campaign missions are call of duty short and it really opens up to using a variety of weapons to get each level done and there are weapon stash boxes laying around each level so you can swap your weapons at any time...the first person view you get when driving vehicles is pretty intense cause you actually feel like you are driving...my favorite part about the game is the online multiplayer..bad company 2 has a super addicting multiplayer but a little annoying at times because people will just constantly stay in tanks or helicopters but that brings the joy of c4 and an rpg :). the game also makes fun of modern warfare 2 in the campaign which makes things more interesting...although my review may not be very good, im greedy about my war games and this one really got me hot and bothered in a good way so if you like war games, you should definately check this one out cause it will definately knock your socks off and maybe even your underwear to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So much fun!

posted by RevHazlett (DEER PARK, TX) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Single player is ... well, single player. Story is pretty well written and the locations are fun. A bit over-the-top sometimes, but still entertaining.

Multiplayer is where this game is so great. While the game itself is getting on in age, there is still a decent mix of high level and low level players, so the matches are usually fairly well matched. I really didn't care for how so much of the game is premium DLC's, but otherwise it's highly addictive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection!

posted by TXsucks (HOUSTON, TX) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2009

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Hey, all of you MW2 players who are tired of getting killed by hackers and glitchers I have found your game! This game has a great everything. The campaign is great kinda short but still good) and the multiplayer is also amazing nearly no lag in any of the games you play the unlocking of weapons as you use a certain class keeps you wanting to play this game constantly. And in addition they have revamped everything on this game the graphics, gameplay, sound, and controls. They have made this game very fun and its non stop action multiplayer experience will have you playing it for hours at a time. This game is a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BattleField Bad Company 2

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a great game that requries you to think where to go and who to shoot stragetically. It allows you to do muliptle missions in one area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST MULTIPLAYER FPS EVER!!

posted by TexasBrad (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I have always been a COD bum never even acknowledging that any other FPS existed because I was set in my COD ways. One thing you must all know is that the sigle player experieance you get from COD is unmatched and is the best in my opinion. Battlefield BC2 was and has always been a multiplayer game first, meaning they designed the game with massive maps and lots of people playing against eachother in a field of war. I am a Multiplayer kind of guy always comparing myself to other (humans) abilities rather than following some story line that eventually meets in the same place which is to predicitable for me. Anyhow, BBC2 compleatly destroys COD in multiplayer abilities making COD seem like kindergarden and boring as dirt. The level of complexity just from a programing stand point alone is enough to wet my whistle and make me wonder when the next one is comming out. If you like tanks,apachies,hinds,hummers,jeeps,armored cars,bradleys and all the russian variants then BBC2 is your game, you can drive and use every single vechicle in the game. The enviroment is compleatly at the mercy of your distruction you can destroy buildings, houses, barricades,look-out towers, something COD can only dream of and hope they can incorporate in their next installment "black ops". If your a PVP'er then you deserve this game so don't cheat yourself playing COD and wasting your life =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MW2's Online Experience Overtaken!

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

80 out of 100 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I want to say that I never played BC1 other than a demo. So this isn't a very biased review of the game. I hope I can help people "on the fence" on getting Bad Company 2.

The story isn't special (single player), and just like MW2, you shouldn't get this game for the single player aspects. Buy or rent this for the multiplayer, because the single player is rather short (6-8 hours) and unrewarding due to no buildup. It's longer than MW2's, but still, it really will not give you a feeling you are playing a full game. I will say that it's more fun to play BC's campaign (too me) than MW2's. Happens to have more action in it and the environments are fantastic. MW2 doesn't come close to BC2 in terms of destructible scenery and objects (houses, etc..).

Controls: It's very easy to pick up and play. They don't grill you to be annoyed at first, they really took their time to build the controls and the system right and this is the best I've ever experienced in a console FPS game.

Now to the good parts that you should be buying this game for! Yes, the multiplayer. You pretty much choose a class and they have guns and such you can choose/customize from. With classes, they have "perks" which are just extra guns and equipment you earn as you play along (better you do, obviously). This is just like MW2, but these perks also include perks for vehicles which is unique and rather cool/fun to mess around with.

Gameplay: In the game, it's based off of 24 players. Playing this game is different from Modern Warfare 2. For instance, you are pushed more into teamwork based online gameplay which makes this game so great. It's hard to Rambo objectives. While MW2 seems to have people running around endlessly, or hiding in a bush so they don't die. BC2 ditches that mindset with unbelievable online structure, that is easy to understand and fun to play. Their are multiple online modes, so if you like FPS games, this is for you!

OVERALL = 9.2/10 (Great controls, multiplayer; Better than MW2's)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not like the rest

posted by mx1080 (BEDFORD, TX) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

There are a few things that make this game different then all the other shooters like the CODS or some other ones. Features like having kits instead of individual guns that you need to get unlocks on. And the fact that in the kits you dont have to have the weapon that is what the kit is for. For instense the Recon kit is for snipers but you can have a shotgun on it instead but still get kills for that kit which makes it a whole lot easier to upgrade and get promoted than in MW2. Pardon me for only talking about the multiplayer but i really only played the multiplater. The Campaign is much like the first, by that i mean that its all objective and shoot and run. Of course the destructo effect is still here from the first one,by destructo i mean you can explode random stuff.

So all in all its a game worthy of buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield Bad Company 2

posted by soysauce20 (KINGSTREE, SC) May 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great game!! Single player campaign is extremely fun. Yes it is harder than COD 2, but that is what made it so fun. Multiplayer is extremely fun. Graphics are not the greatest but they are not the worst in the world. Bad Company 2 makes it harder to kill your opponent. Although I believe they could have leveled out the abilities with the medics. I dont believe it is that fair when you have a fully auto rifle with a hundred plus rounds in it. But overall I give a 10 for gameplay and story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield rocks

posted by Ornate24 (BRONX, NY) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game was relly great I enjoy playing it. And the story line was hot!!! ¡Thanks to gamefly! They working hard, and doing great job by sending people's inQ's disc. On time, I appreciate that...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Done with MW2

posted by Redsock76 (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Blows away MW2 for the simple fact alone the maps are HUGE. Accomodates any type of playing style be it sniper or run 'n gun. Great graphics, weapons and vehicles. Not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bad company 2

posted by Colbyshane (PEMBROKE, GA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I rented this game to be bad for the fact i didnt like the first one very much, But when i finished playing i have to say maaaaan was i wrong haha it perfected everything that bad company 1 didnt do right at all but instead kinda went with a mix of everything that i never really expected battlefield to really boost up on

Graphics - 5/5 - the graphics are amazing in this game thanks to the frostbite engine

Story - 4/5 - i was lost at some points but after all still a great story

online - 5/5 - its just perfect i actually like it more than the popular modern warfare 2 for the fact that the gameplay is great, big teams, and less annoying hackers, boosters, and glitches

after all i say this is a 10/10 so RENT THIS GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No Modders

posted by Tomcatguy (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

While this title may not have the backing that MW2 has, I love the fact that there are no modders.
Also, as with most EA shooters it has a better array of map sizes. There a definatly the close quarter combat maps like MW2 but there are also so VERY expansive maps to have fun with the vehicles and to have some real sniper fun (so long as you find a match that doesnt have 10 people on sniper already).
All in all its a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Go Effin Crazy

posted by purplekun (WEST HAVEN, CT) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a game to kill lots of time, this is the game for you. It's addicting.
There's so much action and excitement which draws you into the story. First off, the single player is hilarious. The characters themselves make the story complete. The single player is much better than CODMW2, but the multiplayer is quite different. It's very difficult to adapt to, but after a few rounds, you get used to it. Instantly, you're hooked - trying to unlock all of the weapons and perks so you can dominate in the game. Then once you do, it's freaking awesome. It's sooooo satisfying to get the enemy's head in your scope, aim, and bam. Bullet right between the eyes. I'm a very picky critique, but I have to give a lot of respect to this game. Not only is the single player an amazing game, the multiplayer itself is just as fun. You NEED to rent this if you're into fps games. I may even buy this if it continues to be so fun.

The downsides are that...well, the game is hard to get used to. You'll find that everyone appears to be a lot better than you at first, but once you adapt to the strategies, you'll absolutely love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Move over MW2! BC2 blows you up!

posted by jreid2488 (SALEM, OR) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this for the last couple of days and I can say that this game is so much more realistic and just all around better than MW2! I had a friend tell me one time that battlefield is much more realistic and that there is so much more to do in Bad Company and I thought he was crazy. I am now the one eating my words because this game is heads and shoulders above mw2 in the multiplayer! One person can't end the game with a tactical nuke because there is no killstreaks and this is what makes the game more real and a lot more fun. I recommend this game to any fps fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE WAR GAME, A PERFECT 10

posted by gamer1488 (CHICO, TX) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you don't give this a pefect 10 or at least 2 points higher than call of duty modern warfare 2 then your brain is fried. This game outdoes call of duty on every front except for call of duty is more close combat oriented and that is not really better. But gravity is taken into account, bullets don't madgicly fly straight and hit immediately, vehicles are integrated beautifuly and it really gives you the feel of a real battlefield. huge and gives every type of player what he wishes. Not to mention the destruction of buildings leaving you no where to hide. So batle is pretty even. Love Love Love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BC2 is what a war game should be.

posted by DenseDeathblow (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I don't write reviews very often, so bear with me.

BC2 is one of my favorite games of all time because it stays true to life as well as a game. The single player was great about a 5-7 hour gameplay. The characters are your average joes. The blue collar soldiers of the Army. No elite soldiers or anything of the sort. Just a group of guys who want to go home. Just so happens they end up doing the impossible.

My take I give it a 4/5. Good storyline, lots of jokes, and you come to love 'em.

It has a variety of weapons and vehicles, not to mention the famous destructible enviroment. You don't like that building her down. That pesky little sniper in the tower, a little explosion is all it takes to remove the sniper and the tower.

As for the multiplayer. Hands down. The Royal Flush of war games. The bonus the so called hackers and modders (I don't see how watching youtube makes you a modder or hacker, but whatever) are rare like Sarah Palin's brain cells. Personally, in my time playing I haven't come across one.

1. Don't compare to MW2 or Black Ops. (You'll make a fool out of yourself)
2. Destruction lots of it. If something isn't goin' boom you're playing by yourself.
3. Teamwork. Start doing it.
4. Too many snipers = nothing gets done.
5. Everyone likes the helicopter. Don't cry about it if you can't fly it.
6. Stopping talking about how it's not MW2 or Black Ops. You're disgracing the game and embrassing yourself.

5/5 for a multiplayer. Something for everyone's play style, different game types, big and small maps, always something to do.

For those who don't believe me. Rent it. Try it. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BF:BC 2>MW2

posted by durpington (BOCA RATON, FL) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games I've played. Its much more realistic than Modern Warfare 2. It also has less bugs and less mods. The campaign is good ans solid, the multiplayer is outstanding. The customization is so much better. If you're looking for a FPS, this is the game to go for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by ghstbstar (O FALLON, MO) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As with all of the prior Battlefields this one stands up and delivers. The story mode is fun and the online is at its best with new weapons and some of the same old fun vehicles to drive. A must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KICK A$

posted by mon2479 (RENTON, WA) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game blows c.o.d away. Its too real with the fact that bullets drop cause of gravity. You really need to be patient with online play to get the weapons you want, sights, etc; but most important the team you are on knows how to play. You can tell when your team is just a bunch of stupid kids. Its brings in realism cause you can repair your vehicle or chopper in mid air, destroy buildings & have them crush people, and gravity. I have converted cod gamers to bad comp if that means anything to you. The ability to respawn at the beginning or next to a team mate is cool to let you decide what you want to do or where you want to go. This game takes patience, know how, alot of planning, & skill. YOU MUST GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by csa1021 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) May 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is great. The multiplayer is amazing its a lot more slow paced so you don't get those annoying rushing people like you do in COD. The story line is really fun. I did not find the story boring at all. This is a great game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great bame to Buy

posted by nvdonjuan (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The single player is great but I love the multiplayer. I have been playing this game for about a year now and it gives non stop action all the time. The maps are the same on ps3 and xbox 360 but since they are live players it is a diffrent match every time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

true war game !!

posted by thomas111 (PAWTUCKET, RI) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

In my opinion the destruction in this game puts it over the top. kudos to dice !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So much better than MW2!!!

posted by element04 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is much better than MW2. It may have some of its bugs and campers but what game isn't gonna have its flaws. One of the things that I do like about the game is that noobs can't go prone when their sniping. It makes them a little easier to snipe. The graphics for MW2 were the top of the line until BF BC2 came out. Everything about Bad Company 2 is better than MW2. There are more guns, no stupid riot shields, bigger maps, destructible maps, and it takes much longer to level up than MW2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse