Rent Batman: The Brave and the Bold for Wii
view large frontback

Batman: The Brave and the Bold

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.9

543 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman Brave and the Bold

posted by cchiampi (WEST PITTSTON, PA) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was AWESOME...Tons and Tons of fun. One of the best games I have played in a long time. This game was easy to understand and me and my 5 year old son had a BLAST!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

batman saves the day

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had recently received Batman. I had started to play this game and loved it from the opening sequence. This game takes me back to the days when they would air the batman cartoons on tv. The graphics on this game are great. I like the cel shaded graphics. The gameplay works really well punching with the a button and jumping with the b button. Also the movement with the nunchuk is easy to master and works well. The story lines are very good but a little to short. The only con I have with this game is it is easy and kinda short. I would recommend this game as a buy if you are a fan of batman or the cartoon series. Looking forward to more games like this for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Classic 2D/3D Side Scroller.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a complex story like Arkham Asylum (best game ever..until Arkham City) then this isn't it as you play through 4 very long levels that play out like actual episodes of the show. The stories of the chapters draw you in and keep you interested in playing but wave after wave of the same enemy get old very fast. In each episode you'll play as Batman or which ever partner he's been teamed up with (Blue Beatle, Robin, Hawkman, and Green Lantern "Guy Gardner") but be careful as this game is best to play with a friend since the AI doesn't keep up with you as well. Total game time comes to around 5 to 6 hours so it's very short as well as a bunch of unnecessary control schemes. In reality you'll only need to use the A button to attack and B to jump and everything else is just pointless with the exception of seeing other characters jumping in to help you out.

Overall: this is a very strong game that myself and the family loved to play together but if you're not sure then I definately suggest you rent this and If you're a Batman fan like myself you'll probably buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Brave, but not Quite Bold Enough

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 10, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you’ve seen the cartoon show, then you know what’s going to happen with the game. Even the level layout is set up like an episode of the cartoon show: first, you get a teaser battle, then you get into the main storyline of the level. It ends with a boss battle with the villain.
Batman: The Brave and the Bold is a 2D platformer where you, with one other person (or the AI) team up as the Dark Knight and another character (Robin, Blue Beetle, Hawkman, or Guy Gardner) to battle evildoers in a button mashing game. You can also call in one or two other characters for a one shot blast against all bad guys onscreen - but the other character(s) go away after that one shot blast.
There’s nothing new or special about the level design; you go from point A to point B, beating up everything that comes in your way.
As you do, you collect coins that let you buy or power up some items for Batman or his partner. For example, you can throw more Batarangs, or do more damage with Guy Gardner’s ring attacks.
There are two boss battles for every level, and I find them the best parts of the game because its forces the players to use other tactics than just button mashing.
Getting through all four levels of the game will take about six hours - a little better than I expected - and you can go back to earlier levels to unlock areas you couldn’t the first time around.
But let’s face it - this is mostly a basic button mashing game. Even the new gadgets you get don’t add much to the gameplay, and some are there just to unlock areas so you can get more coins.
This button mashing experience is taken to the extreme with the Bat Mite challenge (unlocked after completing the game). Here, all you to is beat up bad guys for many, many levels.
Batman: the Brave and the Bold is a good beat ‘em up game, but $40 is a bit too much for me to hand over for this game. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Classic and Modern

posted by KGeezy (HENRICO, VA) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved this game for it's throwback side-scroller design. The animation of the game play and banter are spot on from the cartoon. Admittedly, the cutscenes left a little to be desired, but again, classic side-scroller. The game takes good advantage of the Wii setup. The Batarang was reminiscent of LEGO Batman, and worked just as well.
I would have enjoyed it a bit more if you could alternate from character to character during game play and weren't restricted to whoever you select at the beginning. The layout of the game is good, as well, in that you have to revisit levels after you unlock certain tools/toys. This improved replay value and the grading at the end of the levels made it enjoyable in that you wanted to do better the second time around.
If you enjoy the cartoon, you'll more than likely enjoy the game. The levels are set up just like an episode, save for the fact that the hero you fight alongside at the beginning, is the hero that fights alongside you throughout. I strongly encourage any fan to pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun, but way to repetitive...

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My wife and I started playing this and got hooked pretty quick. Problem is, the levels are way too long and between each level there is very little (if any) difference.

Bombs pop-up, enemies pop-up, punch, smash, move on. Even the bosses are the same and have no imagination to them.

I'd rent it to try it out, but it's not worth more than a couple of days at the most and definitely not worth paying money to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

time for an honest review, and I do like batman

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is blurry trash, pointless bad gameplay button mashing, inaccurate to current batman, is of an old formula that can be recreated, and thus blatantly unplayable, these high reviews for this game are batman over-fanboy nonsense and have nothing to do with the actual game that isn't fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by neenee27 (INGLEWOOD, CA) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the game keep getting stuck all the time and my son wii is brand new i don't know whats going on with that game wow no more batman games for him

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wait for a sequel.

posted by CasualGamerWii (LARGO, FL) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The good thing is the art design. The comentary is annoying, the levels are short, there too many combos and the controls are loose. The menu and layout is terrible. Buying and upgrading devices is ok but needs tweaking. Wait for a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this was awsome totally worth waiting 4 days for. youll love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Childish

posted by cord339 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 9, 2011

Member since May 2010

This one is definitely for kids. Enuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

for young gamers

posted by johnny5 (Orlando, FL) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

wasn't to challenging but still interesting. there was a whole variety of superheros that come to batman's aid and it followed the cartoon series to the t. If your'e taste is a little more refined than you might want to try it but you may be disapointed at the simple gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gets old fast

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

It retains the humor, style, and visual look of the TV show, and the characters are interesting and endearing because of the constant conversations they have with each other (Batman and Robin bicker about whether Catman or Catwoman is behind a cat-related crime, and Batman tells Hawkman how he once dressed up as him for Halloween). Both the dialogue and the voice acting are very well done. The actual gameplay, however, is tedious and repetitive, and gets old pretty fast. It's just your standard "walk to the right, beat up bad guys, walk to the right some more" sort of fare, and the settings aren't very diverse either. If you love Batman and/or side-scrolling brawlers, then sure, you might want to give this one a look. Speaking for myself, however, I ultimately sent it back to Gamefly before finishing it. By the middle of Episode 3, I felt that I'd gotten all I was likely to get from the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game but Very Short

posted by dragonblog (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

I played this game with my 7 and 4 year old boys who really enjoyed it and loved the simplistic battles and simply upgrading and getting new weapons for batman.

It is simple, fun and easy enough for younger kids to play but the game is very short and can be beaten in about 5-6 hours which make it definitely worth renting instead of purchasing.

Diedrich Bader does a good job as the voice of batman and the various side kicks from Robin, Blue Beetle...etc all have the same style of personality where they are newbies and make mistakes that Batman has to help them clean up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sux dont get it

posted by gmerdude12 (UKIAH, CA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

THIS GAME IS WORTHLESS I PROBABLY WASTED 20 MINUTES OF MY LIFE DONT GET IT IF U DO DONT BLAME ME WHEN U KILL YOURSELF

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IF Your A Big Fan A Show Like I Am

posted by discostu33 (AURORA, CO) Nov 10, 2010

Member since May 2004

was gonna just buy the game.. couldnt stop playing... thats the problem finished in less then a week... have to do the same thing over and over again but still fun.. would highly recommend rent but dont waste money and buy sad but true

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Entertaining for about an hour

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

While it was fun unlocking all the DC heroes as strikers and playing the different heroes, the Bat-Mite level was just awful. I don't say this often, but I wish whoever thought that 10 rounds of straight-up waves of identical bad guys is fun should be shot.
Also the graphics were lovely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Batman: The Brave and the Bold

posted by dsexton72 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Hmmm, what can I say about this game? I'll start like this...

The bad:
It's E10+, so it's targeted at kids and teens.
You can complete it in 4 hours, tops.
Replay value not very high.
The A.I. for the second character sucks. You can probably get more from by playing two player.

The good:
The graphics are a great representation of the show, extremely faithful.
The voice actors from the show, plus the banter between the characters as you go through the levels.
Each level plays like an episode from the show.
The jump-in heros: However, I wish you could also play as them, too.
It's straight beat-em up, and that's a lot of fun.
Going back to the episode format, there's a smaller game with the a villian that you have to beat, then it goes into the authentic opening from the show, the title of the episode/level, and then the actually level.

EXTRA:
The Bat-Mite challenge is just that...CHALLENGING.

Having said all of this, this game is actually very good and worth buying/renting. Can't wait to see how they do number 2, but I can definitely see a second one of these.

NOTE: Anyone who remembers the SNES version of the Adventures of Batman and Robin will recognize the gameplay of this immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by sogxsbpx (CORONA, CA) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

The ign review of 6.5 doesn't seem to go with the game. My daughters and I are having a blast with it so far!! Look for a full review soon at digoutreach. Com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Didn't work for me

posted by Islandkiwi (GARLAND, TX) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2004

Word of warning, if you are using an older Wii game may not read. The newer dual layer discs are giving the older units trouble, sending my Wii in for repairs as a result. My Wii would not read this game or the new Metroid game.

Seemed unfair to give the game a low rating as I haven't played it yet, so opted for a safe 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »