Rent Battlefield 4 for Xbox One
view large frontback

Battlefield 4

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Also on:PS4, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.4

1359 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Gorgeous fun, generic everything else.

posted by Rico731 (WARWICK, RI) Jun 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game looks incredible! The textures and the lighting effects are the most realistic I have ever seen. The sound design makes the game even more immersive, especially with professional head phones. If someone is talking and you walk into a building, their voice becomes faint and muffled and orients in the direction of the door. If you hear a tank, you can tell if it is approaching.

Smooth controls, tight aiming, and a lot of guns from the weapons crates scattered throughout each map, means you don't get board. They even stole (and improved) the cover mechanic from Killzone 2. You can duck behind a low wall, and pop up by aiming.

But the game is generic in almost every other way. There's really nothing in the story that you haven't seen before. Characters and situations are directly lifted from other first person shooters. The crazy Russian who helps you break out of prison. The double-agent that rescues you at a crucial moment. The safe place that is really a trap. The story will only make you scratch your head. Who are we fighting? Why is this person so important? How did all these people get on the ship? So all those people we rescued are dead, right? It does NOT matter. You are HERE, you need to go THERE, and there are a lot of people, tanks and helicopters trying to stop you.

The checkpoint system is mostly generous, but dying during any vehicle sections of the game means repeating the whole sequence. If you miss that swerving helicopter, from your drifting car, with the single RPG you have, you're going to die and re-live the last 2 minutes over and over again until you get it right.

No boss battles! Chang is the dictator, but you never meet him, or fight any of his lieutenants.

If you like shooters, you'll like this game. But if you're looking for a gripping story of dictators, refugees and double-agents, this is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great......when it works

posted by Zebrowa27 (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and intense online play. The campaign is awesome but very short. That being said, Battlefield 4 has moderate to severe issues that make this game a frustrating experience. Server issues kick you out of matches and even reboot or freeze the game constantly. Also, you cannot enter a main lobby to team up with friends to start a match. You can enter matches that friends have already entered; however, trying to get on the same team is a pain and frustrating. This is a huge oversight in my opinion, as most people play online specifically to play with fiends. I have also lost all of my campaign progress TWICE (level completion, weapon unlocks, collectibles). After a brief internet search, I found this is a common problem that DICE is aware of and is the result of DICE server issues that can corrupt campaign saved games. Although I did really enjoy this game initially, Battlefield 4 is an unfinished product and ultimately I am disappointed that I made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome.... when it works.

posted by ADowske (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Battlefield is currently (End of November 2013) being plagued with server issues. So when you can manager to connect to a game, it's epic. 64 players total in one match, 32 per side. Seeing four helicopters in the air (2 on each side) and about 8 tanks on the ground (4 per side), and tons of infantry scattering is amazing. Love the fact there is bullet drop to take into account on the recon class, adds a level of realism. Very fun, recommend as a purchase over a rental (105 hours in).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A disappointment

posted by nathanahtan (BRANDON, VT) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of Battlefield 3 on the 360, I could not wait to get my hands on an xbox one and a copy of BF4, to enjoy 64-player servers and the graphics that PC players have had for years. However, when I finally picked up my copy, I realized this was not the game I was promised.
The worst part about BF4 is the lack of polish.The game crashes, saves get deleted, sound disappears from time to time, and lag plagues some matches. Even when I managed to escape those problems for brief periods of time, the terrible maps and weapon and vehicle imbalance ruined the experience.
There is not a single map I enjoy playing on in this game. Not a single one stands out as a classic. There are some spots in the environment that can provide an interesting battle, but the maps as a whole just feel too spread out and too conquest oriented for my liking. It just feels like there is always an angle for someone to shoot you. Also, since there is less health in this game than in BF3, death is harder to avoid and therefor frustrating.
Hm, what else? Levolution is a gimmick, the campaign is a joke, and the naval theme just provides terrible boat to boat combat. I hate battlefield 4.
The only good thing about this game is the graphics; they make call of duty ghosts look ugly.
All in all, I will say that this game was a major disappointment for a next gen customer, and a blemish on Dices very good record. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Falls short of expectations, but not a bad game.

posted by Nick_The_Cage (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 4 is definitely a game to play with friends. The amount of fun you can have doing something crazy in this game is great! But the technical problems they keep refusing to fix are quite frustrating. Often times, your taking fire and run behind cover only to die in what you thought was a safe spot to regenerate HP to the guy who was shooting around the corner because of the server lag, which is incredibly noticeable. The network smoothing does make it appear that no one is lagging, but sometimes when you shoot at someone you think is there, but server-side your actually shooting beside them. Many features are kind of wonky, like half the time you can't pick-up the special guns like the 6-round grenade launcher and the .50 rifle. Also, when you play on the naval strike maps, there is this horrible rubber-banding that makes the maps unplayable sometimes. All-in-all, If you can put up with lag and bugs, and you have friends to mess around with, you can have quite a blast with Battlefield 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA

posted by GAMEATTIC85 (MANSFIELD, OH) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is way better than call duty ghost!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game, but falls short due to issues

posted by katspartan007 (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I rented this since forza and fifa weren't available. First off, dice/ea has to fix the issues across all platforms. The campaign, although it looks great, is plagued by the "not saving" glitch. Its really frustrating to play 2 or 3 hrs, only to come back and all your progress gone. The multi player is also shoddy. Its keeps me from searching for a game with an erroneous server message. Worst experience ever. And the fact that its been several weeks since launch, shows the devs don't care. Fyi, its across all console platforms including PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing for a Next Gen. A Must for Shooters

posted by BravoS14 (MOSES LAKE, WA) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Heard a lot of bad w the 360 version n played people were right about that. BUT !! X-One version is a must. Great feel to the game ,smooth ,life like shooter . Was COD fan : ( but still same cod as past cod's. BF4 rises the BAR. Thx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

STOP COMPARING APPLES AND ORANGES

posted by BANDOFSAPPERS (KENOSHA, WI) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bf and cod are 2 DIFFERENT games. Bf is a wanna be/ trying to simulator and cod is just a high quality arcade.... People keep buying cod with the same(changed color) maps... Bf4 had almost nothing to do with bf3. Dont get me wrong I Own both season pass for cod and premium for bf4. Once again TWO DIFFERENT games guys. Bottom line is I prefer BF4 cause I fought in a REAL WAR.....Cpl Sapper

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont get this

posted by Ballastic207 (WINTHROP, ME) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I play battlefield just for the multi player and this game is awful right now. It takes 7 or 8 tries to get into a match and half the time it isn't even the game type you wanted. I still haven't been able to play conquest yet. If this was launch week I could cut them some slack but it is over a month after launch and the game still doesn't work right. When you do get into the game you want it plays great just like all the other battlefields and it looks amazing. But until the servers are fixed this game is not worth the hassle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best than other BF series

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not much a game to me didn't like the gameplay but graphic always good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield to call of duty is 2K to live

posted by Shiestb1 (Brooklyn, NY) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They did it bigger and better, and call of duty looks like laser tag. This is 32 Vs 32 and cod is 9v9, thanks to dice for continuing to raise the bar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by wsm4826 (JUPITER, FL) Dec 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

don't waste your time if your an achievement wh%$e bugs reset progress - if you like multi-player go with COD this game glitches server access so 90% of the time you have no online multi-player access -

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA is bad at making games

posted by Evo_Fire (DU BOIS, PA) Jan 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

BF4 is broken the campaign will not save game progress and you can not find any multiplayer games... don't rent or buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Join the War

posted by Smerfdude (FLANDERS, NJ) Dec 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2007

Let me start off by saying this game is not for everyone. It can be very frustrating at times even for people that enjoy the game. Call of duty fans and platform gamers are responsible for the low ratings here or maybe its the lack of a solid campaign. But in my eyes the sheer glory and sometimes humor that comes from the near-cinematic (dare I say EPIC moments in this games multiplayer) make up for almost everything. It sucks to get killed over and over but its hard to be mad about it when you are running for your life from a skyscraper falling over you or youre in the middle of a fight with the awesome way melee kills in this game work. Oh you think youre gonna stab me? Ill stab you with your own fucking knife! Great fun with some anger involved. You will find the game much easier if you use teamwork as intended and actually try to strategize your movements. And one other tip: smoke grenades will save you many more times than anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Getting Better

posted by Im_Ryan (STANTON, CA) Dec 5, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Still not perfect, but it has improved tremendously since its launch date and is now actually playable. It's still not as good as BF3, but still worth a buy if you're a battlefield fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun

posted by edavis0428 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

The gameplay for the campaign is awesome. Much better than COD in my opinion. The levels are more open, there is more enemy AI, the audio is fantastic, gun fire, explosions, etc. What is terrible about the game is the story. It's bad... Almost better if you just mute the cut scenes. The series really needs to get back to it's bad company roots. But even still, I had a blast with it. Beat it in 3 days and now I'm sending it back to Gamefly. The ultimate GameFly rental. Unless you're really into online play, then you should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game crashes.....

posted by solidtooth3160 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Oct 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This is why I signed up with Gamefly, that way I am not wasting $60 dollars on a broke game. I completed the game on normal and the cheivo did not pop. So I checked my progress and it said 80% complete. So I went to campaign to check which mission I am missing; and what do you know I am reset to Baku mission and lost all progress. This is 3rd time and I only have the game for 10 days. Unfortunately I will return this back tomorrow and will pick this game up in a year or so for under 5 dollars so I can have the motivation to finish this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Late review, Works great now!

posted by Koel (CLAREMORE, OK) Oct 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Battlefield 4, It is so open compared to other shooters. Graphics are great. I love the guns, vehicles, and player count.

-Do not base the game on singleplayer, Its pretty generic, not the best not the worst.

-Multiplayer is by far one of the best online shooters (Besides bad company 2) for console.

-Ive had zero problems with this game after the patch. I don't even lag anymore. Too bad it wasn't like this 6 months ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BULL$*IT!.

posted by BKBOP718 (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Y'all sent me a incredibly;damaged, disc!. NOT COOL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grrreat Game

posted by lethal_3ffect (PALACIOS, TX) Sep 17, 2014

Member since May 2011

Other than Battlefield:Bad Company this is the only one I played everyday all day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing special

posted by deusorum (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

What can I say, this game just didn't really reach out and grab me. I played through most of the campaign, but despite all the "movie moments" it tried to show me it just had kind of a "been there, done that" vibe to it. The visuals were nice, don't get me wrong, but I had a very hard time caring about anything that happened. I realize this isn't much of a single player campaign game, but they tried to hype up the campaign as being a big deal so I felt compelled to point out that it actually wasn't. As for the multiplayer, it was just too chaotic, and I had a very difficult time trying to figure out what was going on. It seemed to feature a lot of giant maps, fast-moving vehicles, and teams that really didn't do a very good job of populating the large maps. So, basically, you run around trying to figure out what is going on, and you encounter nothing for a long time, and then you randomly get shot. Not that great. I could see the potential there, but it just didn't end up being very appealing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by jpayne23 (CULLMAN, AL) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

this is the most wildest game I ever played I love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrendous

posted by Fallasteeni (KENT, WA) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Played till the part where the chopper chase you and you need to time the shot and place it just n the right place to bring it down. I find that incredibly annoying. Must have tried like 20 times with no dice. Games are meant to be fun, not torturous for no good reason. This is a TERRIBLE game. Ghastly at best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SERIOUSLY

posted by TronXL (ALBANY, OR) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2009

GRAPHICS - 10
STORY - 0
SOUND - 10

BEST MULTIPLAYER OF THE YEAR AND BEST FPS ON NEXT GEN GOOD DAY SIR

OVERALL 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse