Rent Barnyard for PS2
view large frontback

Barnyard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, GC, Wii
GF Rating
7.6

356 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

BlueTongue Made this?

posted by ThatGamer (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To many gamers who browse the web for new titles, or any store-shelves, I know we all overlook ones labeled under "Kids and Family". However, to accurately judge this game genre, would be to call it a "Parlor Game".

The movie itself is the child of Over the Hedge and Animal House, in my opinion. The game itself is "Bully" by RockStar Games, meets Nickolodeon.

Why Bully? The controls, the gameplay, the mapping, everything from the core idea of how to set the game out reminds me of Bully aside from Graphics, Storyline, and Content Level.

However, comparisons aside, what people want to know about this game would be:
1) Does it suck?
That's like asking a racecar driver if Pro-Golf is fun. Try it out and expand your gaming, or read on.
2) What's the gameplay like?
Filled with mini-games, parlor-game style missions and activities, and goofy allusions to things kids wouldn't catch.
3) Is the music the drone of the bees?
Try a mix of country and rock, where the first image from this game that will enter your head is that of a Cow putting on Sunglasses Matrix Style to the song "Bad to the Bone."
4) What's movement like? (There are gamers who prefer not to play games where you can't move quickly.)
You can sprint, you can jump, you can ride bikes and upgrade the bikes, and my favorite form of transportation, sky-rocketing chickens.
5) Lastly, but not least, do you play as one of the movie characters?
Nope. You create a cow, male or female, and the breed of it. It works out well, though.

My only surprise is that "BlueTongue Made This?". Reason: They've made Jurassic Park a game, Starship Troopers a game, and have turned over a popular leaf in the Nickolodeon gaming.

Last words of wisdom: Coming from a guy who plays Grand theft Auto: San Andreas, gun'em downs and shoot'em ups in any form, and the obvious variety of RPG's, this is actually something I'm glad I rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Barnyard party tonight!!

posted by gamekid265 (MAPLE HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay for some reason I love this game even though I've rented it a long while back but now that I think about it, it is just awsome to me maybe because I'm a kid I don't really know but I do know one thing it's just fun to make me as a cow and do a bunch of crazy pranks. Another cool feature is the barn, throughout the game you earn cash which you can use to turn the barn into a rad club and it changes during day and night transitions. During the day you got your normal looking barn with a few animals here and there, but throughout the game you can see drab versions of the items you've bought. But at night you can hear music playing and there is a security gaurd (an animal of course) at the door and everything is lit up and the place is crowded. The only small thing I have to say is that it sometimes gets a little repetitave with some of the missions. To end this reveiw I have to say that Barnyard is great to me but some may not feel the way but I still reccomend this game a bunch. ~Gamefly 4 eva

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BARNYARD

posted by lilith (BULLHEAD CITY, AZ) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great game!! I love it more than the kids and I am not a video game fan.

I am however a cow fan and I love being able to pick my cow and do fun things with her.

The only problem we have and it may be a glitch is that we have 4 different cow files for this game on the same memory card and they seem to overlap.When my husband tried to furnish the barn at the beginning of his game it wouldn't let him because all theitems he was supposed to buy were sold already and in the barn as I have completed 78% of the decorating on my file and when our daughter upgraded her bike we all ended up with the rose bike. We will try with new memory cards and see if that fixes it. GREAT GAME!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shockingly fun!

posted by grantman98 (MATTHEWS, NC) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i rented this game a while back for a quick weekend rent. I was a fan of the movie and i expected it to be good mostly because i liked the movie.Boy, was i rong. This game is fun for all ages and anyone can enjoy that go anywhere do anything concept grand theft auto started.the controls are fine and the mini games were hysterical and fun. but be warned, it is addicting and you wont leave the TV for the majority of the game.the game has a lot of gameplay and you will want to trick out your barn and complete everything. Dont be fooled by the cows on the front,this is the best movie based game out there and one of the best ive ever played.This game is amazing,get it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow. Just astonished!

posted by Rioting (FORTSON, GA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I absolutely love this game. This is a game meant for kids but even though I'm 13, this can be alot of fun. This is probably the best 'movie-to-game' game in my opinion. I really hesitated on this and I think you can guess why. I am super glad I decided to. It's superior. I love the fact that you can turn yourself into a party animal and I love how you make the barn a 'club' type scene.

Definatley check this out. It's not JUST for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game

posted by baller2340 (HUDSON, MI) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Its soooooooooooooooooooooooo fun my frind loves it to I made a boy cow and I named it nate my frind who loves it so if your 60 or 3 you git this game its so coooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Decent

posted by DarthVdr (CHESTERFIELD, VA) May 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

It is a good game but is way to long. I mean they squeeze in extra things to make it seem longer than it possibly could be. In chapter 7 you finally do that thing with "boy tipping" or something. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY to lOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

barnyard

posted by manderlee8 (INTERLAKEN, NY) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this is a great kids game, i would definetly reccommend it to other parents renting games for their children!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

yay

posted by game903 (Durango, CO) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I LOVE THE GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not happy

posted by plankton03 (RIDGEFIELD, WA) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

i would love to rate the game but it didn't work just like several other games we have had shipped to us,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great kids game

posted by BigFreak (COATESVILLE, PA) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This isn't for the older set, unless they're die-hard fans of the movie. But if you have kids aged 6-10 (or thereabouts) who can read the dialogue, this is an excellent way to keep them entertained. The story is somewhat non-linear, and there are a lot of areas to explore and numerous entertaining mini-games to unlock. Lots and lots of gameplay. Check it out!

My 8-year old daughter played this for three or four hours straight (didn't realize she was still in there playing!). Highlights include "tease the mailman" (just like the movie!) and the pool game in the barnyard... now that I think about it, I enjoy playing this one too (but only when the kids are around).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Boy Cows Squirt Milk???

posted by hflovesgo (LAKE CITY, FL) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

When I picked up this game I figured it would be like Over the Hedge, Very hard to navigate with no plot.

This game changed my opinion of "kids games" this game on the GameCube is just a fun on the Wii. With the Wii, as you know, you get more action steps and more involved in the game. In the GameCube version it was just as much fun.

It was funny to see the cows squirt milk and my male friends just wanted to play it because of this interesting new feature of male cows. :)

There is a plot, and it takes you through one thing to the next easily. The best part was the Races. I like that you have a goal and must meet the goal before you move on. The sad thing was... well I just cant give it away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a horrible game!!!!!!!

posted by familyman1 (ALVARADO, TX) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Barnyard is a horrible because it for a toddler mentality and will annoy any one older than 8 and it is so simple that a toddler can play it but maby if you did like the movie you might this game but it's for movie fans only!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

how this game brougt a family together

posted by jodia7 (PORTAGE, MI) Nov 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

I rented this game because my 3 year old likes to watch daddy play. He is 40 and my kids are 13,9,7,and 3. We don't want to return it. They are loving it!!!!!!! My 7 yr old is into the game for the first time she just loves it. She has a hard time with a few of the moves but she's getting it. I just wanted you to know there is a big thumb's up to the makers of this game my family has never been closer...to watch them sit and watch each other play and guide each other through a level is so much fun. I actually had to take them away from it it was getting so loud in here. This is a must have for every family Bravo!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple, But Engaging!

posted by TwoHawks (HAMILTON, NY) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

I might not have enjoyed this game as much if I hadn't seen the movie first. The gameplay itself was pretty simplistic, and the controls and camera angles could be improved, but the premises behind the side-games are pretty hilarious. See how far you can catapult a chicken, use milk from your udder (Boys AND Girls, believe it or not)like a projectile weapon or churn a little butter with it, play golf with a couple of gophers, and so it goes. Ever see a boy cow, with an udder, ride a bicycle? Ever see him freestyle? All in all, an entertaining game with enough diversion from its simplistic nature to keep me playing for hours!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for the kids

posted by onegriff (NIXA, MO) May 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

I have an 8 year old daughter and a 5 year old son. They both love this game. It is not a 2 player game, but they spend a lot of time working together to complete missions. There is a lot of reading which isn't so good for my son when he is playing alone - he needs my daughter to read to him.

This is a wonderful game with great animation and fun missions. I would recommend it to anyone with young kids who can read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME EVER

posted by Eagles (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This is the best game ever my 16 year old brother even played it the game is cool you can play pool,and golf and other games to on this. The missions are fun some people say that they don't like the missions but these missions on this game are the best. Its better then the movie but its really based on it but if you didn't like the movie you would think this is okay.But you would have to be smart to play this game because i did not no what to do in the begining but my brother showed me ad then he started to play and liked it a lot so created his own person so at least just try the game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »