Rent Battlefield 4 for Xbox One
view large frontback

Battlefield 4

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:PS4, PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great......when it works

posted by Zebrowa27 (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and intense online play. The campaign is awesome but very short. That being said, Battlefield 4 has moderate to severe issues that make this game a frustrating experience. Server issues kick you out of matches and even reboot or freeze the game constantly. Also, you cannot enter a main lobby to team up with friends to start a match. You can enter matches that friends have already entered; however, trying to get on the same team is a pain and frustrating. This is a huge oversight in my opinion, as most people play online specifically to play with fiends. I have also lost all of my campaign progress TWICE (level completion, weapon unlocks, collectibles). After a brief internet search, I found this is a common problem that DICE is aware of and is the result of DICE server issues that can corrupt campaign saved games. Although I did really enjoy this game initially, Battlefield 4 is an unfinished product and ultimately I am disappointed that I made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome.... when it works.

posted by ADowske (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Battlefield is currently (End of November 2013) being plagued with server issues. So when you can manager to connect to a game, it's epic. 64 players total in one match, 32 per side. Seeing four helicopters in the air (2 on each side) and about 8 tanks on the ground (4 per side), and tons of infantry scattering is amazing. Love the fact there is bullet drop to take into account on the recon class, adds a level of realism. Very fun, recommend as a purchase over a rental (105 hours in).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game, but falls short due to issues

posted by katspartan007 (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I rented this since forza and fifa weren't available. First off, dice/ea has to fix the issues across all platforms. The campaign, although it looks great, is plagued by the "not saving" glitch. Its really frustrating to play 2 or 3 hrs, only to come back and all your progress gone. The multi player is also shoddy. Its keeps me from searching for a game with an erroneous server message. Worst experience ever. And the fact that its been several weeks since launch, shows the devs don't care. Fyi, its across all console platforms including PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing for a Next Gen. A Must for Shooters

posted by BravoS14 (MOSES LAKE, WA) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Heard a lot of bad w the 360 version n played people were right about that. BUT !! X-One version is a must. Great feel to the game ,smooth ,life like shooter . Was COD fan : ( but still same cod as past cod's. BF4 rises the BAR. Thx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont get this

posted by Ballastic207 (WINTHROP, ME) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I play battlefield just for the multi player and this game is awful right now. It takes 7 or 8 tries to get into a match and half the time it isn't even the game type you wanted. I still haven't been able to play conquest yet. If this was launch week I could cut them some slack but it is over a month after launch and the game still doesn't work right. When you do get into the game you want it plays great just like all the other battlefields and it looks amazing. But until the servers are fixed this game is not worth the hassle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best than other BF series

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not much a game to me didn't like the gameplay but graphic always good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield to call of duty is 2K to live

posted by Shiestb1 (Brooklyn, NY) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They did it bigger and better, and call of duty looks like laser tag. This is 32 Vs 32 and cod is 9v9, thanks to dice for continuing to raise the bar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by wsm4826 (JUPITER, FL) Dec 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

don't waste your time if your an achievement wh%$e bugs reset progress - if you like multi-player go with COD this game glitches server access so 90% of the time you have no online multi-player access -

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA is bad at making games

posted by Evo_Fire (DU BOIS, PA) Jan 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

BF4 is broken the campaign will not save game progress and you can not find any multiplayer games... don't rent or buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Falls short of expectations, but not a bad game.

posted by Nick_The_Cage (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Battlefield 4 is definitely a game to play with friends. The amount of fun you can have doing something crazy in this game is great! But the technical problems they keep refusing to fix are quite frustrating. Often times, your taking fire and run behind cover only to die in what you thought was a safe spot to regenerate HP to the guy who was shooting around the corner because of the server lag, which is incredibly noticeable. The network smoothing does make it appear that no one is lagging, but sometimes when you shoot at someone you think is there, but server-side your actually shooting beside them. Many features are kind of wonky, like half the time you can't pick-up the special guns like the 6-round grenade launcher and the .50 rifle. Also, when you play on the naval strike maps, there is this horrible rubber-banding that makes the maps unplayable sometimes. All-in-all, If you can put up with lag and bugs, and you have friends to mess around with, you can have quite a blast with Battlefield 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun, not worth paying for the game twice

posted by Knightsbane (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

if you want this and all the dlc that'll cost 50-60 bucks ontop of the game price so get it cheap..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but falls short

posted by nb8ct (HONOLULU, HI) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Having never played a BF game before I was excited to sit down with this one. Sadly the story was a bit of a letdown, and the online multiplayer seemed a bit flawed. Both were riddled with bugs that made for a sometimes annoying experience. The scale of the game is great, and the visuals are nice for the most part. Kept me entertained for a few days but was quick to send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very big game!

posted by Jtownhero (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I loved this game. I had a lot of fun playing it. I would have kept it way longer if Titanfall hadn't come out. The game is huuuuuge! The maps are massive, resulting in some ridiculous multiplayer action. You can ride pretty much anything you see and the bulidings actually blow up. The campaign is quite fun as well. Great game, great replay value with the multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by djbriansmixtape (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Everything from the graphics to the story mode is unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game!

posted by cris2991 (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Good game i enjoy playing it my opinion a lot better than cod ghost in every way!!!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA

posted by GAMEATTIC85 (MANSFIELD, OH) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is way better than call duty ghost!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

no diffrence

posted by rosesandcrack (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

no point in having this game on next gen or previous gen there is no big difference really overall and okay game but graphically it should be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

woulda been an 8...

posted by Vagor (SOUTHBRIDGE, MA) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I was going to give this game an 8 until I played the multiplayer. The graphics were incredible, the story options were good (a lil bit easy, but still good.) And then I embarked into the multiplayer part of this title.
It lost 1 rating point from me becuz overall the gameplay felt too slow, it felt like CoD on tranquilizers.
It lost another point becuz their was no way save the setup u want to run. every time you enter a new lobby you need to customize your loadout from scratch after the match has begun.
The 3rd point lost was due to the combat itself. Getting killed by 1 random shot thru a bunch of walls (it shows u who killed u in their killcam) is ridiculous. FPS have been out long enough that magic bullets around corners and the like should be a thing of the long past. And the way the killcam was done it was almost totally useless, not much more than an annoyance to break up the action of the game.

Simply put, even with the incredible extra features that BF offers in multiplayer it was a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT in that area

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

TERRIBLE!!!!

posted by BLAZINLIVE (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Broken but still Awesome

posted by jebus187 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

Doesn't really get better than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Battlefield

posted by GamerDeeEL (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Controls are good as well as the graphics. The storyline is long which is great but a lot of it is boring. Worth playing though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Amazing But Broken.

posted by RisingPhoenix89 (WILSONVILLE, OR) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Battlefield 4 is an utterly amazing game when it works.

Unfortunately, it doesn't work all that often. Atrocious server-side lag and more bugs that I can even think about counting plague almost every match you will ever play, and keep Battlefield 4 from being the amazing next-gen experience it should have been. In the rare event that you get into a lag-free game, you will see that Battlefield 4 can be one of the most intricate and REWARDING first-person shooters on the market.

It's just a shame that the game is fundamentally broken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Battle field 4 is trash

posted by Jeffsreviews79 (YAKIMA, WA) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This game is junk graphics are lame not next gen at all online mode is for campers. Its not even worth renting takes 3 days to get and 3 to send back not worth the time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible, i hate it!

posted by gmen4556 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

this game sucks it gave me blood pressure and am 17

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

9 when the servers work

posted by HunterByNature9 (MADISON HEIGHTS, MI) Feb 25, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Short and sweet. Love this game when the servers work, or when it actually saves my campaign progress. Sometimes youll join an online match and your multiplayer progress will be gone. Your guns will be reset but if you back out and join a different match your guns will return, that is, if you can actually join a server.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse