Rent Batman: Arkham Asylum for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.7

37403 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hands down best batman game ever

posted by Carbine (COLTON, CA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

233 out of 254 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I played this game the entire time waiting for the house of cards to come crashing down as all movie/comic based games usually do. What I found by the end though was one of the most amazing Batman stories, a really accurate bat experience, and one amazing game. Well worth a buy and you would have to be a fool not to even rent it as even if you are not a huge fan of batman this is one of the best games of the year. Take advantage of Batman's stealth ability and fear tactics, his mastery of martial arts, technology/gadgets, and his detective ability's in ways that you never dreamed could be possible in a comic liscenced game until now. Great graphics, good AI, Awesome cut scenes, and fun battles abound all wrapped up in one of the longest nights of batman's life. The leveling and unlock system work great while the Riddler's got all sorts of fun stuff stashed away as hidden collectibles adding to the game time even after the end. The only downfall that I have found with this game is the Voice work doesn't always match what the character on screen is doing facially but that is a very very minor hang up in this over all great experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could be One of the Greatest Games Ever! 9.6

posted by mrkbizzle (LAREDO, TX) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok. Usually I give long detailed reviews but I could not say enough about this game. Game play is awesome 10. Story 10. Sound 11, Graphix 10, Re-play 8.5 This game is definitely worth your time. Developed with the "true" gamer in mind. If you just like first-person shooters then you might not think so. Game progression reminded me of classics like Metroid & Zelda to name a couple. I'm not saying this game is like those at all, but in the way that you go through levels, collect power-ups, solve puzzles, and fight enemies it reminds me of that classic design. It certainly does add it's own sense of mastery to that formula. I only found a few small gripes, and they are extremely small so that's why I did not give it a 10. Cannot wait for the sequel, but it is going to be hard to top this masterpiece of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect.

posted by Aradace (LANSING, MI) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

111 out of 128 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

First of all, gotta say that this is definately the best Batman game made. Secondly, getting to the actual analysis, there really isnt anything "wrong" with this game. It is one of the best games I've played on the 360.

The gadgets: One of the best parts of the game IMO. Very well thought out on their use both in and out of battle (in terms of puzzle solving) Love how this game put an emphasis on Batman's gadgets and brains as well as his brawn.

The Story: Excellent. Joker had me laughing my bum off through most of the game with his random chime ins on the Asylum's PA system and when you are kicking the crud out of his thugs. A few times I had to actually pause the game and put the controller down I was laughing so hard.

Controls/Combat: Simplistic, yet not so simplistic that a trained monkey could do it. All of your base strikes are executed through the X button (for 360) and your counters are with the Y button. It's when you begin using these two in tangent with one another that the combat system truly comes alive and you feel like you are in the Dark Knight's boots stomping the p1$$ out of these thugs hehe.

Camera: IMO, very well done here as well. Remindned me of RE4 and RE5 (Over the shoulder).

Puzzles: By puzzles I actually mean the "side quest" in the game of The Riddler's Challenges. Some of his riddles actually had me thinking for half a day before I came across them and said to myself "DUH!!!" hehe. Even the game itself isnt a strait button masher. It's going to take you a bit of skill, tactics, and stealth in order to take down a room of 7-8 Thugs armed with guns, just like in true Dark Knight fashion.

The only complaint I have with this game is that there is no real replay value and no, challenge mode does NOT count. Even being able to use the Armored Batsuit in story mode would have given this game a 10 from me. But, because I had no real motivation to play through again, it gets a 9 instead of a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buyer for sure

posted by gamelord2 (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect in every way. The graphics perfectly done, it seems like it's a movie. Another thing is the combat, I feel like i'm the dark knight and i'm beating up Jokers goons. The voice acting was amazing because the voices for Batman and Joker were the original voices from the TV show. The final reason it's perfect is because of the story, the story is not your normal Batman because all of his worst enemy's are on the island. Also after you beat the game there are still Riddler challenges like finding trophies and solving pretty complex riddles. I recemend this to any fan of action/adventure, stealth, and puzzle. This game gets a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FANTASTIC

posted by kylec82 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME READING THIIS PUT IT IN YOUR Q!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best super hero game of all time

posted by mrevilbunny39 (SHERWOOD, AR) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

not many games are close to how good and fun this game is best fighting sneaking and story i have seen in a super hero game not to mention the cool bad guys and the open world to explore and collect stuff in no doubt a rent but its so worth it to buy because its fun and long

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BATMAN:ARKHAM ASYLUM

posted by GamerOnWheelz (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First things first. This game rocks. I have played many Batman games throughout my life and none have came close to this one. I love the Dark theme, of course it was expected after Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight movie.
Game play wise. This game is easy to master.
Hand to hand combat feels and responses smooth and tight. Of course not if your a button smasher. The only problem with Batman:AA is the stories length. But I won't go into details about it, because I'm still in shock and awe from the game. Something i was also surprised about was the challenge modes. A great addition to add for replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily the best Batman game ever.

posted by Sameth (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

54 out of 66 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

It's not bogged down by story, but it has enough to keep the player interested. The controls are easy to learn and once you get the hang of it, you feel like The Bat.

As a comic book fan (and in particular Batman), I've wanted a game like this forever. Watching some of the old cartoons, I just get the urge to jump around, beat up bad guys, go toe to toe with his villains and play with his gadgets and this game allows me to do this without buying the tights and getting hurt because this Batman has all of that stuff, which really is something I wanted from other Batman games in the past, but this one delivers and delivers it well.

On top of that, the voices are great! Batman is voiced by Kevin Conroy who is best known for voicing Batman and his co-star, the great Mark Hamill, who reprises The Joker. Neither of them have lost their edge and the both are just as great as they were in the Animated series.

The graphics look great, too. They created their own, fairly open Arkham Asylum, which is fun to explore and fight in. The costumes are original, but still remind you of the character they're supposed to. They could've easily have gone The Dark Knight route (which I wouldn't have minded), but they didn't. Instead, they created their own and it looks great. Batman in particular looks awesome. His costume combines the old gray and black with body armor. It's subtle, but you can see the details in the cutscenes.

Story--8/10, Graphics 9/10, Fun 10/10, Controls 9/10, Music 9/10, Overall 10/10 (I know, it doesn't average out, but this is really a great game. I bought it not long after I got it from Gamefly.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Close to Perfect

posted by DonTry2Hrd (EL MONTE, CA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game is as close to perfect as a....well, Batman game can get. The graphics are superb, the fight system is top-notch, and the voice acting is hands down one of the best ever implemented in a video game. This is especially true since the voices are all so familiar to Batman Animated Series fans.

When we're talking about a Batman game, we're basically looking at three things: gadgets, fight system, graphics (Batman is a stylish hero--if any superhero is accused of being metrosexual, my bet is on Bruce Wayne's alter ego). The first, gadgetry, doesn't disappoint. Batman's array of crime fighting gadgets includes all the fan favorites from the no frills batarang to an ultrasonic batarang that attracts certain thugs' attention. There's the zip line, the bat claw, and detonation gel. All these are used extensively throughout the game in both fighting and navigating your way around the island asylum.

The fight system in the game makes this game THE Batman game. It's simple and intuitive yet involving style made this game very enjoyable. Batman can rack up XP by moving seemlessly in combat, taking on hordes of henchmen in fluid motion while countering, stunning, and using gadgets.

Lastly, the graphics. Based on the Unreal engine, Arkham Asylum boasts excellent graphics comparable to Gears of War. Lighting and shadow are terrific, as well as animations of henchmen and civilians alike.

Although a fairly short game in terms of the story mode, this game features tons of extra challenges to climb up the leaderboards for. However, all the hidden riddles and Riddler's challenges can be time consuming so the comprehensive gamer may easily clock anywhere between 15-20 hours on their first play through.

This game is a must play for all Batman fans and just about any casual gamer who isn't too old for Batman. And if you are, well as Mr. T says, "I pity the fool!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally Batman has a game.

posted by DruDaGamer (BATON ROUGE, LA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The perfect game for fans of Batman or comic book heroics in general. This third person action title puts you in the Dark Knights shoes like never before. The gameplay focus shifts between a fast paced beat-em-up, stealth tactics, and optional "Riddler Challenges" that actually provide the gamer with an extensive look at the history of the characters and more.

Pros:
All the Bat-Gadgets
The Dark Atmosphere
Mention or encounter with nearly every one of Batman's worst villains
When you play this game (YOU WILL FEEL LIKE BATMAN)
The story is actually pretty engaging

Cons:
I didn't try the harder difficulty but midway through the game (or once you're instincts have synced with Batman's) the difficulty plateaus. Sure you can lose, but the villains don't have much of a chance against the Dark Knight. (The trip is still worth the ride).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman Is Back In A Big Way

posted by Fantomex (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I can honestly say that I wasn't very excited when I picked my GameInformer out of the mail months ago to find something called "Batman: Arkham Asylum" on the cover.

I stand corrected, having played the game. "Batman: Arkham Asylum" is on the most polished games I've played in a long while. The game looks fantastic, making great use of the Unreal Engine. The games visuals seems to be trapped in a purgatory between hyper-realism and the fantasy comic book world, and works so well for this game.

The game-play is solid in it's two forms. The first being combat. Batman effortlessly moves from thug-to-thug with the advanced combo system. You are rewarded for pulling off bigger and better combo's, combining all of Batmans combat based attacks ranging from light punches, parries, stuns, dodges, to the harder moves like quick-tossing Baterangs and grapples. The second form of game-play is the "predator" missions in which Batman must stalk and take-down several gun-wielding thugs without drawing attention to himself. This mode of the game hits dead-on the target as well, and is a nice reprieve from the "I'm going to bash your face in" game-play.

Moving away from the great game-play, the rest of the game is just as polished. The story is amazingly well thought-out, being a combination of tons of Batman comics, but not focusing on any one in particular. The voice acting is where this game really won through for me. Mark Hamill plays the voice of Batmans nemesis, The Joker, so well that you'll be looking forward to the next time he decides to taunt you over Arkhams P.A. system!

My one problem with this game is that there is NO replay value. The challenge rooms are nice bonus, but they feel tacked-on and don't hold you're interest for more than a few hours. Had they given me something else to do, once I've defeated all that "Batman: Arkham Asylum" had to offer this game would have easily got a 10, instead of a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UNEXPECTED!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Darock540 (HAMPTON, VA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

25 out of 33 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

What can I say, this game has surprised me in many ways. Everything looks great and the fighting presentation that this game offers in remmarkable. I like how you can focus on more then one person when your in a group fight and the sneak attacks are crazy. Finally, a batman game that uses more gadgets then a simple batterang. The controls are simple but it's nothing to complain about. One click of a button and your gliding down to kick someone in the face or hanging a goon upside down and letting him fall and smash his face. The A.I. is pretty decent, not the brightest bunch, but that was to be expected. There wasn't to much to complain about when it comes to this game. It has marked it's territory as the best Batman game that has ever graced a game console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Anything under a 10 is underrating this game

posted by jaypony17 (Gainesville, FL) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Batman Arkham Asylum is a wonderful game. You're trapped on an island in a mental asylum and joker has escaped and you must stop him. There are a lot of gadgets at your disposal like the cryptonanic scanner, line launcher, batarang, explosive spray, sonic batarang. etc. There are riddler riddles that you have to solve to unlock achievements. There are riddle trophies to collect as well. Batman has amazing combos and counter at his disposal. The only thing about the game is sometimes the stealth missions can be rather difficult and time consuming. Other than that this definitely a game to rent. I wasnt a big fan of batman until i played this game. Heck I even picked up the comic book about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic.

posted by bden19 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a starting point for all developers looking for how to make a good game. I dont really get down on the whole comic universe with all the comic based games or whatever, but people are correct in saying that you dont have to like comics or even batman to enjoy this game.

The setting is phenomenal, being on an (almost) open island world with few loading areas besides the transition of being in a building to being out of a building.

There were certain times where i jumped from being startled in certain spots (wearing headphones and playing my xbox on my computer monitor) and i loved it. The story is VERY good, and the environment looks almost flawless.

All the gadgets are also VERY VERY properly implemented and you will need basically all of them to get all of the puzzles.

This game is just great all around, you can either charge in head on and beat clowns down or you can be sneaky and take them out silently, alerting the other baddies that you are in the room; you are just biding your time.

The puzzles that the riddler gives you are some of the best ive seen in a game, some make you really have to think, and some are just kind of obvious. I gave this game a 9 for being pretty brutal all around, this is the kind of game you can pick up and put down and come back to (but its so good you probably wont put it down ;D )

Would have gotten a 10 if it had some sort of incorporated multiplayer or some sort of replay value.

Definately worth renting, possibly buying if you are very into batman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best comic-book game ever!

posted by 01tbrown81 (MERCED, CA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

19 out of 29 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Whether you are a marvel or a DC fan, you have to respect this game. With a great storyline, lifelike graphics, a nostalgic taste for those who watched the cartoon series, I can only stop playing it so I can write this review. The game is worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Arkham Asylum = Gamer's Heaven

posted by gametime (CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most of us enjoy games like Gears of War, Bioshock, and Rachet and Clank. Now what makes these games good? Lets start with Gears of War, great graphics, good story, and fun and interesting combat with several tactical approaches. Bioshock has great graphics, great diversity in combat, tons of secrets and replay ability. Now, Rachet and Clank has decent graphics, great game play, and my favorite, diversity. Now do we see a pattern? All of these games have a few things in common. Every good game has these few things in common. This game is now exception. Great graphics, excellent game play, and finally a lot of re-play ability. This game has these hidden Riddler Trophies which make the game worth replaying, no, no, it doesn't end there; the game features short puzzles which the Riddler leaves behind. Lastly challenges. These small features encourage me to explore every spot. I usually run through my games, sad to say, but I do. This game is different, you unlock these challenges for doing these. These challenges are difficult but not complete garbage <cough> Call Of Duty 4 <cough>. The game's combat consists of two buttons, X and Y to do your punches and counters. But there are special enemies that require more tactical approaches than "Charge! (x,x,x,x)" Some enemies will have blocks and "unblockable" attacks that require you to use dodges and other tools. Don't worry I won't spoil any of the tools or goodies. Speaking of spoilers the story is very good, engaging. There are some audio tapes that enhance the atmosphere and give you a look into the sick minds of the characters. To sum thinks up, this is a good game and I thank you for reading my review. I hope you will consider renting or possibly buying this great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The....bat...man....

posted by tankhides (PALM BAY, FL) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Well let me start with saying I am a HUGE batman fan. Have been sence I was a baby 2-4yrs old infact. I am 32 now and still love the pointy eared FREAK! However much I tried to be bias about this game I simply cant deny just how much I love the story and villians period. So if your looking for someone with a "Gamer" only perspective I am not the review to read.
so lets go down the list shall we
Controls/ Sometimes get goofy but a solid 8/10
Graphics/Batman does have rather large forearms and Gordan is REALLY ripped for being a 60yr old man but thats all you can say really enviroments are UNBELIEVEABLE!! 10/10
Story/ again I love batman its gotta be a 10/10
Now comes my only big problem with this game. This game and many others are too short for $60 man its really starting to get to me. It should take a week to beat a game. (if you work) Not a few hours
Replay is high for me cause I am a bat-a-junkie
Again sorry for the bias but I cant help it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Batman: Arkham Asylum

posted by tpost616 (WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This was one of the games you just didnt want to put down. Graphics, storyline, characters, and pure intent on catching the joker. The only down fall i fell this game has is the length of the game. It took less then ten hours to complete the story line of the game. Besides that the game its self was well worth the wait. The graphics blow you mind, the pure depth of character is purely amazing. The story was something out of which a game should always be made from. The characters off which were placed it the game are to me to be some of Batmans most potrayed villians and to which i thank you for. They hold pure strength, intellagents, and pure hatred to the dark knight. Whould i play the game again, ofcourse i would, but i cant wait to see what happens next. Love it when they leave it open for another installment..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Be Careful

posted by madrain (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Whatever fun you might have playing this game can be automatically ruined by the terrible autosave system. I was at the final fight after getting most of the achievements of the game when I took a break. When I tried to play again, the game told me my save was corrupt and that I had to delete it. There was no other option, and because the terrible autosave option only overwrites itself in a single slot, there was no backup save to return to. I wish I'd never played this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I played all year

posted by HydroCl (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fluid fighting
Awesome gadgets
XP=health
Amazing stealth system
Great story
Old school Villains

If you have ever read Batman comics or even watched the original Animated series, you MUST play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not game of the year, but a must rent.

posted by G3OFFB (GERMANTOWN, TN) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a good game, anyone who has ever called themselves a Batman fan will certainly appreciate this game. Great acting, character models, and graphics are just the beginning. If you have any reservations about playing this game, lose them.

That being said, this is definitely not the "Game of the Year", could have been game of the summer if it hit its original release date. Now it's just an early fall release (have you seen all the good stuff about to come out?).

The story is excellent, but it feels like you walk through most of it. The combat system, especially predator mode, is fun but lacking in the main game. There is more action in the challenge mode, but that doesn't really count.

The camera can kill you at times in tight situations, but generous checkpoints keep the action going. Unfortunately I finished the game in about two days.

I would not recommend purchasing this game unless you are a glutton for leaderboards. But definitely put it in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a coinkydink!!!!!

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Once upon a time I didn't believe in great comic/movie licensed video games but that has changed.

First it was Ghotsbusters and now Nana nana nana Nana nana nana BATMAN!!!!

First of all this game does has some flaws that I have to mention. Firstly, Batmans forearms are huge! He basically looks like Popeye. Secondly, some fight sequences just aren't fair. There will be times where you have to fight two Monsters and up to 9 guards at the same time. Even on Normal it's almost impossible because the hit detection is very unforgiving at times. Also because certain thugs have knives or taser batons and you have to attack those two in very specific way otherwise you're just going to hurt yourself. And lastly (Very minor) but I've read AA: Living H311 and some of the character bios are off with a few details.

But alas, everything else is perfect. The gadgets are amazing, the graphics are amazing, the riddlers challenges for the story mode are awesome, and etc....

They say you can do any scenario either balls blazing or ninja like. But often, there have been moments where you could only charge enemies head on or you were forced to be stealthy.

I was under the impression you could handle the whole game either way. I myself prefer to stay in the shadows, so it did irritate me a bit when I was forced to run head on into a group of thugs rather than pick them off one by one.

All of my complaints are very minor when compared to the game as a whole. Unlike some people, I don't let MINOR complaints effect the score I give because that isn't fair. Mainly due to the fact that no game is perfect and I guarantee you I can find flaws in ANY game.

Back on topic.

This game is ADDICTING! It's like krack laced with nostalgia for those who've read the comics or just watched the original animated series.

And there are no loading screens aside from first booting the game and death screens. So it makes it that much harder to set aside the controller. Bottom line, buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Batman Game

posted by Killplz (SPARKS, NV) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

17 out of 29 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Hands down, the greatest Batman game made. It's got stealth, action, and detective work all well balenced within the game. Story is well done and the graphics are great. I am a fan of Batman the animated series so i was varry happy to hear about the batman voice work was the same as the tv show.

AWSOME LVL: 1 2 3 4 (5)

RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OMG! LOVE IT!

posted by Matt1975 (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Tried the demo on the 360, it was pretty good so I went out and bought it the day it came out. It's AWESOME! The fighting rocks, being sneaky rocks, trying to find stuff rocks, the game rocks! If you rent it, keep it. Even Yahoo had something on their home page about this being the best comic book game EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batman: Arkham Asylum

posted by MJCorkie (WESTFIELD, NJ) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First thoughts: Batman trapped on an island with all the best baddies? Alright!

Story: Well written. It starts out simple at first than slowly progresses into one of Jokers crazy plots.

Gameplay: Loved it. The combat worked perfectly, smooth and not repetitive. The stealth missions are a blast to.

Graphics/Setting: The graphics are pretty good, it gives a brutal cartoonish look to it. The actual island should be what every Batman geek pictured it to be.

Overall: An awesome game thats definitely worth your money and time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse