Rent Battlefield 2: Modern Combat for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlefield 2: Modern Combat

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
6.5

5563 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Multiplayer Blast

posted by NovTango (VALE, OR) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

69 out of 79 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

As far as Multiplayer FPS go, games don't get much more solid then this one. Absolutely fantastic Multiplayer matches, that can have up to 24 people. Sadly there are a few team killers on the lose, especially if there is a race to the Helicopter, which is the holy grail of vehicles in this game, and everyone is trying to get to. Most of the maps I played on where very fun, there where a few however that I felt gave one side too huge of an advantage as it gave them total control over the Helicopter respawn, and if their team had a decent helicopter pilot (flying the things can be real tricky) then it was real tough to beat that team.

The single player campaign in this game felt very frustrating, and left a lot to be desired. This is one of those games that you don't buy for the single player only, so I don't recommend this game to those without XBL.

Overall, I think this game really will appeal to people who felt that GRAW was too realistic of a shooter, and PDZ was too arcade-like. It will also appeal to those looking for lots of vehicle action in their game, as the vehicles in this game are a lot of fun to use. This will also appeal to those looking for some strategy in their FPS, but not like The Outfit where strategy was the name of the game. A very solid 8-8.5/10 game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Online Play - Campaign challenging!

posted by XxG35FFxX (HOLLYWOOD, FL) May 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Why is it when people find the campaign hard they say the game is lousy? If you die you have to start over...Don't DIE!!! Big Deal. Like anything the more you play the better you get! Unlike GRAW 2 which was easy and over within a few short hours. This game takes EXPERIENCE to beat!

Online play is where this game really shines. Capable of playing with/against 24 people! Different Classes to choose...If you are a fan of GRAW 1 or 2, Rainbow 6, Call of Duty series. Check out this game! It's well worth it! Though to me for $29.95 its worth every penny to purchase!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ONE OF THE BEST ONLINE GAMES OUT FOR XBOXLIVE!

posted by XBOX360ED (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

26 out of 33 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I think this game is one of the best online games out. You can play up to 24 players at once and that is usually most of the time! Your buddy's can jump in any vehicle with you and go dominate the maps! Alot of people play really good together in this game. It can get very intense online, but I thought the offline campaign was not very good. I think this is an excellent game I highly recommend it to any one who likes shooter style war games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield2 modern combat

posted by TeamTPG (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is brilliant!!! the online play is just amazing and the way it is set up with the tanks coming in and firing their noisy missiles and you can hear in the background on to of the tanks the roaring choppers in the air and the ground soldiers running around and killing each other its just awesome!!!! highly recommended for the gamers that love first person shooters and have xbox live, if you dont have live the single player isnt all that great I only played it a few times and it wasnt very appealing its just really boring stlye of play and not that much things going on that war games should have. For the xwbox live rating I give it a 10 out of 10 with out any second guesses and for the campaign I give it a 6 out of 10, this game is great all in all diffently a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by GTbravo803 (WILMINGTON, DE) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

this game follows the same line as the xbox and ps2 version but is more renewed. great graphics and is fun to play. I feel though if it would have been redone for the 360 and fixed every thing up level design new maps gun vehicles etc it could have been better but is still great to play. there will download content and are up to 24 players online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent upgrade

posted by shadowz101 (STOCKTON, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game on the xbox is great but on the 360 it really better. The graphics and the game play are excellent the air strikes, the helicopters there all great. I recommend this game to buy so if you didn't know whether to buy or rent I would buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not great.

posted by skipping6 (AGUA DULCE, CA) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

pros

- fun online play.

- looks better than the original xbox version.

- uniqe clan system.

cons

- achievements are hard and unrewarding.

- no wow factor.

-is exactly the same as the xbox version.

- ofline play is very boring don't get this game if you dont have xbox live.

overall

ill give this gam a 7 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Weapons,Humvies,and Helicopters Oh My!

posted by Philly (WILLIS, MI) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

First off just let me say WOW,I've never played Battlefield 2 before this,and I am impressed!Single player is fun but, lets face it,this is not a single player game.This game was meant for you and 20 other peeps to get down together.Pick your class at the start and prepare for mayhem.You have 5 classes to choose from sniper, assualt, etc. Jump in a vehicle right from the start and head out to capture as many flags as you can while fighting all the way. What about maps you say? Maps are huge and plentiful plus varied enough that each feels different,and forces you to change your tactics at times. Say you like to play sniper a lot well some maps force you into closer quarters where you're just too close to snipe. At those times, you'll have to play say spec-ops class,which has it own weapons and other skills. Like a chunk of c4,for when one of your buddies is driving a tank! This game is fun. I have not had this much multiplayer fun since Halo 2 came out. If you like guns,tanks and more guns this game is for you. Give this game a try!
Shoot you online
Philly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Multiplayer servers have been shut down!!

posted by Uncouth (LAKE FOREST, CA) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Electronic Arts, in their infinite wisdom, has decided to shut down their online multiplayer servers. The single player is good, but the multiplayer was where it was at. So don't be disappointed... you have been warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new experience

posted by TenaciousD (TRINITY, FL) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

19 out of 27 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The enhanced 360 version of Battlefield 2 is a whole new game. The solo campaign mode is the same story as the ps2 and Xbox versions but with features like new maps and enhanced sound and graphics, it feels like there is no similarity. The controls are smooth easy to get used to. The enemy A.I. is incredibly tough but at some points in the game the enemy just sits there staring at a wall. The Xbox Live support is fantastic. The demo lagged on Live but in the final copy I haven't been lagging at all. Battlefield 2 is definitely a game every 360 owner should pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dr. Jeckyl, Mr Hyde.

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Dec 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the game I love to hate. It looks great, plays great and is just plain fun.

I hate this game because it encourages run and gun gameplay (which I loathe) with it's points per hour (PPH) rank scale.

I only play this game when I am in the mood to go crazy and shoot anything in sight, I usually like to play slow and tacticle, and this ain't it.

So take my review for what it's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Recommended!

posted by Gymnast (IRVINE, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game was redone for the 360 with a whole new engine! That means that EA re-did the whole kaboodle, and it definately shows when you play. The weapons now look VERY realistic, and the vehicles are awesome. At the very least you should download the demo in the 360 marketplace, for free!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Graphics

posted by Adrenaline (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics and lighting effects in this game are amazing. I love when you shoot at a surface and chunks of concrete fly off and a hole is left that you could actually stick your finger in. This is a great step for games that makes them even more fun to play. Everything about this game is fun, except...the single-player campaign could have been altered from the PS2 and Xbox versions to make the game one of its own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just from the demo!

posted by Mipple (BREMERTON, WA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Download the demo and you will just FALL IN LOVE with the game from the start. I really really love this game, the weapons are great, Vehicles are fun too! It feels real, it looks real, everything is just real.

So this game is a must for everyone. If you are good at shooting games, this is the game for you. Enjoy it, love it.

VERRY GOOOD GAME!!!

GT: Vadda

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8(multiplayer)5 campaign

posted by LAX5150 (BOONTON, NJ) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game has awesome graphics and has one of the best multi player i have seen however if you don't have xbox live waste of money unless your an expert marksman. The campaign is challenging and I wouldn't mind except for the fact you can't save your game. Play for 45 minutes, die at the end and now you have to start all over. The controls are pretty easy to learn and the missions are good but they get repetitive after all it's always clear the area hold it and repeat the process. For all the bloody luck to me it seems your "comrades" AI is as smart as a piece of wood while the enemy is smarter than you at times. Overall good for online play not much else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Campagin blows but onine is killer

posted by BungieH8tr (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game's campaign mode is terrible. In the campaign, you can only shoot once or not at all before the entire opposing force starts drilling you all at once. This makes beating missions a pain because by the time you kill the opposing force, you've lost too many lives and if you loose on more you have to start all over again. The AI all seem to kno where you are even if you can't see them. They also seem to all to shoot for the your head. The only reason anyone should play the campaign is to get your achievements points up and plan on restarting the missions a couple of times on account of loosing too many lives or just getting mad that you can't get passed a certain part. The online part of this game is freakin sweet. Everything about it just perfect. There is nothing like playing with 24 other people all at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Saving sucks

posted by slave1 (DENVER, CO) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I would have loved this game, but it had one huge glitch. It only saves when you finish a level. So... you spend a half hour shooting, blowing up and killing everything in site and then all of a sudden die and have to do it ALL over. It wasn't worth the frustration, especially since alot of the levels arw actually pretty hard. All in all, I loved the game, I just wanted to be able to save. It finally got to the point we were so sick of having to replay everything we just took it out of the machine and returned it in the mail so we won't kick the Xbox across the room.
I think ALL games should allow you to save whenever you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Well Done!!!

posted by SavingJunk (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) May 8, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

17 out of 30 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is a true enhancement over the older Xbox version. A lot of the glitches have been removed. Except one on an Oil Rig level. I would clear the oil rig , then the island, and then the Oil Rig again but the mission wouldn't end. There just happened to be a glitched out sniper that never swam to shore and would shoot me off the oil rig. He was so far out of the map I would die before I could swim to him, but he would snipe me off the rig. I redid the mission like 5 or 6 times and finally i got so mad I just started unloading on the ocean and suddenly I killed him and the mission ended. Go figure. Then sometimes it will give you medals as Achievements but not in the game. Now online I can never be a 5 star General because I got an online Achievement but it didn't give me the medal in the game. That's really all that's wrong with it and it's an overall fun and challenging game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhhh

posted by Slipstream (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I had played the xbox version and enjoyed it very much. I never really played the single player though, only online. So when i got the x-360 version, i tried out the single player with high hopes. I was utterly dissapointed.

EA had adjusted the AI of the enemys to the point where their better and more accurate that most gamers. The fact that a helicopter can spot you in prone positon, 500 yards away, in tree cover, without ever firing a shot is ridiculouse. Also, how
is it that one sniper shot from hundreds of yards away is enough for 20 enemy soldiers facing the opposite direction of you enough to know your exact position and bombard you with gunfire? Not just regular gunfire either, but pinpoint, marksman type fire that even real life soldiers arent' capable of! The single player in this game is unforgiving an CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP!
Also, forget the difficulty setting, there are none. Oh and i pitty anyone playing the sinper missions in this game on a small screen, and by small i mean less that 32 inches, cause you won't see whos shooting at you unless you watch for muzzle flash, even then, it's a long shot if you arent' looking directly at them. And if you do see muzzle flash, 99% of the time, your gettin hit by it and it takes a healty chunk out of your life.

The only thing that saves this game is the multiplayer which awsome, but saying how it's exactly like the xbox version but with better graphics, it's hardly worth 60 bucks when you can get the xbox version for way WAY less.

Overall, this is a renter. Buy only after you've tried it, cause all it has is the same online as the xbox version. If your expecting fun single player, then insure your controller cause your gonna smash it to bits long before you beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game but what is with the lag

posted by maniak187 (CRESCENT CITY, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is a good game and i loved the one on the 1st. Xbox and i hope this game is just as good for the 360 but i hope they fix the lag or that will suck and the level glitches that was bad to sit in just about anything and shoot out and not be able to be shoot so if the fix that the game will be worth the 60$ price tag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome and Intense

posted by RMathis05 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is simply the best the XBOX 360 has to offer right now. With its realistic footage, both graphics and game play I can't get enough. There's tanks, choppers, hummers and more. You can call air strikes and do kamikazes with C-4 attached to hummers. This is all stuff that was allowed by the demo so the game must be like 10x better. O yeah and the maps are huge allowing sniper ideal hiding spots, and actual strategy to become part of the game. -Holla

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh come on!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

18 out of 37 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

Flashy graphics and lots of stuff to shoot at is cool. But man this game drops the ball on so many levels I don't know where to begin. Enemy AI, sucks. Friends stand in front of you. You'll have to either move in to the open and get shot trying to avoid shooting your pal, or just shoot the dummy so he will drop out of the way. The objectives are unclear and mundane. It's just one of those go to point "A", hold off enemy, and secure the area. Blah blah blah, over and over again. And since when did a modern tank have the slightest trouble with clearing obstacles like trash cans, or cars, or even some walls. I kept getting stuck on trash cans. What the heck is this tank made of ? Balsa Wood? It should be able to crush any trash can and parked car with ease. But no, the designers created such an unbelievably timid tank than it can't crush a soda can. Oh and when you shoot the tank massive cannon it leave a small dent in car doors. WHAT? Really this game; as pretty as it looks, is just stupid. What a shame. This is another rush to the shelf and sell production, and its a rip off. Just don't bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a pain in the butt to play.

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Only 2 things are good about this game:
1) the sound (5.1)
2) the ability to change you character from anyone in the field, including driving, shooting the mounted 50cal...

But, the play itself is annoying, the objectives are not clear, you die too quickly, and the enemies are very hard to see, it's like you need a 50" TV just to see where they are, so shooting them is more of a chore than a task, no fun in it, and when you get to the rooftop where you have to find the snipers, you'll get killed so many times, you'll give up, as I did, I just couldn't keep going, it was too aggravating.
Other bad thing is there are no saved checkpoints, so if you die, as you very often will, you'll have to start the whole mission over again, that's real aggravating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Online Review Only!!

posted by ChankenHSW (BIG RIVER, CA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I 1st got my 36O I downloaded the online demo for BF2. As I played it over and over I noticed that I was playing the Demo more than my full games!! So I took a chance and bought it.

When I 1st hit online I noticed how big the maps were. So much you can do and so many places you can go. The Graphics I thought was very good for a launch title. Hellacopters in the air, tanks on the ground, boats on the water. You have snow maps, desert, oil tankers, jungle islands, and more. I got hooked. I'm a sniper on the game, and what sets this game apart from other online games like Gears or Halo is that you have 2O Minute Sessions and you can take your time and not rush. Like I said I snip on it only.. I very rearly use Assult or Ops kits. I love sniping!

Now on BF2:MC I can play 3 or 4 games in a row and not die once! Cause of the size and veriety of the online maps. Try doing that in games like Gears of Halo!But what I really love about it is you have to work togather if you want to win. If you have only 2 people goofing off killing each other instead of helping it can loose the game for you. It is amazing how comunacation is to vital to wining in this game!! If you don't comunacate and the other side dose you will loose the war. There are plenty of weapons and kits for you to use online. Assault, ops, Sniper, Engeener, and Medic. Each have there own guns and tools. Plus you have Helicopters, Tanks, Dunebuggies and Jeeps to help you out. The only prob I can find for online is the servers crash WAY to often!! And were on the 36O playing BF2 right? Why arn't there new maps or modes? Isn't that what live is for? Well anyways I think it is the best online game on the system right now. If Halo 3 and Gear are to fast for you try BF2:MC! I can't waite for Bad Company. Now becareful once u think your safe I'm in the bushes waiteing to take you down. When you see Chanken SBG Sniped You! You know you just got killed by one of the best snipers in the game.. hehe..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BATTLEFIELD 2: MODERN COMBAT: IS IT A GOOD GAME?

posted by CHIPS007 (APO, AE) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First off, I really like XBOX Live for this game. The weapon sets are good and vehicle usage is also really good. Single player, however, is not quite good, in fact I think it is horrible. I made to the 8 or 9 level, and I just gave up because the game play (pardon my french) SUCKS! Enemy vehicles take forever to destroy, and you are very limited to the Combat teams with grenades and bazookas. Enemies can kill you in less than five shots, and while it is pretty realistic, although very annoying because you 'Hotswap' between your teammates very frequently. The graphics are acceptable. If you like playing people wordwide, then this is a good game. I give it a 4/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse