Rent Back to the Future - The Game for Wii
view large frontback

Back to the Future - The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.8

168 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Back to the basics of adventure games

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Back to the Future – a movie that came out in the 1980’s and featured Michael J. Fox as the time travelling McFly. This game takes place a year after that.
Seems Dr. Brown has taken the Delorean time machine for a spin back to 1931, and gotten himself arrested for arson. The Delorean time machine goes back to 1986 (that’s the present in this game). That’s when Marty McFly jumps in and goes back to 1931 to save the doctor.
But one important thing about the movie is that a slight change in the past can have huge repercussion in the present, and it’s no different in this game. Before long, McFly and Brown have accidently created an artificial reality where his town in a police stat where nobody has any rights.
In order to set things right, you solve puzzles by talking to people, gathering up items, using those items, and/or manipulating large objects. But just like many other games in the point and click genre, there are problems.
Some of the puzzles have solutions that don’t make sense, the controls are clunky, and the game runs really rough – to the point that it will infuriate several players.
But the story is really good, and there’s a good hint system that’s almost perfect. Back to the Future, the Game one of the better adventure games that’s available. It’s a sure rent, and at $20, a good buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, Lacks in frame-rate

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Jan 10, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game, and it would get an 8/10 instead of a 6/10 if it wasnt for the glitchy frame-rate issues. The game is very choppy, and loads very slow. Plus the controls are a little funky to get use to. But im a die-hard Back to the Future fan, so once i got into this game, its pretty cool if you can just ignore the choppiness and get use to the control layout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Scott!

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a Back to the Future fan, you’re guaranteed to like this game. Although I was never really into point and click games such as this, I decided to try it because it's Back to the Future. If they ever were to make a Back to the Future game, it would have to be a point and click game like this. Back to the Future just isn't that kind of movie; you can't turn it into a legit action game. That would be like making an action game out of a romantic comedy, you just don't do it. That's where the old Back to the Future games went wrong for the most part. Some of the puzzles are pretty challenging and really get your mind into the game, which in turn aids in engrossing you in the story. The story isn't quite as good as that of the trilogy, but it's more entertaining in the sense that you're in the story. And in a way it serves as the Back to the Future 4 we've all wanted, in a similar way that the 2009 Ghostbusters game serves as a Ghostbusters 3. The story starts off a bit predictable and somewhat of a rehashing of the movies. It goes from stopping Doc from being murdered in 1931, and preventing the Tannens from becoming a powerful mafia family. But then the plot evolves into an alternate 1986 where Doc rules Hill Valley alongside his wife Edna as they try to create a race of "perfect" humans. It also looks a little deeper into the ancestries of the characters. We get to see Marty's grandfather Artie McFly, and his great grandfather Willie McFly (who was in Back to the Future 3 as an infant). We also get to see a teenage Doc and the conflict with his father, which lead to him to becoming scientist. And we also meet Biff's father Kid Tannen, a 1930's gangster. However there is quite an abundance of graphical issues. They're all glitchy and they jump around, the dialogue isn't always in sync, and there are the very rare times where Marty will disappear. That may be different on other versions of the game, but if you're a fan, you should still check these games out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wasn't what I thought it would be

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thought there would be some actualy gameplay. Played the game for a good 3 hours but it was mainly just finding clues and asking people questions and searching for items. Thought maybe it would be more involved than that, so was glad I rented and didn't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's okay game

posted by wendy22893 (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Jun 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

I wish it was better but it gets boring ........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost a good game...

posted by Senneker (WAYLAND, MI) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

If you can get your head around the lag that happens excessively and the long load times, there's a interesting story hidden underneath. I'd recommend it to anyone who loved the movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very clunky game play, but a lot of fun!

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

Okay, negative stuff out of the way first: the game play on this is really clunky, like the title says. Sometimes almost distractingly so. You get the feeling the company that made this really wasn't given enough money to animate everything properly, so they just kind of threw things together quickly under a deadline. Getting to the next chapter isn't the easiest thing nor is saving the game, and sometimes even clicking things doesn't always work very well. :(

Even with all of that, the game is still a lot of fun! Great to hear Christopher Lloyd again, and the actor who plays Marty sounds just like Michael J. Fox. Whoever wrote this must have been quite a fan, because the characters seem right on, and everything feels very much in the spirit of that universe. I sat down with this game intending to give it just an hour of play and then go on with the rest of my day off, and instead spent the next NINE hours with it! I'm sure for the hard core gamers, this is nothing, but for me this is an exceedingly rare event!

So, while the game has a lot of problems, if you're a fan of the movies you should give it a try. I'm happy I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Back to the Future

posted by atryan13 (CORTLAND, NY) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I like this game, It brings me back to 1985 when the movie came out.
It was a little gard to play but its a good game.
Thank you Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Must Play for Back to the Future fans!

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This is not the most polished on the wii but it is one of the more higher quality. This is a simple point and click adventure game. If you played Tales of monkey island you will be familiar with the playstyle of classic adventure games only broken up into five bitesize chunks that arn't too confusing or long. The story takes place about 6 months after Back to the Future Part 3, where the Delorian travels to Marty in 1986 and you soon find yourself in multiple time periods that all aboud Doc Brown.

Each chapter takes about two hours to complete if you take time to explore the world, and you should. This game is jam-packed with cool Eighties refrences to things from Wierd Science, to Star Wars, and even Tron.
The best part of this game is easily the sound quality and attention to music and voice acting, its so reminiscent of the classic films that you can easily overlook the cartoonish graphics.

The bad parts of this game is the port to the wii. The graphics don't look as good as it's pc counterpart and the framerate can be terrible at times. This game also tends to have frequent loading that interupts the gameplay. However since this is not the type of game that needs lightning fast reflexes of boasts mind-blowing graphics. these issues can easily be overlooked.

A Wholey satifyiny experience with plenty of charm and great respect for it's source material, Back to the Future Tha Game is a very fun, very casual point and click experience That fans of the films have to love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

back to the future for WII

posted by joonbug06 (PASS CHRISTIAN, MS) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game would not load at all on my WII, I tried cleaning my machine but kept receiving an error. So I tried another game and it worked fine then attempted B2F again with no success.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Back to the "STORE"

posted by camp (FAYETTEVILLE, NY) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Game wouldn't load,didn't work at all.
Got as far as the "select a chapter or scene"whatever, looked kind of "cheesey!" Then it kicked me out to the Wii
menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Slow

posted by morty3 (OELWEIN, IA) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

While we love the idea and concept (who doesn't love BTTF??), the game play was way too slow to make this game interesting. If it was, say, Lego BTTF, that would be a lot more fun. As it is, not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for fans

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

Bound to be enjoyable for any fan of the Back to the Future film franchise. The story, writing, and voice acting are all great (they found an amazing Michael J. Fox sound-alike to play Marty), and it's loaded to the brim with fan service. It's clear that the makers of this game know the source material well, and revere it. The frame rate lags a bit, but hey, it's a point-and-click adventure; it doesn't have to run as smooth as silk.

So, yeah, if you love Back to the Future, then give this all-new adventure a spin. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Back to the Future

posted by acetab_001 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Boring and long!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!

posted by art5124 (WILMINGTON, CA) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The first few minutes into it i was bored and the 'interactive conversation is boring as well...the charactersmove slow and the graghics worse than of Call of Duty Wii.... I dont even recomend renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »