Rent Batman: Arkham Asylum for PS3
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:Mac 

GF Rating
8.6

23575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily Game of the Year

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Nov 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

63 out of 74 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

With GameFly, I've played all the hot games that have been made for ps3/360. This is easily the best game (non FPS) I've played for the next gen consoles. With the perfect mixture of exploring, fighting, and solving puzzles and crimes, you never get bored. The voices are done by 90's cartoon talent, and the story bends more towards that version of Batman, which means the game is geared towards teens of the 90's (who are around their 30's now if you're bad at math). Finally, the fighting system does an excellent job of showing us how Batman is better fighter than everyone else, by slowing the action to allow the player to think-out the next move. How do you show superior fighting skill? Take no damage. Knock the bad guys down with one punch. No, Batman is a superhuman, he's just well trained, and the slowing of gameplay makes you feel it. I'd also say that the game is just long enough. This game sucks you in, and just when you start to think "it's been 3 days, maybe I should go to work," it's over.

I would say this is really the first game, besides BioShock, that is just plain polished. Well thought-out, planned, and executed.

My only complaint is the ending. You work for hours to finish, only to have a couple minutes of end scene... oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Plugging a Batman Comic book into your console ...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 25, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

70 out of 88 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Is not all what to expect from this new Batman title. The controls are a cinch to get use to and drives the game into a great balance of functionality. There wasn't anything of the game that is difficult. With very mild violence and language, as set like the animated series, no parent would be too concerned letting their kid watch or even play Batman: Arkham Asylum (if their willing to give up the controller).

You play as the Dark Knight, Batman. Taking the Joker to Arkham Asylum, Batman finds there was far more then just admitting the psychotic Joker to the Asylum. As a new sinister plot unfolds Batman has to defeat the Joker at a game of wit. In a Giant maze of Cat and mouse Joker conducts in the Arkham Asylum.

Yet another Gem Warner Bros Interactive has created. DC Comics, composed a story that any Batman fan would consider adding this to their Batman collection. Batman: Arkham Asylum game elements really set you inside the shoes of Batman.( or cape?) The Arkham Asylum is on a massive Island that leaves you to explore and scale the Island trying to find clues that would lead you to Jokers main agenda. You will be finding yourself checking the map, a lot, when you get lost. Joker isn't the only villain you will encounter while wondering threw a endless map. Using gadgets not only to climb and defeat opponents; you will also be investigating for clues to find out what plot that is in store and trying to get a lead on the Joker.

The Online attribute allows you to test how fast you can defeat sections of a map and allows you to be placed on a latter board. Which gives a Arcade -like- style to the game, which by seeing if you can beat your friends with points.

Having all that, the game is truly a World of the Dark Knight. All the characters, even the Joker, has background stories of how they came to be, and with additional content. You should also know, that lowering the brightness will give, Batman:Arkham Asylum, a much more vivid depth of color in the game ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game on the market till...

posted by chazz323 (el monte, CA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

i didnt play this game when it first came out. That was my mistake. when i eventually played it WOW i coudnt believe how great it was. every dynamic of this game is incredible. graphics 9.8 out of 10,
gameplay 10 out of 10, sound 10 out of 10. im addicted to this game and trust me if you decide to rent it or buy it (i bought it) your going to fill the same way as i do. overall rating 10 out of 10.

have fun playing it, cant wait for arkham city hoping its as good as this 1.

chazz323

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Batman Simulator

posted by WeaponA (JACKSON, MI) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Batman: Arkham Asylum borrows heavily from just about every stealth action game and then slaps Batman's face and moves over the whole experience which-you wouldn't think is awesome since you've already toyed around with ideas presented in this game in other titles-but, rest assured, this game is awesome. For the first time ever, you're in full control of Batman. His actions aren't stiff (every other Batman game), his arsenal is comprised of the best of the best (the line gun from the first Batman movie rules), and the rogues gallery is a lot of fun to catch and defeat (Scarecrow can actually be awesome?).

Everything about this game is almost perfect. Almost being the operative word. The graphics are exceptionally good, but sometimes fists or feet don't even connect to where Batman is supposedly hitting i.e. someone grabs onto their face in pain yet you kicked them in the ribs. Sometimes the connections are so bad that Batman misses the character in the animation but the bad guy flies from the impact anyways. The story is awesome and feels like a true piece of Batfiction-but it causes the game to feel short-maybe a 6-8 hour adventure. To add to the game there are a slew of challenge maps and modes and if you own the PS3 version you can run through them as The Joker as well as Batman-but I'd like to fight more of his rogues gallery and experience a much longer story than play four rounds of beat up so many villains to obtain a ranking in a square room.

Batman Arkham Asylum is an awesome game. You truly get to feel like you're in control of Batman. Even with all of the flaws presented in this game-there's still so much to love about it. Whether it's dropping down from the rafters to drop kick an unsuspecting henchman or hanging upside down from the rafters to drop down and pick up a henchman just to string them up by their feet and hang them from the ceiling. Whether it's punching a dude in the face, setting up explosive traps-whatever. Batman rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perhaps the best video game I've ever played!!!

posted by porters821 (FARMINGTON, MI) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok let me just say that Im not now nor have I ever been a fan of Batman as a superhero. I think he's kinda lame cause he doesnt have any special powers...all he has is a truck load of $$$ and some smart people building his toys and costumes for him. I mean at least Iron Man is witty and he makes his own suit.
...Now that I've gotten that out the way I can impartially say…Batman: Arkham Asylum may be the best game I've ever played in my life! I mean the graphics, the gameplay, and the story were all nearly flawless. One chapter into it and even the most critical video game reviewer can tell that the developers put an unprecedented amount of detail into it. They stayed true to the essence of who Batman is, who his enemies are, and they respected both the comic book and the cartoon series. From start to finish you will be laughing at Joker's gags, annoyed by Harley Quinn's desperate attempts to gain Joker's approval, excited to see whats behind the next door, and amazed that they managed to reference SO many characters from the series without straining the story.
Some reviewers have complained about the fighting being too simplistic; they said Batman can only perform basic moves. This tells me that they didnt play very far into it before writing their reviews, cause you will quickly learn new combos and get new gadgets to use in and out of combat. The controls are easy to get used to and everything responds to the user the way they should.
Honestly, the only negative thing that I can say about the game is that it doesnt offer much replay value. But that really isnt a bad thing cause the first playthrough was so detailed, interesting, and fun that there is no void left for this game to fill. Dont get me wrong, after playing the story once, you cant just toss this game aside; theres plenty to do. You still have to solve all 240 riddles and get the highest scores in the challenge maps. I wouldnt be surprised if it won GotY; actually, I’d be surprised if it didnt!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't even like Batman

posted by Niftyifty (MARANA, AZ) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

As the title says I'm not even a Batman fan. I of course have seen all the movies and watched the cartoon but never read any of the comic books. That being said this game made me want to become a fan. Amazing game-play and graphics paired with good story and excellent background information. One of the Top 3 PS3 games I have played. I would purchase it if I didn't only buy multiplayer games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman

posted by peytonreb (DYERSBURG, TN) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I didn't think I would like this game but how wrong was I. This is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Great graphics, great storyline, and gameplay is one of a kind. I don't buy to many games due to beating them so quickly, but I would buy and play this game over and over. Geat game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!!!!!

posted by kingdavid2 (MIRAMAR, FL) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed every minute of this game, the one bad thing i can can say is MAKE IT LONGER!!!! bring in the sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman Arkham Asylum

posted by BuLeTGamer (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Batman Arkham Asylum is the best game of the YEAR no doubt. Ni matter what you should try this game out maybe even buy this game.

This game is no time wasting game or confusing or tricky game its fun,exciting, and worth playing!!!!

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Rental of the Year

posted by diamondd (WEST BEND, WI) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Best game I've played in a long time, super fun. Only drawback is once you get through everything, not sure how much replayability there is as the game is fairly linear. The challenges I'm sure add a lot of game time, but once you beat them, it becomes just more of the same. But great game, certainly worth the rent or the discounted purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Marilyn (WINCHESTER, CA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

25 out of 41 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

What more can you want? Finally you can see inside Arkham Asylum.
All the villains are back including: The Joker, Zhaz, and Killer Croc, to name a few. The game is fun with a stealth element and brawling. Good Graphics. Even when you get bored of the game you can go through challenge maps and try to shave off some of your time. The joker is exclusive to the PS3 version too so this is the system to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman: Arkham Asylum

posted by KiNgDel (ROSEDALE, NY) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

17 out of 28 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This game is the most fun you will ever have playing a batman game. I personally could spend hours with just the fighting. But Batman isn't just a fighter he is a detective and this game makes sure it balances this out as well. The playstation 3 version also includes a download for the Joker to play on the challenges which makes it the console to have this game on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman arkham Asylum is like an angel from heaven

posted by StoryJudge (FLORENCE, TX) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

the game is perfect for those who like to sneak around. if you get this game, expect to be ducking around corners alot. the fighting is smooth. the fighting mechanics are made so that you can perform combos and where you never get hit. plus some of the gadgets you get can take out some enemies without you having to get close. there isnt much to say about this game.
FR: dont even bother wasting time and money renting it. GO BUY IT ALREADY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by natharia (NEW MILFORD, CT) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game was fantastic I reccomend it to anyone! The Action was dead on and the story was filled with your favorite villians from the Commic books, Including - The Joker, Scare crowe, Harley Quinn, killer Croc, Posion Ivy, and many many more (For those of you who heard the riddiler was in the game, he is but you dont fight him or see him, he is only used as a challange maker, where you look for hidden trophies and try to solve riddles that have been placed in certain area's) Another thing I liked that as the story progressed you can see Batmans outfit being torn and ripped, so its not just like oh he comes out of the battles and he is NOT HURT WHAT SO EVER!

Story - The Story starts of where you deliever the Joker to Arkum Asylum and he breaks free and takes over releasing all of the Phyco's and villians....from there you have to search all of Arkum to find the joker but first you must fight many boss's and Thugs

Gameplay - It was ten times better then any of the previous Batman Games, It was perfectly synced with Action and Sneak attack, Some parts you had to go streight into fighting other parts you had to be completely sneaky and not be seen at all.

The Batman - The Character did not look like Batman from the Dark night, he looked like from the Comics which I was so happy to see, this has no attach ments to the Dark Night or Batman Begins movie.

The Joker - No he does not look like heath Ledger, he looks like the Joker we all know and love from the Comics

Comic Detail - I was very glad to see that they did not change anything from the Comics they kept everything dead on!

Fighting - You had many different moves you could use including upgradable combo attacks

Gadgets - Not all but the main ones, Including the ever famous - Grapple, Bataring, Explosive gel, and more!

If You play this game extensivly like I did you will Beat it within 2 Days so it is a good weekend game, once you finish the story there is still so much to do! So enjoy!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!

posted by Gamer1983 (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have played alot of games in my day and this game has got to take the cake! The fun factor is great! The controls are easy! The graphics are a 20 (if 10 was the highest)! What I love about it the most is how fighting with Batman just flows perfectly! His movements flows perfectly. Theres no glitchy feel to it what so ever. I never really liked Batman as a superhero but after this game I think he is the man!! I'm absolutely positive that anyone playing this will love it too. Its a must have game! Great job Eidos!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the batman cometh

posted by shefkenRD (ODESSA, FL) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was the best game i have played ever! Graphics were awesome, no glitches, great storyline, smooth controls, great weapons with timely upgrades, great post-completion playability. This game turned me back on to gaming after a long hiatus. I will definately buy the next Batman title sight unseen. I am a little biased being a comic geek since childhood, but this would have been great regardless of the character. Definately rent this one!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 out of 10?...yep, still a 10 out of 10

posted by G4MeGuru (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Probably the best game to hit this season so far. The fact that it has multiple forms of combat ranging from hand to hand, gadget and predatorial gameplay. This doesn't even include the puzzles, challenges and other gameplay modes. Its by far the most realistic Batman experience to date. I have to admit that this was the one time that I was really selfish and held on to the game longer than I normally do,...and I recieved one of the first copies. I was this close to purchasing it. The only reason I didn't is because I don't have the money. So if anyone is contemplating a game to buy, this would definitely be the one. The replay on it is extensive and all around fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like i was playing the show i grew up watching

posted by Terga8 (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I don't know what to say, when you beat the game you automatically are like NO! I WANT MORE!, this is a amazing portrayal of the greatest super hero i know. I could write a huge summary but all you need to know is it literally is the most addictive game i have played in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everything you want it to be, and more!!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Aug 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game today, and oh my gosh, it is incredible. It has everything you want and more. The graphics are amazing, and the storyline, ah! I can't even begin to tell you how amazing this game it is. The characters are clones of their comic-book counter-parts, but are updated to the 21st Century with a newer, cooler look and feel better.
The acting is gold, and the free-flow combat and stages are so perfectly put together, this game is definitely going to get huge reviews!

Pros: Acting, Combat, Storyline, Graphics, Trophies, Characters, Gadgets, Bonuses, this game has it all!!!

Cons: Aiming is mildly difficult.

This game is so beautiful I almost cried when I played it. You should totally skip the rental, and go straight to the purchase, you won't regret it!!! :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Story, Same Action

posted by ElctrcGrHd (LOS OSOS, CA) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got sucked in from the start. The story line is really good and the characters are awesome. The gameplay after awhile just gets monotonus and drawn out. It took me about 30 hours to 100% complete the game which was kind of a bummer. There are some "OK" online challenges and I havent tried the "Play as Joker" download add on but plan on it. Wont change how I feel overall though. Decent game. Wouldnt buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loads of fun

posted by russr1123 (HILLSBOROUGH, NJ) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun even if you're not a big batman fan. The game-play, game mechanics and combat are all exceptional. The challenge mode is also pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome

posted by lilmatt420 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game,check out arkam city its even better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman: Arkham Asylum-Best Superhero Game Ever

posted by Mayflower96 (LEACHVILLE, AR) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Dark Knight takes a tour of madness through Arkham Asylum, and it's one heck of a ride.
The game starts out with Batman returning Joker to Arkham after an attack on the mayor. Joker escapes custody and takes control of the asylum, leaving you against an army or psychopaths, criminals, and the worst of Batman's super-villains.
The gameplay is divided into three types of play: Detective play, predator gameplay and combat. There are a few instances throughout the game where you must make use of Batman's detective skills to set up crime scenes and track down suspects, but it doesn't get much more depth from that. Predator gameplay allows you to sneak around a room full of thugs that are aware of your presence, taking them out one by one without ever being seen. There are several ways to silently take down enemies, as well as some not-so silent ways, but the number of things you can do allows you to get creative. The combat is unlike that from any other game. The FreeFlow system allows Batman to move seamlessly from enemy to enemy, dishing out brutal combos with such ease and grace never seen in a game before. A series of Batman's famous "toys" are included with gameplay, each helping with traversing gaps or taking out brainless thugs.
Writer Paul Dini joins the team at Rocksteady to create the story behind Batman's dive into the heart of madness. Accompanying him are voice actors such as Kevin Conroy(Batman), Arleen Sorkin(Harley Quinn), and Mark Hammil(The Joker), each reprising their rolls from the animated series. Each deliver knockout performances, and the writing truly captures these characters personalities. An amazing symphony provides a very "The Dark Knight" feel, and is unparalleled by any game score today.
I love this game. It is easily my most played and most favorite game of all time, and I can't wait for the sequel this October.
Story: 9.5
Graphics: 10(360, PC), 9(PS3)
Sound: 10
Gameplay: 10
Replay Value: Very High
Overall: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Must Play

posted by someguy235 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Batman: Arkham Asylum is just plain great. The combat takes only a minute or two to get used to, and with a little practice you'll be going berserk on ten guys at a time. Unless they have guns. Then you get to stealth around picking them off one by one like a ninja.

The game is hard, but not impossible. Graphics are impressive, you feel like you're missing out when you're in detective mode (which is almost always). The game is laid out very well, it's easy to figure out what you're supposed to be doing, and the detective aspects are fun instead of annoying like they could have been. The controls are great, a huge amount of function packed into the DualShock without being overly complicated. I actually kept playing after I beat the game, collecting all of the Riddler stuff, just because getting around the map was so fun. And Mark Hamill voicing The Joker is fantastic.

I didn't really like the challenge maps, but whatever. There also isn't much replay value except going through on hard. All that means is don't buy it, but make sure you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Who would have guessed?

posted by Force07 (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is so much better than I anticipated. Even with all the hype I thought sure that it was going to fall short like almost every other super hero game. However, this one is a very pleasant surprise. It doesn't break the mold on gaming or have some kind of break through combat system. It is just an almost perfectly tuned iteration of a lot of things that have been done before with a few tweaks to accomodate the bat. It is a must play for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse