Rent Battlefield 4 for PS4
view large frontback

Battlefield 4

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

1073 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Something this ambitious...

posted by tactsims (BASTIAN, VA) Dec 2, 2013

Member since May 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Is bound to have few hiccups. That said...

I haven't really had any issues with the multiplayer. I did lose my campaign save... But the campaign is really an afterthought for me anyway.

Maybe it's because I don't play the massive conquest game modes (though the few times I have they worked fine)... My only real complaint with the multiplayer is that everyone uses party chat so if you're new to PSN it's hard to make friends and some of the more specific server settings I search for don't have any games available (like hardcore/infantry only conquest etc).

All in all this game is mindblowing. The most fun I've had in years. No drops or any oft he complaints I keep hearing about from others. I've been playing every night since launch and it runs great for me (knock in wood).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Bf4 reveiw

posted by underground123 (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing on the ps4. not so much on ps3. I have owned both versions. The 60fps is so crisp the graphics never slip up one bit even at long range through a sniper scope. the initial game does suffer from lack of great maps but i can assure you the dlc makes this game worth every penny and then some. this game is way better than call od duty in which you blatantly do circles around a sub-par map. This game had sestruction on a massive scale. Blow through walls, drive a tnk through a building, fly a helicopter or jet, jump out in a parachute and land on top of a building, levelution which consists of certain areas of each map can be fully destroyed or dynamically changed. this game gets a 10 for effort because it leaves every other first person shooter in the dust by MILES!!!! A Must Have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Old Battlefield, New Problems

posted by FCCentral (FAIRCHANCE, PA) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed BF3 and BF2 then you will also enjoy BF4, however, don't expect anything special or new. It feels like BF 3.5. The graphics are better on PS4 and the 64 player mp matches are chaotic and fun. However the novelty of bringing down the same building quickly wears off. Gunplay is improved though some favorite weapons are associated with new classes.

The down side is that the title has been plagued by problems since its release. I couldn't play the game for the first two weeks due to a programming bug that effected a few thousand of us on PS4. Since then, each patch has brought new problems from constant crashes and corrupt data to loss of campaign and battle log not saving mp progress. I have experienced these problems on both PS3 and PS4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible!

posted by sworth14 (CARTERSVILLE, GA) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing! I saw the other reviews, but once I got it it looked like they had fixed the issues. I only do the campaign mode and it has a great story, graphics are incredible, and the it is long enough to keep you playing for a long time. This is a must have in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

BF4

posted by Sdc56 (GLENWOOD, MN) Jan 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game but held back by a plethora of issues. this title would have got a 9 or higher from me if not for the insane amount of problems they released it with and the fact that months later they still haven't fixed them. I bought this game on X1 and gamefly it for ps4. I also bought premium for both and got it refunded because the bugs were so bad. the worst of all is the RELOCKING of earned items after you played hundreds of hours using them. the inability to play expansions through qwik play is just unforgivable. this is a review that should have been glowing and 9+ but dice and EA PHUQED up big time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unfinished, but a good game

posted by Zerocrit (FORT MYERS, FL) Dec 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is definitely unfinished, and has numerous bugs. For instance the save file bug which has yet to be resolved. Don't rent or buy this game to play the story mode. unless you are planning on playing the game fully through in one sitting. The save file doesnt work so you will be forced to restart from the beginning on every boot up. Multiplayer also has its own glitches but those are being worked on i know they just recently fixed the one shot bullet bug. but like i said the game is unfinished but still playable and mildly enjoyable. Recommend this over call of duty any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great enime A.I but Bad teammate A.I

posted by mike1976 (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 4 is impressive in many area's but falls short of amazing. The Graphic's and sound is impressive it really shows what the PS4 is capable of doing The enime A.I makes for very long gun battle and the story is pretty good. However the teammte A.I is what brings this game down they allow enimes to run past them and they block your out and they follow you when you're trying to flank to draw fire. Q. What does block your out mean. A. It means don't take my out when you're in a gun battle you look for cover advantage you look for view advantage like high view is better then low view and you're looking for an out in case you need to get out of there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Are people seriously still playing cod??

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is insanely amazing. Everything feels right and balanced, well ok not metro or he other cqb map as those are weak frag fests. The things that you can do in this game, the variation from one match to another, it's staggering. Cod has grown stagnant while bf has struggled to get better and more interesting in every regard.

Teamwork is important, objectives are important, who you play with makes all the difference. You can play the same map and never have the same kind of game. The sheer scope is almost overwhelming. Towers being knocked over, buildings crashing down, tanks, jets, aa, ac130s, every type of firearm imaginable it's just insane. There's no use x weapon and sprint/spray/pray approach here. Cod has become a fragfesf of computer generated kills. In bf4 grit, and skill with firearms, still reigns king.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Single Player Review

posted by thextreme1 (BERLIN, MD) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overall, you can tell that this game was made for multiplayer. While the single player element is decent, it seems tacked on and not very interesting. The story is average, at best.

Graphics are a mixed bag. Great character models, with muddy environmental textures. I noticed, quite a few times, characters clipping through many different objects in the environment. Framerate seems consistent throughout and there are some nice set pieces to fight in and around. The game runs at 900p and upscales to 1080, which shows more aliasing than a true HD game would. It is also probably the reason why some textures look muddy. Animation is decent, but not much different than last gen.

Gameplay is on par with any FPS in the past 10 years.no huge surprises. Some boat and vehicle segments thrown in to break up the monotony of shooting. There are a ton of weapons to find and upgrade, which should keep you coming back. If it wasnt for those collectables though... I couldnt see much that would make you want to play through the story again.

Controls are no different than any other FPS. Solid and quick.

Overall, Its OK... But nothing special. I truly had more fun playing through COD Ghosts story. It was just better paced and less disjointed. There were also some nicer environmental textures at true 1080p which helped it look sharper, even though the overall graphics were of lesser quality. Especially the character models, which were the visual highlight of Battlefield 4.

If you are thinking of playing this game for single player only, I would rent it or buy it for less than $30. I doubt, unless you enjoy collecting all of the guns and dogtags, you will play it twice... Which will make this a pricy 4 or 5 hours, unless you also enjoy multiplayer too.

Unfortunately, multiplayer is in bad shape and doesnt show signs of ever being resolved before the next game hits. So I would say rent this game. Enjoy single player for what it is and send it back. Save your money for a b

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

one problem: no offline bots!!

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Dec 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

battlefield 2 i played for six years battlefield 3 i played for 2 weeks why? because they took out the bots i have been unbelievably frustrated with that ever since the first bad company i thought oh its just because its a spin off then comes bf3 oh they'll do it next time but they never brought it back the test range thing i found helpful on learning how to fly jets and thats it bots would make me play this game for years instead of days and also be a great training mode much better than a glorified empty server also i usually have awful connection so online for me is almost unplayable another reason for bots i could go on all day telling you the benefits of bots but ill cut myself off if they add bots i would pay 120 bucks for bf4 until then goodbye battlefield

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

99 Problems but a Glitch Ain't One

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

But in all actuality, an unacceptable amount of glitches mar an otherwise great experience. There have been three, roughly 600MB patches since the game released, and even with the most recent patch, the PS4 version of Battlefield 4 often becomes unplayable.
When I rented the game at launch, every time I would attempt to play through the campaign, an error message would appear indicating that your save data file has been corrupted, forcing you to restart the campaign from the very beginning, while other times, the game would appear to save your progress only to appear as if you're playing the game for the first time with no record of having played the game and no saved data present. Thankfully, multiplayer stats and upgrades are saved via EA/DICE servers so even with the ever-present errors, your online progress remains intact.
As for the game itself, the brief campaign (once I finally got to play through it), is your standard run-and-gun fare and doesn't really do anything remarkable in terms of innovation or novelty, and the leap to next-gen offers textures with much greater detail, higher fidelity, crisp visuals, running realistic water and particle effects which are downright beautiful, but because it is a port of a current-gen game and wasn't built from the ground up for next-gen consoles, the full potential of the new hardware capabilities is never truly realized.
The 64-player online Conquest matches, on the otherhand, although plagued with audio glitches and the seeming inability to communicate with other players even though it appears as if everyone has their headsets plugged in is really annoying. Perhaps one out of 20 matches you might hear one or two other players actually talking, but for the most part, you'll be playing in utter silence. Even with all of these technical annoyances, to engage in one of the 64-player matches is to experience once of the single greatest achievements of next-gen capabilities, I'd tell u about it but no spac

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

8/10

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Average

posted by Killademon (DALTON, GA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well Maybe I didn't like it because I am an avid call of duty player, but it takes way to long to find a person to kill, The maps are too big, and I get killed way to fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Battlefield 4

posted by choochkwj (SANTA CLARA, CA) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I went from playing Killzone Shadow Fall to playing Battlefield 4 and was very unimpressed by Battlefield 4. You can really tell that Battlefield 4 was meant to be played on the 360 or ps3 because it does not shine on the ps4 like Killzone does. My second qualm with BF4 was the campaign. I expected to have at least 20 hours of gameplay like most standard good campaigns however I was extremely dissapointed when the credits started rolling after only 8hours of play. All in all BF4 is a solid game if you love previous battlefields however it was not effective at enticing new players to its gameplay, therefore I suggest refraining from getting this game if you are not familiar with BF4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just breath takeing

posted by Spider2134 (PATERSON, NJ) Nov 15, 2013

Member since May 2012

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Very perfect game things here and there very good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Battlefield

posted by KiNgDel (ROSEDALE, NY) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 20 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Battlefield sucks don't wish to time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

graphics are horrible for a next Gen game

posted by xps (CAMPBELLSVILLE, KY) Aug 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Easports needs to step it up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed

posted by Cydgil6 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I think after enjoying Battlefield 3 I had high expectations for the 4th. I hoped it would atleast be up to par with the 3rd but it is horrible in comparison. The campaign mode and online play were poor. The movement, glitches, design, weapons menu/choices, etc. This was a waste of a rental but I am thankful I don't own it because I can now send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Herro

posted by XxFlyGamerxX (OZONE PARK, NY) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Great graphics herro prease

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game

posted by simply1superior (MELBOURNE, FL) Jul 18, 2014

Member since May 2014

This is my first battlefield game and won't be the last. The campaign isn't to shabby but isn't the main focus this game. Multiplayer is by far the most addicting and all time consuming quality that makes this an excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short but Sweet

posted by Nihilistporcup9 (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Loved the storyline - did not even jump online to play other folks. Some call this lame, but i have played FPS for way too long and they are all the same really. Story was good, not great. Voices are amazing. And the action is perfect. I played on normal difficulty and it took me decent amount of time to get through some areas. It was nice to have a real change of pace from Call of Duty.
Loved the guns and how you unlocked them - loved the PS4 controls as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad but campaign not very hard.

posted by Goobins (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I enjoyed Battlefield 4, but my experience with the PS4 is pretty limited so far.

This was a typical shooter like a CoD kind of game. The characters were decent and the controls were satisfactory. I liked the slight variation of being on foot and occasionally driving a tank or boat and I was happy that it was possible to go prone, unlike with the other shooter I've tried so far (Killzone).

I played it on hard and nothing was very difficult, but I was just playing the campaign without bothering to try for particular trophies or anything. The main thing I didn't like was that there wasn't much of a possibility to use stealth. None of the weapons (at least that I found throughout the game) had a silencer, so once I had to shoot it was just all out combat. It was possible to come up from behind some people in order to knife them, but if not for that there was no sneaking.

I'm still waiting for Wolfenstein, which I'm hoping is even better, but I've been waiting for 3 weeks with it at #1 in my queue and have had no luck so far, which sucks bad.

Seems like GF might need to buy additional copies of popular games, and I'm thinking that since they don't tell you where you are in the queue for a particular game they want to keep it secret how few they might actually have on hand.

I've only got a game or two left that seems to be regularly available, so if things don't start opening up I'm going to have to cancel my membership for a few months until some of the games are old enough that I can actually get them....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Luvd It!

posted by Chevinator (SELMA, OR) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Story was not to long and not to short, a perfect length campaign. Although there were times when some of the gameplay battles got a little longer then they should of been, sometimes repetitive... It was overall a good campaign. Amazing graphics, not to bad of voice acting, sometimes scenes where rather skippy but it didnt bother me as much. Overall the campaign was pretty good for a FPS. Multiplayer is straight havoc! What ive always dreamed of. Twice as better graphics then any call of duty game plus 30 vs. 30 battles! Way to intense! Sometimes i get stuck in the fire fights so bad that its just one big firework show. Other than that super fun, glad i bought this game, might consider the new battlefeild coming out in october.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not a good game

posted by opeter (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

I could not even stand to beat the campan after the frist misson.

The online was not good ether!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's ok

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Nothing much last yr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse