Rent Battle Fantasia for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battle Fantasia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.7

507 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

So pretty, so... little else going for it.

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Nov 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Aside from the gorgeous visuals, there unfortunately isn't much to this game. It's a fairly uninspired 2-d fighter with 3-d models, with the usual assortment of "Street Fighter" special moves. Quarter circle forward and punch, and so forth.

If you need to chew up some time, and like fighting games, go ahead and try it. It's all been done before, and better. With Street Fighter IV, Tekken 6 and BlazBlue already out there, this one doesn't offer anything better or new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unique balanced fighter !

posted by Bladex (NEW CASTLE, DE) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this one. unlike it faster brother "guilty gear" it still holds a lot to love.

The characters are very well design
from the small night marco to the gigantic dovalvle. every one has a unique fighting style and super. The control scheme is very easy to just pick up and play with your friends, nothing to difficult that you will have to sit for hours to learn and with the xbox achievements it gives the game replay value.

so i suggest if your a fighting game fan dont pass this one up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bored in 15 minutes

posted by SKOOT2006 (MANSFIELD, TX) May 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I like fighting games as much as the next person, but this one just left me feeling flat.

When it starts up the menus remind me of a gameboy game.. then you start the "story" and good Lord is it wordy! Text boxes pop up and just hit A everytime someone is done talking to move onto the next part of the conversation. Reminded me a great deal of Pokemon on the DS. All the vocals are in Japanese so if you care what people are saying you need to read the boxes.. after about 2 min of a super long conversation I decided I didn't care and just hit A as fast as I could to get to the action.

The gameplay itself is ok, think Street Fighter or Mortal Combat type still.. typical fighter. Same with the online play.. nothing special.. just average.

The average game play would have been a lot more fun had all that text not been there. These conversations seem to go on forever.. it really kills your motivation to even play the story. I gave up after about 15 minutes and took a nap. (all that reading is bound to make anyone sleepy)

Bottom Line: If you like wordy fighters you'll be thrilled. If you want a unique exciting fighter.. pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

stupid 360 d-pad

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ya know, I could have liked this game ...

amazing characters, decent combat (though a little shallow), and great artwork and animations.

problem is the 360 d-pad sucks tremendously making traditional fighters VERY hard to play. So yeah, I could have gotten into this game to make a better review, but with the d-pad as it is, no dice.

Fighter enthusiasts only need apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A Failed Fighter

posted by carpwrist (OLYMPIA, WA) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Art style
Unique characters
Simple fighting system

Cons:
No tutorial
Broken Save System
Online competition

When I heard RPG/Fighting game, what I had envisioned was a game more like Puzzle Quest, where disputes are settled in a Bejeweling fashion. What a price you will pay for making this game out to be anything more than artsy arcade fighter with no innovation.
This is a port that should have stayed in Japan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its an okay fighting game.

posted by Prophet85 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

The game features a few standard modes, such as story, arcade, survival and time attack. Story mode is very long, with lots and lots of text. Some stories are funny while others are very serious to the game's plot. Arcade mode is your average "insert a coin and see where you can go up to" mode. Survival mode is pretty straightforward also, with you fighting an endless supply of enemies.

The cast of characters are quirky and really feels out of place, but hey, its a fantastical story so it doesn't have to be in place. The characters are very well balanced where the heaviest character will be slow and has high hp whilst the fastest character will have above average hp. There is your special attacks for each character and a rage mechanic that strengthens your characters attacks.

The game starts out fine at first. You beat a few characters, and then you get to fight the boss. The boss will then become an uberboss, a boss that you cannot win under normal circumstances. You will be swearing in no time.

All in all, it is worth your rental. Some of the achievements are easy to achieve, where you just have to beat each character's story. Some achievements require you to do a specific action with a character. One achievement you would be proud of, if you don't break your television first,would be defeating the last boss by not using any rage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Crashed hopes

posted by DEEKON (PAWNEE, OK) May 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Being an Arc System designed game I would figure Battle Fantasia (BF) to be a bit like their flagship IP, Guilty Gear. Parts of this is true, the parts such as quirky and memorable characters and the fact that it's easy to play and hard to master. But that's where it ends. BF is slow and doesn't allow one to shift into combos as easily as most other fighting games. It has it's moments but for the most part this game is lacking in everything else.

I expected better from Arc. The Guilty Gear (vice Guilty Gear 2 which was absolutely horrible BF was actually better than that game) franchise was the best 2d fighting game in it's time being on par with the masters such as KoF, SF, and the respective crossovers (MvC2, CVS2, etc).

Here's hoping that BlazBlue will be a true sequal to Guilty Gear and keep the tradition alive.

P.S. The very last boss is 'cheatery'. He is so 'cheatery' that the game crashes with his 'cheatery'. The game doesn't really crash but it does make you want to break something. Look up 'The End of Deathbringer' and you'll see what I mean. CHEATERY. So stupid, I even had a hard time beating him on Very Easy setting. Even then I had to use the guy that shoots guns across the screen and I barely beat him. CHEATERY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by Kenkera (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The game looks pretty, but is VERY wordy for a fighting game, and even the fighting is dull. Reminded me of a very basic street fighter clone.

All in all, cute, but stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Please

posted by deftoned (HAMPTON, VA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

Dont waste your time on this. Ive read plenty of reviews that said this game was garbage, and I took a chance to say otherwise. But it was just a waste of my time. I might have played this for 20mins. Its pretty obvious once you play that youll never play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Always Good Ideas

posted by DarkoHC (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

These creators always have original character styles, but it lacks move combinations and variety. The buttons are pretty much the same for every character nor does the game keep you involved. If your looking for a fighting game for fun then this is a decent game to check out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fighting Fans Only

posted by GameFry (WOODBURY, NJ) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

PLease if your not a fan/enthusist of fighting games dont bother renting them I enjoyed this game very much since im familiar with just about the whole Guilty Gear series including Accent Core when I got the rare oppritunity to play it in the arcade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO Not waste your time

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Nov 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

This is Just another Stupid Japanese Fighting game the controls are Bad the Whole game is Bad nothing at all good about this game. Even amoungst Fighting games this one is The Bottom of the Barrel. Granted I dont like fighting games maybe they are Ok for Arcades but for consoles there is no reason for them and this one is even worse then Most. Don't waste your time or rentals on this one this is an Avoid at all costs game.
You would think that as big as the 360 is there would be alot of Good Games for it but alas there are out of all the games for it Only a handfull of games that are worth playing and even less that are worth the Price you have to pay for them. and spending over a dollar for this one is ridiculus

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Broken Boss Syndrome.

posted by emceelokey (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

title says it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

astonishlingly terrible

posted by Baine75 (BANGOR, PA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I wish i could write a better review but it took only 15 minutes to decide that this was a game that i never wanted to play again.

Its just not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »