Rent Bass Pro Shops: The Strike for Wii
view large frontback

Bass Pro Shops: The Strike

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.8

148 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Striking Out

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Fishing games: They’re simple to play, aren’t they? All you have to do is grab a rod and reel, set your bait, go out onto a fishing area, and catch fish. Then repeat over and over again.
Bass Pro Shops: The Strike has several lakes for you to fish into, but all of them are locked except for one.
You start off by fishing at that lake, and for every fish you catch, you get reputation points. When you collect enough of those points, the tournament mode for the lake is unlocked.
Here, you compete against three AI players to catch as much of a certain type of fish (by weight) within a time limit. Don’t finish last and you unlock the next lake.
Where you fish for reputation points and unlock the next tournament, then compete in said tournament and don’t finish in last to unlock another lake.
You repeat this “Get enough reputation points, unlock tournament, don’t finish last in tournament, unlock next lake” over and over until all the lakes are unlocked.
To try to add some spice to tie title, the game makers put in two mini games where up to four player can play. The first one is a boat race that’s about as bland as you can get. Then there’s the casting game where you try to hit certain spots on the lake with you bait and sinker. It’s better, but not by much. With the winnings of these games, and the tournaments, you can buy better rods, and get better boats.
This might work for casual gamers if the game didn’t complicate matters by not telling you how to reel in your fish, or how to pick the right rod and reel.
It would also help if the graphics weren’t so dull and gray that it’s hard to determine one type of fish from another.
But the biggest problem here is the game is very repetitive. You’ve played one tournament, you’ve basically played them all.
Bass Pro Shops: The Strike is good if you’re really into fishing, but if you’re not, then you should give this game a pass. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The strike review

posted by trskss (AURORA, CO) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bass Pro Shop

posted by bamdizzle2010 (FAYETTEVILLE, TN) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously!!!

posted by odin0310 (GREELEY, CO) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Ok i'm all for fishing and hunting games, but this thing was SUPER boring. My dad has one arm and he can play this and all; however, when we tried the multiplayer it was terrible. i don't even know how this game even got rated by anyone. nothing against the people who like this game, it's all you, but really i personally couldn't stand the game period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bass pro the strike.

posted by sarge19 (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

its an ok game i rated it a 4 out of 10, because the graphics are good until you begin fishing then to see your lure underwater is hard bc its too blurry, but drivin the boat an everything else above water is pretty nice until then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Real fishing is Easier

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I got this game for my fiance and he did not like it. He said that real fishing (as in live bait and fish that are in a real lake) is easier than this video game. He did not like it at all. It took him forever to figure out how to cast then he could not get a single fish into the boat once he cast the line. The fishing line kept breaking and he could not figure out how to fix it. I would not recommend this game to anyone, but if you do want to try it, then definitely rent it. Someone might be able to find out how to play this game, but we could not. The only reason that we tried it was because we were told that the graphics on it were so much better. I do not know if it is easy to do this game if you had the correct fishing pole or not, but I am not willing to risk $50 to find out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bass Pro Fishing

posted by Lakengren3 (EATON, OH) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Pretty good game once you figure out how to cast the lures. There isn't a tutorial so you're spending quite some time getting the hang of it. Otherwise, the action is fair and the fish are quite large!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One word Rough.

posted by Jeff64D (SNELLVILLE, GA) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was a big let down from the horrid graphics to the funky casting method everything about this game is rough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »