Rent Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

3821 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rare creates a gem of a game with this new Banjo

posted by Floydjr (INGLEWOOD, CA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

30 out of 34 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Banjo Kazooie was sort of a big deal during the N64 age of gaming. It was a new Nintendo I.P. brought by Rare to shake up the platforming genre by adding more collecting than jumping from platform to platform. Thus earning the Banjo games the title of "Collectathon" by the gaming community.

Well Rare saw the complaints and decided to let Banjo sit on the shelf and try to come up with a new style for the game and they did. What they came up with is letting the user create with the collectibles in the game.

The game has a simple premise that the older Banjo games had. Beat the evil witch Grunty in a series of very deep levels that span for quite a while. While working for the sarcastic and sometimes patronizing L.O.G. (Lord of Games) who wants you and Grunty to prove who is the real owner of Spiral mountain.

You create vehicles with parts you obtain from the levels and challenges and create numerous and exciting types from planes, cars and ships. All with your own little touch of creativity.

Now as fun as it sounds it does have a few issues. One being the game does have a pretty text heavy dialogue, sometimes the words will actually go by too fast for even a person with a graduate degree in English.

Next issue is the complexity of the game. Banjo has that kid friendly look but it's actually more geared toward a more older crowd as the vehicle creation can go over their heads VERY quickly.

The last issue I had was sometimes you felt the game is stretched too long for simple and ridiculous tasks and time trials.

But even those taken into account, Banjo Kazooie: N & B is a solid platformer/vechicle/colle- ctathon game you can enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not What You'd Expect, That's A GOOD Thing!!!!

posted by DRKLAW (MESA, AZ) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I never played the first 2 banjo kazooie games, at the time I had a PS1. I've heard that a lot of people are disappointed this game isn't like the first two. Since I have never played them, I thought this game was very refreshing and innovative.

This game relies heavily on vehicles. You can still run around and attack off your vehicle, so it definitely isn't a racer game. The vehicles add so much to this game. I found myself creating vehicles for each challenge and just making some to test the physics of the game, very good stuff!!! You can literally create any vehicle with out constraints on what or how to build it!

You want a helicopter, boat, plane, unicycle, motorcycle, tank, wall with wheels, boat/plane/hover/tank? Not a problem, you think of it, you can build it!!! You'll spend a lot of time trying to get more parts to build a unique souped up vehicle!

There is a lot to do and see in town and in the levels. The physics are wonderful, you can knock people out of your way, sending them flying, every level is full of destructive environments and almost everything is movable.

The graphics are very, very good!!! The Levels are really unique and there is a lot to see. This is a platformer, racer and so much more. Even if at first you think you won't like it because it is a Banjo Kazooie 1/2 clone, give it a shot, it's a ton of fun!

The only real gripes I have are few, especially since I bought this game for $30 on Amazon!!! I didn't like that a few levels require you to use a specifically assigned vehicle. I also thought that some of the vehicles can be tricky to steer, and on certain levels, they push this to the extreme by making the course have obstacles that would cause you to hit them, and lose the race since getting out of them was near impossible, so you had to play them over and over to win. Other than that a very fund and original game, definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Banjo-Kazooie: Nostalgic & Referential

posted by Rumblekeg (O NEALS, CA) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I will admit that I was a naysayer when I first heard the news that Rare was taking the Banjo-Kazooie series in a user-generated content oriented direction. As what I would consider to be a "die-hard(er)" fan of the series, I was rather off-put by the lack of unlockable abilites and shapeshifting magic. However after about an hour of actually playing this game I am happy to report that Banjo-Kazooie is alive and well. This game almost feels like a spiritual successor to the original N64 games, as it contains the same level of clever layout, humor, art style, and sound design as its famous predecessors. What this game lacks in platforming abilities it makes up for in its ingenious vehicle creation and physics elements. You're still going into worlds, finding puzzles, and figuring out how to solve those puzzles with the tools you have in order to get the Jiggy reward. The vehicle creation serves AS the puzzle-solving abilites, and in true platformer fashion you unlock new parts (abilites) as you progress through the game. I know this game gets a lot of guff because it is so different from the old-style Banjo games, but the soul of the series is still very well represented here. Not to mention the humor, which is ridiculously clever and well-written. The comedic moments in Banjo-Kazooie N&B's basically serves as a referential cherry on what is already a delicious trip to the past with a new twist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A few thing that are good and bad in this game.

posted by secretcola (SATSUMA, FL) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I pre-order this game 1 1/2 months before it was released (which came with the 1st banjo kazooie game). When I played it, I loved it.
heres some good and bad in this game.

Good:#1:Rare brought back almost every charicter from the Banjo series(Tootys isnt in this game).
#2:You can build ANYTHING in this game (Almost the same as LittleBigPlanet. LBP lets you create anything in your story, all it takes is a little: Imagination)#3:You can show off your veichals by taking pitures of it, or sharing them with your friends on xbox live (xbox live is requied)#4:If you got xbox live, theres a patch/update where Rare make the text on the charicter talk box more bigger and slower so you can read what they are saying. Ther ssstill put in the sssame humor like the long ssssound on 1 of the charicter i forgot what hes name. oh well, but the witches ryming was swell.#5If you likr Rock music, Rare put in the rock n roll version of the banjo soundtrack.

Bad:#1: If you dont like Lrgo/LBP/useing your imagination (and much rather play gears of war), then you wont like this game.#2: The multiplayer haves only 3-6 players playing on the multiplayer. Not only that, most of the online challenges are realy stupid. Avoid it, trust me, you would rather play some other online game.#3: Sometimes your imagination cant always work out. So if you built like a car which is desine to carry a lot of ammo and have so much heavy armor, it may A:not turn so well. B:might run out of fuel if you dont got enough. C: Might run like a 59 year old grandma if you dont got alot of engines for it.

If you like LBP and like using your imagination and played banjo kazzoie 1 & 2, this is the game your looking for.

FINAL COMMENT:
I reccomend this game for those who wants to play LBP but its only on ps3, and they dont got one, than this game will be the Xbox version of LBP.
Storyline:9/10
Graphics:9/10
sounds:9/10
Gameplay:8/10
Charicters lines:10/10
Miltiplayer:4/10
Overall:8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Imagine Lego's meets Banjo-Kazooie

posted by DougSeek (DERWOOD, MD) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First off, if you're into fast-paced action adventure and nothing but, then this game may not be for you. This game is a little slower and a bit of a thinker, but if you're like me, that certainly doesn't make it any less enjoyable. I've spent hours perfecting and test driving my little creations and swapping ideas with friends. If you like to create, invent and use your noggin a little, you'll love this game.

Imagine a game where your own creativity is your only hinderance. You can drive, race, fly, sail, shoot, whatever you desire.

Need to get across a lake? Throw on some floaties and a propeller. Got some bad guys chasing you? Attach a torpedile to the back of your vehicle and blow 'em sky high! Put a few springs under your vehicle along with an egg blaster and peg 'em with yolk as you soar over their heads! The possibilities are endless!

The idea of the game is to go through and complete all of the major challenges. In order to complete your objective, you must jump into a vehicle (or make your own specifically for the quest!) and use your vehicle and all of it's gadgets and gizmos to do the task at hand.

Once you've designed your vehicle, you can save it, name it, load it, or even upload it to the web! You can download other player's vehicles too! (If they're feeling generous enough to share their blueprints). Be sure to check out the leaderboards to see if some of the pros might've shared a vehicle design to get through that one obstacle you've been stuck on!

Not feeling creative? You'll get a few handouts and ideas here and there as you progress through the game, giving you tips on how to build a vehicle or even a strapping set of pre-made blueprints that you can use or customize to your liking.

Overall, the story-line is a bit lacking, but the gameplay more than makes up for it.

If you haven't got this game, buy it. Or atleast rent it until you talk yourself into buying it. It's a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Banjo Kazooie Meets Creativity.

posted by InsaneSir (SOUTH WINDSOR, CT) May 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Story: 7/10
The Lord Of Games (L.O.G.) is sick of the constant bickering at Spiral Mountain. so he decides to make a game for banjo and Kazooie to fight the witch gruntilda for the deed to own spiral mountain. The Story Is Pretty Bland But it does have the Banjo Kazooie Comical Value

Graphics: 10/10
Great Lush Graphics The Game World Really Comes To Life As It Takes Your 64-bit past and turns it into a master piece of the Next Generation.
Simply Amazing. It fits the banjo kazooie universe well.

GamePlay: 7/10
GREAT but with some minor flaws, those who do not like the vehicular gameplay are doomed to not liking this game, great customization, building your own creations is innovative and fun.

Sound: 7/10
Great Sounds... but nothing you'll be turning down or turning up either. The traditional B&K Type Sounds.

Multiplayer: 8/10
Once L.O.G. Finds A Match this game is really a blast its fun all around with no frustration simple as that :P

================
Rating: 4/5

Overall Rating: 7/10

Pros: Great Game All-Around
Cons: Not Much Platforming like the good ol days
Overall Comments: a Buy... its a budget 360 game so brand new its only $30!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game but not like the originals

posted by Juice13 (Bradenton, FL) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off this is a great game, creating your own vehicles is fun and the game is really addicting, but if you were hoping for games like the N64 ones your out of luck (However BanjoLand is a big hit of nostalgia, if that's what your looking for)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True lego game

posted by critic4u (BELLE CHASSE, LA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is more of a lego game than the real ones. You can make any vehicle you can think of in that squishy brain of yours. This might sound cliche but its true Your only limit is your imagination. At first the game is more about beating one challenge and trying to get to the next level. But once you start getting really cool parts you kind of stop the challenges to make the most inventive uses for wings wheels floating buoys and shaped blocks. Once you beat the game and finish almost everything you can stop and just make vehicles. it doesent even have to be a vehicle it can be a vehicle in the shape of something cool. you can make planes boats cars bikes helicopters submarines spaceships ufos or even mix terrains. I played this game from gamefly and i almost didnt wanna give it back until my brother bought it for me on my birthday. GET THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why Rare, Why?

posted by EMOofLiGHT (WESTWOOD, MA) May 31, 2009

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just want to know what exactly happend to Rare? Did they forget their Brains back in the Nintendo offices when they moved in with Microsoft? It just isn't the quality I'm that is expected of what was once such a magnificant studio. Ok, Perfect Dark Zero and Kameo weren't that bad, but still nowhere near the level of the masterpieces released a few console generations ago. And the new Banjo Kazooie does nothing if not dig a deeper hole for Rare to fall into. My main problem stems from the fact that they threw aside traditional platforming in favor of custom made vehicles that control like planes without wings. This creates an extremely rigid mission selection with only a few types to choose from. Remeber in Banio-Tooie, how one minute you were playing Kickball with statues and the next you were racing a giant bird in a mine cart? There was so much variety back then, and even when the mission types grew similar, it never got boring because it was all presented in such a unique and interesting way. Now all the mission just boil down into fetch quests and races and such, with the only diference being a different enviroment in between. And that's what makes this so tragic since the characters are as witty as ever, and the worlds are still colorful and unique, but it all falls apart when the gameplay is just so uninspired. The only reason anyone would want to buy this game is for the hillarious characters and dialouge, though you'd need to play the earlier games to get a lot of the jokes, which subsequently prevents you from being impressed by the new title's broken gameplay, creating a bizare paradox in which it is almost totally unlikeable. Pass over this title and send Rare a mesage telling them to return to form so that I can admit there is some good left in this world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGOS!

posted by Beingsimon (BARRINGTON, RI) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was one game that came through the back door and I haven't even heard of it till I downloaded the demo for the shlts and giggles. The graphics were actually pretty good, and there was a lot of joy just roaming the town. But building the vehicles takes the cake by far. A lot of reviewers compare this game to Little Big Planet, which is fine because they both have that idea of "build whatever the he11 you want" attitude. But the main difference is that Little Big Planet takes determination and patience, two things which most people (like me) detest wholeheartedly. Many people complained about things like how they would build a freakin huge vehicle, that probably runs off baby orphans with the amount of fuel they use, and it wouldn't run because the engines weren't big enough. This is stupid. The point of it is is that it's called this thing called 'realism'. Although this lacks somewhat in phases where you can travel up to 500 feet in the air with only a chair and a spring attached to it, it is still there. Point is, if you build a 98 ton vehicle, don't expect it to run on a small engine. If you wanna sand box game, or maybe just liked to play with legos when you were little, you would probably like this game as much as I had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So sad...

posted by KodySand (conway, AR) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Everyone has heard about this game, and had been waiting to play it, and it was really exciting and... then it turned into a driving game. Banjo Kazooie 1 & 2 were platformers... and those were fun games. Banjo 3, is not. I thought I could give over it being completely different but every mission was a driver here and do things.. maybe i didnt play the game long enough but i just couldnt play a game that saying Banjo Kazooie and was not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Banjo's Results

posted by Doc242 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very fun and entertaining. The creation of vehicles are a nice touch. I don't like that it lacks some instructions on some parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a game should be -- fun

posted by goni27 (DES MOINES, IA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There so much stuff to do and build in this game. How much fun you have is limited only by your imagination. I'm giving this game a perfect score because there no way it deserves a 6.9 average. If your a FPS fan you probably won't like this game, however, if you enjoy a great looking and fun platformer than I really recommend this wonderful game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Banjo Better With Nintendo!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Rare tried but over complicated this game. The text is small and too much, the controls are not that great, you are fat and slow, and worst of all the gameplay is boring (too much text). I like the concept but with just a few titles from Rare; Microsoft overspent the $300M.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is very underrated!!!! MUST BUY!

posted by EvolxError (SARASOTA, FL) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I must say myself being 25 yrs old, I never thought I'd be so addicted and have so much fun with a family/adventure game!!
The graphics are amazing as are the environments!!
The creativity that can go into the customization of vehicles is endless!
This game should of been $60.00 dollars not $30.00 and many of my friends agree.. this game is a must!!
I highly, HIGHLY recommend parents get this game for your sons and daughters, and people of all ages should give this game a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can't Believe It

posted by AkAunknown (FRESNO, CA) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

The First Two in the series were incredible.

The Newest Installment on the next Gen= Complete Different Direction (Game play) and not at all like the Original.

It Was Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

good graphics dull gameplay

posted by solodeman (GLEN GARDNER, NJ) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

at the start i was impressed with the look of the game.but as time went on it started to accer to me that all you do these stupid short race typ missions of wich some you can not create your own vhical. it was a mission such as this that killed any fun i was having with this game a race were you must travers a narrow track with a big bulky car like thing god that was fusteraiting money back please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Something that a fan should read

posted by Steelers10 (CRESTVIEW, FL) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I think that this game got a better review than what it did. I know u r as big of a fan as i am for this series than u would agree with me. I think that the building part is cool. BUt when it comes to the challenges u will find out that it gets to be very similar in some parts. So i would say that if u have never played a banjo-kazooie game to go head and rent this game. But if u have played the other 2 for the n 64 to don't even bother getting this game all it will do is tick u off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good if you like it

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you havnt played the first Banjo Kazooie then you might not know what this is and even if you played the first one this one is pretty different. This one is all based upon making and using vehicles to get around the world. Making cars is pretty fun, but first you have to get the parts to make your vehicle. Then you can pretty much do anything and you can also make hovercrafts and planes. And when you make a vehicle you can test drive it to make perfect. The reason you need to make vehicles to get around is he got really fat and he can only walk really slow. Online wasnt really that fun. And the overall gameplay was "ok", not great so you wont be playing forever and its not terrible so youll play it atleast a bit. By the way if you havnt noticed by now, this is a "kiddy" style type game and if your more into hardcore games dont even try this. But if you like "kiddy" style games try it out because it is pretty fun sometimes. So go ahead and try it and its pretty cheap for what your getting so this game is a really good deal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this games the best....not

posted by wero890 (MICANOPY, FL) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I dont think this is the right game for me its not very much fun and it gets kinda boreing. I dont like the story line or controls and its supose it dosent let you fun joy and exitement as one and two they had better authintic levls. It just wasnt my typ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Eeek

posted by CodyBanks (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This was the most stupidest game I ever picked, I only picked it to rent cause Sam and fin made me do it, he wanted to give me car parts but he never played with me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I can't read anything the text is to small.

posted by outlaw (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

So I was all excited to play this game, till I put it in and I couldn't understand any of the dialog or directions because the text is itsy bitsy. Till they fix the text in this game gets a fair rating from me because it seems like a neat game. I have played the last two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game in the history of mankind!!!!!!!!!

posted by mari919 (SANTA MONICA, CA) Feb 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game I don't recommend for any child the amount of violence and mischief your child will be filled with hatred and evilness so don't get this game for your kid please listen to me!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game ....ever made by aliens lol

posted by Socialrain (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Well being honest i dont recomend this game...to gears of war lovers or COD fans..



this game was so boring and the texting boxes are annoying lol..ohh god please ...put some voice on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow waste of time

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Couldn't make heads or tails out of this game i stop playing it 20 minutes into the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse