Rent Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate for PS Vita
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS
GF Rating
6.0

159 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Worth your time but don't expect anything amazing

posted by rcharles1 (ELIZABETH, PA) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Batman "Arkham origins Blackgate" is a ambitious game, but falls short of the mark. Most fans of the Arkham series will pass up this game, however the cool cut scenes and interesting gameplay is worth your time. The game stumbles however with the shallow combat and lackluster visuals. This also is a reminder of the vita's underutilized hardware, the vita can handle so much more than a copy of a 3ds game. The game features a new detective mode I liked where so slide your finger across the touchscreen to reveal hidden things or hints to continue you progress. collectables like new suits and detective case are here as well and can prolong the games replay value. I beat the game in about 7 hours, which is perfect for a handheld. Also, no spoilers but the end sequence can get very aggravating. In conclusion Batman "Arkham origins Blackgate" is a good game on paper but falls short in the game. Its definitely worth your time, but don't come in with high expectations. I give the game a good 7.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

skip unless you really really like batman

posted by NateDog500 (MISSION VIEJO, CA) May 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

combat is not that great since you are limited to basically only attack, counter, dodge. Boss fights can be very frustrating at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game!

posted by vfiuza (BELTSVILLE, MD) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a good and entertaining game for VITA. Didn't experienced those bugs people are talking about. I would not buy it though, but for renting it is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

"Arkham" on the handheld does not work.

posted by kirtanloorii (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Arkham series. After playing all three console titles on the ps3 (and scoring each at 9-10), it pains me to say that this title is nowhere near as good as the other, console Arkham games. First, while I don't mind that the game is a side-scroller, the combat is the feature that seems to be missing out the most. You don't have nearly as many options as the console games. Another thing that bothers me about this game is the fact that it's very easy to get lost. You can choose to go after any villain you want in any order. However, if you miss something, it could take 5-10 minutes to run back. Normally, I really like games that allow for freedom to do things the way you want. But I would prefer the more linear console Arkham experience. I really don't like wasting time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun VITA Game

posted by Baykidswerve (VALLEJO, CA) Nov 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think the problem with people is that they expect a console quality game from a 3rd party developer. That really isn't possible unless they take a long time to produce their game. But nonetheless this game is amazing for the vita. The graphics are pretty good for vita, the cutscenes are in comics format so that's a nice different from consoles, gameplay is pretty smooth, and it actually FEELS like I'm playing a an Arkham game on my vita. Some might think that the 2.5d way of the game hinders the gameplay but it doesn't. It's still a 3d game, but mostly a side scroller. I would recommend everyone with a vita to try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

confusing

posted by someguy098 (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Aug 29, 2014

Member since May 2014

confusing and and really move around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i give it 5 but the vita version sucks

posted by thebbatman10 (COLUMBUS, OH) Feb 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

one thing i do not like about it you can only walk in one line. and and the graphics suck on it and never get it for the vita the vita version sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »