Rent Battlefield 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Battlefield 4

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

829 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crashes too much.

posted by JPetro49 (CLAYVILLE, NY) May 5, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would gladly give this game a 10. Buuuuuut it crashes way too often. Because it is largely unplayable due to constantly crashing it gets a 1 and gets sent back to Gamefly again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Total upset

posted by brian1980 (NEW HAVEN, IN) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

freezes constantly,glitchy as heck..they paid more on hype about the game than the game...there will be a good battlefield game sometime...they are on the right track...but this game isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow....Biggest letdown so far of 2014

posted by Adeum (OGDEN, UT) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All of what people have been saying is true - except you take the bugs and glitches being experienced by PC/Next-gen players and multiply it exponentially. I usually end up getting 1 shot killed for the grand majority of my deaths due to the 1 shot kill bug that has been patched on PC/Next-gen but evidently it is still a problem on old consoles.

Maps are still far too big for 24 players. You spend 90% of your game time running to objectives. And if you are in infantry player you're out of luck because this game is basically like the AK expansion for BF3. It's all about the vehicles. But in general, the maps are poorly designed for 24 player servers.

So many bugs I don't even know when to begin. My first experience with BF4 started with a system freeze in the first 10 minutes of gameplay. Had to hard-reset my PS3. This has happened roughly 15 times in less than 4 hours of gameplay. Tried a complete reinstall, and the same problem persists.

Character reload animation frequently glitches (you can't tell your character is reloading because it wont do the reload animation).

Latency is AWFUL. Ping is ~30, yet my screen seems to be frequently up to 2 full seconds behind the action in the game. I can see somebody at the end of the street pop out, I hurry and duck behind cover, and get insta-killed 5 or 6 steps into cover.

Character will frequently just whip out his defibs or throw ammo/medic packs all of his own accord in the middle of a firefight.

Controls, even when set on Veteran, are NOT EVEN CLOSE to BF3 controls, and piloting vehicles is nothing short of frustrating.

Graphics are BAD. Rendering is poor, and it's difficult to see enemies when things start getting excited.

The field of view....wow. Maybe a 45 degree field of view, compared with the 180+ degree field of view you have in real life!

I can say without hesitation that this is the single most broken AAA title I've ever played. Two DLCs released, yet the game remains unplayable? This

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Multiplayer Review

posted by Koolaidman421 (HEMET, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here's my 9/10 explanation:

I would have given this a 10/10, but perhaps I'm just a typical Call of Duty fan.

There is a strange feeling in this game that I do not get in Call of Duty. I feel like nearly every little action matters in BTF 4. I run up, lay down and start shooting where I see an enemy and other friendly fire heading towards. There is a feeling that I am actually helping to contain the enemy in that very spot for others to w33d out, and at points I'd receive a little score for suppressing the enemy. Weather or not this is a true aspect of the game, the feeling is there and that's all that matters in a virtual experience. In CoD you feel like if you aren't hitting them on the dot, you aren't doing anything, and where nothing but kills matter in CoD, you still feel like a bad-A if you have three BTF4 kills but still managed to blow up multiple vehicles.

The movement feels great, it doesn't feel like you're simply sliding through the maps, you actually feel like there's quite a bit of traction between your characters feet and the ground. Jumping in and out of cover and from prone positions shakes the camera.

You can change your equipment IN the matches.

The gameplay pace varies from game mode to game mode, so if you're a big CoD fan, they have a mode for you, if you like methodical shooters, they have one for you as well, and everything in between.

Destructible environment. I love seeing a guy walk behind a wall out of my view. "Where the heII are you going?" Blow the wall out with a grenade launcher and kill him

The only issue I had (Which kept me from a perfect score), and this is solely a personal reason, is the difficulty. When playing a faster paced fps for the first time starts off difficult, but you quickly master it. However, I played BTF4 for almost a month and got no more than 10 kills in a match. And that was a one time number. Didn't RUIN the experience for me though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game is Broken!

posted by Windexstor (ONTARIO, CA) Feb 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 4 is full of glitches, connection issues, frame rate issues, and poor spawns. The only redeeming quality this game has is the vast weapons selection, and customization. I am VERY pleased that I got this game through Gamefly, as if I had purchased this, I would have returned it. Thank you Gamefly for keeping me from making poor decisions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rushed?

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 6, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Or possibly made with only next up-and-coming consoles in mind... Battlefield 4 leaves much to desire in graphics and game-control interface. Battlefield 3 had a very clean and refined game functionality from the start; I am not sure why EA would push a game that feels unrefined in numerous instance. With countless bugs and graphic issues you normally dont expect from Battlefield, but there is few refined aspects

Single player campaign is standard and doesn't have much depth to what goes on in the story... You play a Marine who goes by the name or alias "Recker" .
Recker is a part of a squad of tactical Marine covert operations... Set out to engage in hostile and unexplainable terrorist attacks.

Very STANDARD / basic story... They throw you into a series of missions that have significant events to the game world environment... Floods, collasping buildings... You create these events in game and multiplayer. Some of the terrerain is very flat and empty... Geographically compositions that are unplausible... While some parts are very well detailed . Animation of vehicles have been improved... The aircraft don't have that floating appearance as they often seemed to appear as in Battlefield 3.

The multiplayer bugs and glitching are still there. Empting your clip inside someones face and they just trying to see you in the dark and one shot killing you... Always makes you want to just throw the gun at the person, because you think it would do more damage.

The new commander mode is interesting, being a spectater that can interact with the game is how it has evolved though. So far I've had one commander drop a ammo crate on top of me ... Killing me... Rather it was accidental or on purpose is undetermined as the game is new. But dropping supplies, doing air strikes, and making tactical approach is what the commander is for... Or watching over the game telling the other team whats going on.

Could have been better. Some of the driving controls are awful too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game and great disapointment.

posted by Srebnygryf (GALLOWAY, NJ) Dec 10, 2013

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is far less what I expected.
Plus:
Graphics are amazing, game play is captivating.
Campaign story and game play are pleasant.
Multilayer is challenging and fun.

Cons:
Lets start whit freeze, freeze and its fallowed by more freeze and that is both on campaign and multilayer. I might be able play two or three matches but it will freeze eventually. Camping also was way to short for such intense story, way to short.
I got the PS3 premium BF4 and it hasn't benefited me yet. Sometimes the game tells me I am not a premium member.
Campaign has issues with freeze but also there are problems whit game saving. At one point I lost the save and had to start allover.
Multilayer is just horrible, besides freezing there is more issues. Finding a server to join sometimes is impossible or it tells me that my notwork connection doesn't work. Once I get in 80% times i get put in in last second of the game so it jumps to ending screen.
Meanwhile when I get in to the match if there is no major lag which comes from the EA server the soldier classes tend to be more overpowering the others. Sometimes recon and assault classes do more damage than engineer or support.
From what I heard and read from other players this issue is not only for ps3, all other platforms experience major issues, freeze, lag, losing save, premium issues, sever connection than disconnection.
If it would be possible right now I would give this game -1 for what I paid ( more $100). For such massive great game it surely went down the drain whit this release.
The BF4 is taking way to long to fix the issues, I would like my money back but I doubt they will give me full refund.
At least I got full disappointment.
Rent at your discomfort, don't buy.
Maybe the will fix it soon I am hoping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed!

posted by rwes10 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was awful! Had potential to be a good game if not for all the freaking glitches and constantly having to start the game over!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh

posted by Sychopath (ELIZAVILLE, NY) Nov 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I rented the game, finished the campaign and it's a joke. So short, uneventful, buggy, glitchy mess. The characters and story had good potential but ultimately didn't satisfy in the end because it was a rushed, tacked on experience. They made an attempt at an emotional story but it fell short. Online, no surprises here. If you liked BF3, guess you'll enjoy this yearly edition. Whatever...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 Star!! Terrible Graphics!!

posted by DjLeno (DENVER, CO) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Dont loose your time or money playing this game!!
Terrible graphics!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by abrammercado118 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 6, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

campaign is supper! short! good but alittle boring. Online is the same as BF3 nothing has changed.. same game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun and addicting

posted by banditboys (BRANSON, MO) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

its kinda unrealistic and you are so surrounded by emines and you cant see where you are being shot from but then again they dont die as easy asw we do either but its very entaintaining and competive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by Clowndude28 (HIGHSPIRE, PA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

its a glitchy mess just like bf3
Graphics are really good but the campaign for me was almost Impossible to even complete the first mission because of shooting down a helicopter tried over a 100 times then just lost interest hopefully dice will get there stuff together and fix this franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

battlefield 4

posted by ngh (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

it is the best game i have played in a long time i like the levels and the guns and i like how it is a little hard i wish it was harder because i beat it in 1 day and good job on the game awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rushed out the door too early.

posted by karebear13760 (ENDICOTT, NY) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

Battlefield 4 wasn't what I was hoping for. The graphics could have been more enhanced with the various terrains throughout the game. EA has the capabilities to produce wonderful games, but I feel Battlefield 4 was certainly pushed out the door way to soon and who ever is checking the game itself before release didn't do justice for this game. I also have to wonder why Recker never spoke a word. Is it that hard to have him speak? The glitches were, well too many, and certainly unrefined. This game I will not purchase. EA I hope your future productions have better quality that insure uncountless bugs with graphic issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by SkyrimDarkRim (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

It was a great game, Beat It In A Day Or two

I thought it very short in my opioin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

battlefield 4

posted by aaronisone (SALEM, OR) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

i liked it a lot campaign was good but it glitched out to much on me when i got to a checkpoint the screen went all black on me it happen a few times then at some points my guys on my team would freeze up trying to open a door or unlock a fence it was bad but all out it was a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short and Sweet!

posted by Dethkyng (EVANSVILLE, IN) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

First off, I have to say that Multiplayer blew me away! It makes Call of Duty's multiplayer look like bad game of hide and seek. I could not get over how good the multiplayer is. It still has alot of bugs to be worked out, but once the kinks are fixed, IF they are fixed, this game will be worth your time. The Campaign is EXTREMELY short, but what do you expect with the expansive multiplayer experience? If you are a trophy/achievement hunter, then you could benefit from the extremely easy campaign trophies/achievements. Hard mode in my opinion no different from easy. That's one pro/con about the campaign. Overall, this is a pretty good RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good game

posted by Joeissac (CEDAR HILL, TX) Feb 8, 2014

Member since May 2013

This is a good game but not a lot of friends have it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

go kill urself

posted by urmommafool (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

why hi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dreadful

posted by flexypoo (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

I tried my best to give the game a chance and enjoy it, but honestly it's dreadful. One of the main issues with the game is that if you die at a particular point in a mission, you have to start all the way from the beginning. So you can spend 20 minutes fighting and shooting your way forward, get killed, and have the privilege to start all over again.

Next ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by trock78 (PORT ROYAL, SC) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

it a good game not like the others, but all in all good game. i die so much time i lost it lol. but it is a must buy or rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor Controls

posted by oldgamer3 (DUNLAP, TN) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Give me Call of Duty any time. Very poor controls with limited graphics. To bad, appeared to have a very good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Thanks

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

It just felt like Dice was trying to hard. I enjoyed all Battlefields up till now. With glitches abound I tried with emphasis to play through it but found myself getting more upset at the inconsistency in the game. Trying to play online was a joke. Single campaign I didnt even get through much of the first mission. Trying to use the optional scope was hit or miss. Thats if it wanted to work. The game itself was there. I felt the attempt and the effort to make a solid title was there but, once again. I stress the inconsistency. Its all good. Dice doesnt shut down servers so I still have BF3. I wish I could give a more detailed review however, I can only go by my experience. Thanks for your time in reading. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

About this game

posted by Richie7872 (PUEBLO, CO) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I thought the online multiplayer part of this game was weak. It was very slow when it came to controlling my soldier. I felt that this game could use more agility. It was slow and took too many shots to actually kill someone. The actual campaign game was not what I thought it would be. The only good thing about this game was the sound. I'm glad I had the chance to rent this game instead of going out and buying it. I almost bought this game before playing it and I was pleased to give it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse