Rent Batman: Arkham Origins for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Origins

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

1116 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worst one of the 3, easily.

posted by Dweeler (PLANO, TX) Oct 30, 2013

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I love batman. I love these batman games. But I HATE how glitchy this game is. If you're an avid fan like me, even the smallest differences will matter. Here is what I've seen that has made me want to return this game:
- Game: the game freezes, A LOT. It saves just as frequently, but having to restart the xbox every time is a pain.
- Enemies in Fighting: fighting isn't quite the same. Cool they added new characters to fight, but, you can't defend to interrupt a current punch. Also, his stun doesn't span across the same anymore. You could stun 3 or 4 with a perfectly places stun. Now you're lucky if you get 2.
- Fighting aesthetics: He doesn't reach across the fight floor like he use to. And god forbid there are any boxes or cars in the way, it's like he doesn't know how to go around them.
- Disturbances: police scanners tell you about groups of enemies causing a disturbance... Sometimes. I'd say about 1/4 of them glitch out.
- Grappling: half of the roofs in the game, or the bridges, are almost impossible to grapple onto, if at all. You have to be entirely too close and out of view for you to grapple them. or you have to be at the PERFECT angle.

Now don't get me wrong. It's still an overall good game. storyline is awesome. New joker and batman voices sound "younger" like they wanted. But they really need to patch this about 6 times before i'm able to willingly enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Young Batman That Feels Old

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Arkham Origins tells the story of a younger Batman who is just getting his start in Gotham. It's an interesting look at a less established Batman for sure, and does a decent job introducing the Dark Knight and villains of the Batman universe.

This is the third Batman game in the Arkham series, but the first not done by Rocksteady. This is apparent from the get go as the game lacks the polish of the previous two entries. There are a few bugs here and there that are annoying certainly, but I didn't encounter anything game-breaking.

The game is without doubt solid, but not spectacular. Much of what made Asylum and City interesting is gone here and feels like a retread. Play it if you're a fan of Batman and the Arkham series, but with tempered expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blew my mind

posted by KINGJACKMADDEN (BALLWIN, MO) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this new Arkham game had a lot new features such as a wider map, and new bat gear, but i wish that they had some more side quest. but overall it was a great game and i'm planing on keeping it till i can buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

When was the last time Warner Bros did right?

posted by aaDKaa (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

( Im a huge Batman fan so it hurts me to say this) Its a bigger game just not better. This is basically Warner Bros way to make a quick buck before Rocksteady puts together the next Arkham masterpiece. ( Not worth buying at all )

Pros: Its Batman

Cons: My biggest problem is that they messed up the combat system which was amazing in the past.

The textures and models are complete trash

The city was huge but there was no one in it to protect

Im shocked at how they dropped the ball when they had so much to work with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

no difference

posted by samurai_kyo45 (THORNTON, CO) Nov 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's really no difference from arkham city everything still the same which is okay i guess.

Good
The story is probably the only thing that would keep u playing to see what happens. The riddler side quest are little more easier to get i hated collecting these for xp. The last thing i kind of like is there are other way to get xp by training or answering police calls.

Bad
I guess they could of done more for the game but all they did is made another dis for online play which i didn't care for very much.

Overall it was really no different from the other two if your a hard core batman fan go for it. Me i would pay $50 for this if it was the game of the year edition with a lot of good dlc on it like arkham city.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would be great were it playable

posted by Zashule (BURLEY, ID) Oct 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was a lot of fun for what little I could play. Unfortunately bugs and freezes make the game unplayable. I was only able to make it 7% into the game before I reached a point right after the fight with Deathstroke that the game would freeze. After multiple restarts and attempts to get past this black screen, I gave up. After a quick google search, it would seem I'm not the only one with this issue. It did seem to be a game worth playing, better than AA, but not as good as AC from what I played. The boss fights I did play were repetitive and a chore to play. The slowdowns were a pain. Overall a disappointment for a series that did such a great job in the past, unfortunately it appears the lack of Rocksteady makes this near unplayable game seem like a quick cash-in from WB.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I thought it was

posted by GLCorps52 (HERRIMAN, UT) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Arkham City was the best of the Batman games. This game is fun, however the achievements and awards are harder to get, most of them being from multiplayer, which is difficult to find a game when searching for a quick match.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected.

posted by Gamingcurse (KELSO, WA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I try to not "Review" games because I feel that they should be experienced by everyone. This is my experience and thoughts playing the game.

I always look at prequels with cautious eyes, because we already know how the story ends so when it was announced that there was going to be another Batman: Arkham game I was hyped however when I found out this was going to be a prequel I thought "Oh, no." Then I heard the premise of the story that this was going to be around year 2 of batman's career and I thought. "Oh, well this seems to sound like it could have promise." Then I received the game from gamefly and I started to play it.

I personally feel that they wasted something they could have done very well after watching Batman Begins I think that is the perfect origins for Batman, Gotham City was run by the mobsters however in Batman: Arkham Origins the cast is already set, we have the Meta Humans and the mob is basically gone. Granted you have some stuff prior to the first Arkham game but this is no origins story.

By the end of Batman Arkham City we saw the death of Joker I felt that was a fitting end for him that feud between Joker and Batman was over I was hoping to move on so what did they do? Instead of making the story Dark along the lines of Batman Begins (Minus the whole side story with the league of assassins) What do they do? They have a younger batman face down people that I don't think really appeared during year two.

With my issues of the story stated I'll get onto the gameplay/graphics/audio/control aspects of the game. Overall Batman: Arkham Origins is a copy and past of the previous 2 Batman Arkham games with the exception of a few enhancements what you see with the first 2 games you will get with this game. However I encountered several glitches and almost one potentially gamebreaking glitch that if I didn't look around youtube I wouldn't have figured out what to do.

Eventhough I try not to review games I must give this game a score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, besides glitches

posted by jetd321 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game, got about 75% through story mode then my save file disappeared, i have no interest to play through it again. good rent, bad buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BATMAN IS BACK AND BETTER THAN EVER

posted by whytemic2009 (MESA, AZ) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

overall its a ten and here is why it is the same mechanics as arkham city just a few tweeks in the control catagory of movement it moves more fluently the story does a great lead into the last two games wich i think is great producing and directing also what is wrong is there is a few glitches in the city that you will run into but not to bad because of the auto save combat is great gadgets are great and the graphics are top of the line more def in the characters faces the story is better than ever and i love the way they keep the originality of the batman series WHAT A GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same

posted by Longhairdntcare (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Same game....nothing that really stands out. I was bored on my way to the second mission.. They force you to buy costumes if you want a different look. Nothing to get excited about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Vast Improvement for a Prequel

posted by Papagino0017 (TAMPA, FL) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The fighting combos are easier to come by, as they leave more room for error than arkham city. and a nice batcave lair. however the story is kind of lame, in that its tough to keep track of what you're doing even with the hints. A lot fewer collectibles and a nice tie into the arkham asylum game. Can't wat for Arkham Knight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE!!!

posted by warcraft99 (ARVADA, CO) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

pros- good story
good graphics

cons- unbeatable bosses(on any difficulty)
bad control response
the game game makes you rage quit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Arkham City rehash

posted by linedoc (TOPEKA, KS) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

I loved Arkham City, so by proxy, I also "love" Arkham Origins. It's essentially the same game, just different villains. Very little else is different.

That pretty much covers the positive. The biggest negatives I have with this game is that the controls are a little wonkier, and gliding sucks. Without using the fast travel option, getting around town isn't necessarily difficult per se, but it's definitely more difficult than it needs to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Arkham City 1.5, more of the same.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

The game looks good, but is pretty much the same as Arkham City. That's a good thing, if you loved AC, in which I did. But Origins just feels like DLC, with a slow uninteresting story and even bigger and dead city. I didn't get very far before I just lost interest in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not so bad

posted by Malaka1 (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

overall a nice introductory to how it all started. Excites you at certain moments but mores you in others. Your typical Batman game if you like the sandbox feeling. It was my style and I enjoyed playing it through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Batman Arkham Origins

posted by WkndGmr71 (OLYMPIA, WA) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I rented this game in anticipation of enjoying everything about it as I am a fan of the previous Batman Arkham games. What I wasn't expecting however was the levels of frustration I would experience at one of the VERY FIRST boss battles in the game. Gigantic Crock dude? Challenging, but finally defeated. Electric dude? Ha! Easy-peasy. Deathstroke? Frustration city, here we come! Really?!? I've only got 6% of the game completed, playing on the "easy" level. Granted, I am not what you would call a "hardcore, 24/7" gamer, so I KNOW I don't got skillz. And I do appreciate and enjoy a challenging game from time to time. But after reading countless walkthroughs and trying countless different approaches to this fight, I'm done. Which is too bad, because I was really looking forward to exploring the rest of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

thz

posted by broadwaystevie (Lincoln, IL) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

hopefully we can square up...or heisinberg i shall be...:)luv ya

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

awsome game great for both buy and rent and the multi player is fun and interesting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by lonnyp (OLIVEHURST, CA) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Every bit as good as arkham city, my only complaint is that they nerfed down the grappling hook a bit. you cant grab on to everything in the game. but that is me just nitpicking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Super Hard

posted by oii (MOUNT AIRY, NC) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I played for like a hour and didnt get very far. But it had great graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do you like chasing stuff & annoying boss battles?

posted by jasev01 (STROUDSBURG, PA) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

I am drawn to games like this because I love comics and games and the combo no matter how "bad" its like whatever I'm down. That is why this gets a 4 and not lower. Read any review and you will hear complaints about the just simplify annoying boss fights like with Slade. Yes you read the comics he is a BA but we are talking about a few hours into a game, a game that is supposed to be fun not some unbeatable comic epic battle. Here is the worse part, we aren't talking about a epic battle that you can beat in anyway that you see fit, we are talking about a preset one way only method that is annoying and tedious. Now repeat in different annoying way you need to figure for every other "boss" fight. Not just the boss fights but also for the riddler riddles of which there are over 100 "hidden" not really around the map some of which you can't get when you find them because you need item X. Right. Then when you have the full arsenal you still need to perform tedious "puzzles" which aren't puzzles but twitch hand things to get the thing. Here is the kicker. you get all 100+ and 50 GP or 70? No 10. yes your hours of work nets you 10GP. not 10GP and more story or anything just 10 GP. But that is this game you beat the game etc etc you can expect less than 400GP let me be exact 250 (17/52) in my case and that counts some "extras". I've never seen such stingy achievements. The missing ones? things like that annoying boss battle well do it perfectly without getting cheapshoted( it will happen) we will toss you 10 more. Same with another boss battle for 10. So where is the rest? Mulitplayer and play the same campaign that just annoyed the s- out of you 2 more times in game+ and extra extra hard mode as if normal /hard was not bad enough and a waste of your life. Its so bad that you forget the story mostly which is the only redeeming thing being able to play through batman's 1st year/origins. I wish I had more thumbs so I can give this 4 thumbs down. Sorry not cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

batman arkham origins

posted by earldeath666 (EL PASO, TX) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

loved the game graphics were sweet but once your done with the game gets kinda boring not much else to do. sending back shortly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD BATMAN GAME

posted by mrjones1982 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

ITS GOOD BUT NOT AS GOOD AS ARKHAM CITY BUT ITS JUST AS FUN THE CONTROLS AND SOME ANINIMATION GLITCHES TAKES SOME OF THE PERFECTION OUT OF THE GAME. BUT THE STORY IS VERY GOOD AND DETECTIVE MODE IS FUN. I THINK ARKHAM IS A SMALL CITY MAP IT COULD OF BEEN MORE INTERACTION WITH CITY LIFE. BUT OVERALL A GOOD RENTAL TO HAVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games on xbox...EVER

posted by BamaMania (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I am absolutely floored that this game hasn't gotten better ratings. When I wrote this, review, it's average rating was 7.9. That's RIDICULOUS. This game may be the best game I've played in 30 years gaming. It's without a doubt, in my top 5 lifetime games. Grand Slam! Hat Trick! Triple Crown! Pick-6! Winston cup!! Winner!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse