Rent Batman Begins for Xbox
view large frontback

Batman Begins

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, PS2, GBA, PSP Movies
GF Rating
6.8

992 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

It doesn't suck? Holy gameplay Batman!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While Marvel has experienced more recent success bringing their superheroes to the digital playing field (X-Men Legends, Ultimate Spiderman, Hulk: Ultimate Destruction), DC has had little success with video games (insert bad Superman, Aquaman, Batman game here). But they break a losing streak with Batman Begins by taking the series in a more stealthy direction. In fact, having the Dark Knight represented through a stealth action game makes perfect sense. Many comparisons can be made to SplinterCell, although there are many differences. Batman is a brawler, not a sniper, so you get into quite a few fights, which are fluid and cohesive. Rattling your enemies with falling crates, exploding barrels or collapsing floors will increase their fear, thus making it easier to take out your opponents. The cast from the movie do all the voice-over work and it's plain to see the movie license makes this game look and sound better than previous Batman games. A few negatives: the camera can feel erratic, staying focused on specific items can be tricky and there is from visual tearing. And while you get some new costumes for completing the game, you can't select specific missions, only start a new game. That's being picky, but it's worth noting. Overall, this is the Batman game to get. It will make up for the all the other ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dark Knight Cell?

posted by exmark88 (Fort Meade, FL) Jun 6, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a game based on a movie, and one on a superhero at that, Batman Begins is better than most. It could have some improvements, such as freedom to use your weapons/utility belt devices at other than pre-scripted events, but it's not bad. For Batman fans, like me, it suffices, but it's no splinter cell, which it seems to try to imitate-except the fighting. The fighting is simplistic, but adequate, and is usually broken up enough by stealth elements to avoid being tedious. If you like the Dark Knight, play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by swflboys (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What a fun game! It wasn't so difficult to manage that it stressed me out and the graphics were incredible. I liked that it wasn't just fighting and killing. The idea of scaring your enemy made me look at the game in an entirely different way. Definitely check this out if you enjoy an adventure game with a puzzle atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Batman's coming

posted by thomaston (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally a superhero game i enjoy. this one is the most incredible supehero game i've played because it has 1. blocks 2. attacks 3. stealth 4. training and 5. the new batmobile with races and missions. get it or rent it i think you should buy it it is awesome and it won't be boring or waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Okay

posted by Tiptup (THOMASVILLE, NC) May 10, 2006

Member since May 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While the game looks good, the long movie scenes (cust-scenes) and the button-mashing fighting is just not for me. If you like a good, simple fighting/action game you may like this. I guess I wanted something different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game is prettu good.

posted by bballgamer (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like this game the only thing they could have done better was to add a couple more bat mobile levels. i loved those, but overall it is a must rent game if you like superhero or action games...but it would be kind of hard to buy for more than ten bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best Batman Game Ever!

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all if you are looking for the best Batman game on any system of any era, THIS IS IT!

I have seen other reviews compare this game to Splinter Cell. Yes, this game does have a Splinter Cell feel to it. It focuses on stealth to accomplish most of the goals. Unlike Splinter Cell, Batman carries no guns and taking weapons fire is lethal with a few shots. The importance of stealth is amplified greatly in Batman.

Another aspect is the addition of fear. Playing on the movie's main theme of Scarecrow's hallucinogen. Batman also uses his environment around him to cause fear in his enemies. When you are forced to fight, the more fear you cause, the easier the enemies are to defeat. Some reviews here make light of this aspect. But they miss the point of it's use within the game.

The levels themselves are essentially puzzle based, though are well hidden in plain sight, as to blend into the level structure. This reminds me of Prince of Persia. In other words, everything that is interactive in the game actually looks like it belongs there. There are 10 levels in total, 2 of which are driving levels.

Which brings me to the down part of the game for me. The driving levels seem to be throw-ins. On top of which, they are clones of Burnout 3's "Road-Rage" mode. Not a bad thing, but it's too obvious. The big blinking arrows, give it away. They are easily the most disappointing part of the game.

While not much replay value. You can still unlock movie clips, interviews, classic Batsuits, Batmobile mini-game, and every notable bad guy ends up in the Gallery of Fear.

The game follows the movie. Even using movie clips to help the game along. The game even features the voices of the main cast to help with the feel. The character faces are modeled after the real life actors. You'll recognize Bale, Neeson, etc. In essence, that is what this game is, a movie companion. So your not playing this game because of the story. You've seen it. Your playing it because you are a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DONT RENT THIS GAME

posted by DirtyScrim (LONGMONT, CO) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get this game

posted by perwire (NUTLEY, NJ) Oct 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is AWESOME! most movie based games are atrocious, but this game is awesome. the levels, the charictors, the acting, music, and graphics are all great. do your self a favor and get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

batmans great!

posted by derikk12 (DALHART, TX) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

popcicle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

batman

posted by crazydude4 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

batman is awesomer but the game is awsomer.listen gamfly i want to test the games like u guys i love games all sorts of them.please read this please please.and i dont care which ones all kind of them i m especily good at adventure games,or sports any kind.please man just let me test the games with u. i ll even do it for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its quick and fun

posted by carlosKOBE (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

plain and simple its a quick game its fun graphics are cool the combos are cool the camera sucks takes some getting used too so you will get frustrated at first but give it a shot you will like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stealthy Batman

posted by Spikejones (QUEENSTOWN, MD) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game has some SERIOUS potential, if it wasn't for Batmans extreme weakness in the game.

Its based upon fear and stealth. You do your best to avoid contact with thugs, especially those with guns. Because Batman will die. For a superhero game, its not very super. You spend 90% of the game sneaking around, 5% trying to figure out what to do, 3% huffing in frustration and the other 2% fighting thugs.

Graphics: 4
Gameplay Value: 5
Controls:4
Replay Value: 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Should have been before Metal Gear

posted by ilikedit (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

This is a great game for the movie. Better than The Matrix may I add. If i had not played Metal Gear a few years back this would have been a ground breaker . But as it stands its just another game under my belt in THE HISTORY OF GAMEFLY CHAMPION. LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BATMAN BEGINS

posted by JONATHON (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

THIS game is great,cool,no perfict!! It's a great game because BATMAN can do great stuff.I would really recommend this PERFICT game to others!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »