Rent Batman: Arkham Origins for PS3
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Origins

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

1043 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by Shanehi185 (MOUTHCARD, KY) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you liked the other games you should like this one. It has good graphics and plays well. My only problems with it is the story was to short and in the open world it is sometimes hard to grapple when you are moving across the map, you have to run around a little bit to find a grapple point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but only sometimes.

posted by rmysterio80 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

There are some moments in Arkham Origins that really stand out from the previous Arkham games (mainly involving the origin story segment for the Joker), but its core mechanics are left mainly unchanged. And the core mechanics that are changed, the combat, isnt really changed for the better.

I'll start off by saying the game's story is fine, and its cutscenes are extremely well directed. Nothings wrong with this game from a plot or writing standpoint.

The main issues i have with Arkham origins is the combat. Its been tweaked slightly to make the enemies more aggressive, which on paper sounds fine. More challenge, but the game simply doesnt seem like it was meant to be this way. The camera cant keep up with all the enemies attacking you (especially in smaller indoor areas) and things can become frustrating. I had serious issues trying to get used to the combat for about 2 hours, but eventually started to learn how to deal with it. Due to the more aggressive enemies you have to slow down significantly and time every move. Some prefer this, i personally liked the combat in the other two games (was more fun and fluid). You also cant counter whilst in mid attack, further causing you to have slow down.

The stealth is largely the same, a few new gadgets are thrown in but its nothing innovative. Early on you get the Remote Claw, which is the only really useful new gadget. The stealth isnt bad, i just wish they did more.

Visually, the game looks good at times, and teeters on bad and decent at others. My main gripe is with in-game lip syncing. It can be downright terrible at times, almost comical.

The voice acting is great as always. There was a lot of controversy over the bat's new VO. While he's no where near as good as Kevin Conroy, he definitely is bad. Troy Baker voices the joker, he does a decent job at playing off Hamil's joker without sounding like a rip off.

Overall, Arkham Origins isn't a bad game.

Its just not as good as the others in the

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Loved It

posted by irategames20 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved the game. I read some other reviews saying it was just like the others, just different enemies. I disagree. This game seemed to mess with my head a little more than the games in the past. It seemed tougher, more interesting, and more fun while throwing in facing eight assasins. To the people who say this game it bad, you have no sense what so ever in gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty decent game, but could have been better.

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have played all the Batman games since the Nintendo NES days. I had high expectations for this game and they were mostly met. However the game had numerous glitches the most frustrating of which was the controls. I suffered several deaths in the middle of fights due to problems with the controls and was even more frustrating trying to swap tools in a hurry. These are things that should seriously be considered in future titles. That being said it is still a worthy game for fans of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Batman Recycled

posted by Jason72 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Nov 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Out of all 3 games in this series, this one by far is the weakest. Repetitive game play becomes almost painful. Most missions and levels are nothing more than fighting a group of bad guys , all of them always armed with the EXACT same weapons.....knife, gun, bat, shield and a electric baton. I almost began avoiding fights simply because I got so tired of the same exact fight sequences.

Batman's free roam while grappling onto buildings has been GREATLY reduced. You'll spend more time gliding around looking for an "allowed" grappling point , then you will actually grappling.

Also, it becomes frustrating when you realize the complete break in continuity. Example, Batman is capable of successfully blocking Deathstroke's sword attacks without receiving any damage, and rightfully so. He is wearing an armor plated Bat Suit. Yet a common thug is able to , not only slice and injure Batman with a KNIFE or machete, but they are fully capable of killing Batman!!!

Boss fight scenes are also repetitive and some bosses you'll actually fight several times.....THE SAME WAY!!! It's blatantly obvious that this game was simply made to be a quick "cash cow", riding off the success of the previous releases. It's kind of sad that the Joker is the main enemy yet again , and there is really no point for this , as it isn't even fully explained. Thanks to Game Fly, you can rent this one and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but not great

posted by Soochie75 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jan 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game looks great, no question about it. The controls are better than they were in Asylum, but still a bit clunky compared to City.
The two main shortcomings this game has in my opinion:
1.) The main storyline is way too short, probably the shortest of the trilogy. Once you're done with that, the side missions kind of feel like a chore. I gave up about an hour after finishing the main storyline.
2.) The villains are mostly enemies you've fought in the two previous installments. Some of them you'll have to fight multiple times throughout the game, which seems a little lazy as far as game design. Others, the fight lasts 30 seconds, if you even have to fight them at all. Seems like a missed opportunity.
Since the game is a prequel to the other two titles, the story doesn't hold many twists or surprises either. 'Dramatic' moments have no meaning since you already know a certain character is/was also in the other games.
The bright side are the graphics and the atmosphere, and the large gameworld. The batcave could have been a nice addition, although in reality it doesn't really add much to the game. You can talk to Alfred and pick up a new gadget every now and then, that's it.
The fast travel option seems like a good idea, but you have to jump through so many hoops to unlock an area for fast travel that it's easier to just travel normally.
All in all this game was decent, where it could have been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by op3_decepti_con (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is freaking amazing. I love the story mode, the DLC, fast travel in Gotham and to the Batcave in the Batwing, and especially Multiplayer on how you customize your characters. I would totally recommend getting this game and the DLC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Batman : Arkham Origins

posted by jakers810619 (SALMON, ID) Nov 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found the game very good, some of the old school Characters are very well done and challenging on very levels

Over all the game
I rate a solid 8 to 10 with 10 being the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cant even play

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game has such gamebreaking glitches that I cant even play. the lag is so annoying that fighting a mob of enemies made me feel nauseous. Not to mention that constant freezing blocking multiplayer and preventing playing the game for more then 30 minutes at a time. Tis a shame, was a great game when not freaking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its okay..

posted by abrammercado118 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 6, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

same games as Arkyham City. Even thought the other was much better than this one. Really short story line. Nice decent graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Arkham city but broken

posted by Hero_Toxiko (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Nov 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

There are some major bugs here that seem more at home in asylum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth Your Time!

posted by Hamlet95 (LAWRENCE, MA) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The campaign was very good, it had a couple of touchy powerful moments that hit the spot. Online is pretty good . I would really recommend this game to a friend. Trust me, you wont regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BATMAN RECYCLED

posted by akeem1986 (GAINESVILLE, GA) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its exactly the same just different enemies! ONLINE WAS PRETTY COOL BUT THE REST IS ALL ARKHAM CITY SENT IT BACK ASAP!! GUESS IM DONE WITH THIS GAME 4-EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crapman is more like it.

posted by Anathema706 (LEXINGTON, KY) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was the shittiest Batman game thus far. I'm very glad I didn't buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

batman the good and the bad

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i am vengeance i am the knight but am i batman. that would be a yes, and what are the goods and the bad's of this game you ask.
BAD
sometimes cant play but 30 min at a time
counter button doesn't work when you need it
lag in traveling
jumping over invisible objects
graphics not as good as arkham city
the snow don't react to the costume like in arkham city
GOOD
its %%$% batman for god sakes
great replacements for the voice overs
great story line
the bad guys can counter you now!!!!!
(because you wouldn't stand there while you were getting your a## kicked now would you)
banes awesome story line
bane, joker, and black mask are the main villeins
a more brutal batman
more gadgets
and a wild online game play

so to resolve your question is yes you should play this game. now i play my games 30 min at a time because i have more important stuff to do. so i don't care that the game play degrades over time because i don't stay on it long enough to effect me. besides they will come out with an update to fix it anyway. i love how you are learning about batman's past as in who was penguin, why does the joker stalk batman as if he wants batman to come just so he can fight batman again, and who was bane before he became the venom enhanced rage monster. and in this world how did riddler come to meet batman. so in short play this game, if you don't i have a hat that is just your size.
oh dear my my my it seems i have a bat in my bellfree shale we dance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Batman Game Ever!

posted by GamerHangover (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Very good graphics and gameplay is unbelievable great.
My favorite game of the year so far, I like games that are a challenge and this game was fairly hard for a teen game. This game even is even great online and will give you a experience that you will never forget.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Try it for yourself!

posted by df93dt (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

I've played Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. Arkham Origins is not that bad. A bit more glitchier than the last two though. Other than that its not bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rocksteady's done it again!

posted by RiosSumari (PALM COAST, FL) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Arkham origins does what Arkham city had done in the past, take what made it great and make it better. The game opens with a great opening level of Blackgate prison, and finishes up with a spectacular ending as well. It's also enjoyable to see how Batman encounters all these previous again but for the first time, the Joker's appearance in particular was enjoyable. While I do question the need to use unpopular villains such as "The Mad Hatter" the game makes up for it with its use of vintage villains like Penquin and Black Mask. Here's hoping that when it's time to move on to the sequel Rocksteady can keep the momentum going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Got worse as it went along

posted by Aerogems (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

The game started out pretty fun, but it felt like instead of making the game legitimately difficult the developers just opted to take the easy way out and make it cheap. Killer Croc, Copperhead, Bane (especially Bane), Deathstroke, Firefly were all highly annoying and cheap fights. This was all made worse by the fact that the controls have gotten rather sloppy compared to the previous two games. In particular the counter move would only work correctly ~75% of the time, so plenty of times you'd be on the verge of death or even die because of it, and forget trying to do takedown moves. Even if the enemy was literally right at your feet, the game wouldn't execute the move. If you did die, the obnoxious cut scenes you can't skip through take forever (I recommend just pausing and using the restart option if you're close to death, since it's about 2-3X faster). Then there was the inconsistent tips offered up by the game on solving a puzzle. Towards the end of the game I was stuck trying to figure out a puzzle. I set it down for the night and come back the next day when all of a sudden I can't get batman to shut up with a hint that all but spells out how to solve the puzzle. The grapnel aiming was inconsistent, and when there were gargoyles to hide on, enemies always flocked to 1-2 so you had to keep cutting guys down. In the end, I just gave up when I got to the last boss fight with Bane and will find the ending on Youtube instead of suffer through it myself. Mark Hamil doing the voice acting for The Joker was the only real high point of the game for me. The Asylum formula has grown stale and with the sloppy controls, it makes for a mediocre game at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Sauce

posted by Raul12 (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

I have no complaints about none of Rocksteady they keep the pace of all Batman games like they do this company would be around for awhile the flow everything still matches would the first game keep it up guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why The Low Review Scores?

posted by Omens (MOUNT HOOD PARKDALE, OR) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

I really enjoyed this game. It was far better than most games I have played in the last 3 years. This series ranks with Mass Effect, Halo, and Devil May Cry. I have read reviews about glitches that forced gamers to restart levels, but I personally experienced no glitches what so ever. I Highly recommend this game to anyone who is not afraid of learning how to play with multiple options. It's not just run around and shoot. The gadgets, moves, and story were great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game-breaking glitch

posted by BenSmith71 (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Good controls, they kept the spirit of the old gameplay while changing the setup just enough to make it feel new

GREAT story with a superb cast.

Graphics, artwork, maps, all good.

After at least 10-15 hours in, nearing the end of the game, it broke. Now whenever I start the game Batman begins in a room where the map fails to load and Batman just falls through the floor. No fix, and multiple people have run into the bug. Invest time in this at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME SO AWESOME

posted by thebbatman10 (COLUMBUS, OH) Feb 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Batman arkham origins is a fun game the graphics are so awesome and the new cool thing with batman arkham origin is that it has a new multiplayer and in multiplayer you can unlock cool skins for batman and robin and for the joker and bane gangs you can unlock cool weapons and the challenge are so cool but when you beat the game all the challenge packs there are not much fun things to do but the game is still very awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not here

posted by Rashaad19 (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I have not even received the game and i see that it was shipped on the 02/01/2014 but i don't have it yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent, should have been a 9.

posted by Shonsu (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I really did love this game, but it should have been better. Feels more like an expansion pack for Arkham City. Mostly same environments, same enemies. Mostly same gadgets etc. They did add an extra part of the city in, but it feels mostly the same.

My only real complaint with this game, and I can't remember if it was the same in the last one or not, is that it feels almost arbitrary what you can or can't stick a bat claw too. There are places that look like a nice clean ledge to stick to, but for whatever reason it doesn't work there. It's minor, but it's one of those things that "brings you out of the game" so to speak.

Long story short, if you liked the previous Arkham games you'll like this one just as much probably.

p.s. Was psyched to see Deathstroke make an appearance.

SPOILERS SPOILERS

Some complain that you meet him too early for such a great villain, but he's the hardest boss fight in the game, and I think he's the only one that doesn't have any henchmen artificially increasing his difficulty. I think his placement is perfect, he should be the best (and he's the hardest so he is) and since he's the best he should find Batman the quickest (which he did). And while he doesn't make another appearance during gameplay he

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS

he does show up at the end of the game in a end credits type thing. Hinting he'll be back or possibly have his own game (doubtful but that would rock).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse