Rent Battalion Wars 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Battalion Wars 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

1986 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The little war game from Nintendo

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

34 out of 36 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Battalion Wars is a bit of different area for Nintendo, since it doesn't include one of their easily recognizable characters. Yet, when Nintendo gives it a try, it does it right.
A sequel to Battalion Wars for the GC and based off the Advance Wars series, Battalion Wars 2 is a great strategic war game that combines strategy, action, and a great online experience.

Graphics: Graphics are solid and are quite nicely done. Not as top notch as Metroid Prime 3, but certainly good looking, especially water, light, and other various FX. The style has a cartoonish look, but don't think that means the battles are too.

Controls: The controls work well for this game, allowing a third person control on any one unit and being able to easily choose different units to follow, wait, or attack specific units. Using the wiimote-nunchuck combo feels good, and the aiming feels as good as Metroid 3. Although, when you lock on to an enemy, your shots will as well, so this game is more strategy than war shooter.

Gameplay: Each misson encompasses simple objectives: defend, attack, capture, and a few others to mix it up. It does a good job of starting easy and then racking it up. The game also challenges you to perform better in each misson to gain S ranks. Gain enough and you unlock extras and art packs.

Story: Story is basic. Simply more of the same and a continuing arc from the first game, but no need to worry if you didn't play that one.

Online: Online has three choices: a basic skirmish, assault, and co-op. Friendcodes are still here, but you can play random people as well. Online is fun and gives the game lasting appeal. The only vice here is with the absence of any voice chat. There is a small system to use the 1 and 2 buttons to call for help and respond, but not much else.

So, in the end, Battalion Wars 2 is a good all around game, that sadly might get overlooked by the coming Mario.

Pro:
Fun, online, and easy to use controls.
Cons:
Bad voice acting and the basic story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Expecting More.........

posted by Shadow12 (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The graphics were ok and gameply was alright but everything is the same! Cutscenes are the same, guns, gameplay. The only things I found different was the way you can shoot with the wiimote and the new wifi connection was my fav but what about 4 players? I dont see anything wrong with letting 4 players join in a server... Anyway heres the score board. Graphics 8 Story 6.5 Gameplay 8. Overall 7.7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game

posted by FittyG (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

18 out of 29 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome the story mode is great but whats beter is the online mode. playing against friends and just random people is great. abauilding your own army and playing it against othe rpeople is the best. this game is going to be my favorite untill brawl and galaxy comes out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST HAVE GAME FOR WII

posted by REPS911 (SAN DIMAS, CA) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS GREAT. STORY, GRAFfICS, ACTION, AND REPLAY VALUE ARE ALL THERE. I NEVER PLAYED THE FIRST ONE, BUT AFTER PLAYING #2 I WISH I HAD. ONLINE PLAY IS AN ADDED BONUS. WITH LOTS OF MISSIONS, AND EVEN CO-OP. THE ONLY THING THATS KIND OF A DOWNER.... NO HEADSET... O WELL MAYBEY BTW 3...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a cute little army you are!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Aug 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Battalion Wars 2 takes the series to familiar new ground. Basically, there are a whole bunch of warring factions who all want to kill each other. The plot follows... someone... trying to take over... someone else... so they can do... something.
Honestly, who really cares? You're here to play an action strategy game. Here's the problem: the action elements are pretty linear and the strategy is simplistic. In fact, defense, attack commands, switching between units and basically every other strategic maneuver are handled with a single button. Somehow, I feel strategy could be better implemented by using, oh, two or three buttons.
Another odd thing about the game are the units. Sure, you play as five different empires, but their units are basically the same. This begs the question: why did we need all these different factions?
As for the characters, they're parodies. The Solar Empire is China, the Frontier is America, Tundrans are Russians, Xylvanians are Germans, the Anglo Islands are basically British and the Iron Legion apparently crawled out of a lost George C. Romero movie. It's all very stereotypical and not very interesting to begin with.
The game just doesn't hold much appeal. I suppose it's functional enough to play, but gives no reason to bother. The big reward for playing well is getting an S ranking. That's about it. And that's not enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I Declare war on this Game

posted by MagooMan (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Battalion Wars 2 was barely a sequel worthy of the same title as the original. Completely unchallenging, short sluggish gameplay, made this a terrible addition to the series. Dont waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad game, not great either

posted by jpicton (WASHINGTON, IL) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game has decent graphics, and a nice story, but is somewhat difficult to master. Trying, in the middle of a real time combat encounter, to use the d PAD to select which unit attacks, then locking on to the unit to be attacked, then sending your units, then changing to another unit and doing the same thing just doesn't work well. Way too much micromanagement. The AI is not very good, as your anti air units will not engage enemy air units without being specifically told to do so, unless they are attacked first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How do you spell L-A-M-E?

posted by 5150Tucson (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is so boring and lame, and this woman with some stupid European accent keeps barking orders the whole time you are trying to play. The controls are not simple either. I got this today and it is going back in the mail tommorow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guess I just dont get it

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Nov 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

So I got really hyped up by this game before I even got it, but I am just not seeing the big deal behind it. Dont get me wrong, I think the graphics and the overall story line are good, but the single player mode just seems kinda dull, and repetitive. I never tried the online feature just because if I didnt find the game that interesting in the first place, I didnt think online would redeem it for me. Overall I dont think this is a bad game, just not one for the ages or anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

awesome

posted by Ltchris (EFFINGHAM, IL) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I loved this game although the movie sequences between battles could be shorter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Sequel To A Great Classic

posted by chandler1211 (DALE, TX) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

BW is by far one of my favorite GCN title. With BWii I wasn't expecting much, because I was set on it not beating the original. I Was Wrong. This game took those small expectations and destroyed them. It plays just like the original (minus the wii remote and nunchuk controls) and any thing that was great about the old game is still here. They went by the old saying "don't fix what isn't broken". one of the few games I can sit down and play for a few hours on the wii.

The only real problems I could bring up are:
1. This Game Is Hard: Seriously there are parts during the story I want to yell at the characters when they say MISSION FAILED. It can get frustrating if you are a know rager.
2. The A.I.: Lets face A.I. are stupid. Always will be I think and these guys are nothing different. Yet the enemy seems to be immune to this disease they perfectly strike you and are completely coordinated while your men walk around like a bunch of idiots YOU MUST BABYSIT THEM, or you will lose.

Needless to say this game is definitley worth a spin. you must try it if you have ever played the original. Just dont expect it to be amazing or you will end up not liking it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suckish game

posted by Awesomey (FRANKLIN, OH) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

this games sucks.that's it.plain sucks.never get it.

pros:
none

cons:
everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good

posted by vieths (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

when i play the game it just takes control like when im playing it it moves on its own so then i keep messing up and i keep having to take out the numchuck so thats why i returend it sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh what fun

posted by airplane (MANSFIELD, TX) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

This is a pretty sweet game with a touch of everything like action, strategy, ww2 era stuff, modern warfare, and much more. also it is not to bad for small kids it dose not have bad words, blood, alcohol, and the only bad thing is was when this guy drank poison. The only bad gameplay thing is when they go back in time lets say 200 years ago nothing really changes like the, guns, tanks, people, airplanes, ext. overall the game has a good control method, story, variety and more. In my opinion is that its a pretty cute game and i recommend trying it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good stratagy game

posted by ike1015 (COTTAGE GROVE, WI) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Now for people out there who enjoyed the previous version this game is for you the controls are fairly baisic. But for those of you who are new it is a nice game good controls but some units do not always work or do what you need them to and each level is fairly easy and short but it is a good game to sit and play for a few hours and then stop for the day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by slayer3 (REDDING, CA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

good game but the controls are hard to use with the wii controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Battle Front

posted by TenjinAOL (CEDAR FALLS, IA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Where are the war heros of America. This game does not include such heroes as Gatsby, Gates, MacArthur, Patton, Washington, Stalin, or Mussolini. Heroes of America missing from a war game i dont know what to think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW!

posted by ryanqs (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I've always been a nintendo fan and i've played awsome games but this takes the cake!There have been times were it's like I losing and then SURPRISE! I win. It is a perfect mix of action,difficulty and time based strategy.Plus, you don't just play as the western frontier this time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but lots to remember

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

I liked the game, the graphics were good and the story line was good but pretty much preplanned for the little bit that I played. You were sent in on a mission and that is all you could really do.

My problem was in remembering how to do everything and after playing for a while it became "what to I press to get the guys to do this." It stopped being fun after that.

If I was into war type games then it would have been great. But I can't rate it low as it was a good solid game, just not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fun but hard

posted by littleking (FARMINGTON, CT) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I like the whole build your army and command them in the prolouge and first campain, but once you get to the flashback 1 it's aready to hard!

Unless you are good at army commanding games dont play this game (too hard!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sort of slow

posted by emmabunks (SCARBOROUGH, ME) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I found this was pretty boring and super easy. Not a real challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting, but just not engaging

posted by prisoner6 (ATLANTA, GA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Maybe it's me, but I'm just not into semi-war games with ridiculous cuteness. The Solar Empire is obviously Japan and you can guess who the Anglos are. The control mechanics were clunky and half the time I forgot which button to tell my troops to fire and which one to use for my character to fire.

The graphics were awful. The best view for the game was bird's eye, but this is where the graphics were the worst. The characters also made no sense whatsoever. The story was haphazard and nonsensical.

I played this game for a couple of hours and returned it. I feel like I wasted two hours now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by wiiboi21 (LOS BANOS, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

this game is really cool. i bought the game, the game is really fun. The graphics are good, gameplay is awsome, but the best part is the online play. The game is pretty fun its one of nintendo's newer franchises and a good one. there ain't nothing really wrong about the game except the voices. The voices got me frustruated because they are really annoying. But other than that it is a really good game.

Great job nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun

posted by idoskate (LOGAN, UT) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

This is one of the better wii titles. Controls, game play, and graphics are done well. Story line is humorous. It even has an online option to play with friends or anyone. I don't know why this wasn't more popular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by koopaman36 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

i loved this game i even bought it i gave it a 9 because some levels take you a couple tries and you sometime get irritated but i is a wonderful game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse