Rent Baroque for PS2
view large frontback

Baroque

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
3.6

384 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not much fun

posted by Resq177 (GREENCASTLE, IN) Jul 29, 2008

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played it for about 20 min, got mad, turned it off, and sent it back. Very frustrating controls and and gameplay. The sad part is the story was kind off interesting, (very dark, scary and not quite sure whats going on) but i just couldnt get into it. I'm still a HUGE Atlus fan, just think they missed the mark on this one. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good

posted by Scythy (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'll admit, when I first tried this game, I didn't like it very much. However, after I took the time to listen to what the NPCs say, I found it very enjoyable. If you really want to enjoy this game, you must experiment. Throw all of your items at every NPC to see what they say. One of them even explains in detail every item you throw at "it".

Oh, there are indeed ways to keep items across deaths. You just have to figure it out though.

This game is quite a breath of fresh air in the world of video games today where instructions are fed to you like a child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To die is the best for your charcter, and the game

posted by GGodfather (ROCKFORD, IL) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry but this game is horrid! I hate anything in a game that results in turning your character into a ticking time bomb. You have your HP (health points) and VT (vitality). Once you VT goes to 0, you start to lose HP. Once your HP hits 0 your dead. Oh but dying can be a good thing! I don't know who thought of this but the basic premise of every game ever made is to NOT DIE! Your character is so slow and the enemies are so fast, you basically have to become a tank in order to survive. The controls are sloppy. The lock-on function can be interrupted if you turn the camera. The game ALWAYS looks hazy unless you view things that are only 10 feet away. I basically played this game for a few hours, and then almost literally threw it back in the sleeve it came in and chucked it into my mailbox. The only redeeming things from this game are as follows: an odd yet tantilizing story, poetic dialogue, unique characters fill the world, and the basic requirements for an RPG are filled (endless enemies that can be killed for XP which makes you stronger). 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Somewhat Niche...

posted by Fengeir (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Upon reading the description, Baroque sounds like a typical dungeon crawler. Well, quite honestly, it isn't. In a similar vein to some other games, character developmental progress (in terms of levels, stats, items) aren't saved between dungeon sequences. While you're presented with an opportunity to store (and later retrieve, thus "carrying over") some gear, for the most part, items are removed after "ending" a particular sequence. Graphically speaking, the game is about on par for being a late-issue PS2 title, and different weapons and armors, for the most part, look different, if predominately only in being palette swaps of similar pieces. The storyline starts off very slow, though, in truth, not being a fan of certain aspects of the game's system, I didn't play very deeply into it. As such, I can't honestly speak too much about later developments in the storyline. I can, however, write this as a bit of a "disclaimer" to other potential gamers. While you will advance the story, your character won't retain levels, stats, and most of his gear between dungeon excursions. You can only store items for later use while inside the dungeon (for the most part), and can only retrieve them prior to venturing into the dungeon. I cannot honestly say that it is a bad game on the grounds of disliking the system, as such a thing would be contradictory to an objective review, however, keep the system features in mind before you decide to try the game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than it's given credit for

posted by BarryWhite (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I must say that the low rating that this game gets is dissapointing because it's much better than that.

The controls for this game are pretty easy to master and the random dungeon generator makes the replay value of this game high.

Sure, you start over each time you die or exit the tower where most of the game takes place, but that's how you advance the story. It's a part of the game, so get over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrific game controls are the beginnings...

posted by DirtHerder (TAMPA, FL) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Then your thrown into a randomly generated dungeon with decent(rare) to worthless(by the bucket load) weapons -get this, you get a gun that shots 4 rounds and becomes useless- and can only go "down". Of course you have a bunch of monsters that pick away at you and one even poisons you till your dead. Good luck in finding a way to heal yourself from it! I got a great glass sword that won't follow me down or breaks if I select something else. The last (and final time) playing this junk, I bit it in a room that I teleported into that had 6 rolling monsters while I carried (surprise!) the poisons eating me away.

It has a lock on to keep you on one target and I found it interesting that I for the first time in any game; didn't need to push a button to talk to someone. You just get near them and they start blathering the same stupid line over and over again. It looks like the story takes place in the "Matrix" of this world while you're forced to "dive" into it to regain your memory of some terrible sin you pulled... funny that. By the looks of it your playing a kid and I don't think someone that young pushed some Huge RED Button that destroyed the world. Maybe he wet his bed too often.

This game blew. Rent it for the eye bleeding pain of wasting your leisurely day away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unique doesnt mean Good

posted by ArasXIII (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I thought the concept of dieing multiple times and coming back at level 1 was definitely unique, but it was INFURIATING, I absolutely DON'T recommend getting this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Baroque is THE WORST GAME EVER

posted by sirchico (IRWIN, PA) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Oh my gosh, as soon as i saw the horrible graphics,and when i realized as soon as you win you just restart from the beginning (no matter if you die or win) i knew that this game was HORRIBLE! i can't even say how revolting it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ugh soooooo horrible

posted by Ninja75621 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Apr 27, 2009

Member since May 2007

man i cant take it with the npc's saying annoying stuff and you always have to do the same thing or start over from where you where every time you die over and over and over and over again every time you die its giving me a headache D: and man is it so freaking annoying how whenever the vitallity meter depletes or is gone your health depletes i mean WHY!!! who thought of that. but there is a bright side the combat and gameplay is good or ok and the weapons and other stuff and armor and items seem ok and thats it its boring its just a boring hack and slash dungeon crawler and your mission is to go to the bottom floor of it and there are 400 FLOOORS!!!! NEVER RENT OR BUY THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why was This Made????

posted by Danteluv18 (NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I cannot believe they let this horrid game be released. These controls are so out of whack. And apparently after the third level the monsters begin to swarm and you die. To add insult to injury, you have to complete the dungeon without killing yourself. However your vitality constantly depletes so eventually just from running, you will kill yourself. In short, this game is so bad, I'm going to go to the doctor to make sure I didn't get cancer. I hope you find this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I like the Idea

posted by randomage (WEBSTER, TX) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

You go through 1 dungeon that's completely random every time you go through it. When you die, more of the story is revealed. This is a great premise and it is original which is almost non-existent in video games today. The vitality system and randomly generated dungeon kills it and removes it's own head. Implement it differently and expect early retirement, game developers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Baroque, a dissapointment from Atlas?

posted by Livakshra (TACOMA, WA) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game truely is awful, what starts as a cryptic amnesiac awakening with some possible story promise is just dragged down to much by the very poor game engine. The camera will give you nothing but trouble, and the inability to zoom out only gives more headaches. The item ideas in theory are intresting, but the item management in practice doesnt work very well at all, and the near inescapable death requirement is harsh when you need to do it over and over again just to get all of the story. I suppose a determined player could stick it out all the way to conclusion, but youd be better off picking youre next game and just passing this one by. How Atlas picked this up is another mystery all on its own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Time Bomb

posted by beehappy (LIVERMORE, CA) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

Upon reading the description you would think this would be an awesome game right? Well unfortanetly it is not. You have HP (Health Points) that go down fast and VT (Vitality) that go down even faster!!! When your VT goes to 0 your Health goes down as well so your basically doomed. Also your attacks are slow and very minimal making it nearly immpossible to beat enemies.
So all in all, good descripton poor game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Baroque

posted by Reviewmonk (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is very repetitive. I could not figure out what to do on the first part of the Tower you must go through Floor after floor again and again. After you beat a part you lose everything and you have to regain all of your items. Over all I thought it was really HORIBLE game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

most disapointing atlus game iv played yet

posted by Lunazz (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

while this game dose look interesting it is badly put together not very good tutorials and the vitality system is badly put together no towns to resupply at on if you and the list goes on and the story is so vague the only good part is there is no game over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Two Thumbs Fully Extended DOWNWARD!!!!

posted by MrsDiana (KINGMAN, AZ) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

HUGE disappointment... stupid weapons.. stupid moves. HATED IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by superdog (LAKE ORION, MI) May 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game was the worst I've played ever. It's over so quick that's its not even funny. Not to mention that that the timer is messed up. I beat the game in three hours and it said like 25. Anyway, if you're looking for a good game that you can play for hours on end, this is definitely NOT the way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

there are getter wastes of time!

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) May 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I couldn't take this game for even half an hour, its uglyness, its disconnected-button-mashi- ng- combat was just too much to bare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

posted by wlbuddy (REDLANDS, CA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

This game has two major issues

1)It is repetitive.....
2)It is FREAKING BORING

I gave this game at least 2hrs of play. 2hrs wasted. Short and sweet watching grass grow is a lot more interesting than this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

do not rent this game

posted by dheinig (BEAVERTON, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

this is just a bad game.

1. bad interface
2. bad controls
3. bad graphics
4. bad (non-existent) story
5. really bad inventory system

i can't really say anything else. do not rent this game. gamefly, if you're reading this, just burn this game...total waste of 6 days of my membership...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games ever!

posted by Wolfn1 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 18, 2008

Member since May 2007

This was one of the worst games I have ever played, I have played worse but not many. The story seems to have no real plot line, just random CS that make no sense, and horrible graphics, even for an PS1 game these graphics would be considered bad. This game had a great idea but they totally blew it, I once played a RPG my friend made on his computer that was better than this. Don't rent it, don't buy it, in fact if you have to play this make sure your being paid to do so!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i only have one word for this RPG..WEIRD!!

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Apr 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

but knowing Atlus, i'm not that surpirse. Most of their RPGs are weird and unique in their own way, which make them good RPGs for gamers like me. Baroque is an exception though. It has the weird part (die to continue the story) and maybe the story, but the gameplay and game design killed my interest for this game. The game does offer some new features however, like the main character can puch or kick or use weapons if you so choose, also you can see your enemies just like FFXII so no random battles. The graphic is decent and decent story (giving that you stuck till the end...)The bad parts??? I'm not sure if this game should consider as RPG.. It's a dungeon crawler, and the tower is basiclly the only place you will spend all your time in. the game also somehow suffer from the "fog effect" like in dynasty and samurai warriors!.. you can only see about 5-7 feet of you.. other than that.. it's just fog. So don't be surprise when enemires just popping out of nowhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

maybe worse game i have ever played

posted by wcgbraves (KATHLEEN, GA) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

This game is not good at all. The game starts out with an intro movie where locked in some lab in a water tank. Then you take control of your character in a demon city type setting. The game gives you no instruction on where to go and your left to walk around aimlessly. There is a training dungeon but i am pretty sure you will have already went into the main dungeon first and wont need the training dungeon. I could go more into depth about this game but try it yourself if you doubt this is one of the worse games for ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »