Rent Batman: Arkham City for PS3
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham City

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.6

13441 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

There is no competition...

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Oct 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

77 out of 85 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Batman: Arkham City is the best game of the year this far. Everything about it is better than the original, and Arkham Asylum itself was one of the best games of 2009! Rocksteady really outdid themselves this time. The combat seems smoother, (if it was possible) the graphics crisper, soundtrack more riveting, heck, even Batman's better!! Also, the boss fights are awesome now, (these were the first games only flaws) and are all interesting. Detective Mode is better, its still invaluable to success but doesn't seem like it has to be on at all times.
After what is probably one of the best opening moments in any game I've seen, you are thrust into Arkham City which is oozing with gameplay options. Whether it be puzzles or finding collectibles, (through the vast four-hundred plus Riddler challenges) or cameos through the great side missions and phenomenal storyline; you feel like Batman through every step of the amazing journey.

The challenge maps are back, and much more refined, offering more variety through different playable characters and lots of content, with more to come. Believe it or not, I actually feel like I understand Batman more now, he's no more just an awesome super-hero, he's human, and you can feel his humanity throughout this game. And Arkham City, phew, its huge! With so many things happening in the city at once, its a wonder everything holds up as well as it does.

Pros: Everything about it is better than the original, which includes graphics, gameplay (combat, frame-rate, puzzles, exploration, flying) the challenge maps are great. I love the new playable characters, (which are play differently). This truly is the best game this year so far.

Cons: Some villains aren't fully fleshed out.

This game is amazing, totally living up to the hype, if I had to pick one thing wrong with it, I'd say that some of the villains aren't totally fleshed out. So someone with no knowledge of the Batman lore may feel a bit lost. Bottom line, PLAY THIS G

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A SIMPLY STUNNING MASTERPIECE!

posted by ScottySauce (SAN RAMON, CA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

51 out of 56 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Maybe the best game I played ever!!

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I must say that this game is, hands down, the best game of the year, maybe the best game ever made. The open world environment and the detail of Gotham City makes this game so amazing. There is so much to do in terms of side missions and collectables and solving puzzles. Its a lot of fun and the combat is awesome and challenging. But the icing on the cake has to be the gliding and grappling that has been improved since the last Batman game. Flying over the city and picking fights and completing missions is soo much fun. There nothing wrong with this game. I cant find a problem.... the score is even amazing giving it a very Batman feel and excitement. This whole week I been dying to get off work run home and play batman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A worthy successor to Arkham Asylum

posted by shirahadori (VACAVILLE, CA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think it would be a fit comparison to say this game managed to do what Uncharted 2 did as a sequel. This game improves literally every possible aspect from the original that it's hard to find things that are wrong with it.

First off, the gameplay is where this really shines. Freeflow perfection is the only thing you can call it. It just moves so smoothly between bad guys, and racking up combos with all your different gadgets on different kinds of enemies is very satisfying. Stealth is also very heavy in this title, as was in AA. The other part of gameplay is the travel system. Flying through Arkham City is quite awesome, if I do say so myself. The inclusion of the Grapnel boost is definitely a bonus however, as the citys size can be quite daunting when racing against the clock for certain objectives (mostly sidequest things).

Which brings me to my second topic. The side quests. There are a lot. I mean- a lot- of extra things to do post / mid main story. The Riddler trophies may seem a bit unnecessary however, but at least there is a little bit more to it than just the trophies now for Riddler's character. The cast of characters is quite impressive, and most of them you will not even see if you do not take on the side quests, which is a little unfortunate.

That brings me to the main story itself. It's pretty good. But that's all I can say, really. I was not blown away by it, but it did keep me very interested throughout to see how it would all play out in the end. There's some plot twists, but that's up to you to decide if they were good, or unwarranted. Catwoman's sections were not as cool as I had hoped they would be, but they do offer good diversity to the main bulk of the game.

Lastly, the graphics and environment design is pretty impressive this time around. While the city itself is very dark and gloomy, there is a lot of detail that will go unnoticed if not carefully observed. The cutscenes are excellent in this regard, and do not fail to impress.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman Arkham City

posted by Nightfury99 (VAN NUYS, CA) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a fantastic game. I loved the map and the beautiful graphics. The combat is much better than last game. I enjoyed the new equipment in the story. I thought the story was very short. The combat is very smooth. You can toss a freeze mine at one enemy and incapacitate two more guys with a couple quick punches , do a ground takedown and when the other guy gets up, give him a beat down. I finished it in 2 or 3 days. Overall, it was a fantastic game but the story lacked the usual suspense. It was much easier than Asylum for me personally. This game deserves the 9 out of 10 it has received and I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliantly executed

posted by drsloomis (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros: Slick animations; tight controls; compelling storyline

Cons: Almost too much; some repetitive backtracking

Improving on the first game in almost every way, Arkham City delivers a stunning experience that is compelling in all the right ways. Easy to get into, difficult to master, the controls are as tight as anything out there and manage to be simultaneously forgiving and demanding. If there's a complaint, it's twofold: 1) the number of riddler trophies borders on absurd, ranging from difficult to insanely easy and rewards nearly everything you do in-game, such as not tripping over your shoelaces (ok, not that bad...but close!), and 2) some missions reuse locales from earlier missions which, while not inherently bad, does lead to a couple of repetitive slogs through waves of enemies just so you can cover the same territory as before with little to no directly proportional reward. Well worth a rental as well as the time needed to complete!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Somewhat of a letdown

posted by Roy_jerome (NEW HAVEN, CT) Oct 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing and worth a buy because of the riddler challenges and all that other good stuff. what i cant seem to understand is why is the main story so short? and for the 10 dollars i paid i feel as though they could have done a lot more with catwoman. Great game but it should have been longer. im not a fan of riddler challenges, i never seek them out and the side missions are fun but why doesnt catwoman have any side missions and for 10 dollars i think she should have more content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman Arkham City

posted by conundrum62 (CLEARWATER, FL) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is totally AWESOME & much better than the 1st. I love the better graphics and more investigative tone, plus you get to start out as Bruce Wayne. Catwoman, can she be created to be more SEXier!! PERFECT 10 this game is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good follow up to Arkham Aslyum

posted by Haiyato (MUKILTEO, WA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall the game was pretty good. Arkham City itself is definitely interesting to glide/run around in. I don't think it was huge personally, just really crowded and the fact you have to go around the restricted area made it seem bigger than it actually is. Batman has most of his gadgets from Aslyum and then some new ones along with some new take downs which is cool. Graphics are pretty amazing so no marks on that part.

I like the Story Plus mode after you complete the game once. Allows you to retain all your gadgets and stuff and bring on tougher thugs.

My biggest gripe is that is that the story line. Don't get me wrong it's pretty good, though a tad predicatable, but good none of the less. Too me it just seemed too short.

As for the downloadable content, i haven't purchased any so I can't comment on that. I am still debating on rather to purchase this or not since its a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Catwoman Code

posted by Metzler (MURRIETA, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great Game!!

It would be sweet if GameFly could supply the code for Catwoman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible, near perfect game

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

"Batman: Arkham Asylum" is widely regarded as the best comic book game made, and many wondered how Rocksteady could top it. Well, wonder no more. "Batman: Arkham City" is bigger and better than its predecessor, with a far larger area to explore, more Riddler trophies to find (400, up from 240), and an even bigger cast of villains. Plus, if you purchase the game, you get the code to download Catwoman's missions and challenge maps. Definitely do this prior to beginning your game, as you get a different beginning if you have Catwoman installed. Combat is even smoother, with more moves and the ability to use a wide array of gadgets during a fight. Catwoman plays a bit different, and she's a lot of fun to brawl with. Graphically, this is a beautiful game, with rich details in the environment. Buildings are varied in style, colorful neon signs adorn the exteriors, and even the weather effects are well done. There's a ton of content in this game, ranging from the main story, a host of side missions, Riddler challenges, and just plain exploring every inch of the city. The main story alone can take close to 20 hours to complete, and you can spend many more hours hunting down all of Riddler's trophies and besting the challenge maps. If you loved the first game, this one is a no-brainer as far as purchasing. As incredible as this game is, it's not quite perfect- the camera can be a tad troublesome if you get backed into a corner, and the gadgets can require a bit of finagling with the direction buttons to access them. But these are minor quibbles (Gamefly doesn't allow for point scores, so I rounded up from the 9.5 I would actually rate it). This is a definite must play and easily a contender for GOTY. The voice acting is stellar, Paul Dini's story is fantastic, and the gameplay will have you feeling like Batman. Don't miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Woah, what an ending.

posted by phatboyjj (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Story: 5/5 (Better than movies rated A)
Voice Acting: 5/5 (Amazing Job)
Graphics: 5/5(Next Gen Perfection..)
Music: 5/5 (really gets you into the Game)
Gameplay:5/5 (Great, kinda difficult, which make it great)
Overall 10/10-

Ill keep it short, so much to do so little time. You will not want to put it down. even the credits make you sit and watch em in awe. The Catwoman story is solid too, its a great game which isnt even complete yet. Nightwing and Robin Expansion is avalible towards the end of the month.

I will say this the controls are a bit hard. And when they start sending waves of different types of enimies at you, you will wish you had got it down.

In conclusion......BATMAN ARKHAM CITY IS THE BEST GAME THIS YEAR......The only thing which may give it a run for its money is MW3.....but thats a different genre of game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nothing Else Matters!

posted by stycky (BRONX, NY) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a masterpiece. This is how you make a super hero game! Even though Batman is a super hero, he can still get his batbooty whooped, which gives him a very human feel. The use of his cape is ingenious and exhilerating. I find myself just picking fights instead of the mission at hand. The variety of ways to dispatch of badguys makes for make for a great time. If you played the first Batman, then this is what you have been waiting for! I suggest playing the hard level off the bat (hehe), it will force you to use your batbrain which is quite satisfying when your plan pans out perfectly. I will play this game long after the hype dies down! Get your copy ASAP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost gaming perfection

posted by magikhobo66 (MESA, AZ) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

but a few thing keep it from being one of the all-time greats.

1. Story mode is too short - I beat it in one day, and I did some side missions and collected Riddler trophies.

2. Not enough boss fights - there's only 4 or 5. and they're not even hard, which brings me to...

3. This game is too easy - Besides some enemies wearing armor and shields and wielding guns, there isn't much of a challenge to taking them out. I wish there were more enemies that were as tough as the Abramovici twins, they added a little variety to the the mix.

4. Some of the side characters were used poorly - I thought some of them would have their own unique story, but no. Most of them posed even less of a threat than a generic thug. Very disappointed in that.

Other than those complaints, this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply phenomenal...

posted by daleriggins (HAWTHORNE, CA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think the only thing wrong with this game is...that it has to end. That's all I got to say. (=

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why to reconsider your loyalty to Marvel Comics

posted by BIGS (KAYSVILLE, UT) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because of the hype. It was all that any gamer seemed to be talking about, and I, not wanting to sit idly by decided to see what it was all about. I had been a zealous Marvel Comics fan to the point that I hated many of the DC characters, Batman not being included but not outside of the sentiment.

This game changed everything.

From the gorgeous graphics, nearly flawless gameplay, and the riveting plot, I can say in full confidence that I have been born again as a Dark Knight evangelical.

No review can summarize this game. You must play it and experience it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENCE!!!!!

posted by JWIZZLE (RICHLANDS, NC) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had my doubts about if this game could live up to Arkham Asylum, and i have to say it has. The gameplay, graphics, fighting, storylines, villians, all of it is EXCELLENT, this game deserves a 1000!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by Dlightz2 (DECATUR, GA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

one of the best combat in a video game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman Arkham City

posted by kylechada (BOTHELL, WA) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Graphics unbelievable more to do, more villians and more gadgets, can't ask for more, only complaint is the batvision isn't as good, last game was more impressive in that regard, will buy even though i beat the game as a rental because even though i finished the story i only completed less than half the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever want to be Robin Tough

posted by taavon10 (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

aargh hands down this game is epic and i did the reasearch Robin bundle pack come out November 22,2011 on ps3 network and the The other batman pack is the 1st of November but i really do want to get robin asasp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Short

posted by Duder80 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While this game has alot going for it the one thing it has against it is that it's just too short. I would rent instead of buy. The riddler trophies are everywhere and I didn't get them all but other than that I did everything and beat the game in like 2 weeks and didn't play for like 3 or 4 days. so that 10 days of playing. If you rent it through gamefly and want to keep it you can so I say rent rent rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, but tough

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed Arkham Asylum, but I did struggle with this one - but I'm not an open-world fan, so I can't let that bias my opinion too much. With so many side quests etc going on, it was difficult to keep track. Also, the catwoman side story not being available without additional purchase is insulting.

It is a beautiful game, masterfully executed, but it is not a pick up and go game, even in easy mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Batman & Catwomen

posted by SoloAssaszin (DUNNELLON, FL) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game rocks but they get you.If you dont have a code you have to pay online 10$ for Catwomen?? Its a buy people for the game but YOU HAVE TO HAVE BOTH THE BAT & THE CAT IN ORDER TO BEAT THE GAME AN UNLOCK EVERYTHING, If you decide to rent this game don't unless you have the code ,But it is worth the buy cause you get the code free,Believe me you will not injoy this game unless you have the CATWOMEN!!! This is why im giving this game a 8 instead of a 10.,1 more thing i think its BS,That the game you get is already 60$ then you have to put out another 10$ Where does this end you tell me ,Its to much everytime an if we let them keep doing this they will go on & on there will be no end till your pockets are empty!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by perwire (NUTLEY, NJ) Dec 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it's a very good game, but not as good as I expected. i would recomend getting it, but i still prefer Arkham Asylum

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman

posted by ESN (WEATHERFORD, TX) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game. Would be a definite 10 if you didnt have to pre order it to get robin or spend an extra 10 bucks to play as catwoman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse