Rent Battlefield: Bad Company 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Battlefield: Bad Company 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.1

10120 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by kitezac (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

first of all the gameplays amazing. theres so much to say about this game i simply wont have enough room. this games just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of the Generation

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enjoy this Perfect Game a 10 Yes for Every Variable.
Able to 100% complete trophy/aheav. Entertaining and solid Story line, pletra of DLC which Rcok Especially Vietman! a nice 2-4 person co-op too!

Maps are Great for multiplayer the explodable environment are fun and practicle. Really you should own this Game! its a endless multiplayer with new maps since its release nearly tripling the multiplayer game.
Weapons and Movement are first rate.

A little bit on the mature side for the massive lauguae I even gave my audio options turn down some of those acpects.

Heck the 1st bad company still rules multiplayer land being able to easliy get into a game. the few small issues keeing this at a rating of 9-10 is the EA server CruUD! sometimes and rarely you don't ahve all the proper loadout options for your weaponts spec. etc and thus no xp for that round. mild issue for us but there none the less an EA issue and not a realy Game problem as much. EA is just spread to thin with thier games and obviously don't invest as much as some in maintaing and cleaning bugs of a small importance.

GO get you some dog tags!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh

posted by Irishlink8 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like it, just in my opinion needs more multiplayer maps for sure.. Way better multiplay then MW2 but just need to add a couple more classes weapons and definitely more maps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Looks decent, shoots better SOUNDS AMAZING!!

posted by Orionx68 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A roll of the dice... ( zing ) ... this is one of those shooters that doesn't have to be gorgeous looking... it more than compensates with how deeply you will be engaged with the campaign mode. Starts off kind of slow ( just my opinion ) but the it picks up with the sickness! I definitely recommend this game for people who like shooters that have in-depth campaign modes. Fully destructible environments... a mass arsenal of weapons... a mass arsenal of vehicles land,sea,air.... the sounds of this game are UNRIVALED, hands down....

The online mode is obviously amazing itself.
controls aren't my first choice of fantastic, but they aren't horrible...

check this game out!

SHALL SEE HIS FATE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MW2's Online Experience Overtaken!

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

100 out of 121 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I want to say that I never played BC1 other than a demo. So this isn't a very biased review of the game. I hope I can help people "on the fence" on getting Bad Company 2.

The story isn't special (single player), and just like MW2, you shouldn't get this game for the single player aspects. Buy or rent this for the multiplayer, because the single player is rather short (6-8 hours) and unrewarding due to no buildup. It's longer than MW2's, but still, it really will not give you a feeling you are playing a full game. I will say that it's more fun to play BC's campaign (too me) than MW2's. Happens to have more action in it and the environments are fantastic. MW2 doesn't come close to BC2 in terms of destructible scenery and objects (houses, etc..).

Controls: It's very easy to pick up and play. They don't grill you to be annoyed at first, they really took their time to build the controls and the system right and this is the best I've ever experienced in a console FPS game.

Now to the good parts that you should be buying this game for! Yes, the multiplayer. You pretty much choose a class and they have guns and such you can choose/customize from. With classes, they have "perks" which are just extra guns and equipment you earn as you play along (better you do, obviously). This is just like MW2, but these perks also include perks for vehicles which is unique and rather cool/fun to mess around with.

Gameplay: In the game, it's based off of 24 players. Playing this game is different from Modern Warfare 2. For instance, you are pushed more into teamwork based online gameplay which makes this game so great. It's hard to Rambo objectives. While MW2 seems to have people running around endlessly, or hiding in a bush so they don't die. BC2 ditches that mindset with unbelievable online structure, that is easy to understand and fun to play. Their are multiple online modes, so if you like FPS games, this is for you!

OVERALL = 9.2/10 (Great controls, multiplayer; Better than MW2's)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT A GAME!!!

posted by m2gamer10 (FRANKLIN, OH) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

43 out of 51 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game is very realistic and interactive. The modern gadgets of BC2 makes it true to life combat situations. The vehicles and weapons are powerful and armed to the teeth. My favorite part is the realistic sniping, which tests your ability to adapt to your environment. If you like realistic modern first-person shooters, then get BC2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Multiplayer Review

posted by GringoStar (CADIZ, KY) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

There are many great things about this games online side. The use of vehicles is an awesome side of things for starters. Buildings crumble to stop campers from hideing which is a great thing if you are really into first person shooters. And this game is well worth your time. a couple things I wanted to do though was walk you through the bad things which there is very few. To me these things really irritate me tho :).

First there is no compass on the mini map which really messes up the communication aspect of the game. Its hard to call people out when u dont know where north south east and west is. The targeting system helps out a bunch but none the less to me its not enough.

Another thing is in rush mode where you would plant or defuse a bombsite. When the building is destroyed 100% the M-Com station is destroyed. Which if 1 team went sniper and called in mortar strikes it is verry simple to destroy M-COM. That can be a bummer. But other than that. the game is awesome and totally worth your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than COD if you wish to compare

posted by DeLaGrim (CONCORD, NC) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I laugh when people compare it to Call Of Duty but thats the only way some can understand it. Do not come into the game thinking you can get online and spray and just spawn camp like you do in COD since it is harder to do. You need some skill yes I said skill when it comes to the sniper.. UNLIKE COD you can not just aim at the persons head and they are on the other side of the map and you get a head shot the bullets will drop in this game and you will need to aim higher if they are further away, the graphics are good I do not know what half the people on here are complaining about the graphics are better than Black ops in my opinion and the sound is amazing it sounds like your in a battlefield if your using surround sound. The online maps are HUGE for a shooter so COD fans may hate it. You can get in tanks and helicopters and blow up buildings and they will eventually fall! Unlike call of duty you can shoot a rocket at a wall where a sniper is and take it out so they can not hide. If you love shooters and want something with a bit of skill i recommend to rent this or buy it just do not compare it to call of duty since it isnt the same game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun campaign over too soon

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

NOTE: This review is based on the single player campaign only, as I don't do the online multiplayer, which is why this score is a bit lower than some other reviews.
"Battlefield: Bad Company 2" reunites us with Marlowe, Sarge, Sweetwater, and Haggard, the boys who make up Bravo Company. Only this time around, their exploits don't take them in pursuit of mercenary gold. Rather, they're in pursuit of a Russian who's trying to obtain a very nasty weapon. The chase takes them from the snow covered mountains in Alaska to the jungles of South America, and for the most part it's quite a fun ride. The destructable environments are back and amped up, as this time you can collapse whole structures with a well placed shot. Controls are tight and easy to pick up, and the health system is revamped (gone is using your syringe-now you need to find cover). The AI is fairly smat and will use the destructable environments against you, adding a bit more tension and faster pace to the firefights. The voice acting is again superb, with lots of humor thrown in, and the story is much tighter than the first game. Graphics are bumped up a notch, with only the occassional hiccup, with nice weather effects for good measure. There is a problem with your squadmates, however, as they sometimes get in your way, but overall they help. There are times too when the enemy can be a bit overwhelming, and the particle effects from dust, smoke, and explosions makes seeing difficult, which can lead to some cheap deaths. Overall though the game is fun to play, but it just ends way too soon. Clocking in at between 5-7 hours, buying this for the single player just doesn't make much sense. It would have been nice if EA and DICE had included some offline co-op, but no such luck. If you play online, from what I've read, then this game's for you. If you're an offline solo gamer like myself, then this is a rental only, but it's definitely worth the rent. Maybe the next one will be longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

22 out of 29 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Battlefield:Bad Company2, is a great continuation from the first title... The game plays as a first person shooter.
If you are into the strategy-warfare genres: Modern Warfare(without the run and gunning) or MAG(but with more vehicles and conceptual-warfare)... You would really like this game. The title has similar traits to those mentioned but the surroundings change when you can obliterate entire buildings, as you can in Bad Company2.

You play as Preston Marlow, of the Bad Company squad. Bad Company is a squad of light infantry; rogue/renegade insertion and overwatch missions were the squads prime use.
Bad Company was outfitted for a different deployment this time; unlike being thrown into enemy territory as before, Bad Company is placed in a specific division called "Special Activities" insertion missions. The missions is to gather information of a new uprising threat; Bad Company is to deploy and find out what the terrorist are planning.

The game has been fine tuned too perfection. The biggest differences: you will not have to start out with just one gun, you will find crates you can exchange for other weapons. The weapon arrangements are a lot more broader, as well... There is a lot more weapons available and even a shotgun with explosive rounds.
There is also new environment elements inside the game; day and night cycles with rainstorms that come and go. The weapon control and recoil physics have been enhanced to be more realistic.

The multiplayer levels is massive and well balanced; the refined levels give you the need to use different strategies.
The newest multiplayer mode is 4 man squad, deathmatch. You with 3 others will be hunting for other squads and eliminating them to win.
Conquest and rush are still the same concept; Conquest is a capture and hold position, rush has you capture a position too move forward in the battlefield.
You are given a lot more weapons and gadgets and now you can select your own loadouts.

This game is brilliant... Keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

online is great

posted by sgtdozer (GLENN HEIGHTS, TX) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game is 2 on my favorite game list. i love the recon class in the online game play. i like that buildings can be destroyed in online play not like in mw2. hard to rank up. trophies are easier to get. i say it matches up with mw2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid online play, but communication holds it back

posted by GoldGlove2 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot to offer. I'll list pros and cons:

Pros:
- Amazing graphics, good use of dust and smoke, buildings crashing down, truly a "real" environment
- Online gameplay is tactical, yet still focused around getting kills win a match, where the objectives are a focus, but ultimately who kills the other team more wins
- Vehicles, guns, all sorts of toys to play with in this game
- Rank up system similar to MW2 but with classes, and you keep unlocking more guns and abilities as you play
- Maps are very large and detailed, easy to find cover and plenty of hiding spots, and again there's plenty of buildings for destruction

Cons:
- Only can have 4 people in a squad where you can communicate ONLY with those 3 other people. There's no way of communicating to the other 12 players. Haven't more than 3 friends sucks in this game, because you can't play with all of them, or at least you can't talk to them, this is a huge flaw in the game, only reason I didn't give it a 10
- Frustrating early on when you haven't unlocked the better guns/abilities yet
- Also frustrating before you know the maps as well as others. People exploit the game's spawn points, so you may find yourself killed instantly over and over from a sniper camping your spawn point. Until you learn the map it's difficult to avoid this.
- If you rent this thru gamefly you won't have the box, let alone the vip code for the extra few maps, and they aren't available on PS Store yet, so you'll get kicked each time your squad goes to one of these maps.

Overrall great game, too bad about the squad communication, otherwise this would be a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best shooter 2010

posted by Dbatarse (BEAUMONT, CA) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Best online shooter of the year. Cod close but bad company 2 multiplayer is beter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best and most realistic shooter

posted by TXHONDA (KATY, TX) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love this game its gameplay is so realistic. The Action is non-stop and fun! can't wait for the release of Veitnam!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play it. You'll thank me later.

posted by Fiasco (SIMI VALLEY, CA) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Simpl a great game. For once the storyline was actually fun and not just
A bunch of macho hookah. Great graphics, battles, and gear. Let me put rit this way: I got this and Just Cause 2 at the same time. After playing BC2, Just Cause 2 seemed like a third rate cartoon and was back in it's Gamefly envelope after three minutes.

And the characters rock. Can't wait to play BC1!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this garbage game will never be better that cod

posted by justin19961988 (FLINT, MI) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

tiered of people comparing this to call of duty. this game is just awful ,first the graphics are bad,the guns look fake,no coop modes,multilpalyer sucks you cant cook grenades,you dont have tactile grenades you cant customize your controls, you have to knife with the grenade button, you cant get on prone , takes forever to level up, you have to keep your side arm so cant pick up a gun instead of you pistol,you cant see the name of your gun when you switch weapons, the destructible environments suck online when some one gets a tank or something there is no way to combat it because no where to hide, there is only 4 maps and only 4 modes these are the reasons that call of duty triple battle sales

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MW2 IS Done

posted by mgsmaster (BRONX, NY) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I will admit, the game has flaws like a shallow campaign but the multiplayer is amazing. I haven't been addicted to an online game this much since cod modern warfare. It does have a lack of maps but the maps that are available are incredibly well made. It boast 20 or more guns and its the closest to real war you can find in a multiplayer. lots of vehicles makes for many ways to tackle the objective. love this game, had since day one and I already have about 80 hours logged in. I rented MAG and it cannot compete with bfbc2. The new multiplayer king has arrived, oh and the knife is vicious, not cheap like in those other games mentioned above.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BC2 poem

posted by Jaroid (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

BC2 blows... my mind. BC2 sucks... all of my free time. BC2 is
lacking... imperfections and flaws. Gonna keep you playing, gonna
never press pause. It beats COD to a pulp, and I ain't talkin bout the
fish. First there was Wolfenstein 3D now FPS evolved to this. Modern
Warfare 2 and MAG, both are great games, but BC2 is high above -
putting everyone to shame. Fly a heli, parachute out, put your C4
round a structure. Set it off, blow it up, watch your enemies as they
rupture. No game offers such scope and such vast destructibility, it's
even rumored that playing it will help increase fertility. Just make
sure that when you play you use tactics and teamwork, and please don't
hog the UAV like a big ol selfish jerk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All the low ratings are single-player perspectives

posted by Kruelgor (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

It seems to me that all the multiplayers are loving this game.

I just read through all the reviews here and one thing stood out. All the people complaining are specifically mentioning things about the single-player perspective, and the high rated good reviews are for multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic online multiplayer! Campers beware!

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this game online ever since the demo came out and I absolutely love it! The graphics are fantastic the landscapes are great and everything can be destroyed. There are four classes; Assault, engineer, medic, and recon. Each of which has it's own strengths on the battlefield. I've heard alot of complaining about abuse of vehicles as well as snipers camping out and owning everybody. These are both easy fixes, the engineer has either RPGs or anti-tank mines, also there are stationary AT's all over the place. As far as snipers go, everybody has a knife and there is always a way to out flank your opponent, also countersniping is very important to your team if you decide to be a sniper, just make sure you account for bullet drop.

The biggest key in this game is to always keep moving. In my opinion this is what puts this game above all other multiplayer shooters. Campers get owned, anything you try to use for cover can be destroyed. When you kill somebody they can see the general area that you are exploiting, respawn and then let the camp hunting begin.

Of course this game has it's flaws, like the headshots always being a neck shot where your enemy grabs their neck and gasps for air. But for the most part if you stick with a decent squad you can take over a game easily. I'm really having a blast with this game even though I'm not one of the better players. I have a .94 kill death ratio and I still have a great time. It gets frustrating at times but the challenge is a big part of what I enjoy.

Absolutely love this game and everything about it. The single player campaign is a little short and pretty easy even on hard but action packed and good gameplay with several different environments that can all be destroyed.

I give the campaign a 7.5 but it's just a bonus for me as I bought this game solely for the online multiplayer which is perfect. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Company 2

posted by ewhizz1122 (SUWANEE, GA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is my first review. I will be brief. I LOVED Bad Co. I don't understand why the controller settings were changed for 2. Not a good thing for those of us who play games in the order of release. Also I thought BC2 had WAY to many arcade like scenes and there were not even half as many new vehicles and toys to find and play with along the way. Maybe more Mission Impossible hero stuff appeals to the masses. I enjoyed the story of a squad of misfits who got the gold in the end and had lots of new toys to play with along the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

battlefield bad company 2

posted by dpicazo103101 (GILBERT, AZ) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

bad company is ok but it is not the best game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gameplay

posted by mike4120 (MEMPHIS, TN) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i couldnt get past the heart of darkness level when i completed the level it was stuck on loading screen for uprising

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutly terrible

posted by Friznutz (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played 5 matches. And EACH one our team was losing and the only place we could play was our base. I respawned and died within 5 seconds.
This happend in all 5 matches I play and it made the game unplayable.
I use to play MW2 and get nukes and I do good at this game. But seriously. It has much much much worse spawn killing that COD 4. I would strongly recommend you not to try this.
I also tried the BF3 beta and I was getting around 8-20fps. Extremely poor for any game in general

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

never got to play online

posted by redman424 (SPRING, TX) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

yea so i never got to experience online play on ps3 soon as i got it huge download for the game of course so i just said screw it and never played it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse