Rent Battlefield 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Battlefield 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

7729 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Multiplayer rocks!!

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

40 out of 55 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I bought BF3 for the mulitplayer alone, and feel its worth the purchase. I played the single player briefly but havent given it it's fair chance and dont know if I will given the fun I'm having with the mulitplayer. I like the pace of the online play and the objective based gameplay. Theres a lot of fun in it especially the design for some of the RUSH maps... I recommend buying this game if you enjoyed the campaign because the online is so much fun. It sucks that they make people pay for an online pass but thats outside of our controll and if you rented it from gamefly and choose to keep it you can actually still save some money on the title. Every true gamer needs to own a first person shooter that offers online gameplay and I think this one is a must have at the present moment. I know MW3 is right around the corner but the Frostbite 2 engine blows MW out the water. The graphics are good and the building distruction is just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game look great...

posted by aznpanda510 (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I like This game.... Make the gun of your dream. Man your sniper into a normal gun... Make your M4 Into a sniper... Love the dog tag's. The Pc version is better but this is console... And this is all it can take. SO let wait for the Next gen console and we will be able to hold 64+ player's.. And i like the story mode more then black-op. Black ops i had to stop in the middle.. I don't like the fact they make you seem crazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC AWESOME MULTIPLAYER!!!

posted by ChrisInDC (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

31 out of 48 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Did not finish campaign, no comments on it.

Multiplayer is HUGE! Every kit/class has tons of guns to unlock and every gun has 10 attachments to unlock! The maps are varied and balanced perfectly. If you like running and gunning you can stick with Rush or Team Deathmatch on the ssmall infantry maps(LEARN THE CHOKE POINTS). If slow tactics is your thing you can stick with Conquest or Rush on the the monster sized maps. If youve played BF or Badcompany before and liked it you will LOVE this no questions asked.

As for the online pass, it's a one time fee to play online. Co op is ONLINE ONLY and its only 2 players. Most games use this online pass feature now and I have no problem with it. Companies like Gamestop are killing the industry and making billions without giving anything to developers so good riddance. (uncharted 3, Assasins Creed Revelations, Mass Effect 3 all will have online passes!) Ten dollars is a small price to pay in my opinion for this amazing online experience.

The feeling of driving a boat with 5 teammates in your hands to an enemies base only to find out your boat doubles as a tank! Yes it has amphibious vehicles! The jets are familiar to anyone who's played 1943 and most other vehicles handle the same.

Most people I've talked to who dont like BF never gave it enough time. There are tools and abilities at your disposal that you must learn to use on your own, add the massive maps you have to remember and it can take awhile to become a true BF player. This is a game where you can win MVP of a match with only 5 kills, a game where people help each other (mostly), and want to win more than kill. If you find a good player with a mic ask to add him on your list, squad play is what BF is all about. Giving ammo, health, revivng people, spotting enemies, capturing flags, and suppression are all ways to contribute without getting kills. Best multiplayer I've ever played on PS3!

Graphics 9, Audio 10, Online play 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlefield 3 comes high hopes

posted by Shoot1st (HOUSTON, MO) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

With Battlefield 3 comes high hopes. Everything that makes the battlefield series great is there. The lighting and textures make the levels seem alive. With foliage to hide behind rooftops and windows to snipe from, to a huge assortment of vehicles to crush your opponents. But were it really shines is the teamwork aspect of the game. If you stick with you team and support them with ammo, healing, suppressing fire, or just good ol breach and clear you become an unstoppable force that will make your rivals regret trying to take your position. Battlefield 3 is the first online shooter to have Dedicated servers No ps3 to ps3 host migration. That in it of itself makes the one time 9.99 pass code if you rent the game worth it. if you buy it you get the code for free. I have followed this series since its inception and love it no its not based on Bad company so the story missions are deeper and not as comical. Rent it play the story missions if you like what you see buy it you wont be disappointed and if not send it back there are tons of games waiting for you on Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best shooter of the year (so far at least)

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
As others have described the campaign is similar in concept to COD Black Ops (flashback sequences). I personally think it is more interesting and better executed than Black Ops. Frankly though you buy a shooter like this for the multi-player.

As one would expect the multi-player delivers well. It is similar to BC2...but some nice enhancements in being able to lay down (sniper friendly), suppression, and enhanced melee.

I play pretty much every shooter (including COD) so this is an accurate assessment. There are a few kinks they need to work out in the multi-player. However, that is nothing new (see almost every AAA release this year). This is the best shooter of the year so far. We'll see how MW3 fairs (I hope it is good).

This is a must rent for a shooter fan although I'd just suggest buy (as you need the online pass anyway for multi-player). As others have said rent from Gamefly (buy at reduced price) and you'll get the case and online pass.

Pros
=================
1) enhanced graphics
2) best campaign in a BF game yet (which isn't their strong suit, didn't even used to have one)
3) tighter controls and nifty features like suppression
4) the sound of a BF game is wonderful
5) destruction of environment

Cons
===================
1) few minor glitches with multi-player & campaign (nothing as bad as Black Ops or Resistence 3 though)
2) story is nothing new

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game.

posted by Cubanoking (MIAMI, FL) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 3 is an amazing game! I have just bought the online pass and am so ingrained into the game play right now. There is a variety that is refreshing in a first person shooter (such as jest, tanks and jeeps). The online is more tactical based, and teamwork related. Don't treat this as a Call of Duty game, because it is not. Personally I feel it's an improvement on the first person shooter genre as a whole, and it's nice to place a new FPS rather then the same rehashed game we have been playing the past 6 years (COD 4,5 , MW2 and Black Ops). The only part this game falls short is on the story mode, which is very linear and can be frustrating. This however is not a major concern to me because the main appeal of this game is the online. So gear up, strap on your chair and let's met online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best multiplayer this year.........so far

posted by reelniga (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

i will admit that i've only been playing this game for a week or so and that i haven't unlocked much, but i can say that the game is great. i played battlefield BC2 and was glad to hear about BF3 from the minute it was announced. The multiplayer will take months to finish, and that's without unlocking vehicle and co-op awards. while the single player is a disappointment, i hardly doubt anybody is looking for a great single player experience in multiplayer game. I'm looking forward to see what call of duty will do in a couple weeks, but whatever it is, it will have to be pretty amazing. I'm looking forward to playing both COD and BF and not having to pick sides.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by iamj0y (WINNETKA, CA) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has good graphics and realistic combat. it is a very good game for players who are competitive. it is very fun. i would reccomend it for many people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BF3 Pwns MW3

posted by Bkerestes (COALDALE, PA) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Since I played this on campaign mode and then played it online, the online experience is all to real... MW3 has nothing on this game with being able to drive a variety of vehicles and actually interact with them this game has everything I was looking for in a war game. Doubt I will ever go back to MW3, in fact I may just go and take MW3 and trade it in to GameStop!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but not great.

posted by James5955 (FALL CITY, WA) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Pros:

- There are tons of perks for vehicles that are a blast to use.
- Lots of perks to unlock and use, especially for vehicles... The more time you put into the game the more fun it is.
- Great game for playing with 1-3 friends, now that VOIP is fixed.
- Fairly wide variety of weapons.
- More strategic potential than most other FPS games for console.
- Good gun mechanics such as recoil, accuracy and damage.
- The vehicles are a blast to use, especially the jeep.. slap some C4 on the front, line up with a tank that doesnt see you, jump out and detonate on contact and have lawls.
- Fun enough to keep my attention for about 100 hours, while most games tend to last 20 or so hours.
- Awesome graphics, though at times you might find yourself getting really irritated by being blinded due to craptastic lighting.
- Regional server selection (woot!).

Cons:

- $10 purchase in order to play online & co-op.
- Terrible match making.
- Some gun imbalances.
- The maps were made with PC in mind and the PC version has 64 player cap. The console however, has the same maps but with a 24 player cap so if you can get it for the PC then do so... it's much better.
- The squads are limited to 4 people (BOO!!!).
- Limited clan support.
- No private matches.

Overall I'd give the game a 8/10. It's one of the better FPS games available. The game might feel a little bit campy but just give it time and learn the maps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dont let any game rating turn you off

posted by Jamis420 (BROOKS, ME) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you read the comments that say this game sucks, is only because they didnt play multiplayer. If you want to have the best war experience of your life, buy this game. Renting it doesnt do it justice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield 3

posted by Drybonesjr (BRUNSWICK, GA) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Although I haven't played campaign, the multi-player aspect of the game is amazing all around. At times it can get a little repetitive but keep shooting! This game provides complete customization to the cammo, class, gun, and vehicle! Yes, vehicle! When it comes to realistic battle features are remarkable to say the least.
Battlefield raises the stakes, challenging players with an all new air combat vehicle, the jet! You can now engage intense air support from your buddies on the ground or shoot down the opposing Ace from the skies. The more kills you earn the more upgrades you get such as flares and more!
Dust, explosions, vehicles, smog, debris, and even the sun will find its way to blocking the perfect shot, but don't fret, it could also save you!
Other than tedious hunting and killing you must do to earn unlocks for your individual favorite guns, I gave this game a perfect 10/10. Happy Shooting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intense shooter

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

21 out of 38 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome... Brilliant story, captivating graphics, trend-setting gameplay. Battlefield is a surreal military shooter that places you inside behind enemy lines at the comfort of your console.
If you like COD you would enjoy this title... It is completely team orientated--though it would be cool if it had deathmatch. Battlefield is known for its strategic, war-scenario shooters with destructible environment. Unlike Call of Duty you wont find or be able to camp in places, because everything can be blown up.

You play as Sgt. Henry Blackburn and a few characters that tie into this story.
On a mission to save fellow soldiers from a group of Iraqi terrorist... Sgt Blackburn and his squad run into a unknown enemy. Attacked on site -- The squad engage into the unknown hostiles to find that they were not only up against Iraqis but the unknown terrorist group known as the PLR.

--You will need to buy it for multiplayer.--

--You will want to buy it for multiplayer.--

The story line is great--it is a espionage story, but if a story aint your thing... You will love the gameplay. The graphics are pristine. You get to fly in a F-15 as the co-piolit and they really show you what the co-pilot does in a fighter jet. You do fly in aircraft online, as well.
I thought the mission you play as a co-pilot was done great. Seeing from that perspective was pretty awesome--I should have been a pilot, but I would need perfect eyesight for all that. -sigh- At least there is video games.

Destructable environment; Vehicles to blow up the environment; Vast multiplayer levels that are GIANT. This game is awesome.

Only problem I had was brightness and contrast adjusting... Turning off super-white and other HDMI settings will help color ratios a LOT.
You might tweak your TV to get a great picture--you should do some adjusting to get that vivid environment. I really wish you could adjust the Red Green Blue ratios in game.

Other than that
Check this game out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for Battlefield fans

posted by Gaaahhhz (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great game for battlefield fans not so much for cod fans. I would recommend this game for anyone that likes fps games and yes there is a 10$ fee if your renting but don't play if you can't pay. Most of the negative reviews are probably from little kids that don't have a job and have a game fly account. Please rate the game according to gameplay not the little extra amount of money you have to shell out to play online that's immature rating a game based on a 10$fee for online that's wack.... Oohhh and cod elite is 50$ if you want the social part of the game and people complain about 10$.....sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FREAKING SWEET GAME!!!!!!!!!

posted by surrender316 (CAMERON, MO) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome. when i first put this game in my PS3. i was wondering what the heck is going on. The campaign blew my mind. I wont say to much for the people that have not rented it yet. But when u do play it oh man have lots of fun. Just to let everyone know the campaign is very story-driven. and the guns sound SWEET!!!!! My opinion of the online pass is kinda bogus. I would not pay $10 for that unless i know how fun it will be. Also the sound and effects of the game make it all the more fun. reallly like the campaign and story of the game. Just to let everyone know though i have not played multiplayer yet. so not quiet sure how fun it will be. the campaign is very short thought took me only one day to beat it. so if u r looking for a long campaign game this may not be one for u. But if u want to play it over again and again it might be. So to anyone who loves hardcore story-driven gameplay and wicked awsome multiplayer pick up this game and have a blast. PEACE OUT AND HAPPY GAMING!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlefield 3 another great installment :)

posted by x4madkillax4 (CHANDLER, AZ) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

((WARNING IF YOU RENT THIS GAME YOU CAN NOT PLAY ONLINE)) DICE has once again proved that they are the king when it comes to online warfare. There is so much to say about this games online that I cannot fit it all here , but , I will do my best. Multiplayer consist of EPIC 24 player battle online engadgements there are 9 huge and detailed maps that can be played in every single one of the games modes. These modes include Rush , Conquest , Team Deathmatch , Squad Deathmatch and Squad Rush . All of these modes are fun and great but Conquest and Rush steal the show they open up parts of the map that you could not see before and contain a major strongpoint for battlefield as a series....VEHICLES!. Vehicles are amazing there are Apc's Helicopters Jets Tanks Jeeps and much more! This all makes for great fun. Battlefield's multiplayer also focuses on squad and team play something that no other game has pulled of so magically for me than the battlefield series. there are 100 ranks (and counting ((RUMOR)) ) and plenty of unlockables and i mean PLENTY so there is enough to keep you busy. Now off to Singleplayer and coop im about halfway through with the campaign and it is very fun and has a cinematic feel and the story is great but there is some poor friendly AI and it is very difficult at times you will die....alot but not enough for you to Rage quit about (unless you play on hard) but singleplayer is once again a weak point which has plagued this series since the beginning but dont worry there is still CO-OP. There are 6 coop missions and although i have only played one i can tell they will be great great fun and they are pretty lengthy to should at least add 2-3 more hours to your experience. Overall this game is stellar A Spectacular Online That should count as 4 modes in other games (thats how huge it is people!) a very fun 6-9 hour campaign and 6 coop mission that add 2-3 hours this is a complete package! definetly buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT SHOOTER!!!!!

posted by hkymike (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Oct 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

The people who give this game anything under a 7 because of the online fee NEEDS TO FACE REALITY AND UNDERSTAND WE ARE IN THE YEAR 2011! So EA is looking to make an extra buck for those that rent their games. Do you blame them? No reason to rate the game bad because you can't understand that.

Now getting into the game. The game is better then BF2 by far, graphics are amazing and the gameplay is very smooth. I didn't get through the campaign yet but all I can say is the single player is a must play!

Online is where Battlefield shines and if you get this game you must play the online portion. Extreme gunfights and crazy action makes you keep coming back for more!

I give this a 9 out of 10 with very very few flaws but nothing close to make you avoid this game at all. Bottom line is.......MUST BUY for any shooter fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Online Pass Required

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

21 out of 42 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In case your thinking of renting this game be advised that an online pass code is required to play online. Gamefly used to inform us of this requirment but they don't seem to be doing that anymore. Should be another great game in the Battlefield franchise. Worthy of the $9.99 pass code price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Battle-Failed??? 3

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

39 out of 79 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

Summary: BF is known for its realistic, tactical shooter background with destructible environments and great multi-player aspect. However, BF3 seems to be missing those elements that made a name for itself from Bad Company 1 & 2.

Campaign: The story mode is up to 6 hrs long. Difficulty is fairly similar to your average FPS games however, without an actual cover system in place enemies are able to aim & hit you at will even though they have no line of sight. Weapons have heavy recoil and have an unsteady aim. The premise is your being interrogated and are seeing flashback missions which are set from your normal point A to point B situation, aircraft battle where your lasing targets on ground & air, tank battles, and stealth which all progress look exactly like COD: Black Ops but with a different character. Most missions are set in darkness and you have little to no vision with your flashlight being a small white dot in front.

Multi-player: For the most part, has delivered what makes BF an online game. A similar weapon customization or package seen in previous BFs. There is also an addition of several co-op missions to complete this time around. With that said there were several glitches mentioned from stalling during teammates dropping out of a match, sound/chat issues, & campaign mode freezing during certain missions.

Note: As expected by EA, an online pass is required to access multi-player, co-op, and any DLC obtained from preorders. Meaning for anyone renting the game is only capable of accessing 25% of the game. An update is given immediately to ensure activation of pass. Plus BF1943 was cancelled silently which was announced to be included with purchase in E3.

For a game that is meant to compete against upcoming games like Modern Warfare 3, Uncharted 3, Assassins Creed Revelations, Elder Scrolls Skyrim, & Saints Row 3. You have other choices worthy of your time. BF3 is a medium to low play value. Don't waste time if your not considering purchasing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No online trial...

posted by cnellis83 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

28 out of 57 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

Graphically the game is very pretty, but i cant even try the online portion of the game because there is no online trial (as of 10-28-11). This game is built on the multi-player experience. Now I understand why they have the online pass, but there are still many gamers who insist on trying a game before purchase. I'm sure i'm not the only one who has now been pushed off the fence onto the other side (Modern Warfare 3). At least there you still get online access without paying for call of duty elite. Also it doesn't sound like the online pass gives you anything special except online access, with CoD: Elite, they are trying to make everything better with the Elite service so you actually get new features and better server support. But most importantly it is not required to play online. The single player experience of battlefield 3 is pretty solid fps with some of the battles feel very authentic, but with my only chance to play online was the multiplayer beta, which left me very disappointed. I do not like the way you unlock new weapons and upgrades, I had a lot of lag with almost every game. Now I understand that was a beta, hopefully it was fixed and or improved. I would just like EA to at least let you try online multi-player and not make you feel like a bully is holding you upside down and taking everything that falls out of your pocket.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing single player campaign

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

13 out of 26 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are an offline player you might be best to steer clear of this one. This game is clearly built for multiplayer online battles. This seems the case for the majority of Military shooters nowadays, why they even bother creating a "campaign" at this point is beyond me. The Campaign lacks any real excitement or story and seems to just be a case of "it is what it is". The crux of most situations is walk with the team for a bit, they'll curse a lot, and make silly comments, then you'll turn a corner and chaos ensues. You'll then have to figure out the best place to go and fast. Before you're shot up. Then you can just come back and zip through the level once now that you already know where the enemies will pop up.

If you're playing on PS3 don't expect it to have the amazing visuals that you have been seeing through the months of hype leading up to the game. That was all based on PC renders. This game looks decent but not amazing. Such is the power of the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by Marcelo_Parodi (LEANDER, TX) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is NOT COD. This is waaaaaaaaaaay better. I've been a big fan of the BF series and BF3 delivers greatly. Physics are fantastic, graphics, campaign, everything.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't believe the hype!

posted by clcole619 (GREENFIELD, IN) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Ok first of all I'm not a Cod fanboy so I am just giving my own subjective opinion. First off the campaign is good. Like most shooters, it's on rails, but overall it rivals the modern warfare series. My biggest beef was online play, specifically respawning. Too many times did i respawn and/or start a match literally in the middle of 3 enemies and at times right at the end of an enemy's barrel! Also I'm sure that most people saw all of the trailers and were just foaming at the mouth at how beautiful the game looked. This game is not that pretty. It's obvious that all of the trailers were on pc, but even so it's not even better looking than bfbc2. all in all it's a fun game, but unless they fix the respawning issue then I can't keep playing because I can't afford to buy another controller after smashing it in rage! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WEAK STORYLINE

posted by charliechols (DES MOINES, WA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Campaign was really bad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

online pass required

posted by jason12345 (JONESBORO, AR) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The campaign sucks glitches lockups etc, and as for the online dont know because you have to pay an additional 10 bucks for the pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse