Rent Back to the Future - The Game for PS3
view large frontback

Back to the Future - The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.0

783 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining if you grew up playing adventure game

posted by DK1102 (REDDING, CT) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great if you grew up a fan of adventure games from LucasArts and Sierra. The Monkey Island Series, Maniac Mansion, Space Quest are the kinds of games that BTF reminds me of. Telltale Games originally released 5 "episodes" online that you could buy individually and you played the game 1 episode at a time. This was done to keep costs low in case a series bombed and wasnt popular, allowed for the short attention span of today's society and allowed for the instant gratification of not having to wait years for a new plot of game to come out. A new episode was released just about every month. This game is simply a collection of those 5 episodes. So if you played the Telltale series on PC, you have already played this game.

I gave this an 8 because the plot is fun and I could easily see it being part of the movie series. They introduce some new characters and have fun with the idea of multiple time lines. The animations are decent and the writing is pretty good, all be it a little on the cheesy side, but thats ok in my book.

Demerits: First, the controls. This game was designed to be played with a mouse and feels clunky when played on a controller. Rather than have your control stick act as a pointer capable of moving all around the screen, all items on screen are easy to find as you simply use the right control stick to scroll through them. There is no challenge in "finding something" like in older adventure games. There is never a time when the control hinders or punishes you, but you can tell it wasnt designed to be played on a console system. Second, is presentation. Rather than move onto the next episode when you finish one, you have to back out of menu screens and select the next episode. Think of having to watch a DVD movie chapter by chapter instead of the play movie feature. This doesnt take away from anything, but I felt it could have used some more polish. Its not a deal breaker, but certainly frustrating after finishing the first episode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool

posted by SlickJC (CLAYTON, NC) May 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was definitely a rental. Actually it wouldn't be a bad purchase, it's only $20 new. I liked the simplicity of the game, the story was interesting. A full feature movie really could have been made from it. I'm a fan of the Back To The Future movie series, it looks great on Blu-Ray by the way. I hope they get creative and make another one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Back to fun! ... watching

posted by Supermestizo (GOODYEAR, AZ) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's not a real game, but it's fun to watch and has some serious and easy trophy monster advantages. Rent it for sure just to watch and get lots of easy trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is a great kiddie game but thats it.

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My 3 year old son & i are having a blast playing this, but it is definatly kiddie. Im an admited Back to the Future fanboy i love the series. So maybe thats why i enjoy it more than it deserves. The graphics suck, the controls are lousey, & the "story" is pretty lame, but i am enjoying it simply because my son loves sitting on my lap & playing it with me, so if you have little ones & arent looking for a great game its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, for what it is

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Most of the other reviews here are negative, and I just don't buy into that. If you look at what this disc is, it does a great job. It's a point and click adventure that was made to be downloadable episodes. Through that medium, it tells a fun and light hearted story in the Back to the Future universe. It's that story that I enjoyed.

Yes, I used a guide to get through point and click stuff, since that isn't my thing. That actually took the game out of this disc, and made this a story. No, the graphics aren't that good, and it could have easily been done on a Wii (where the graphics would have been reasonable). But, the story was fun.

I'm actually surprised that I enjoyed this, but I grabbed the first episode off of the PSN (when it was, and still is, a free download), and it was the story I liked then, though it bored my wife. She's seen all the movies, so you might call her a fan. I've only seen the first movie, and now wish they were all on my existing subscription streaming service.

My suggestion to you is to grab the first episode on the PSN, if it's still free. If you enjoy that, you'll enjoy the rest of the story. If you don't enjoy the download, you haven't lost out on the shipping time. And if you're entertained by the story, but not the game play, grab a guide so you can just enjoy the story play out for you like an entertaining movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Telltale Style Point and Click Adventures

posted by Aeirou (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't know what group of people sat down, looked at the gaming market and said, hey.. let's make point and click games for PS3, but I hope it took a lot of convincing.

Anyway, Back to the Future is your average point-n-click adventure series pre-Walking Dead. I say pre-Walking Dead because Walking dead is Telltale's best point-n-click production. That being said, Back to the Future is still a fun ride to anyone that grew up with the movies and an excellent go between if you're taking a break from more serious titles of just looking for a casual game.

Graphically, this game is nothing special and it often lags for a few seconds when you make important decisions.

The story is surprising close to one you might expect from any Back to the Future story and isn't a disappointing tie-in.

Where you may actually lose focus is the gameplay. Despite a decent story filled with arcs and the relatively short campaign (8-12 hours) it all depends on how much point and click you can stand. This is said with special consideration to the "puzzles" you'll be dealing with in the game. Most of you will end up with a guide for the game to coach your journey through.

Last bit, for the trophy hunters out there... easy platinum. Ridiculously easy, but if you're renting it JUST for the platinum than you have some patience friend. I could never play this game if not for my love of Back to the Future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by jay12 (UNION CITY, TN) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

The storyline of the game is the best thing about it. Basically all you do is go around and talk to people. Moving around is very hard to do. Gameplay is very slow. Please save your time and watch paint dry, it would be more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For Fans of the Film Only

posted by foxbat (VAN NUYS, CA) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, it's a point-and-click adventure game where death is not a concern, so be aware. The main reason to play the game is because you are a fan of the Back to the Future movies and you want to see Doc and Marty in another adventure. Not a fan of the movies, don't bother. If you hate the old school point and click games don't bother.

As for the story itself, it's decent. It has it's moments. The game can't quite replicate the drama that was inherit in the films, partly because dying is not possible. There are a few nice bits, especially towards the end when Michael J. Fox does a guest voice. Marty's voice is not done by Mr. Fox, but another voice actor who at times does a great job and other times is just too squeaky. Doc is happily voiced by Christopher Lloyd.

So if you are cool about the fact the game is more of an interactive movie then a video game, and you like the series check it out. If you aren't, stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really????

posted by bubbahinklin (MARSTON, MO) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I really looked forward to playing this game since i am a HUGE fan of the movies. Was extremely disappointed in the graphics and the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this already came out earlier this yr

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

its ok game got original voice overs and very simple and easy to play you can easily get off the PSN for 20-30$ but for those wanted to rent very easy to play and very easy trophies to get for the disk based game i dont know if its got a plat or not but . anyway for the graphics they are not all too good for teltale or how ever you spell the makers name of the game but for a 5 episode game you cant really expect all that much. its good for a rental i just wise i would of known they was making it on a disk so i could of saved my money . RENT before you buy is best to describe this game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

More Like "Easy Trophies"

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Dec 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I like, no love, the movie "Back to the Future". Was a movie-to-videogame translation worth the (highly) possible failure to follow? I think not.

As an experienced gamer, i have gathered many trophies for my PS3 games and therefore, show them off. They are a challenge, and thats the reason i love Trophy Hunting (although i do sometimes take breaks from excessive challenge completion). I was searching for some quick, not-too-easy/not-too-hard games that would rake in some nice Trophies so i could buy that new theme for my PS3 homescreen. So i got this, figuring, why not test this game out and write a review as well?

Storyline: Just watch the movie.

Sound/graphics: Left me a "bleh" feeling, considering i was just playing Skyrim and Battlefield 3 the other day. The transition from those games to this was not easy on the eyes, and i believe you gamers know what i mean.

So in conclusion, this is an easy way to get that new theme you've been dieing to have for your PS3, or maybe a new DLC that everyone's been talking about. But it, under no circumstances, should be rented for the purpose of actually wanting to sit down and enjoy a good game. Because its not.

Well there you go. Im back on the PS3 Review buisness, doing my thing. Keep in tune, and remember, :food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even entertaining

posted by Holtzy24 (BEEMER, NE) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hate to say it.....

posted by MrChase (SANTA ANA, CA) May 6, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am a HUGE fan of the movie series, I really am.

But this game SUCKS. Sorry Marty and Doc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

idk

posted by timsav (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it's a boring game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Horrible. Don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Buy the older game

posted by Randyjr1193 (THELMA, KY) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Buy the older game, it was a lot better. The game is alright, but not worth the price. I will wait until t goes under $20 then i might buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

:(

posted by unit34 (OSCODA, MI) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Big fan of the movie, but not some much this game. I wanted to like the game, but was very disappointed with the whole thing. I could in no way recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its fun that's all

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Its fun really easy if you want trophies but not get to excited it if you ever played games like this you know what I am talking about you will get bored easy a lot talking during the game which takes long time for you respond back...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by bigjr70123 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

i had so much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely a Rent

posted by niie (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) May 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The game is like any other Telltale developed game. It is all about the story. While the story may be a little hokey, that is the point of the game. After all it is a game based on the Back to the Future movies and they were all a bit hokey.

Gameplay is not overly complicated and it has its funny moments. Although, if you are looking for another game from Telltale with the depth of The Walking Dead you will be extremely disappointed. There is only a single choice that you can make that truly effects each chapter and it does nothing to effect the outcome.

For those trophy hounds out there, this is one of the easiest and shortest platinum trophies you will ever see. Took me 10 hours and that was with a trip the grocery plus cooking and eating dinner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Play for the story

posted by DrPhilter (MESA, AZ) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a rather unique game. I have to say I am not totally wild of Telltale's frozen camera technique. I prefer to look whichever way I please, particularly in a game world that is so dear to me. That being said the story made me wish it had been a movie instead. Logistics aside I still wish that were the case. This has all the makings of a great adventure with Marty and Doc. It travels to different times than we have seen, and involves a different kind of alternate 1986 than we saw in number 2. The only thing that would have really made this game awesome for me is traveling to the future. Maybe not 2015, but sometime in the 90s even would have been fun and it would have fit considering some of the obstacles you face in the game. When it is all said and done I let myself enjoy it as if I were watching an animated movie more than I was playing the game and progressing it myself. If you do that and love the Back to the Future mythos, you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

B2F

posted by sajohns (BURLINGTON, IA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

My boys love the movies and were so happy they could play the game. They had fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ok

posted by tomtargee69 (DERRY, NH) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

its a hard & fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

11 outta 10?

posted by x9ZachAttack5x (FRANKLIN, TN) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

This game was amazing...5.9 out of 10? LIES!!!! SO many critics on this website.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I Love Back to the Future game and the movies

posted by sunni81 (NORMAN, OK) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I love Back to the Future the movies where a hit with me. I still like watching them. The game was a point to click advanture game. I needed a break from shooters and my usual games I play. This game was very good. I like it the Trophies where easy to get. Sometimes u had to replay it to get them. But anyway that not why I play video games. But I did love the game. And almost finish with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse