Rent Batman: Arkham Asylum for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:Mac 

GF Rating
8.7

37337 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the dark knight rises

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) May 27, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

the joker has escaped arkham and u being batman and all have to stop him from taking over arkham and rid the field of his experiment on humans to turn them into titans. this was honestly a good game over all and i enjoyed the action, story and plot especially cuz this game had most of batman's main villains. (harley quinn poison ivy etc. etc.

i loved the way batman's gadgets worked. the line launcher was my favorite out of all of them. i beat this game in a week was really fun and i really enjoyed playing it. there was one major drawback that i wish was in this game. a teleport option. i didn't like the fact that u had to walk and run from each section of arkham island because there was north and east and west parts of arkham and batman couldn't get into a teleporter to go from one place to another. this would have saved so much time. i really wish this was in this game.

other than that rent this game its really good. and this deserves game of the year. it was better then stupid minecraft and halo games (halo sucks) dark souls is still my main favorite however.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman > Superman

posted by Juicebox008 (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Jun 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Story: 3 out of 5
You really don't play this game because of the story. The story wasn't great, but it wasn't bad. It was pretty fun to see a lot of Gotham's villains. The story was forgettable, but with the awesome gameplay you don't care.

Difficulty: 4.5 out of 5
I played only on hard difficulty, but it was challenging at parts. The achievements/ trophies were VERY HARD. You can split the achievements into story and challenge. The story ones are mostly collectable achievements. The collectable achievements can be collected after the final boss is defeated, so none are missable.
The challenge ones are divided into stealth and combat. The combat achievements are some of the hardest I have ever earned (I have almost 70,000 gamerscore)

Gameplay: 5 out of 5
The gameplay was very exciting. You really felt like Batman. You get to use 8 different gadgets and 9 different combat moves to pummel the Joker's henchmen. There is something very satisfying about using a grapple.

Replayability: Not really

Graphics/ Music: 4.5 out of 5

Overall: 9 out of 10
This game won Game of the Year for a reason! The gameplay is addicting and there is plenty of collectables and challenges to keep you busy for a while. If you are at all interested in Arkham Asylum, RENT IT NOW!!!! You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not my type of game

posted by DRdangleMD (RICHMOND, CA) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I played about 6 hours of this game then i got tired of the puzzles. the combat system was very good though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by ManiacMike (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

I'm not a man of many words but I must say this game was GREAT!!!!! I played it on HARD and it took my forever to beat it! #BatmanAA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Dunno.Seems good

posted by ADEhaSaCOOLMOM (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I looked up this game and said"Wow,I should play this!"But,that is when I saw it I took a quick recap on the other games such as Batman Begins,etc.not knowing what to do I just went on YouTube and watched a gameplay video.Suddenly I found myself watching video after video.i finally came back to this game and added it to my GameQ.So excited to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun?

posted by axldance3000 (EVERETT, WA) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The game has some sick parts. I enjoyed the tactical aspects. However I found the Scarecrow levels to be boring and repetitive. Some of the boss fights just go on and on. Some of the Riddler Puzzles are entertaining others are just kind of random. I felt like there wasn't enough fighting overall. Lastly I found it irritating that if you fail at a task once they tell you the "secret". Turns down the sense of accomplishment that should come from strategizing. All in all good but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Help Me

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Feb 19, 2013

Member since May 2011

This Game Is Not For Sail I Keep This Game Okay I Have Cm Punk aka The Joker Chelleng maps Okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So much fun!

posted by AlyAshXO (WOLCOTT, NY) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I think this game was fantastic! I have kind of a crush on Batman and it was so much fun using all his gadgets etc to beat up bad guys. It was a non stop action packed game, and I think the story line was great, especially the parts where you have to fight Scarecrow. I can't wait to play Arkham City next!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Arkham City

posted by Georgedyllon94 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Really loved this game. Has great graphics for being a few years old. Great storyline, loveddd it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by Jamesacree520 (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Game would have been good If I haven't played arkham city first , still a good game all around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game and Story!!!

posted by Edifice (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

Fun game, cool upgrades, doesn't get old and repetitive. I actually played the next version first (Arkham City) and then played this and it didn't degrade my experience. Definitely a must play!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Normally Into Superhero Games....

posted by colony834 (WASHINGTON, DC) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

But after all the positive reviews, I finally got a chance to play this game and I was quite impressed. The visuals, storytelling, and overhead are all well done. The dialogue isn't spectacular, but about what you would expect from a comic book. The controls are basic and can be frustrating at times. The main storyline does a great job of incorporating a good amount of characters. The side challenges/quests/easter eggs are just enough to keep your interest and not too much to be overbearing. There were times towards the end that the game got quite repetitive; beating up the same bad guys with the same dialogue and beating similar enemies in similar ways. Also, some of the objectives are unclear and take a bit of wandering in circles. Despite that, this is a good game at its core and kept my interest pretty much the whole way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

batman arkham asylum

posted by xGhostRider711x (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this game rocks the graffiks is just amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but a tad easy

posted by Gideon825 (Oakdale, CA) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

My wife and I recently played this game and we both really enjoyed it (and she's not even a fan of batman). The graphics were great, the voice acting was better than most games (Luke Skywalker as the Joker = awesome) the stealth aspect worked really well, and it was easy enough that even a casual gamer could pick it up. But there in lies the down side as well as at times it was a bit too easy. Aside from the few boss battles you could pretty much just button mash your way through combat and once you found the maps leading to all of the Riddler challenges they lost most of their difficulty as well (I say most of their difficulty as the riddles where you had to line up the question marks on the walls were a pain even if you knew where they were.) All in all a very fun game and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was okay...

posted by Evvybrite (ORISKANY FALLS, NY) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

it was not really a good combat style to the game, and unless you are a die-hard batman fan this game really wasn't worth your patience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

yes!

posted by nightmarez (KINGSTON, PA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

great game story villians ending and come on its BATMAN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by parttime (PASADENA, MD) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game was good overall but the story was predictable and the upgrades were next to useless. The equipment given isnt something you can use whenever for a helpful purpose when fighting(except the batarang). There wasn't any parts where you had to piece a puzzle together everything was given to you on a silver platter. The final boss fight was way to easy to and extremely simple barely had to think to complete this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what's the hold up???

posted by damoy420 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

great game, but what's the hold up with getting my next game in Q???? strike two gamefly!!! ur heads belong on ur shoulders

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by riptear2010 (DEMOTTE, IN) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I felt on edge throughout the entire game! Everything seemed perfect in this game. It had the right amount of storyline, great graphics, and familiar characters. This game is by far the best comic based game that I have ever played. I could replay this game over and over. Highly recommended for anyone who likes batman or a great detective/action game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but...

posted by rickyAnF (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I absolutely like this game. In my opinion, the best Batman game there is (before Arkham City came out). The story line is amazing, the bosses put up a fight, the inmates can be challenging, and the riddler "side missions" are entertaining. The down fall is that when you beat the game, the inmates completely disappear. I lost interest in the game completely. I planned to go back and try to find the Riddler's question marks, but the lack of "action/fighting" made the game boring. Don't get me wrong, by all means rent/buy the game. Just do the question marks WHILE doing the story. Unless you don't want the challenge of facing inmates. All in all, the game (to me) is a must RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

How Great Batman Arkham Asylum Is

posted by Carter22 (FAIRMONT, WV) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Well your kinda on an adventure. Joker breaks out and throughout the game you'll get new gadgets that will help you beat more objectives. You'll have to face some villains like Killer croc, Scarecrow, Harley Quinn, Zzaaz and of course the Joker. Which reminds me, you also have to go around the island solving riddles from the riddler. Have fun and try not to get destroyed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman Arkham Asylum

posted by undeadskater (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Pretty Good game good graphics cool combat skills and gadgets love the 3d vision very good storyline good amusing characters and cool extra challenges
i prefer the Game Of The Year Edition it comes With a sick wired controller that is shaped like a batarang it changes colors u can choose the color if u want Really good Game U should buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

batman

posted by nathanswartz (LOGAN, UT) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

it was alright a good game if you have played arkam city detective mode is better the story play is more challenging but this is a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I think I was 2 years too late.

posted by Relyat08 (GAINESVILLE, VA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since May 2010

Either its because I've heard too many good things about this game, or I'm just arriving to the party too late, because after everything I've heard about this game i expected it to be God's own gift to the world(I've told myself before that I wouldn't let the hype of a game affect my thoughts on it, but its pretty much inevitable that people always will in a way). In any event, I was mildly disappointed in this game. But only because of the amazing things I've heard about it. I did enjoy it. It was a great video game take on a great comic, but it wasn't the best spy/detective/fighting game ever. It was just fairly decent in all of those categories.
What I did like:
-fighting
-graphics
-detective mode
-story

What I didn't like:
-controls(they were clumsy and really easy to confuse while in a battle)
-tool/level upgrading(it just didn't make sense, why wouldn't he have grabbed the best stuff right in the beginning instead of waiting and randomly deciding to pick something up mid-way through the game when it was clearly available earlier)
-arcade moments where you couldn't move the screen or your player how you wanted.

All in all a fun game, but not nearly as awesome as everyone else seems to think. Then again, maybe I really am just 2 years too late. shrug

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF MY FAVS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tickedofgamer (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

ONE OF THE GRAERTEST GAME EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse