Rent Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition for Wii U
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

269 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty Good

posted by iWarpy (MIAMI, FL) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its Basicly Exactly Like its Xbox 360 & PS3 Counterparts but The Armor Does help you vary much and the Grapics are MUCH better than the Xbox and PS3's Grapics. Its Probably the Best version of the Game out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Worthy Edition for Action/Adventure Games

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

About a year ago, Batman: Arkham City came out for the Xbox 360 and the PS3. It became a big success, earning several awards and accolades from just about everyone who played it.
Which makes it a no brainer for Nintendo to try to grab some of that fun by making their own version of the game for the WiiU. But they had to change the title because the Xbox 360 and the PS3 versions added content onto their versions of the game (And they also made the Game of the Year Ediiton).
So, we get Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition. This game follows Batman in his quest to stop a plan within a city full of fugitives and crazy villains (like the Joker and Harley Quinn). It plays just like in the other versions, except that you can use the game pad to arm Batman with his gadgets and weapons, hack into computer locks or examine crime scene details. It’ an inventive use of the game pad.
Still, this game is a lot of fun to play – and the controls work just as well as the other versions. Combat is simple, yet satisfying. I had a great time making my way through the main story mode, uncovering the master plot or plots going on in Arkham City. It’s also got some great graphics in it as well.
Even after finishing the main mode, you can play the Robin series of missions, or you can take on a hundred or more mini stealth or combat missions.
But the question still remains: Did you play the previous versions of the game? If you have, then there’s nothing new on display here – you may just want to rent the game just to see the differences between the versions.
But if you haven’t, then Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition for the WiiU is one game that you should pick up. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome as ever

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Wii U version of "Arkham City" possesses everything that made the previous versions so great (including all downloadable content), plus the use of the Gamepad touchscreen is implemented nearly flawlessly. It definitely adds to the game. If anyone tells you that "Arkham City" doesn't play well with the Gamepad, don't listen to them. They're the same people who would whine for a Classic Controller option for "Super Mario Galaxy". They fear innovation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better

posted by mchoef (POST FALLS, ID) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Way better on the Nintendo... as all games will be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Error Code !

posted by Akative (COLTON, CA) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I couldn't play the game. An error code kept popping up while the title screen loaded. The error said the disc was dirty. Any one else with a similar experience?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

batman

posted by jasonh429 (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) May 9, 2014

Member since May 2014

worst game ever...assains creeds slow little brother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Batman Yet!

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Batman is one of those type of comic book superheroes who doesn't get a great game all the time. Since Arkham Asylum came out Batman has enter the gaming world as a legend. Well with Arkham City it has done it again and for the Wii U Launch it redid its critic outlook by having a few more punches. It is the same game as on 360,PS3 and PC but has a newer suit and some of the DLC.

Story is mainly Batman has to stop Hugo Strange from enacting Protocol 10, a top-secret doomsday type of possibility plan onto the inhabitants of Arkham City. This makes the player want to beat the game. Also Catwoman and more surprises awaits the player as they play the game.

Gameplay is more or less the same except with Wii U Gamepad controls which makes the controller a bat computer which is cool addition to the game. The suit also impacts the hits Batman deals out and multiplies it to make a more impact at certain times in combat.

Graphics and Sound quality is about the same as Xbox 360 and PS3 versions of the game but the res is upped to 1080p and the FPS is a bit more at 30 frames and sometimes a bit choppy but not to bad except in the menu screens is a bit more bad in FPS.

DLC that is mainly included is Harley Quinn's Revenge and others from the GOTY Edition so it is the most if not the definitive edition of the game at the end of 2012.

Overall 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

get it for another console

posted by noclevername1 (NAZARETH, PA) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is just like it is on other consoles, except that it is has too many glitches. It would be great otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Are you serious?

posted by guzzlamiamor (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jul 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I cannot understand for the life of me how this game is rated so highly. Started the game on hard mode as I am always looking for the best challenge in any game. After getting whipped in the very first battle about 5 times I decided to switch to normal. Note that I hadn't played any Batman game since the NES so I had no idea what to expect. This is where the problem came in. On normal the baddies didn't even challenge. I didn't even really have to take the time to counter or evade, just keep mashing attack over and over while moving around. When this method got me through the first few groups of baddies I abandoned normal mode and went back to hard. Figured out the combat system and realized that the biggest difference between the two is that you have to counter regularly and evade occasionally to be successful (at least for the first few groups that I played). So I went from mashing one button all of the time to mashing the same button while countering strategically. Not satisfying at all.

Meanwhile, the production value on the game is sweet. The graphics are nice, the theme is well integrated, and the atmosphere is perfect. The camera is ok most of the time, but I also found it to be a bit clunky in certain cases. This game reminds me exactly of how I felt when I first played God of War. Go in a room, spend a few minutes mashing various buttons, solve a rudimentary puzzle (maybe), wash rinse and repeat. Unlike that game which I made the mistake of playing half way through hoping it would get better, I abandoned this one early. I know there are many who love this game but it is not for me. Still gave it a 4 because the production value is good, but the game play is not satisfying at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It is a good game, just like the xbox version.

posted by Miguel_V (PORTER RANCH, CA) May 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

I was really looking forward to playing this game when i grabbed it from the mailbox. I was hoping that it would be a little different than the 360 version. I was not disappointed. I have to admit i got bored fairly quick because I had already completed the game 100% I guess what i'm saying is, "If you haven't played through the story before, than go for it"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great port

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

OK this game is a great game I love this game alot.
The only problem i have is that once you activate the BAT mode bat man is too over-powered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Batman so far.

posted by JPlayEy (HANOVER PARK, IL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Of all the Batman games I've played this is the best and most fun one... It could be better if it had free roaming like AC3 or GTA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

arkham city best wii u game of 2012

posted by RJC12 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

arkham city is the best game for wii u.the graphics are realistic.gameplay is simple and easy.i wish i could buy it from gamefly.if you dont get this game you suck.no matter the system JUST GET IT!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

el mejor de wii u hasta el momento.

posted by marlingifer (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

el wii u tiene 4 meses y medio de vida y puedo decir que el catalogo y los juegos deja mucho que desear por los momentos,pero este juego rompio todo esquema,tiene muy buenas graficas,buen control y sobre todo una muy buena historia la cual despierta el interes de conocerla a fondo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BETTER THAN THE OTHER VERSIONS...

posted by KAYJAY (THE COLONY, TX) Mar 22, 2013

Member since May 2008

...And I initially played on the XBOX. Great game. Controls are spot on and the story is awesome. The great thing about the Wii U version is that it includes ALL of the DLC...on disc. No special code and download necessary. Also, I am loving the Wii U exclusive features such as the BAT mode and Gamepad features. Rocksteady really took advantage of the Wii U hardware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Best Launch titles !!!!!

posted by PowerWeaver (BOONVILLE, MO) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

This game was Fun and I loved playing it on the wii pad the extra content was nice cause it was included with the game :) A must buy for DC fans and Batman Fans :) Controls feel nice and plays smooth :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great fit for the WiiU - and Adults!

posted by NightRose (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I've enjoyed my share of quick, fun games on the Wii. When I upgraded to the WiiU, this was the first title I rented. Finally, an enjoyable game for those who've grown up!

Although Arkham Asylum was originally on other consoles, I find having the second screen with the map display, weapon switching and interesting tidbits such as character bios give the WiiU an edge for playing this game. If you find you get lost in wide worlds, worry no more!

If you grew up in the 90's watching Batman the animated series, you will positively be delighted at the familiar voice acting here. The story is engaging, and the visuals have lots of interesting details, if you have a moment to enjoy the scenery.

Onto the action: it's smarter to be stealthy and use your tools (I enjoy those kinds of challenges) but when it's time to clobber, the fighting action has a lot of variety and the difficulty ramps up nicely as you progress. The AI, like people comes in all kinds: goons that you can walk right up to from behind and take out, to surprisingly smart that make you really plan out how to take out the baddies.

Downsides? It might just be me, but with all the controls, occasionally I find myself using the wrong weapon. Using the controls screen for the remote batarang can drive you crazy after a few failed tries. But other than that, there's so much to do, so many side quests you can try, that I'm still happily going through it all.

A must rent - and very likely a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by tyrix (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Takes a little getting used to, but this is an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »