Rent Batman: Arkham Origins for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Origins

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

1871 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worst one of the 3, easily.

posted by Dweeler (PLANO, TX) Oct 30, 2013

Member since May 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I love batman. I love these batman games. But I HATE how glitchy this game is. If you're an avid fan like me, even the smallest differences will matter. Here is what I've seen that has made me want to return this game:
- Game: the game freezes, A LOT. It saves just as frequently, but having to restart the xbox every time is a pain.
- Enemies in Fighting: fighting isn't quite the same. Cool they added new characters to fight, but, you can't defend to interrupt a current punch. Also, his stun doesn't span across the same anymore. You could stun 3 or 4 with a perfectly places stun. Now you're lucky if you get 2.
- Fighting aesthetics: He doesn't reach across the fight floor like he use to. And god forbid there are any boxes or cars in the way, it's like he doesn't know how to go around them.
- Disturbances: police scanners tell you about groups of enemies causing a disturbance... Sometimes. I'd say about 1/4 of them glitch out.
- Grappling: half of the roofs in the game, or the bridges, are almost impossible to grapple onto, if at all. You have to be entirely too close and out of view for you to grapple them. or you have to be at the PERFECT angle.

Now don't get me wrong. It's still an overall good game. storyline is awesome. New joker and batman voices sound "younger" like they wanted. But they really need to patch this about 6 times before i'm able to willingly enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Young Batman That Feels Old

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Arkham Origins tells the story of a younger Batman who is just getting his start in Gotham. It's an interesting look at a less established Batman for sure, and does a decent job introducing the Dark Knight and villains of the Batman universe.

This is the third Batman game in the Arkham series, but the first not done by Rocksteady. This is apparent from the get go as the game lacks the polish of the previous two entries. There are a few bugs here and there that are annoying certainly, but I didn't encounter anything game-breaking.

The game is without doubt solid, but not spectacular. Much of what made Asylum and City interesting is gone here and feels like a retread. Play it if you're a fan of Batman and the Arkham series, but with tempered expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blew my mind

posted by KINGJACKMADDEN (BALLWIN, MO) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this new Arkham game had a lot new features such as a wider map, and new bat gear, but i wish that they had some more side quest. but overall it was a great game and i'm planing on keeping it till i can buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

When was the last time Warner Bros did right?

posted by aaDKaa (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

( Im a huge Batman fan so it hurts me to say this) Its a bigger game just not better. This is basically Warner Bros way to make a quick buck before Rocksteady puts together the next Arkham masterpiece. ( Not worth buying at all )

Pros: Its Batman

Cons: My biggest problem is that they messed up the combat system which was amazing in the past.

The textures and models are complete trash

The city was huge but there was no one in it to protect

Im shocked at how they dropped the ball when they had so much to work with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

no difference

posted by samurai_kyo45 (THORNTON, CO) Nov 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's really no difference from arkham city everything still the same which is okay i guess.

Good
The story is probably the only thing that would keep u playing to see what happens. The riddler side quest are little more easier to get i hated collecting these for xp. The last thing i kind of like is there are other way to get xp by training or answering police calls.

Bad
I guess they could of done more for the game but all they did is made another dis for online play which i didn't care for very much.

Overall it was really no different from the other two if your a hard core batman fan go for it. Me i would pay $50 for this if it was the game of the year edition with a lot of good dlc on it like arkham city.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would be great were it playable

posted by Zashule (BURLEY, ID) Oct 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was a lot of fun for what little I could play. Unfortunately bugs and freezes make the game unplayable. I was only able to make it 7% into the game before I reached a point right after the fight with Deathstroke that the game would freeze. After multiple restarts and attempts to get past this black screen, I gave up. After a quick google search, it would seem I'm not the only one with this issue. It did seem to be a game worth playing, better than AA, but not as good as AC from what I played. The boss fights I did play were repetitive and a chore to play. The slowdowns were a pain. Overall a disappointment for a series that did such a great job in the past, unfortunately it appears the lack of Rocksteady makes this near unplayable game seem like a quick cash-in from WB.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I thought it was

posted by GLCorps52 (HERRIMAN, UT) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Arkham City was the best of the Batman games. This game is fun, however the achievements and awards are harder to get, most of them being from multiplayer, which is difficult to find a game when searching for a quick match.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected.

posted by Gamingcurse (KELSO, WA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I try to not "Review" games because I feel that they should be experienced by everyone. This is my experience and thoughts playing the game.

I always look at prequels with cautious eyes, because we already know how the story ends so when it was announced that there was going to be another Batman: Arkham game I was hyped however when I found out this was going to be a prequel I thought "Oh, no." Then I heard the premise of the story that this was going to be around year 2 of batman's career and I thought. "Oh, well this seems to sound like it could have promise." Then I received the game from gamefly and I started to play it.

I personally feel that they wasted something they could have done very well after watching Batman Begins I think that is the perfect origins for Batman, Gotham City was run by the mobsters however in Batman: Arkham Origins the cast is already set, we have the Meta Humans and the mob is basically gone. Granted you have some stuff prior to the first Arkham game but this is no origins story.

By the end of Batman Arkham City we saw the death of Joker I felt that was a fitting end for him that feud between Joker and Batman was over I was hoping to move on so what did they do? Instead of making the story Dark along the lines of Batman Begins (Minus the whole side story with the league of assassins) What do they do? They have a younger batman face down people that I don't think really appeared during year two.

With my issues of the story stated I'll get onto the gameplay/graphics/audio/control aspects of the game. Overall Batman: Arkham Origins is a copy and past of the previous 2 Batman Arkham games with the exception of a few enhancements what you see with the first 2 games you will get with this game. However I encountered several glitches and almost one potentially gamebreaking glitch that if I didn't look around youtube I wouldn't have figured out what to do.

Eventhough I try not to review games I must give this game a score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, besides glitches

posted by jetd321 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game, got about 75% through story mode then my save file disappeared, i have no interest to play through it again. good rent, bad buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BATMAN IS BACK AND BETTER THAN EVER

posted by whytemic2009 (MESA, AZ) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

overall its a ten and here is why it is the same mechanics as arkham city just a few tweeks in the control catagory of movement it moves more fluently the story does a great lead into the last two games wich i think is great producing and directing also what is wrong is there is a few glitches in the city that you will run into but not to bad because of the auto save combat is great gadgets are great and the graphics are top of the line more def in the characters faces the story is better than ever and i love the way they keep the originality of the batman series WHAT A GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same

posted by Longhairdntcare (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Same game....nothing that really stands out. I was bored on my way to the second mission.. They force you to buy costumes if you want a different look. Nothing to get excited about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WHAT A SHAME

posted by THESRWAY (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2006

Wow this is a broken game, nowhere as good as the first two. My favorite part is where I can scale a skyscraper but can't climb an 8ft ledge. I also like how you can't swim, he's BATMAN for crying out loud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

arkham origins

posted by jtdagrt (CORDELE, GA) Oct 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Would give a higher score but game froze over and over endless fall on one stage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Sep 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Played for days and managed 200gs...no achievements for boss fights is lame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Glitchy and buggy

posted by elnez1 (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Similar to the other two games good story line but very buggy and glitchy certain achievements wouldn't pop up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same

posted by hallowsDAYsaint (ROSWELL, GA) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

If you have played either of the other 2 recent batman games then this is no different. It's still fun with a few new gadgets, but it just feels like a game you've played over and over again. Missions don't vary much from the previous 2 and combat is exactly the same. It's decent but nothing great or even anything different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

loved it

posted by justintaylor88 (HULL, MA) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

this game was amazing just like the other ones, the battles were incredible. the cinematics were great in the whole thing came together very smoothly....good job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jason

posted by michael1975 (HERNDON, VA) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

when is my game coming please tell me the date when you get the information

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boss to hards

posted by Snuggletron (SANDPOINT, ID) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

He is a hard fight for lvl 1 and Batman make me angry so I return on first night. Other lucks for Batman in future but really INTENSE way to see 3-d maybe too much for little me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly good story but downgrade in gameplay

posted by Homerdough (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Having played the previous two Batman Arkham titles and loving the gameplay, I was disappointed with the huge change in fighting that occured in Origins. That change is that enemies can interrupt you in the middle of a common punch, which really ruins the flow of the battle. It's not a huge deal once you get past the 5x combo mark, but it's such an easy fix and occurs way too often that it really detriments the combat. One other big beef I have is having to unlock the Disarm and Destroy combo through a side-mission, when it's one of the most useful combos in the game. I didn't even bother doing the side quest to unlock it since it was tedious.

Other than those beefs, the gameplay is still pretty much the same as the other two. It gets a little too easy once you get the Shock Gloves but you can always choose to not use them. There aren't as many Predator rooms as the other games either.

However, I'll admit that the boss fights are definitely the best of the series. Excluding Deathstroke (which was very unique, but annoying), every boss fight was a blast to play since it was very obvious it was a boss and not just an enemy that can't be countered.

The story was very good though as there are twists aplenty and Detective Mode was pretty cool as well.

All in all, the game is pretty similar to Arkham City in terms of side missions and gameplay but the lack of Predator rooms and that combat change really ruin my opinion of the game

PROS
+Good story with twists
+Boss Battles

CONS
-Combat changes
-Lack of Predator rooms
-Poor pacing of unlocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A bit dissapointing

posted by PhilDaBassHead (GRANBURY, TX) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The came was kind of a let down. Its basically exactly the same game as the last batman game just with different bad guys. Exact same controls, moves, gadgets, etc. Still a lot of fun just to beat the tar out of a bunch of bad guys while you fly around and use cool gadgets. Id say rent it but dont expect anything to blow your mind that you havent see already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by XVCHRONIC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Its a new batman but feels old. same thing than the last batman pretty much. Gets boring quick. I thought this batman was going to be good but its not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, not great.

posted by nickydubya (GLEN MILLS, PA) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Love this series, but all-in-all, more of the same. Still fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as the predecessor

posted by Overeduk8ed (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

If you've already played Rocksteady's amazing Arkham City, then Origins is going to feel like a clunky beta to its predecessor. It's not that the game isn't good, it's just that AC cast such a shadow that AO cant possibly compete. Play them in chronological order, (Origins, Asylum and City) and you will get far more out of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game has Tech issues

posted by JHampton (GARY, IN) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Great game, but after a few levels my son was having issues with Batman floating up in the air, and the game would just stay like that. He restarted it a couple of times, with no success. I went online to see if there maybe were issues with this game, and sure enough! ...there was. Once you reach a certain level batman seems to fall up and floats above the city and that's pretty much it. You can't go on to the next level no matter what you try. Too bad...I would have given a better rating if it had worked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse