Rent Backbreaker Football for PS3
view large frontback

Backbreaker Football

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.5

989 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HHHMM

posted by Peppy34 (TIFFIN, OH) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great start to a new technology with the free motion engine, this sparks a lot of intrest in future titles, does kinda feel like gears of war movement, but once your used to it you can be very devastating due to the fluid motion of the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

gota get the hang of it

posted by biglsuka (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to everyone who is writing bad reviews and took the game back I almost did the same thing but I decided to keep it and try it out.
At first I thought this blows chuncks but when I got deep in the game learned the mechanics and started to play it I thought this is a good game . to the guy who says only eight plays take it off arcade and you have the ability to choose your line and everything else you would in a regular football game. Yea the fact its not sponsored by the nfl is kinda lame but the gameplay gets really intense when you learn the system of it all especially the hits you get some really good bombs from time to time, The passing is about a six and a half but the running game is amazing asside from the only minor weekness is the juke which your runner does kindof a ferry move to the right or left other than that everyone who is hating on this game and took it back like I almost did give it another shot even if it takes till its ten buks at G stop

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay Game...

posted by reddead (KATY, TX) Jun 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Backbreaker is an alright game except for a few things, No NFL teams, takes a while to get used to controls, I also think that they should completely change the controls for this game because when your running the ball, you try to spin out, your character completely stops because you preformed the spin wrong on the analog stick.Wow.

The Graphics are great, but the pads look unrealistic( abs,lol) and every player has a microphone and a visor.

I also hear people complaining about " Oh, i only get to choose between 4 plays." play in pro mode, you get over 25 different plays.

The game engine is awesome, I love how Euphoria works. I think that if Madden and this game got together something great would come out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game sucks but natural motion is a game changer

posted by Hollering (SEVERN, MD) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

So I just put Backbreaker back in the mail because I couldn't take it anymore and I came right in the house to write my review afterwards while I'm still mad enough to be honest.
See the thing is I couldn't wait for this game because EA's monopoly on football just made me so anxious to try something new and I wanted so badly to not have to call this a terrible game but wow...
The graphics despite what you think just by looking at it are good and you have to keep in mind that they were very limited being that they have no real players to base the models off of so I guess they went really abstract. And let me make this clear NATURAL MOTION BELONGS IN FOOTBALL GAMES, it could be in basketball too because only in sports simulation does it's power truly come out. I have never seen more realistic looking and feeling football on a game.
However the greatness of Natural Motion brings this game down because you don't get to enjoy it like you want to. I get how realistic the camera angle is and no announcer but lets be honest for now on, you wanna play the game the way you watch it. The sounds of a real broadcast makes it feel like a game. The angles are really bad and when you hit someone you don't hear anything, they may as well do away with bone crushing hits if it literally sounds like a slap on the wrist. The instant replay is terrible and there isnt replay for the games most fun feature tackle alley. I mean they could sell tackle alley as a game by itself but they don't let you replay any of your moves, what??!! Also you have to start from the beginning everytime and frankly once you master the first 50 or so boards you don't wanna start over from scratch when your always a tackle or two away from maybe never reaching the point you left off from.
I mean seriously this game is really disappointing and I would only recommend trying the game because Natural Motion is worth it but once you play it enough the frustration will make you send it right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Football game, good start

posted by diabloz (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is NOT for everyone, I am a huge football fan and this game does a pretty good job of nailing it in individual plays. Overall though as far as simulation goes I wish there were more obvious forms of Fatigue, Injury, position audibles, & better penalizing. I give it an 8 because it is a great experience especially running the ball and reading your blocks, defensively I like how it feels like your a part of a defense not the puppet master who can see all and position yourself to constantly make the play. Basically this game takes some gettin used to, but after learning every accomplishment you make feels like a milestone, from first downs to sacks to tackles for loss. Individual plays this game is great overall its missing some ingredients a RB can get 30 carries in a game without losing a step all in all I hope 505 updates the title with more tangibles.. In my opinion the gameplay is exciting and in place for the most part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this is not madden please stop comparing

posted by cbreezy973 (NEWARK, NJ) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

people are being very bais about this game this football game is a real as you can get! besides not havce the real teams now you can download the real teams on ya computer and enter them into the game now which makes it even more fun.. this is a raw football game you have to read the QB on def and you only see part of your field which i like make it feel like a real football game even with running you have limited vision the QB also you can see behind so you have to think on your feet like one.. the people who are killing this game with these ratings are maddem die hards that cant explore anything new or even give a chance ppl even rate this game without even playing it of course there are some issue but nothing to me that takes away from the footbal game hit self.. i can tell you madden is not the end all tell all of games there nothing new to there element anymore and there is need for something new. but give this game a chance i loc this game and i plan to keep it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Backbreaker Review

posted by EdJones (MILPITAS, CA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Backbreaker is the latest football video game on the market. Its not made by EA Sports, so you know it isn’t officially licensed by the NFL so there are no current NFL players in the game nor are there any former players in the game similar to 2K Sports, All-Pro Football 2K8. So does it have?

Backbreaker has very good graphics and gameplay. But the big reason to be excitied about this game was suppose to be the interesting camera angles. You can see the field as if you were that player instead of as a fan watching the game on TV. The big problem with this is that the camera shakes and jumps all over the place and is extremely too close with horrible angles. The game itself might not seem to bad but the bigger problem is when the camera jumps around and you can’t even see what is going on in the field.

For example if your the quarterback going back in the pocket and you want to throw the ball to a reciever and then out of nowhere the camera jumps to a lineman, you don’t know what is going on then you see the reciever caught the ball for a small gain. To make matters worse you could throw the ball right into the open arms….. of a defensive player. Or on the defense end you might think you are going to be able to see the player with the ball to tackle him, then out of nowhere the camera goes to a defensive player who is nowhere close to the play.

Now if you are a member of Gamefly I would rent this, since you are already paying for renting games. You might as well play this for a few minutes to an hour just for the comedy of horrors this game is. Its always fun to see interesting made up team names, uniforms and stadiums. I in no way am telling you to buy this or even rent this if you have to pay just to rent this game. I have to give this game a 6 for all the unique things they tried to do and the sheer maddeness of their camera angles.

Ed Jones writes exclusively for CloudFantasy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good for the FIRST TRY

posted by Danman321 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played the demo for this game and was amazed. I haven't seen such a hard-hitting football games since well ever, Compared to the videos i've seen on madden 11, i was really dissapointed with the gameplay i was seeing, i thought that EA would maybe atleast get the defense right, atleast, but they ofcourse didn't. Let me Show you some examples, the two ton right foot, sucktion blocking, sucktion animation, repetive tackling, catching, and dissapointment, and to top it all off MORPHING, I've never seen any of those problems on Backbreaker and this was their first try, Madden has had about almost twenty tries and every year a faliure, maybe they change this not important or they added one more tackle animation who cares there needs to be good and not suction tackling in order to be a football game. Now Backbreaker fluent tackling system good and realistic running controls maybe the running itself is a little off but it's their first try, the graphics had to be limited beacuase EA couldn't share the NFL license because they were getting beat by the opposition, Good blocking i mean excellent blocking, Defence probobly the first game that got defense right since 2k5 and apf2k8, Backbreaker is a must rent and if you like it buy it too Backbreaker does have glitches but they're funny, and you can go to youtube and get the NFL teams too so there you go should be the game of the year in sports. So i'm giving it a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by bushviper (COCHRANTON, PA) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Well lets see its a fun game once u get use to the camra and the switching players...although i still cant pass worth beans with the set up they have very hard ill get it but will take time..

love the custom stuff gameplay seems a lil week compard to maddan for exp. to intercept all ya have to do is get infront of the WR and it auto does it for u... for me that sucks i want to be able to do it myself

picking plays same as madden although i do love the pick ur player b4 u get on the field. annimation could use a bit of a tune up tho feels not right after madden. not sure if ppl notice this but i think i see frame rate issuses when the computer punts teh ball seems like he goes really slow.

but all in all a very fun game if u can get use to the controls totally diff then madden just do the training first b4 u do anything else and it makes it a lil easier atleast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT!!!!

posted by scottnc18 (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the worst games i have ever played, what a disappointment to everyone that loves football games. it makes the repetative madden games look amazing. the hitting is awesome but the game shouldve stayed on the ipod cause 1st person gameplay is horrible. the franchise is boring. i just recieved the game today with high hopes and after playing 1 game in the franchise mode i am sending it back.. HORRIBLE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by bmyze316 (WATERVLIET, NY) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the camera angle is unplayable for a football game. The camera shakes and jumps all over the place and is extremely too close with horrible angles. The controls are too touchy, the number of plays in the playbook is a joke. If they had a normal camera angle and traditional setup for a football game it might have a chance but if you can't see the field you cant play. I know madden has gotten a little repetitive and hasn't fixed some of it's problems (blocking, dropped interceptions, etc.) but when a new football game comes out like backbreaker you realize how much better madden really is. Sorry Backbreaker but your game is horrible, and I can't wait for Madden to come out. Even if Madden doesn't fix it's problems it is still 10 times better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Football Game Ever

posted by Bronco07 (PAPILLION, NE) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'm glad I got this through GameFly and didn't actually buy it. The gameplay is horrible and you only get to pick between 8 plays (4 running or 4 passing). I can't believe that they wasted such good graphics for a football game with such sub par game controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

To: 505 Games

posted by XisRAW (CRESTWOOD, IL) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good football experience!

posted by JerryG96032 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Backerbreaker, First of all this is not Madden, So if you are more of a madden player then stay away from this title. This game is more about the on field experience opposed to the simulation of the game. The hits are really nice, The catching animations are solid, The A.I is pretty good. Actually react to the plays opposed to being forced into certain actions. No suction cup tackles. The only downside to the game, Well a few downsides would be the hits. I know, I know, I said the hits were great, But sometimes the hits get a little extreme, where as a defender getting trucked may slide 30 yards across the field, However it is pretty funny at times. So still not a deal breaker. The other thing is the generic teams, however there is a fix for that. Simply google backbreaker NFL rosters for Ps3, click the OS forum. instructions there. those are the onyl two issues with the game. Pretty great football experience! 7/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

More like neckbreaker trying to follow the camera

posted by mich666 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The game had great promise from the idea. The controls were pretty sad, totally different from any football game I have ever played. The game probably would have been better if the camera view was not so screwy, it made it hard to really enjoy the game or even get any good hard hits to really punish somebody. I give it a 2 in hopes the developers will make another but change the controls and definitly the camera view, or at least give us a choice of views we would like to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

booo

posted by prince12 (NORCROSS, GA) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

movement

posted by blade3627 (MCKINNEY, TX) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

after playing the game i say the controls are hard to use like the lob or the tackle and the juke it needs alot of work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rating BACKBREAKER

posted by anwor1985 (JAMAICA, NY) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Do not waste your time or money, I REPEAT DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY, renting this game. I don't know where to start or where to end. All I can say is DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

solid game

posted by KosMos42 (GRAHAM, NC) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

First off let me say this is a solid football game...I am not realy a fan of the sport myself although i used to be in my younger days. I rented this game off of a friends advice.

The gameplay itself takes time getting used to. Its almost like re learning how to play video games. I personally found this game to be to challenging as i could never get the hang of it and the camera issues made it to much of a challenge.

This is the first sports game i played in which i litterally neve knew if i was going to win or not, although it was more of a unpolished game for me. The franchise mode or road backbreaker was very ejoyable and i thought i had good depth to it.

All in all this is great new direction for the footbal genre anyone that enjoys football games should at the very least give this a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste the time renting this game!

posted by neighbors (EAGLE GROVE, IA) Jan 25, 2011

Member since May 2006

The controls are sluggish at best. The gameplay is boring and there is no positive quality that makes this game rent-worthy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Backbreaker

posted by Sonic211 (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

BackBreaker is a football game for people who are tired of Madden. I am sorta one of those people(although I still like Madden). BackBreaker is definitly different. You can make your own teams, and/or you can play as one of the game's teams. I like BackBreaker, but I still choose Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

well hmmmm.....

posted by tripwire46 (STRAWBERRY PLAINS, TN) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I'm torn on this game i don't know if i should praise it because it plays unlike any football game i have ever played or if i should put it down because of its horrible controls either way this game is probably one of those games that each individual's experience will differ its worth playing once just to tell for yourself ....... just be forewarned the controls are the most difficult i've ever used for a football game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh

posted by maxflite09 (ROSEBURG, OR) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

So, I got this game due to previous experiences with euphoria, and overall , well, it wasn't that great. The create a custom team option is alright, and much like all euphoria games its unique style in physics is amazing. However, gameplay was terrible. The camera angle first of all was stupid, ground level action cams are great for games like Mario, but not football, you kind of need to know what's going on around u. The AI to first person is all kinds of dumb, when u catch the ball, if ur fortunate to do so, the camera rarely switches angles fast enough for u to run towards your own end zone. I found myself running 20-30 yards at times for a great loss, not knowing I was. Overall, this game has amazing physical and potential, but they fell WAY short on delivery when they attempted to make it the opposite of madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not the best

posted by madman5677 (MONDOVI, WI) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Ok,I played this game for a couple hours and i gotta say it was fun, the tackles were unique and had alot of fun putting the best team against the alberquerce atoms and smearing them. I think the best part of the game was actually the exbehtition i didnt have a lot of fun with road to backbreaker or season.The tackle alley was HORRIBLE! i got to wave 88 with 58 lives left and went down to 0. overall:4
+good gameplay
+unique tackles
-tackle alley
-RTBB
-season

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not madden

posted by deadbabyje (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Well this is a new take on football. The controls are difficult to get used to and you never really do. There isn't many plays to choose from and the selection changes randomly. It is a challenge. There were no real big hits or anything like that in my game play (or any i heard). The way it is described i thought it may be a little like nfl street where you could really destroy some players with big hits or even rough them up more. There was none of that. If you like madden or are expecting a rough hard hitting game don't bother picking this up. I give this game a 3 out of 10. I personally will stick to madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse