Rent Bakugan for PS3
view large frontback

Bakugan

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
6.6

289 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bakugan Brawl!!!

posted by yang124 (San Antonio, TX) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say the graphics look almost excactly like the cartoon and its very strategic. Abilities and gate cards turn the tide of battle. The voice acting comes directly from the english cast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good game

posted by NFLROCKS (HIALEAH, FL) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE GAME WAS COOL AND ALL , BUT THE GAME WAS EASY IT TOOK ME 3 DAYS TO WIN THE GAME IT SO IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME IT WAS FUN AND COOL BUT NEXT TIME THEY DO ANOTHER GAME LIKE THIS MAKE IT MORE LONGER AND HARD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

bakugan

posted by aaronisone (SALEM, OR) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i am happy i rented this game they could have done a little better
but the story is ok somewhat i am kinda bum that they did not have the music for the starting of the game like the cartoon i would have gave the game a 8 but its to easy to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

waste of time

posted by gamerboy91 (DEER LODGE, MT) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

ok this will be my first but not last for games im a big gamer & i love the show for this game & when i got this game in my house & started playing i was really happy intill the game started to easy all it takes is two days of game play if you got nothing to do i work so three days of game play for me & i got every thing unlocked it takes alot of time one or two of the trophies was hard but thats about it if you looking for a fast game & getting alot of trophies fast this is the game for you other wise dont play it Its one great big waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for smaller kids, exactly what I expect

posted by Zaraeleus (POCATELLO, ID) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is great for what it is, a cartoon/collectable cardgame turned videogame . My 6 year old loves playing and my 2 year old loves to watch. The game is a bit repetitive but the 57 trophies make it worth playing (especially if you are a trophy-hound like myself). The game is fairly simple and the battles are mini-games that make you do a bit more than throw a Bakugan onto a card and call it a day, the shaking battles actually make you sweat a little :D at lvl3. I would give it a 10 but the game is really simple and repetitive and the Bakugan collection is EXTREMELY expensive... by the time you unlock all of the Bakugan to buy them you are pretty tired of playing and your deck is unstoppable so you are winning just about every battle so it is a bit overbearing. Other than that great game playability-wise and ever better if you like Trophies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trophy Collection Review

posted by Alayes (AMES, IA) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Fun Factor: 6/10

I'm not going to lie; I had fun playing this. There's an inner child in me to begin with, so keep that in mind. However, the game was easy to learn, moderately easy to master, and fun to play if you have kids with you to cheer you on. My little 10 year old cousin had an absolute blast watching me win battles, and even when playing by myself I caught myself being amused. Regardless, the game becomes repetitive, as all you do is edit your deck, and battle. That's it. Lots of motion-control as well, so if you're an avid hater of the sixaxis controller, stay away.

Difficulty: 4/10

Once you figure out the best methods of play/strategy, the game becomes a cakewalk. With some planning and sixaxis skills, you can win almost all battles with your eyes closed. There are no difficulty settings, nor are there any tedious trophies that will make you rip your hair out. The trophy set is pretty much beat the game, collect all bakugan/cards, and do some special requirements here and there, which can be done after you beat the game. Not difficult at all.

Length: 6/10

Length, rated using a scale that indicates time to Platinum. 1 being very short, 10 being extremely long. This is a 6, because the game will take you about 20 hours to 100%. A dedicated person could do this in a solid weekend, but it took me an entire week of on and off play. Like I mentioned earlier - the game can become repetitive, so you'll probably take breaks here and there so you won't go brain dead.

Overall: Easy

Though it can be lengthy, Bakugan is an easy platinum. If you strongly dislike anime and card games, then I suggest you pass on this to go for something else. If you're tired of shooters and violence, and you mildly enjoy anime and what not, then this might be a decent platinum to collect. If you're a trophy hunter and a fan of the series, it's a no-brainer. Definite rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best anime game ever

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Bakugan was a very good game, all the characters from the show are here dan, shun and so on. The game stays true to the show which you have your gate cards and ability cards and you are also able to buy more cards and bakugans from the store and you are able to upgrade your current bakugans as well as create your own character which is kinda cool. The only problem with the game is that it is too short and you cannot play as the characters of the show during story mode. So if you are a big fan of the show or like game that require a little bit of thinking this is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable

posted by Video1313 (BENTONVILLE, AR) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

So, I’ve never been a bakugan player, and best as I can tell it’s “shooting Marbles 2.0” for the modern times. That’s all fine and Dandy, but I didn’t shoot marbles when I was a kid either. However, I’d seen one or two of the Animes and decided that, since I do rather enjoy Pokémon games, I could overlook the shooting marbles and “catch em all”.

The game itself is rather close to what I’ve seen/read on the over-all Anime/Manga. I’m no expert of course, but it was pretty close to accurate as far as characters, story line, over-all rules that they use, etc.

So, I started the game, made my Avatar, gave him what I considered to be the most fashionable look that suited me, and then sat at a screen asking me to pick an element. I had no real idea what to pick in this case as I wasn’t overly certain of what was “good” or if there was a Rock-Paper-Scissors-Lizard-Spock theme (one element stronger against another element, etc..)

So, I flipped a coin between Wind and Darkness, I got wind. I then went in to see Dan from the series and went through a basic tutorial which wasn’t overly complex and gave a decent feel for how the over-all game goes. You throw out a card, roll yer little Bakugan and generally try to use your limited deck size to your advantage while defeating the enemy.

Regardless of what element you choose, you get Leonidas as your main Bakugan. His element changes to match whatever you selected, and you’re then given 2 more basic Bakugan from your element along with appropriate cards.

Combat wise, this game is somewhat predictable. The opponent will attempt to throw down a bigger, badder, Bakugan to take out whatever Bakugan you threw out. The AI is relatively simple in this matter. In fact, it makes winning duels absurdly easy on average. Simple tactics tell you “ok, he’ll throw his biggest baddest monster, so…throw out a “swap G-Power card and throw out THE weakest monster in your collection”. Do this, and you are almost always

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best anime game ever

posted by Sasuke1 (POWELLSVILLE, NC) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Bakugan was a very good game, all the characters from the show are here dan, shun and so on. The game stays true to the show which you have your gate cards and ability cards and you are also able to buy more cards and bakugans from the store and you are able to upgrade your current bakugans as well as create your own character which is kinda cool. The only problem with the game is that it is too short and you cannot play as the characters of the show during story mode. So if you are a big fan of the show or like game that require a little bit of thinking this is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »