Rent Battle of the Bands for Wii
view large frontback

Battle of the Bands

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.5

404 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A "Battle" that wore me out

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Battle of the Bands is an attempt to make a Guitar Hero for more than just rockers.
You pick one of several different types of bands (there's rock, country, hip-hop, and so on.)
It has the same treadmill (going in the opposite direction of GH), and several arrows, a crosshair or a zigzag line appears on the treadmill.
At the right time, the player has to hit these icons. With the arrow, the player jerks the Wiimote in the direction of the arrow (left, right or down.)
With the crosshairs, the player stabs the Wiimote forward.
And with the zigzag, the player waves the Wiimote left and right.
Points are awarded for hitting the marks, and after several marks are hit consecutively, the player gets to attack his/her opponent for even more points.
There's a defensive shield that temporarily goes up by pressing the B button to block your opponent's attacks.
So, two players (or one player and the AI) duke it out over over thirty songs, including "Whoop (There it is)", "Photograph" and so on.
The best part of the game is hearing the different variations of the song, from the marching band to hip hop to country, and so on.
The game's fun to play at first, but it doesn't make me feel like some star, and repeatedly moving the Wiimote can lead to tennis elbow (The game will actually tell you to take a break after two or three matches).
The solo mode is just an excuse for several matches against the AI; the text driven stories are forgettable.
Battle of the Bands is a good rental, but the game play got too stale for me to buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun but way too short...

posted by GamerGrl29 (WILMINGTON, DE) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I found Battle of the Bands to be great fun but like the title says it was very short. I got through the adventure mode in just under 3 hours on normal setting. There are several really good songs and others I have never heard of. The best thing about this game is that all the songs are playable in the different styles...rock, hip hop, latin, etc. This made the game very humorus. I'd definitely recommend this one for a rental if you are looking for a fun party game however I would not buy it-it's just too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GUITAR HERO RIP OFF

posted by JOEW144 (COLUMBUS, OH) May 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAMES IS AMUSING AT FIRST BUT LOSES ITS CHARM FAST. MY WIFE WANTED THIS GAME BECAUSE ITS REMINDED HER OF GUITAR HERO BUT SHE WAS TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED. STAY WITH THE ORIGINAL AND GET GUITAR HERO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by sunshine12 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was ok kinda boring. I made it through the game in 3 days. The kids didn't like it too much either!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game is very fun and worth playing

posted by gamer54 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I wasn't sure about this game at first but I needed to use my gamefly dollars before they expired and this game had a great price. My kids and I are glad we got this game!!!!!!! We are having a blast playing against each other and against AI.

Good
Fun
Affordable/dont have to buy all the equipment just need WII remote

Bad
needs a bigger selection of songs
Parent opinion

Son/Gamer's Opinion

Game is very fun
Great Graphics
Could have better music
Not too long but then again not short
Somewhat like guitar hero
Overall its at least worth trying out and then judging it for yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mildly amusing but a overall failure

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) May 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i bought this game cuz i beaten all the guitar heros and didnt have the money for rock band. A big rip off. While it was fun the first hour or so, it got boring after that, It doesnt have the excitement that guitar hero somehow has. this game quickly found itself being sold at gamestop. DONT BUY. Rent if you must check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring of the Bands

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Boring level and attack variety make this game extremely uninteresting. Even if you choose different bands, it's almost all the same.
Don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a music game

posted by Saaris (LITTLETON, CO) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I would not recommend this game for anyone who likes the Guitar Hero RockBand genre. I was really disappointed and wish better from this "music" genre game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good concept...week gameplay

posted by ang323 (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

I really liked the concept of the different styles of music for each song, it definitely kept things interesting. However, waving the Wii remote around like a wand gets boring and tedious after a while. This game should have been produced with the instrument peripherals in mind, I think it would have kept my attention longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terribble

posted by 134679 (ABERDEEN, SD) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

got it because i thought you use a guitar, you dont its really stupid. i played 5 minites then sent it back , dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

great songs that rival those of guitar hero

posted by darock (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

if this is thq answer to guitar hero their gonna need a little help. The biggest problem the game is rated wrong its rated teen there's not enough content for that rating. The songs are great song's more variety than guitar hero. Rock blues hip hop western and latin music makes for a wonderful genre. The graphics are cheesy and the characters don't talk overall they could have done better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NO

posted by JJHammy (Oak Hill, OH) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This just is not any fun. Nothing about it is even worth looking at. I thought it would be like funny, like "look how bad this game is" funny, but no... Its just BAD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much battle, not enough music

posted by GameDrop (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Okay, so we figured a game called 'Battle of the Bands' would have a battle mode. What we didn't realize was that this is basically all the game offers. It was fun to hear the 30 songs in 5 different genres, and it was really fun to hear a song go back and forth between two different styles based on the bands that my wife and I selected. What we didn't enjoy was that battle mode is essentially all this game offers; there isn't a mode that lets you 'play' the music. I was expecting the game to play a lot like the music minigame in Rayman Raving Rabbids - make motions with the Wii Remote and nunchuk in time with the song. This game eschews that for a straight-out battle mode, making the same mistake that Guitar Hero 3 did in breaking up and removing you from 'playing' the music. This still may be a fun party game because it's quick to pick up and play and the varying styles of popular songs is enjoyable, but the lack of a 'play the song' mode is a major oversight. I'm still looking for a music game for the Wii that has the Rabbids' mechanics - that is fun for everyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

I thought this game wasnt that bad. Its not good but with Wii there isnt that many games to choose from that arent games with no meaning or really short. This game is basically a copyright of guitar hero without the guitar because you move your wiimote to the left, right, up, and down to hit notes. I think its kind of cheesy and for some reason it wont let me hit any of the notes on the right but that might just be me. I dont really think its as well thought out as guitar hero but its fun for a while. Its a good rent but i would suggest you dont but this and you get guitar hero which is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Battle of the Bands

posted by mrbucks (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game isn't too exciting. I literally played for five minutes, turned it off and returned it. It's a simple game that doesn't require much out of you. You wave the wii remote left, right, and down. that's about it. The songs aren't very good and you can barely hear them with the sound effects of missiles flying across the stage. I knew it wasn't going to compare to Guitar Hero, but at least make it a little interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Utter Dissapointment

posted by hayden894 (BIDDEFORD, ME) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Well, all i can say is that this game is boring. its pretty much just a rip-off of Guitar Hero but the treadmnill goes the other way and after playing one or two matches you may have already thrown out your arm trying to beat the cartoonish character. i strongly reccomend you think twice about renting this game because the only good reason is to get the music. So in conclusion this game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why Does This Game Have A 5.1 Again?

posted by asb910 (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

It's a great game. I have no idea why it is rated a 5.1. I mean seriousley. Either people that review this game have no idea what a good game is. Or, I'm the only one the at actually played it. They have decent songs and the controls are decent. The only thing I really found wrong with it was that it was too short. But that is it. This is a good game. So don't listen to theese people and rent it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Battle of the Bands

posted by Bovinus (ROCK HILL, SC) Jun 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

Gameplay is pretty lame. The one redeeming factor is the ability to listen to different versions (Latin, Rock, Hip-hop/funk, Country/bluegrass, Marching band) of songs. But that isn't enough to keep anyone interested for very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good But Disappointing

posted by ReviewCuz (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This game seemed really good at first.
Pros: Great variety of music, fun at first, great creativity of music change.
Cons: Bad Graphics, Lack of songs, boring after a while, not fully accurate controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't get confused

posted by JCDRAC (TOWNSEND, TN) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

This game is nothing like Guitar Hero. You do not play the guitar the same. You are given notes and to play then you have to flick the controller in the right direction(up, left or right). You also have to do this for weapons to distract your opponent and reduce his score. The songs are horribly done by bands, yes you may know a few of them but not played in the way that they are in this game, like a Death Metal version of Black Betty or a country version of another song. I did not like it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BATTLE OF THE BANDZ ... AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by DUFFMAN (RISING SUN, MD) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

AWSOME A LITTLE HARD NEAR THE END BUT OVERALL SUPER AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's alright

posted by DcGamers (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) May 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

I mean it took me about 2 hours to beat the game then after that it was over. It wasn't as exciting as I thought it would be but the music on it was pretty cool and funny to listen to the different versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »