Rent Backyard Football 08 for Wii
view large frontback

Backyard Football 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, PS2, DS, GC
GF Rating
5.2

402 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Great for those that find Madden Too Difficult

posted by 2rent2kid (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

When we purchased our Wii just before Christmas, the first game we purchased aside from the freebies was Madden NFL. I remember playing and enjoying Madden back in Sega Genesis days and knew that it had to be incredible in the world of Wii. Unfortunately, my husband and I are apparently old, have limited memory capacity, and simply may not be as coordinated as we thought!

So, instead of hiring a personal instructor to achieve my desired football gaming experience, I decided to go with a simpler football game which brought us to Backyard Football.

The game is very easy to setup and learn all of the moves needed to rack up serious points. Actually, my 5-year-old who for the most part cannot read but does share my obsession with football is quite competitive--even when playing adults.

Pros: EASY!!!, "Cute" Field Choices, Allows you to setup your team each game, Once you call your play, you can maneuver your QB/RB etc. but you basically don't have to...the computer will take over when needed

Cons: Annoying and Nagging Chatter from Draft Pool when selecting team members, A Few Fields and Players are Locked for No Good Reason, If you call a stupid play (accidentally) such as a Field Goal when it's 1st and 10 from the 40, there's no apparent way to call a time out or change your play

I certainly recommend this game for all of the young video football game players, as well as the "old folks" who just don't have the time, energy, or memory retention to learn all the Madden maneuvers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Rental

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Fun casual art style football game
- Gameplay is arcadey and great for people who don't want a complicated football game

Cons
- Controls cannot compare with the intuitive Madden Wii Controls
- Game is not very deep, for a game this casual, there should be minigames, etc. Not many game options
- Is not for people who want a madden style sim football game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Maybe for Children...but i don't have any yet

posted by CasuGamr (BUSHKILL, PA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game disappointed me. It was much simpler than madden, but just too simple and too basic.
I got it for my wife to play. (I'm big into madden but too much for her) She was bored with this in a day. The game moves slow charaters basically just bump into each other, and its not really a "Wii" game, the motion is only for catching (lift up) and throwing (same as madden)
I was hoping for more arcade feel like NFL Hitz or something. Again not a totally bad game but probably more for young children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too Tough

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 18, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Good graphics at 480. Easy entry into gameplay. Tutorials are a nice touch for beginners. Dumbed down clone of the Madden series for kids.

Cons:
Unbelievable AI. My younger brother would get very frustrated at how tough the AI opponents are. Your team seems to be non-athletic while The AI intercepts most long passes and seem to know your every move, even at the easy setting. Not only that, it seems to Take some time to register your passes.

Even though this title had a fair rating, the reviews were not very specific and it's for kids. With that, I rented this for my younger brother and I was sorry to do so. Even though it is easy to pickup and play, the tough AI and registering your moves were a letdown. With so many turnovers, fumbles, and misses, my younger brother was not having any fun. This game is actually harder than Madden 07 and it's for kids.

It is a shame that Humongous has gone this route, making more challenging kids' games that even adults would not want to play. I would suggest that you teach your child how to play Madden 07 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Rental But Rent This After Zack and Wiki!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The art style is way cool and the arcadish feel works however at times it feels like a unlockable game that should have been in Madden. For a kids title they should tell you more about the "how to" of the game. There is not much depth; season and practice also (so little) that there is only 3 buttons in the control menu. I would like to see more mini games like in Madden; considering that this is a Wii title and all the lame "party" games that are showing up. Anyway; this is pretty good and I would say if you have a slot open and don't know what to rent try this (after Zack and Wiki).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont rent

posted by jackofall (CRUMPLER, NC) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I wouldn't give $2.00 for this game.The graphix are lame and the response of the characters is slow.Pure Garbage would make a good beer coaster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Backyard Garbage

posted by tscenters (FAIRFIELD, OH) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

While the concept is great the game is not. First off the passing is terrible. Everytime I throw it never goes to the receiver I wanted or its intercepted. The graphics arent bad but there is no crowd and the announcer's are terrible. The main problem was whenever I was winning in the 4th the other team would always go for an onside kick and the ball would go 2 yards and the kicker would run on top of it and no one would pick up the ball. My players would just circle the kicker but never get the ball. After a few minutes the kicker finally picks up the ball and then on the very next play the game freezes. This gets pretty annoying so I might not play the 09 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by dreman1234 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

that was a game that is not fun at all it was boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was the crapiest game in the history of

posted by juve10 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I wish I never even rented that game it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool

posted by peaches323 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Backyard Football

posted by mixerman (NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

MAKE SURE YOU ARE UNDER 10 IF YOU WANT TO RENT THIS GAME>>>>> ENOUGH SAID

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for Kids

posted by jkuzenka (COVENTRY, CT) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I rented this game for my kids. I haven't played Madden Football 08 for Wii but, figured this game would be a good start for my boys ages 4 & 7. They seemed to enjoy the game since it was simplistic with the Pass motion and catch motions with the remote. They also thought the kid NFL Pros and other characters they have seen on other Backyard sports games were cool. If you are into Madden football I don't believe this game will be for you. If you have younger kids and would like to play a pretty simple football sports game with them on the Wii then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

backyard football

posted by biggamer09 (CHESTER, VA) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

It wasn't good at all. i thought that the game play was bad i played it twice and was board with it. so don't waste time getting this game when you could play a great game like GTA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Choice

posted by tlkwoo (STEWARTSTOWN, PA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

My son has Madden 08 for his PS2 - so he tired this for WII - and loves it. Definitely worth renting - he now has it on his list to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »