Rent Baroque for Wii
view large frontback

Baroque

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
3.4

781 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but Flawed

posted by cosmonauts (MONTROSE, CO) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ended up having a lot of fun with Baroque. However, it's definitely not for everyone and it's not without some problems.

You start out the game totally in the dark. No backstory, no clear indication of what to do, not even a name. But for me, this was a refreshingly new way to approach a game. I enjoyed unveiling the story as I moved along. The story, though interesting, is very complicated it turns out. I won't ruin it here.

The gameplay is hit and miss. It is very much a rogue game. Meaning, there is only one tower and if you die, it's back to level 0 with no items. However, it's much easier than most rogues in that there is a save at every level. This seriously lowers the difficulty level (not necessarily a bad thing for the everyday player). It's fun going through the tower, but some might not like the constant plowing through the same area. All the floors (levels) are randomly generated.

The game has a constant vitality and hit point draining system. Your vitality goes down while you move, and when it is exhausted, your hp goes down. And when hp goes, it's back to square one.

There's some great ideas to this game, especially in it's presentation. But not everything works. It sucks to have your vp drop in the only town in the game. It seems to discourage exploring which isn't great in what is essentially an rpg. Also, it's hard to figure out what to do at times without the aid of a faq. And finally, the main game just isn't that long. There's a million things to unlock but if you're not a completionist there's not a lot of game to be played.

Overall, I liked the game but find it hard to recommend. If you're open to something new, give it a shot. If you don't like being clueless at times, and feeling rushed, keep it out of your q.

Thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A "Unique" Game

posted by Catalyst (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this game does get low ratings, it's fairly easy to see why. It's a very different sort of game. If you don't like fairly repetitive dungeon crawls and being shoved back to level one every time you complete a part of it, it's probably not for you.

However, the game does have an intriguing premise if you're willing to consider it. Every time you start over and go in, there's typically some new and interesting piece of information. You have to make excellent use of the training dungeons as well. The point of the game is very different, and I'd actually recommend looking for an FAQ or a walkthrough BEFORE you decide to get the game. They'll be very helpful in understanding whether you like it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

"Baroque"'s just a dumbed down dungeon crawler

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

32 out of 38 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

In Baroque, you play as some guy who has amnesia and is stuck in some sort of purgatory world. In order for him to escape and pay for his sins, he has to get to the bottom level in some tower.
It's too bad the game turns this setup into a dumbed down button masher.
Upon starting the game and going through the opening cut scene, I saw some very bad graphics; the scenery is bland and the monsters and other characters you meet are badly rendered.
After going through a training dungeon with a teacher who says "Goddammit" far too often, I headed into the tower.
Every level of the tower is the same: you wander about, beat up monsters by mashing the B button, pick up items and find the steps going down to the next level. Boring!
Most items don't do much and the inventory screen can get very cluttered; I had to throw away item after item to make room in case I found something useful.
Speaking of cluttering up my view, there's the map. It appears right in the middle of the screen and is transparent. This makes it hard for me to read it, so I had to wait for it to become opaque. Only then could I tell what areas of the level I missed.
But waiting about isn't something the game makers want you to do; your health bar goes down every moment that passes, like a timer. This forced me to run about the level searching for bland monsters to beat up so I can restore my health. If I didn't, my character would die and I would have to start the game over again from the beginning.
Amazingly, in order to get more insight to what's going on, this guy you play has to die a few times. But when you die, you have to start all over from the beginning. Going through the game once is frightfully dull. I have no desire to do it a second or a third time. Why can't they develop the story as you go through the tower?
Unless you are hard up for some mind-numbing, ugly, repetitive dungeon crawling action, then you best skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sort of like Episode I...

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of Atlus' previous titles (Shin Megami Tensei, Odin Sphere), then you were mostly likely looking forward to Baroque. I know I was. I hyped the game up quite a bit by watching trailers, viewing screens, and even reading up on the story. Save for Jar Jar, this game is on par with The Phantom Menace.

Graphically, as mentioned, it lags behind even a Gamecube title. I wouldn't be out of line to say that even a few Nintendo 64 games output a prettier picture. The world and atmosphere are as promised, however: dark and brooding. A sick amalgamation of Tim Burton and Hellraiser-esque creatures.

The gameplay is repetitive to say the least. If you are a fan of the rogue-like genre (I usually am), then you may find some joy in the title. As you progress through the Neuro Tower, you collect items and experience which are immediately lost upon death. Oh, did I mention that in order to progress the storyline you MUST die. Granted, there exists an item to carry over a few choice weapons/armor, but not much else.

The controls via the remote and nunchuk rival the use of urine in your shower. I'd go with a classic controller (my choice) to alleviate your thoughts of suicide.

The story and music are saving graces, as they almost entice you to continue playing the game in its entirety. This seems to hold true with nearly any Atlus title.

All in all, Baroque isn't a terrible game so much as it is a tedious one. If you're a fan of rogue-like RPGs, then I'd say give it a go. On the flip-side, those that hate them should look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Niche gaming at its best

posted by casa3112 (APO, AP) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First and foremost I want to say that all the reviews you have been reading aren't wrong they are just biased. This game is not for every one, truth be known its not for most. If you happen to be someone that will play a game for hours after you could have beaten the last boss so that you can collect all the assorted junk hidden for the die hard fans, you will love this game. Key things to remember.

1. Its a hard game that will make fun of you for failing.
2. You will fail repeatedly.
3. Nothing will make sense for a while.

So if those things don't bother you, than pull up a chair. If not Mario Kart just came out and I hear its pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Deja vu all over again... and again

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Aug 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Baroque is so innovative there was no room for the fun. Yes, this game is more a concept than entertainment.
Basically, you play a character who you know nothing about as he is sent through a multi-level dungeon crawl. The innovation: when you die, you lose everything. That's right, as many people have probably told you, dying in this game removes all your items, progress and levels. What many people don't tell you is that, if you do make it to the bottom of the dungeon and fulfill the goal laid out for you, the game gives you a cut scene... and then returns you back to the beginning of the game to start from scratch. Your reward for completing the dungeon: An even larger dungeon for you to crawl through.
Each time you die or succeed (ultimately starting from scratch), the world starts to feed you more information on who you are and what you're supposed to do. Why you should care is never really fleshed out. It pretty much feels like you're Sisyphus, continuing to roll that boulder up a hill, just to fail and start again. Annoying.
This unusual concept might be palatable if the gameplay was interesting, the dungeon original, the story interesting or the objectives clear. Unfortunately, none of these are presented, leaving you with a generic dungeon-crawling hack-n-slasher who's one innovation simply ticks you off.
I assume this game eventually ends and I hope it does for those patient and dedicated enough to play through. The question I have for those players is: why? What point is there to finishing a game that just throws randomized dungeons at you while with no defined objectives and simplistic gameplay?
Playing this game is the digital equivalent of masochism. It's aggravating, agonizing, frustrating, boring, tedious, monotonous... essentially it's "baroquen". Just don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game, Just Plain Terrible

posted by Diobolis (ALBANY, NY) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Well then I guess I should have known, I added this to my queue when it had a rating of 3.4.
That should have tipped me off to how crapular this game was. I heard the warnings and paid no heed.
Mostly I gave it a fair chance because it was made by Atlus the nice folks that made Ogre Battle, I figured they made that great game how bad can this one be?
Really Bad
Imagine if you will a bad rpg

then take away the plot, make sure there are no cut scenes no meaningful dialog nothing but occasional npcs who babble incoherently when you enter a room, more like a trap than a character. And an impressive Anime intro that doesn't seem to have anything to do with the game.

After that remove any useful descriptions make sure that the items are confusing so the player cant tell what he's using. make sure that the combat system is not explained. and include items that seem like they might be important but of course who can tell what anything does?

No Shops
No Inns

make the camera angle z-target controls wonky
make the main character (read only character) look like a tool

toss the same fish monster, wheel monster, fat doll monster and flying head monster at the player floor after floor.

I can't think of a single thing this game did right...
I'm disappointed with Atlus for making this steaming pile
I'm disappointed with Nintendo for allowing this on their console
And I'm disappointed with the Angry Video Game Nerd for not ripping this game a new sphincter.

Baroque can be defined as extravagantly ornate, florid, and convoluted in character or style.

this game just does not cut it it looks like garbage plays like filth and the story is not convoluted, just missing.

Playing this game is like jamming knitting needles in your eyes rubbing yourself down with tabasco sauce and going down an infinitely long broken glass sip and slide.

I warn you, don't play it
it's not eccentric
it's not niche gaming
it's pure unadulterated festering garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This type of game is rare and unappreciated

posted by Infernex (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Baroque is the story of a young man who has just survived the Blaze. A man known as the Arch Angel comes along and tells him to make up for his sin he must go to the bottom floor of the Neuro Tower and make up for his sin.
The Neuro Tower and a spontaneously spawning dungeon, that will have different items, enemies, weapons, armors, every time you enter.
The story in Baroque is there, but you have to be willing to look for it. In reality this story is absolutely optional, you can skip all the scenes and just head straight toward the Neuro Tower each time you die to begin again. But the story is worth looking for and incredibly unique once again.
PSO is the game that I can say is the most similar to this game, minus races, classes, and keeping what you have after you die, then if you liked that game (and especially the way they told the story in that one) then you'll like this game.
One other thing, I mentioned that when you die you lose everything, THIS IS NOT SUCH A BAD THING, it is a great idea from the game producers in making realistic consequences, when you die you lose everything, experience, possessions, and even memories. Baroque is a rare game and most people do not appreciate the Shadow of the Colossus type beauty that the game represents with the red sky and the constantly dark and foreboding Neuro Tower in the background.
If you played this game and did not like it then I think your perception of what video games and art combined is something that needs to be worked on because this game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For the love of... It's not an RPG!!

posted by MST3Kfan (GLENDALE, AZ) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

It's called a Roguelike. If you're expecting something Familiar you probably won't like this game. If you can go into it with an open mind then it will be a blast!! The best way to describe this game is Diablo meets Silent hill, meets final fantasy, with something completely knew mixed in for fun. If you take the time to understand how the game works and how to play it you'll find a treasure trove of content. If you try to play it like most games you're in for a disappointment. There's a reason there aren't so many copes in the U.S. Not may people will get this game! True the graphics aren't pushing any lines, but it's for the Wii and PS2 so what do you expect? Just stop bad mouthing it if you don't know what it is. It's not an RPG, it's closer to a Roguelike, but it is mostly an entity unto it's self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, challenging, dark...everything I expected

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Apr 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I pre-ordered this game and have only played it once since it came yesterday, but I fell in love with it immediately. I eagerly waited for it to come after ordering it weeks ago and in the meantime I looked up every screen shot, video, and review I could find. I wasn't put off by any bad reviews because I knew what the game would be like having played many others like it in the past. Playing the original Rogue throughout my childhood, and loving it even more in adulthood, I knew that Baroque would be exactly what I've been looking for in a Wii game since the console came out. I personally have zero complaints with the controls or graphics and I'm looking forward to enjoying countless hours of game play for years to come. People who own the PS3 or XBOX360 may be put off by the graphics and repetitive nature of the game, but gamers who enjoy Rogue-like RPG's will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Long and slow

posted by DylanM (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The key issue with this game is that while the whole "dying is the first step" sounds really cool but makes gauging your progress nearly impossible. For anyone who doesn't know the backstory already, the progression of the game looks a lot like running in circles, albeit in randomly changing levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If you're looking for a Wii RPG, rent fire emblem

posted by Keishka (TOLEDO, OH) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This game starts out with a cool anime-esque intro that doesn't really give you an idea of the story other than establishing there is a sephiroth-esque character somewhere in the game. After that, good luck. The game is what you make it because that's where a story ends. You wake up in a recovery tube and get very vague hints of where to go or what to do. They advertise you have to die to learn more? Well when you do and talk to people again they simply say "you know what to do, I assume you know, etc" which is pretty dissappointing.

Story aside the graphics in the game rival some of the best on the playstation(1). Honestly was this game made for the PSP? Is the dither effect on purpose? or is it just to make the horrible textures seem like they are dark and creepy.

Actionwise this game feels like it was a computer programmers high school project. Pathetic. The "randomly generated" dungeon you work thru is so generic it reminds me of something I would of built with the original wolfenstein's world builder. It's obviously just cube after cube added together with the dumbest enemies you could ever think of slowly walking towards you(want an example? the most common enemy is just a fish, why a fish? i dunno they just float around slowly and eventually try to bite you), until you hit the C button 3 times and they die, or maybe they don't and you gotta press it again and watch the pitiful animation/action even longer.

My first review, lol but I just felt so strongly about this I had to warn people. If you're EMO and you want a dark depressing game that kinda hints at that but you gotta fill in the story, and don't mind bad graphics/action then this is for you, otherwise I'd look for another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Baroque

posted by karengonza (LANCASTER, CA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. Game play is very sucky. Can't use the Wii remote really to see where the enemies are attacking you. Very bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Found Out Everything About This Game...

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) May 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First, I really really wanted to like this game, because I like Atlus (it developer) so much... however, Atlus just published the game, they did NOT make it.
Second, the game was made 10 years ago on the Sega Saturn, then made 1 year later on the PS1.
Third, the game was bad then, and still is... you journey through the same dungeon over and over and over, just with different turns or colors.
Fourth, anyone who is judo-christian will be very offended by the story, especially the endings (find them at YOUTUBE).
I say don't waste your time on a 10 year old game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool concept, just lack of something...

posted by Avasira (HARRISON, AR) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play the game. It looked pretty cool, great anime sequences, and a dark atmosphere (which is nice considering most of the other Wii titles). But I could only play it for a few minutes.

I can't really give a full review because I never made it past the first tower you go into, nor did I want to try. I might have wanted to try, had I not ran into the training grounds. I completed the first tower, but found myself stuck in the tower with no where to go. So I ran around trying to find something that would kill my character, only to find a frog that would jump and take about 2 of my 140ish hit points away, so I went and did dishes while waiting to die.

After the long and oh so painful death from the frog, I found the training guy. Oh this guy might be able to help me progress I thought. Wait a minute, this guy just said "God D$#$#$". Hmm..odd for a game to use that particular phrase. Meh oh well, keep going. The same guy talked to me about 15 more times, making sure to include that same phrase every single sentence regardless of the situation. Like "Put on your cloak God D$#$##". So power off, return the game.

I wasn't offended of the language. Just that one phrase I can't support anything of. Sad that the developers had to include that, however, I guess it does go in with the story considering you are in basically h$ll in the game. Good ideas, lack of really any variety in moves. Pick up a sword and swing it or throw it. That's pretty much it from what I experienced. Maybe later there would have been more, but I just didn't feel comfortable hearing that phrase every 30 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Apr 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Baroque is by no means an excellent game, but it's so different from everything else on the market today that I'd easily recommend it to anyone tired of military and/or hero games.

What makes Baroque stand out is ATMOSPHERE. From the chilling ambient music to the disturbing characters, there's nothing on Wii (or even PS3 and 360) that can rival Baroque. I'm a grown gamer and it takes a lot to really creep me out, but Baroque's got that quality. I'd rank this game up there with Deception/Trapt, Killer 7, and Silent Hill 2 in terms of shock value--albet it's a more subdued kind.

Gameplay-wise, there's really not much to distinguish Baroque from many other dungeon crawlers. If you've played any in the past, you know the drill here. I'm by no means a dungeon crawling freak (in fact I generally suck at the games), but even I could enjoy the game's simple mechanics--thanks in large part to the inclusion of an Easy mode.

One thing that might alienate some gamers (especially the younger ones) is the fact that the game doesn't hold your hand. You're immediately tossed into this dank and mysterious world with little clue as to your purpose. While said gamers might find this as a flaw, I think it makes the game that much more interesting.

If you love exploring and finding things out for yourself, and have an interest in the macabre, Baroque is the game for you. Don't be discouraged by all the negative reviews--these are surely coming from people whose idea of a good time is playing through the 20th Final Fantasy rehash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should Have Stayed In Japan

posted by gamerfan06 (ANAHEIM, CA) Apr 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game was clearly ment to be a budget title.
The graphics are standard for shovel ware and game play is extremely repetitive.

This game as a dungeons crawler in the style of .hack and the Tales Of series. You walk through repetitive and uninspired and confusing levels hacking your way through enemies until you get to a portal that leads you to...yup you guessed it another floor.

Through out the entire game you have 2 health bars. one is your standard hp and the other is your vitality. your vitality is constantly depleting even if you are not moving. If it goes all the way to zero your health bar starts to deplete in addition to regular damage you take. This adds a sense of urgency for you to finish the floor quickly.

The most annoying thing about this game is that every time you finish a dungeon all of your items get taken away, all of your health and vitality levels get reset to 99 pts and worst of all, your level gets reset to 1.

All is not bad though since the story is weird and mildly interesting. And the art of the design of the characters that populate the world are interesting as well. The world looks like a cross between "The Nightmare Before Christmas and Edward Scissor Hands"

Over all nothing special and only for those that are into the masochistic game play that this offers.

The tragedy here is that the premise of the game is interesting and could have been good, if only the game was polished and put together better.

Overall Its A Pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh dear.

posted by Sophocles (SPRING, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Wow. what to say. Bought my Wii 2 weeks ago and this is the first game I tried after Wii Sports. I don't even want to give it a one. I give it a zero.

This game is terrible. I've seen and played better games on my Pentium 166 than this horrible thing. This should go up there with Oni. Boring, repetitive, UGLY game play coupled with poor taste.

There is a toon in this game who says, "G D it" as part of every sentence. Is it supposed to be funny, G D it? How about a cup of tea, G D it? How about the developers thinking of something to do with the Wii's controller set G D it.

Sent it back in one day G D it. Perhaps that toon paid full price for this game G D it. Going back to play Bioshock on PC till my next disc comes G D it.

NEXT! HURRY, PLEASE! Send SOMETHING G D it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by MoeSyslack (SUMMER SHADE, KY) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I couldnt get through the first level of this game. You get health and Vitality for energy levels and as you run around you lose Vitality and when that hits zero you lose health. I couldnt figure out how to replenish Vitality and very quickly was killed. I was completley bored with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One word: Ugh

posted by Daemion (CHICOPEE, MA) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rarely do reviews, so bear with me if I get off track or ramble a bit. Do you own a nintendo wii and are desperate for an RPG? Then you may want to consider nailing your feet to the floor before playing this game. Let me start off with...

THE GOOD: It's an RPG... yup. That's about it.

THE BAD: Everything else. The below mediocre level design (don't believe me? check out the screen shots) where every level looks just like the last one, with maybe a few color changes. The lame enemies, and even lamer fighting. Or how about that your weapon breaks too easily? Yeah, there's a story in here somewhere about the world being in ruins and you having to find pieces of yourself or something like that. I don't know. I was too busy being appalled by everything else, I didn't even care about whatever story there might have been. I forgot what the sound was, but I do remember some terrible voice acting. Just goes to show you how much of an impact it left on me.

Really. If you're drop dead intent on playing a dungeon crawl RPG for the nintendo wii, I guess you could do worse--no, wait... you really can't. But if you're really in the mood for a nonsensical, ugly, boring RPG with one of the worst control schemes and camera you can imagine... by all means. Pick this one up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What Is the Concept For This Title? AVOID!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Apr 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I never was a fan of RPG's but the trialers made this look awsome' however I was sadly mistaken. The only cool part was the anime intro. All you do is walk around in a few rooms that have flying dead fish and nowhere to go and nothing to do.
I waited 5 days (as usual; despite that Tampa has a
ditribution center) just for 5 minutes of boring gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very unique and enjoyable

posted by turnstep (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since May 2009

This is one of the few games that I ended up buying, as I liked it so much. The story and background is unique to say the least. It seems like a simple dungeon crawler at first, but it is much deeper than it first appears, so keep at it until you puzzle some things out, like how to save and transfer items.

I think part of the overall low reviews is people expecting this to be something it is not. This is a game unlike any you have played before. Yes, part of it is sheer dungeon crawling, but the item system, "level reset" hook, graphics, sounds, and backstory add so much more. A fun game, once you learn it well.

Giving it 9 out of 10 because I think the no instructions / immersive drop in goes a little too far in the beginning, and some things could be explained more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Azure dreams meets Dark cloud

posted by Warhiet (SUMTER, SC) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Ok THIS game is completely unoriginal. I like the game but i think it should be known that its idea was completely yanked from Azure Dreams, a game boy game i was a massive fan of as a child (and still am today to be honest) the game also had an appearance on playstation but it was a dumbed down version. Dont ask me why, but it was.

Basically you had a tower, went into it, and tried to make it to the top. each floor you could save at, inbetween floors, and had the floors randomly generated. You started at lvl 1 each time you entered the tower and if you died you lost whatever was in your bags. Any vague comparrisons so far?
There was no real story to azure dreams, just a loose one about your father going into the "Monster Tower" and dying. then you going in on your sixteenth birthday to hunt just like he did. You could build up stuff in the town after progressing up the tower... blah blah blah! but the point is, while some things are different between the two games, the games are a spin from the same idea collum. (Im very much aware that my spelling is terrible. Please dont remind me)

The fact that your vitality constantly drops reminds me of dark cloud, though i didnt play much of it. think the comparison ends there though. ill play dark cloud just to be sure. However it surprizes me how a lot of games these days just jack ideas from other games and try to pass them off as original. And the shocker?? NO ONE NOTICES!! And the few that do are told they are stupid and yada yada. anyway. Its a good game over all, and a reprieve from the average "It must be done THIS way!" deals for the modern game. A nice little gem, but the game seems to discourage exploration due to the vit drop then hp drop. yet its still like finding a diamond in what you thought would be a manure factory. I couldnt put it down when i got it and eventually bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Four out of ten.

posted by pizzasexual (HAMILTON, OH) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The graphics were good, but the game itself is lacking. The dungeon setting I personally liked, but the fact that you had to start off at floor 1 each time you died, starting off also at lvl 1 (each time you died), and how easy it was to die after so many floors (or losing VI) made this game very difficult. You'd have to have a lot of patience to play this game because the story is good but the game-play could be a lot better. Also, the fact that you start out without any memories, and then meet people along the way without actually being prompted to find them and then them just giving you short monologue and then vanishing was weird. Overall this game is a 4 / 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This wasnt wat I expected!!!

posted by aaliyahs1 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I didnt like that you had to start over every time you die

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse