Rent Backyard Sports Sandlot Sluggers for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Backyard Sports Sandlot Sluggers

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii
GF Rating
5.1

584 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by RTRDMayhem (CRANBERRY TWP, PA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

took only a few hours of non-stop play (besides dinner) to beat the game twice and unlock all achievements. Fun game, but already on it's way back to Pittsburgh's GameFly warehouse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid Kids Game

posted by JMonti1987 (LODI, NJ) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've been playing this franchise then it doesn't let you down. I don't know why we have people reviewing these games like it's supposed to be the next great baseball game. haha. ITS A KIDS GAME PEOPLE! Easy to play, easy to get achievements... easy everything. I'm 23 and it was still pretty fun for about 4-5 hours. I unlocked all the achievements in about 2 runs through. Read up on the games you rent/buy. If you were expecting more out of this game then you're not the smartest gamer around. Great game for kids, not so much for adults. Plain and simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

easy game

posted by kmk420 (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i liked the game in all aspects accept that when u are batting u hit the ball very easy but the ai always catch the ball.Very good for achievements!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than I thought it would be.

posted by unseth (LEESBURG, VA) May 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This isn't MLB the show or even MLB 2k#, so don't expect that.

What this is however is a fun quick pickup game. Games are only 5 innings long so it doesn't take long to play through a game.

It has a nice story mode that lets you play 8 or so different teams while you build your roster to take on the hot shot team at the end. There are powerups that can be earned that when activated in game give you a ball that blows up, one that is an instant home run, one that burrows in the ground so it can't be fielded right away, etc, plus ones for pitching where the ball disappears, or yoyo's etc.

The powerups aren't overused, so you may only get 2-3 a game if you are doing well. All the basics of the game are there. The only things really left out is beaning and errors.

There are a variety of players, plus you create your own, and a variety of sandlots to play on to mix it up.

That being said, some of the animations are repetitive. I don't really need to see the same kid trip over the pitching rubber between every single inning.

This isn't a game I'd buy, but I had enough fun to run through the story mode and play a game or two with my kid. Speaking of kids, there is also a simple control style where pressing A button does everything so you don't have to worry about pitch selection, throwing to bases, etc. Just hit A. And you can even make the AI field the ball for you. Good for young ones.

Overall i rate this game a 7, rating it on what it is and not trying to compare it to a real baseball simulation.

Achievement Hunters - You can probably rack up most of the points in this in a few hours, save for a few difficult ones like beating every game in story mode with the mercy rule.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy 1000G

posted by princessneon (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Loved it because once I got the hang of the baseball swing etc (I don't normally play sports games) I got through it in 4-5 hours. Easy 1000G!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible gameplay, easy achievements

posted by Albie_7 (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Only worth getting if you want an easy 800-1000 GS in under 5 hours. The actual game itself is horrible. Terrible fielding controls, pitches with too much movement make it incredibly hard to feel the strike zone, bland graphics and inconsistent hitting. Incredibly flawed game with little features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just Okay

posted by dddarne (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Not a bad game but not a good game either. Every simple, perfect for young gamers. Nothing special here and not much replay value but this game is an achievement gold mind (well not much to get the full 1000).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easy GS and still fun

posted by niacine (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

If you like baseball this is a fun arcade style game, don't expect an MLB sim experience but this is a fun game of kid baseball. Also this is a pretty easy 1k gamer score; I completed the achievements in around 5 hours I think. Regardless pretty fun if you want a light hearted baseball game and a good title if you're looking for some quick cheevos!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sandlot sluggers

posted by klamagna (VANCOUVER, WA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Sandlot sluggers is another entry in the backyard sports franchise. The first thing you do is play a quick game or go into the story mode. In story mode, you create a player and chose which stats to upgrade. The first game you play is easy, but of course as you go on the games get harder. The game makes it almost impossible to hit home runs and your players are so slow it isn't funny (even on the easiest difficulty). You can gain power ups depending on how you do. There is a ball that blocks the batters vision, make the ball go in a zig-zag pattern and a rocket power up that makes the ball 1,000 miles per hour and almost impossible to hit. With all of these things in mind chose your stat chooses carefully and play ball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS IS A GAME FOR LITTLE KIDS

posted by gam3r123 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This is a great game for people 3-7 years old.Its very easy I got all of the unlocks in 30 minutes.When outfielding just hit the A button and it throws to the base that it needs to goto to. It makes it very simple for kids. ITS AN AWESOME GAME FOR LITTLE KIDS AGES 3-7 NO OLDER THEY WILL NOT LIKE IT WHAT SO EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by MysterE (MILWAUKEE, WI) May 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

I found this game to be pretty much unplayable. I tried to give this game a shot, by playing a few games, and every one of them was garbage. Even when I buymped the difficulty to easy, just to make it playable, it wasn't. It seemed like every team I played was superhuman, and my team was trapped in glue. Maybe there was something I was missing, but this game is being shipped back today, and I just got it yesterday!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »