Rent Battlefield 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlefield 4

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox One, PS3, PS4

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

1345 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

So Close to Great

posted by ClassySOB (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start off with the many good things about this game.
The visuals are great, vibrant and well crafted.
The weapons are numerous, detailed and the ability to earn add-on is always a plus, makes playing for hours rewarding.
The environments are very interactive, yes you can destroy the giant building in Siege of Shanghai but you can also shot the fire extinguisher in the underground objective A. Detail is done right.
Multi-player is fun and there are numerous options for game play.

Now here is the part that makes me absolutely done with this game and DICE forever. And it's only 1 thing but in my opinion it ruins the replay value to the point of no return.

The multiplayer is basically unplayable, at least on XBOX 360. Like I said, when it works its amazing BUT 100% of time it will freeze your entire console. Maybe not on your first round of conquest but after a few rounds, you'll be scoping down an enemy and BEWM, frozen. Which means you have to manually cycle your console. That is correct, it's not just the game that freezes, it's your entire console. I had this game out for 3-4 months, hoping beyond hope that one of the 9 updates they released during that time would fix this issue but sadly no. I must have cycled my XBOX 50-75 times in that period. Its a non-redeeming issue for me, now a days replay value makes a $70 game worth it. But when you get 30 mins in and you're staring at a frozen screen for the 4th time that evening, it's frustrating to say the least. Lastly, the campaign is very short but whatever, I rented for the multiplayer.

This game was so close to great but I simply could not deal with the constant freezing. If you've got an XBOX 360 I would suggest taking a pass on this game and find another FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game blows

posted by hempsterdance (WELLS, NY) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its great when a game is going to come out and it focuses on playing with friends.....only there is no split screen?
Who thought that was a good idea? I sold this game a day after buying it. This game sucks. I'll stick with call of duty and will never buy a battlefield game again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could not Play!

posted by N2388 (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Way to force an up sell and #$&% the consumer on needing an external HDD only. I have 2.5GB internal storage on my 360 slim but that's not good enough ... at least GTA 5 let me use an external USB flash flash drive. EA take notes on what not to do next time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't Play it!!!!

posted by Heff69 (WORCESTER, MA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had the hard drive issue as well. I can't believe they wont fix the issue???? I have lost all respect for this series and the maker as well, EA, not cool at all, we spend our hard earned money on these games. So all and all I cant tell you a thing about the game, sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Battlefield 4 freezing

posted by railroadman46 (FORT BRANCH, IN) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Couldn't play the game as it froze like every 30 to 45 min.I was very dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage

posted by punsiher84 (DUNDALK, MD) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do not get this unless you an internal hard drive. I have the xbox slim with suffice memory and a 64gb flash drive. But it wasn't good enough. So, I guess EA wants you to be loaded with money in order to get the xbox that has loads of internal memory. They want people to play but aren't willing to help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ban Microsoft/EA and Activision

posted by bakedpenguin (MIAMI, FL) Feb 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been screwed over by all three of these companies and have lost over $200 last year and this year alone. I will not be buying the Xbox one, i will not buy anymore titles from these companies either. If you work hard for your money as i do it would behoove you not to as well. There is a name to these types of negligent business practices that do not rectify their mistakes with their customers. It is called stealing. It would have also been nice to be forewarned about the issues with this game by Gamefly. Hopefully ill have a better experience with you in the weeks to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Single player not worth it

posted by SinglPlyr (CONCORD, CA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game looks awesome. I'm sure multiplayer is a lot of fun, but the single player campaign is really slow. The story is difficult to follow, the action is kind of boring, and the game is annoyingly short. For me, not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow

posted by JBonzo (HARRISBURG, PA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I couldn't even really get to enjoy this game with it freezing my xbox for the 4th time in one day. Skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RIDICULOUS!!

posted by mob308 (WINDERMERE, FL) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

So, like most people, I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the latest in the Battlefield series. I finally received it today from Gamefly, and immediately put it into my Xbox360 to try it out. I went through the normal "you must download this new update to play this game" screens, only to be told my hard drive was not an acceptable device. After being told this many times, I went on the EA website for help, since I had plenty of available memory for the download to occur. Well, turns out, I wasn't the only one with this issue. Numerous others were also unable to play the game, simply because, for some reason, the update wouldn't recognize the hard drive as being an acceptable medium to download to. And EA went above and beyond in helping everyone out... by saying they weren't going to do anything, and you should all just go out and buy a new hard drive. EA, you have just lost a long time player, and I will hopefully get others to stop supporting you as well. You make a game that people can't play, and just tell them to go buy something else (that the shouldn't have to buy) to fix the problem that you created.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

okay

posted by rstengel67 (SANTEE, CA) Nov 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

good game the campaign is pretty short
the multiplayer is pretty fun lots of guns and customization. the sniper class is easier to use now all you hear running around in a hardcore game is sniper rounds passing by constantly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lousy game

posted by tj1371 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not a user friendly game to play. The controls suck. Screens are dark so I had to turn the brightness up to max just to see what was going on. Worst vehicle controls for any game I've ever played. Almost impossible to know which way to go or what the game wants you to do until you get killed a half dozen times just to figure it out. What a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BEWARE!!

posted by moviebuff151 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 4 will not play on xbox 360 4gb slim. Unless you buy and additional hard drive. So unless you want to do that. Don't buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldnt play it

posted by zlsl93 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Make sure you have 2gb of space on a hd hard drive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STUPID STUPID BUG

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) Jan 18, 2014

Member since May 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really was enjoying this game but after playing the Multi-Player it erased my entire progress on the Solo.

I can't do the thing again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WARNING! CANNOT PLAY ON 360 SLIM

posted by markus87 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

EA just lost a longtime fan. I was super excited to play this game and come to find out it doesn't work on my xbox because I need to buy an extra hard-drive. The screen says you need 2 g of memory and even if you have that much it still wont let you play. Im not gonna shell out a bunch of money just for a hard-drive. Just another example of how greedy these companies are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hardrive

posted by Noobcake55 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Couldn't play because I didn't have a hardrive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Disappointed

posted by BigMike1989 (EAST PROVIDENCE, RI) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Im not sure why gamefly does not notify you of this prior to renting, but the game requires a 2gig update that MUST BE SAVED TO A HARD DRIVE (cannot be saved to internal drive) in order to play the game. So those of us who only have a base model xbox360 without a hard drive (the 4gig model) are unable to play this game. This is my first game rented through gamefly and i am very upset because it took nearly a week for it to get here and its probably going to take a few days to get back and then ANOTHER week to get my next game in queue. So i have paid for a month i will basically only get to use 1 week of for playing a rented game. I wish i could rate this game, but gamefly doesnt give any heads up about this so i have wasted my time and money unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent or buy! Unless you have a HDD

posted by SirLoopty (GREENVILLE, SC) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Wish I would have took the time to check out the reviews. If you don't have a XBOX HDD then the fp game is worthless. It won't let you play. Don't assume you have one just because you have storage space. EA will not assist you also!

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened here?

posted by Falchion (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

As of this date (11/14/2013), this game is unplayable on the Xbox 360! It freezes every couple of minutes no matter if you are playing the single player or multiplayer. That really is too bad. Now I question if it is worth attempting to play it on the Xbox One...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre at best

posted by Ax3man (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Nov 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Single player:

+ Shooting mechanics are great
+ Variety of different levels (from open space to corridor shooting)

- Story is a mess
- Non existing character development
- Glitches, bugs that vary from randomly killing you to forcing you to restart entire mission
- All difficulties feel the same
- Short
- Abysmal ending that makes you wonder: "where is the second half of the single player"

Multiplayer:

+ Variety of different modes
+ Recon class is now actually useful
+ Battlepacks (certain amount of points earn you xp benefits, upgrades for weapons, dogtags)
+ Testing range (can practice to fly helicopters or try out tanks)
+/- Significant amount of weapons and upgrades

- Same textures from BF3
- Controls are horrible (you use sticks to accelerate, if I wanted halo controls I would just play halo)
- Maps are unbalanced
- Most of upgrades do the same exact thing
- Glitches:
no sound, spawning without weapons, crashing (had at least 20+ console freezes during of total 11 hours of gameplay), hardcore elements somehow made to the normal mode (hitmarkers don't appear, reloading causes to waste entire clip), iron sites sometimes glitch and all you see is a big black dot, lag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good

posted by Lucasdad (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Campaign was not good multiplayer was even worse not a fan of battlefield series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stick with it

posted by lucaslshaffer (COLUMBUS, GA) Dec 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is intense but after some practice the environments are well balanced and the growth of the 'soldier' and usage of the vehicles become vital to enjoying the game. Each level, take the time to adjust the settings on weapons, tanks, etc. The gameplay is good and there is no question about whether this is a game to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Has to many flaws

posted by lokifire0900 (FORT EDWARD, NY) Aug 15, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Although graphics were well done to include vehicle and weapons and upgrades made multiplayer worth playing but it does takes way to long to upgrade or even level up! Also not having split screen offline mode for a bit of practice with friends made it not worth it! The single player game mode was way to short and to way to many cinematic for a even flow game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game but has requirements

posted by XGam3rx (HENDERSON, NV) Aug 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The game is great if you have all requirements you will have a great time. the requirements are 18+ age which at the end of the review i will say how to by pass that and you need a harddrive. the game has great graphics. I love watching a building collapse this game is a big 10/10. you need a computer to by pass the age requirement. first go on google.com and search "origin download" then download origin. Make a account with the email you use in xbox live. Then go to top left part of the screen and press add friend and press xbox live connect. Go on battlefield and it should work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse