Rent Band Hero for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Band Hero

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
6.6

921 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game Is Worth A Rental

posted by bloodbiggy (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Well first off, this game is not Guitar Hero 5. Sure it has the same graphics and engine, but it is intended for a whole seperate crowd who like mainstream music like Taylor Swift and The all-American Rejects. And I recall Guitar Hero 5 getting good reviews for its new engines, etc. Anyways on to Band Hero. This game has a soundtrack of 65 tracks consisting of bands/groups like Spice Girls, The All-American Rejects, Snow Patrol as well as solo artists like Taylor Swift, Jessie McCartney, Iggy Pop and Corinne Bailey Rae. This soundtrack will appeal to many Guitar Hero fans that like mainstream music, but will push away quite a bit of hardcore Guitar Hero fans. As for gameplay, it plays the same as Guitar Hero 5, with same menus and same career features, even though the challenges have a little more uniqueness, like hitting notes in The Brevery's "Believe" bass opening instead of just hitting all notes in the song. 60 tracks can also be exported to the hard drive if you purchase the game for a small fee, but leaves out Aly & AJ, Jesse McCartney, Styx, Hilary Duff, and one other song. I personally believe this game is worth renting.

Gameplay - Basically Guitar Hero 5 painted pink, not great but still pretty good. (8/10)

Graphics - Actually the graphics are really good for a music game, but they are just like GH5. (9/10)

Presentation - Same as Guitar Hero 5 for menus and career, just with less songs. (7/10)

Soundtrack - Depends on if you are one of the fans of mainstream music like Taylor Swift. Personally I like some of them, but not all. (8/10)

Overall - Great game, but unless you really want to play the songs, just rent it. My reasoning is if you don't like the songs, then just skip past this one, but if you want to play some, the go ahead and rent it, but if you really like all of the songs, then buy it. (8/10)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rock Band - The Pop for Kids Version!

posted by ThePalimax (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Ok. It's Rock Band and/or Guitar Hero, except this time the setlist revolves around Taylor Swift.

I can't be any clearer than that.

No exciting new mechanics.
No frustratingly difficult songs.
Just some pop hits.

If your kids can't be bothered to learn who The Who are, get them this instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game To Play

posted by Texican940 (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Band Hero is a really great game and it just like Guitar Hero 5 but they made it fun for the family and friend, who like to play Guitar Hero and like Country to Pop music and to have fun playing it. The setlist is great I mostly like every song on it and my main favorite song on it is 'Y.M.C.A.' by Village People and one new feature on it call 'Sing Along' and it is a feature that you can just sing the song without hitting those high or low pitch on vocal. Great artist on it like Taylor Swift, No Doubt, Maroon 5, Village People, The All-American Rejects, Yellowcard, Spice Girls, Aly & AJ and other great Pop, Country, Rock, Pop-Rock artist. A great game to rent or if you a Guitar Hero fans buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

same old great game

posted by batp15 (DAYTON, TX) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

if you like guitar hero or rock band rent this game. this game has a really good track list even though its rated e. theres really nothing new here other than the songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as fun as it is challenging.

posted by tcheck (CLEARFIELD, UT) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

On par with all the other 'Hero' games I've played, Band Hero was certainly challenging but not as fun because of it. It's also not easy to accomplish anything in the game solo. Yes, I know it's called "Band" Hero for a reason, however, there should be some solo options available.

The difficulty of the game also made it impossible for kids to play and enjoy. They asked to switch to Rock Band 2 because they weren't having any fun.

On a plus side and why the game did get a 5 from me is that the song selections were fun to be able to play. Much more enjoyable than heavy metal all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best of the line

posted by jabazy (MONROVIA, CA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

this game defines how band games should be smooth game play great tracks and big names but above all its just fun playing less aggressive tracks at fluent paced progression as it build on the guide line world tour lays out now evolved into its own game and nearly perfected it playing song just feels right it feels less like a game and more like a simulator dropping the slide effect binging in better star power and more detailed rock star editor better music studio and better party play then world tour it all around revamped a over crowded platform of music games and simply becoming the best in the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's got taylor swift!!!!!!!

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Hey if you say you don't like her music than you are obviously just jealous of her amazingness, not very different form other Guitarhero/Rockband game except it has taylor swift!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game for guitar hero

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I don't like the Taylor Swift songs because I don't like country music, so I don't play those. But other than that, it has great songs, so I say you should rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Band Hero... with sound off!

posted by songofall (BEAVERTON, OR) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Band Hero is the WORST game that Guitar Hero has put out. I miss the days of Megadeth and Pantera. What happened?
They really sold out to try to compete with Rockband on this one.

The only upside to this game is for all you Achievement Hunters out there. You can easily get 850+ gamerscore in a few hours with the 585 point treasure hunt over 19 songs. But please play with the sound OFF!

No offence Taylor, I'm gonna let you finish, but Guitar Hero: Metallica has a WAY better setlist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun

posted by Brogan22 (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Tired of all the metal and hard rock songs Guitar Hero adds? Sick of seeing bands you never heard of? Well this game is just for you.

The game is mainly pop-rock, but it does have some other genre of music in it as well. When I bought this game I was iffy about it, but when I saw songs like "Kung Fu Fighting", "Happy Together", "YMCA", "Love Story" (etc) songs that I knew, I instantly fell in love with the game. It's a game where I know about every song on the list and it's fun and easy to pick up and play.

As far as the menu set-up, gameplay and graphics are, well, they're the same as Guitar Hero 5.

So if you're sick of the same old stuff Guitar Hero puts on their games and you want some songs that you know and love, rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Variety of Songs

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Aug 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

For me, this was a very good rent. Easy achievement points, a good mix of music, and neat to be able to play as your avatar. Difficulty scale seemed over the top. The jump from medium to hard seemed to be much steeper than other GH games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Alright.

posted by noobs312 (LANCASTER, WI) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The game is okay. It has a good set lists. Full of pop songs, hip hop songs and old songs such as ABC by the Jackson 5. It is basically the same thing is Guitar Hero World Tour however.

The create a player is also alright. Not quite as good as Rock Band where I have more options to dress my character and when naming the band I didn't like that I couldn't change my band name later or my logo. Another thing I didn't like is that I could only have one career not multiple. Which was dissapointing.

For the set list. I could easily buy all those songs on the rock band music store and have them for my band(s) on that game instead.

Overall I give this game a B-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for fans of previous titles

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

If you liked all the Guitar Heros before this one and the music that was in those games, you probably won't like Band Hero. It is targeted much more towards the pop scene and unless you like that kind of music, chances are you will not like the game. Being an achievement lover, I liked this game for only the fact that the achievements were really easy. However, I did like a few songs, but overall the game was not too satisfying.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as all the others, just different songs

posted by GamerDaddy (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Another guitar hero / rockband clone. Admittedly, my wife liked the top 40 selection of taylor swift, maroon 5 etc better than the usual metalica and megadeth mix. Basically I look at all these games as a way to charge you more for just more songs with the same basic gameplay.

One thing this DOES have is a way to write your own songs although it looked to complicated for me to invest too much time into it. Albeit someone added the "VADrum meets Super mario" which got me all excited because I love that song.

So yeah, it was fun for the new selection of songs, but still another clone of the same game over and over that these guys keep getting us to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Band Hero is OK

posted by Jester23 (BETHLEHEM, GA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

At first I thought this game would only be good for its 490 point achievement and really a couple of songs, but when I played it, I really liked it. Sure it may be the pop version of Guitar Hero 5, but it's songs were really fun to play. I loved the additional items you can customize your character with as well. Really overall, if your someone who loves this kind of game, but isn't a fan of the whole rock music setlist, this game is just right for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Band Hero... 15/10

posted by DuesXX (NEWTON, NC) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I give this entry into the Guitar Hero franchise a 15/10. Why? Well, let me tell you.

15 Reasons Why This Title Gets A 15/10:

1. Taylor Swift
2. Taylor Swift
3. Taylor Swift
4. Taylor Swift
5. Taylor Swift
6. Graphics are much better than WT, and I even think maybe in some ways 5...
7. Taylor Swift
8. Taylor Swift
9. Taylor Swift
10. Easy to use, and the "Play Now" idea was genius!
11. Taylor Swift
12. Taylor Swift
13. Taylor Swift
14. The songs.. FANTASTIC! Something a normal person would want to play. Thats always been my gripe for the GH series. A bunch of songs no one has ever heard of, and if they have, they probably don't want to play them! And the span (far as genre and year) is great!
15. Did I mention Taylor Swift?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Band Hero

posted by CAZdiesel (Kalamazoo, MI) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This was 2 and a half hours of my life I want Back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay game

posted by MaddenMan7 (OCALA, FL) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Good for teenie boppers and those that love pop music, but still a weak track list overall.

Waiting for Guitar Hero 80s and 90s packs for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Meant for families

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

If you like Guitar Hero and you think you might want to switch to band hero, unless your fairly young, i would rethink that. Band Hero is centered around casual music games, and Guitar Hero 5 is centered around Harcore gamers. From that, you should be able to make your choice. This game is just about the same core gameplay as GH5, but the songs are much more for families. There is also karioke mode in this, which isnt in GH5. This game has online modes that are just fantastic, but not very many people play this game online, so if you want to use these game modes, either play them locally or on GH5. The career is solid. And the songs from GH5, GH Smash Hits, and GH World Tour will export onto this game, but you have to have online to do this. And the downloadable songs from WT and GH5 will work on this. This game is really good, it has great online, great songs, and great gameplay. Try it out if youre a family person, if youre a hardcore gamer try out GH5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its GH 5......

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Yes thats right.... it is pretty much GH5 with some "poppy" tunes. The set list is bad... it has about 6-7 GREAT songs and alot of filler taken from previous GH games (i know ive played them all)

Im sure their is an audience for this game and if your a die hard Guitar Hero fan you will eat this up, but as a fan of all rythm games i see this more as a cheap cash in again by Activision.

Its not all bad news, the multiplayer is actually fun just like it was in GH5 (its pretty much identicall) and avatar chars return which i really do like becasue the art style for the "main" chars is just horrible once again and its also fun to see your avatar rockin out.

Rent it, see if its for you....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »