Rent BAJA: Edge of Control for Xbox 360
view large frontback

BAJA: Edge of Control

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.2

1889 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unfair Rating

posted by IISHAGII (grapeland, TX) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game is not as bad as the rating. Sure it has it's bad points, all games do, but a 5 is completely unfair. No way derserving of a 10, but it's a good solid 8.
You'll hear people say "The graphics aren't that great". And I agree. But this is a racing game. I'm usually too busy racing to give a flip about the graphics.
And you'll hear people complain about the vehicles. This is as close to a "real" sim as I've seen for an off road racer. Everything these days is so arcade that it's not actually racing. These cars don't handle well, you know, like a REAL CAR? Hitting bumps can lead to unpredictable car attitude....you know, like a REAL CAR?
If you want a car to handle well, you have to actually go in an tweak the set up. (again, like a REAL CAR) And since most of these people have no clue what spring load, dampers, and gear ratios even mean, much less how to use them, it leads to bad reviews.

The only real complaint I could come up with is the collision part of the game. When you collide with another car on the track, there's no prediction to the outcome, and usually no way to steer or brake out of it. You're at the complete mercy of the AI car. So it's best just to avoid the other cars the best you can.

This is a very good game. If you want arcade junk, where you win every race a lap ahead with the default set up, you won't like it. If you want a game that actually makes you work for a win, you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You know, give it a chance.

posted by Bhazulle (FERRON, UT) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I droppped this in, fired it up and went meh, looks like xbox. Played a couple races and if it was not just like tearing across the desert. (I have done this a time or two in real life) Period. Uncontrollable one player posted. You bet. Spot on uncontrollable. Beautifully uncontrollable until you get the hang of it. Some folks just hate a game that does not steer, brake, accellerate for them and does not have endless nitro boosts to compensate for thier complete lack of hand eye coordination. Sub par graphics? Yeah. But a decent framerate no matter whats on the screen. Try that with 10 square miles of desert at photo realistic renderings. So yeah, I played it. I enjoyed it. And even with some minor collision issues, think I am going to finish this off and select keep it. Decide for yourself. Dont let Moe, Larry, Curly and me make up your minds. Many a great game is never played that way. And at worst your out a couple days return time. At most you'll walk off a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do you have a steering wheel

posted by ADAM1989 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The game is actually really fun if your a hardcore realistic baja racer and you have a steering wheel and play in first pearson view that's what makes this game fun its still fun with a controller but not nearly as good i like the fact that you do do the baja 1000 and it takes over 3 hours to finish the race, i dont know why every bodys giving it such a bad review mabee because its really hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's not perfect so I can't give it a ten.....

posted by Londogg (Catheys Valley, CA) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

you can only believe a hand full of these reviews and the rest just go along with the crowd. High anticipation and a few 10s equals 10 all around, even if the game is complete rubish. If the first review says it's no good then it must not be good. What ever.

If your looking for a simulation off road game that kicks azz you'll be looking for awhile since we haven't seen one yet, but if your looking for game that is fun and you can play for awhile well here ya
go. The graphics aren't the best but by far not the worst. Game control is very arcade but good since your flying through the desert or where ever you might be. This game does rely heavily on the set up of your ride. If you want to have any chance of being a competitor you need to pick the right ride and tweak it.

When all is said and done this is a solid pick as a rental. It's fun and can be challenging the graphics I think are pretty nifty though not perfect. This is just a game after all, but it's not perfect so I give it a 8 out of 10. Play it it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but you have to love off road racing.

posted by MXNCREW (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a good game overall, the first of this type and I had been waiting a long time for this one. The controls are a bit tough if you're used to forza or GT, but that's the way it feels in the sand and dirt so its true to its environment. You do need to love off road racing to like this game so if you dont like Baja dont even bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why can't they make a Racing game............

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 6, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Where the Ai Cars try and avoid running into you for no reason instead of the ai cars running into you for no reason except to make it Impossible for you to win races in the Higher Leagues. That is Nothing but Lazy good for nothing Programmers I Gave this game a 3 but i think thats far to high a rating for this Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

baja :edge of control

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I was so stoked to get this game and have officially been dissapointed.The vehicles are uncontrollable,sound track is horrible with a very small number of songs so you are forced to listen to the same thing constantly.Tuning changes are barely noticeable and online play is glitchy.Online with other players all I heard were complaints so that tells you just how bad it really is. I give it a D-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OMG This game sucks !!!

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I`ve tried and tried and tried to love this game but i just can`t do it, i keep on playing hoping it`ll get better, but it does`nt.Firstly i`ve read some reviews comparing it to Dirt,which had me looking forward to this game.Do not expect this game to be like Dirt.
The main thing that lets this game down are the graphics,omg they are so bad.Some tracks look nice but when your car looks like a lump of plastic driving around it, it kinda defeats the object.Driving through mud and water on every track leaves no dirt on your car???.You see hardly any dust kicked up from the back of your car???.This is offroad right??
Cars handle badly, gets better the longer you play, but thats because you`ve adjusted yourself to the bad handling.I found it easier just to not use a brake at all , ease up on gas around corners.Foot brake slows you down too much,hand brake is 50/50 on whether you`ll fly around the corner like a pro or fly off some cliff or end up in the ocean.
Also noticed if your on Xbox Live there seems to be some kinda lag between when you press a button on the menu screens until it actually changes.Tried other games they work fine, so it`s not my controller or Live connection.
On the plus side, if you have the patience for this game it`ll def last you awhile, lots of races and leagues to enter.But thats the only good thing about this game.
Overall this game plain sucks, if you have`nt tried it already rent Dirt.This is just a waste of a game to rent,look for something else to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had potential, but doesn't deliver.

posted by Vexxed (VACAVILLE, CA) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just lacking in so many categories by today's standards, but the core of it, the racing, isn't bad. It isn't great either, unfortunately.

While the driving physics are good, the collision physics are horrible. It's never satisfying to slam into other drivers, and when you get airborne, you just sort of glide down to a soft landing. There really isn't a damage model either, while the panels of your truck can get knocked off, they never simply get dented or scraped, and having a door swinging open just seems silly in this context.

There's also a huge lack of customization options. You get a tiny selection of colors to choose from when selecting/buying a vehicle, and can have a single sponsor's decals on your ride. Compared to games like Grid and Forza 2, that's just pathetic.

Overall, while the environments look great, and the racing can be pretty fun, Baja doesn't have the quality or depth to make it worthy of a purchase, but can make a decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Game

posted by matt75 (JOPLIN, MO) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was hoping that this game would be like an arcade version of Dirt, less realism and more fun. Well it has a lot less realism, but no more fun. The game starts out with film footage of off road vehicles flying around tracks, but when you start your first race you find a great looking landscape with a bad looking vehicle to drive. It would be on par to taking Lego Indiana Jones and putting him in the Assassin's Creed landscapes. There are no details when it comes to your vehicle. No dust cloud when starting or sliding, just some bad looking pixels that are supposed to be dirt flying.
The game play gets even worse. Driving straight is even a chore in this game. I guess it is supposed to simulate ruts in the road, but I find it harder to drive down a straight away then it is to drive around a curve. It has simulated damage, but the damage is not realistic. You can crash and roll your vehicle only to land on your wheels and drive off. Do that 3 or 4 times then you might have to start worrying about the damage to your vehicle.
Skip this one and get Dirt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Highly Customizable, vehicle you can't cotrol

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of potential. You can customize almost every aspect of your vehicle. But I couldn't get the darn thing to stay on the track. I know a little something about hauling sack off road in a truck. I'm a redneck living out in the middle of nowhere and I'll I've ever owned was trucks. I don't know what it is they were trying to reproduce but it's not realistic in my opinion. The races were too short, not giving you enough time to get to the front, and especially if you made a mistake. The AI is completely R-tarded. I didn't like this game, I played a few races, got some upgrades and in the end I couldn't get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good

posted by zohan1998 (AURORA, CO) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is but after a while the game gets kind of boring. But the grafics are great and if you have a HD T.V the grafics are crazy or if you have a XBOX 360 EILTE. Over all if you like racing games this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dont believe the negetive hype!

posted by jussomeguy (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) May 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been putting off playing this game because of all the bad reviews, however due to the lack of off road racing games for 360, i gave it a try. i have to say, this game is really fun! sure the graphics arent the best, but mostly its just the vehicles that look sub-par. the environments look pretty good with amazing draw distance and zero framerate drops. Besides, graphics arent the most important thing if the game is just fun. The gameplay is addictive and pretty realistic. I live in Arizona and frequently go off roading and this really gives you the thrill of speeding down dirt roads barely keeping your truck under control (hence the title of the game). I have also had the extreme privilege to ride along in a Trophy truck and the game version feels pretty dang close to how that felt on the dirt at 120mph, just not as much adrenaline or soiled shorts!

I think the people that hate on this game are expecting the car to drive itself. Dirt racing is extremely difficult and nerve wracking, as well as fun and exciting and this game captures it well. The main thing to keep in mind is how to feather the throttle while navigating unstable terrain. The game really reminds me of the buggy and truck races from Dirt, another great 360 racer. The live action race videos in the menus are awesome as well. found myself watching a few every time I was selecting a class. I rarely care enough to write reviews for others, yet after reading the reviews and then playing the game, i feel its an injustice to let this go unheard. Off road fans will feel right at home with Baja. So if you are somewhat interested in this game but were put off by the bad reviews and score, or just looking for something new in the off road department, rent it, you wont be disapointed. I have already kept it and for me, at 15.99 i feel like i stole it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible.

posted by ZackOdom (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Basically this game sucks.
the only thing positive here is the inclusion of both the jesse james truck, and the Terrible Herbst vehicles....Other than that, I cannot stand the feeling of driving on the moon.
Going off of even the smallest lump.jump in the track, can send your vehicle tumbling out of control...I had more fun playing smugglers run....
Yeah I just said that lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Clearly Needed a Bit More Time in the Oven

posted by WeaponAndy (KALAMAZOO, MI) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like Baja. Since the old school days I've loved off road racing games and I've loved being able to tune my cars to perfection on these off road tracks. THQ tried to deliver on both of these aspects and they pretty much failed. I tried several different classes of cars on multiple tracks and all of them felt like I was floating on the ground. There was the rumble to tell me differently, there were the tire tracks and mud flying everywhere to tell me differently, but no matter what it always felt like I had no control over a car that was flying just over the ground (I tried about 8 or 9 different cars on 2 or 3 tracks just to make sure it wasn't the track and the specific car).

After about an hour of non-career racing I decided to check out the career mode to see if maybe a tuned up vehicle could tackle these roads without any hassle. After fifteen races and multiple parts swapped out-some of them which raised my tires and brakes to their fullest potential-there was still no change. I never felt like I had control of my vehicle.

Beyond the controls there's something wrong with the graphics. I couldn't tell what it was until I got to the level that has a roller coaster and a hotel...there's no people. There's no rolling tumbleweeds. There's nothing but your cars. Every track is a phantom zone of racing.

This game could have also used a stat system for each car. You cannot tell which car is going to be better in car select, so you're forced to just blindly choose by how cool it looks and hope it's bite is as awesome as it's bark. All in all I'm giving Baja a 3. It's a game I wanted to like and it's not unplayable-it's just-who will want to play it because it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad bad bad

posted by vader3234 (KINGSBURG, CA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very bad all around, some of the tracks don't even look humanly possible. Don't waste time on this, wait for something better. Get DIRT that was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by JrideDGAF (JOSHUA TREE, CA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game day of release at Game Crazy.. I was totally amazed on how real they could make a game. This is the most realistic off-road racing game I have ever played. Everything from the Suspension on the vehicles to everything. There are over 95 tracks so you wont be racing the same track twice for a long while. I have yet to play online because I could never find a match because not many people have this game. There is also a race on here which is called the BAJA 1000 which actually takes about 3 1/2 hours to complete.. It is insane.. Pick this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10

posted by CODGODLORD (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

UMM YA FIRST WAS FUN BUT AFTER A WHILE IT GOT BORING AND I HAD TO GIVE IT A 10 FOR LIKE THE FREE RIDE AND ON LINE BUT IF IT WERE FOR CARER IT WOULD BE A 4.5! HEY ALSO ADD ME ON XBOX LIVE CARCRAZY1122! HAVE FUN ON LINE WITH THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Baja Edge of control Beyond the edge of suck.

posted by Dragunlord (Neversink, NY) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. The AI is supposed to be easy -- it is not at all. The AI racers take off and race a perfect line all the time. If you make one mistake -- You lose. Dont' buy it -- Don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good at all

posted by dwrock0 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Save yourself the time and don't get this game it is very disappointing if you are looking for a fun racing game. The vehicles are nearly impossible to handle and the graphics are sub par. If you looking for a fun off road racing game stick to Dirt or just wait for Dirt 2 to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweat game

posted by shorter (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

one word aaaaawwwwwsssssooooommmmm- eeeee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so great

posted by CharlieKly (NEWARK, DE) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Thought this could be really good - but the graphics arent great at all, and its not fun because you can barely stay on the track. Really odd, and if youve ever placed a game like Motorstorm or Dirt youll wonder why you even wasted your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a shame..........

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Sep 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I have been looking forward to this game for months. I finally got my hands on it, what a waste of my time. I have seen better graphics on the PSP. The driving physics are arcade. Why would a developer put out such a sub-par game like this when gamers have choices like DIRT. What a shame, leave this one alone and rent DIRT, you will enjoy it much more....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game just plain sucks.

posted by EliteGame (HANCEVILLE, AL) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I never seen a racing game this bad online and offline. online is a joke just a joke.

thanks for gamefly didnt waste $65 on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Baja edge of control

posted by RMRThorson (CORNING, CA) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Overall fairly fun game with ability to last you a while before beating the game. However as you get further into it you figure you can make it all the way to the final 1-2 races, winning by huge margins without upgrading your car. Then its hard for the last race of the class, then it repeats with the next class easier then the last race of the old class. just overall fun but difficulty lacking consistency.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse