Rent BAJA: Edge of Control for PS3
view large frontback

BAJA: Edge of Control

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.4

824 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Major Disappointment

posted by gamingrule (TRENTON, GA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I picked this game I was very excited, however I was let down. The graphics were pretty good but the gameplay was not. The vehicles responses were somewhat delayed. Whenever I handbraked I expected the sliding around a bit more this did not happen. It was somewhat amusing but it got old quick. The game was a little difficult as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Edge of control is an excellent title!

posted by jboughto70 (VACAVILLE, CA) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love (or even like) racing games, you're gonna hate this game! The reason this games title is "Edge of Control" is because you will be on the edge of controlling your anger and frustration while playing the game! I lasted for about an hour, hoping that when I moved up to better vehicles, the vehicles would behave better, but I didn't have the patience. When you slide around a corner, thinking it was perfect, only to find your vehicle turning up a hill for no apparent reason - so you correct only to find that the car wants to constantly turn up the hill (which is opposite of real world physics), then you will understand the title. It is nearly impossible to control the vehicles because the steering dynamics are all messed up. Sometimes you have to steer all the way to the left in order to drive straight. The only way you know that the game is done steering the car to the right is when your car actually responds and begins to turn left. But be quick, if you dont stop your "counter steering" imediately you will find yourself off the road. If you memorize the tracks, then you may be able to cope because it seems to do these quirky things at the same points on a given track. It doesn't matter if your stomping on the gas or just cruising along, you must counter steer all over the place. I can't even believe this game is on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better then average...

posted by cooter2008 (ROCHESTER, MN) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For fans of any of the atv offroad fury titles...this would certainly be in the ranks of those...namely The first or second. I do believe the game got repetitious quickly, but It's definitely worth checking out. I had alot of fun with the game and felt that the 4.99 I paid for a used copy was one of the best deals I've gotten for a good game like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Next-gen hackjob

posted by Greviewer (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Where to start with baja egde of control.

GRAPHICS: Baja brings nothing new, and actually makes you ask yourself "how is this running on my PS3, or 360?". and this isn't in a good way either. the technology behind the graphics is so old, even the nindendo wii has made less blurry, more colorfull and detailed images. the devoloper claimed you wouldn't see the same thing twice in the 300 mile baja race. well, they lied.. in a 3 hour race, after only 10 minutes i saw the same things over and over again. same plant life, same turns, same colors, same limited visuals.

PHYSICS: terrible, simply terrible, you can think the game is fun for a second (if you get passed graphics) then your vehicle goes falling off the side of a cliff for no reason. turning isn't responsive, the vehicles wabble, and the promises the devoloper made, about the track being realistic, are a lie.

SOUND: the 5.1 audio is basic, and very boring. the only good point about it, is the quality of audio is so low, and so basic, that it makes adjusting the speaker levels for your 5.1 surround sound system, somewhat simplified..

GAMEPLAY: i already covered this area in the physics section.. its simply not fun compared to most other off road racers. and brings nothing new to the table to make you want this game.

PRESENTATION: this is the worst part about the game. the menu is not only bland.. but its also blurry, low resolution, pixelated mess.. oh sure the game says it runs at 1080p, but a Nee for speed, or Atv offroad PS2 games has more detail.

OVERALL: this game in one sentence is this.. pixlated boring vehicles, pasted on top of a kids crayon colored drawing as a background, with a low resolution picture of the sky on top.. its the biggest next gen hack job, i have ever seen!..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Baja: Edge of Control

posted by Swayman (MIDDLESEX, NC) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is an excellent rendition of real world driving conditions in baja... the only complaint i can put forth is the Hill Climb races are the most frustrating and horrific events i've ever experienced until you figure out the perfect combination of clutch, gas and break, for every single track. The point to point, circuit and open class races are where the game gets fun. the graphics are slightly out dated, but if your not a graphics freak/moron you'll be able to truly appriciate the games attention to detail... the shock valve, spring rate, and shift point adjustments made me feel like i was truly working on my own project truck... which is good and bad because honestly im tired of working on the one in my back yard. however, once you get your ride tuned in the game, the experience is astounding. if your looking for a game which takes a little patience, and may remind you of gran turismo with dirt, then this is your one stop shop for one of the best gaming experiences available on the PS3, garunteed weeks of entertainment. The 1000 is where the game truly shines... the first time you race that on your tuned Trophy, you'll never want to go back to Gran Turismo again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Time

posted by kolt23 (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of the worst games I've played on the PS3. The graphics are terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Racing Game Ever

posted by outdrsmn80 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the worst racing game I have ever played. The graphics are terrible and the controls are worse. I have never seen a Baja car that you can rotate and pivot while in the air. Motorcycles and ATV's yes, but not full Baja cars. The makers of this game and the sponsors (Painless Wiring, West Coast Choppers, BF Goodwich, to name a few) should be ashamed to have their name on this game for people to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Try this game for yourself....

posted by crashrider (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I first have to say that this game is for the true enthusiast of the sport. That being said, hopefully you will give this game a chance. This game hits the nail right on the head if you are looking for that perfect game that doesn't have the overdone "nitro power-ups" and "health packs" and so on. I believe the reviews are not great because people haven't actually experienced desert racing. Being raised in that environment, I would say that this game is dead on.

It does have it's downfalls though; inconsistent frame rate (aka the video jumps a little when around lots of vehicles/plants) and, more of a personal flaw, no cockpit view.

These flaws are belittled by the incredibly large landscapes, breath-taking skies, and beautiful materials.

On top of that, the detail in the vehicles matches every other aspect of the game.

All the detail that went into this game really shines through.

So, definitely try this game for yourself and form your own opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are You Serious?

posted by Vortex292 (STEGER, IL) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm 87.3% sure that the N64 could handle this game. Just wait for Pacific Rift!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THQ Should be ashamed.

posted by Jeevz74 (DECATUR, GA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The PS3 version of Baja should never have been released. THQ should be ashamed at the poor quality of this game. The framerate when racing in any kind of pack is so low that the controls become unresponsive and it will probably give you a headache. The graphics are no excuse for this framerate either as it looks like a PS2 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad driving game

posted by fishoof38 (NORTH PORT, FL) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

not fun at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

edge of control

posted by reddeadfan (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

this was an alright game to a certain point but after that point you just get bored tpo death.one thing i found annoying is that the 4x4 class isnt even 4 wheel drive which just doesnt make sense to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PS3 with PS2 Graphics

posted by ArmyScout2 (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game was not up to my expectations. The graphics were not the normal PS3 quality. Very disappointed with this game. Music was very repetitive too lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better than expected

posted by FuntimeMom (ARLINGTON, TX) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

We had fun with this. Reminded me of MX ATV format. Agree with others hard to control. Nice graphics. Like the music selection. I really got this for my 3/4 yr old. He couldn't do it. He needs to use the SIXAXIS tilt control because he can't quite do stick. Especially, not on this. Doesn't give you sensor control option or I couldn't figure it out. He was very disappointed and frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by sean25fly (ROY, WA) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

this game is really boring, the graphics are alright, i wouldn't recommend this game to anyone its really boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the other baja game is better

posted by nickrus (BRONX, NY) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

i played both baja games, this one sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do not rent

posted by jon7980 (KEEGO HARBOR, MI) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

this game is IMPOSSIBLE to play. i would recommend grand tourismo instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

baja-edge of control

posted by ariescr09 (SAN MANUEL, AZ) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

should be edge of ps2 capability, loose controls, ps2 or even ps1 graphics, should have put something better in my game q. learn from my mistake, pick something else!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow!!! what a pile.

posted by sk8er2346 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game sucks. The handling sucks, the upgrade shop sucks, and the graphics are comparable to Hard Drivin' on SEGA. DO NOT RENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Disappointing

posted by bmeeks (VICTORVILLE, CA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

The graphics are outstanding but the game play is a little frustrating. My only complaint is the physics of the vehicles. When you enter a turn at 50 mph and hit another vehicle right in the side and it doesn't move from the line it was programmed to take, it gets a little frustrating. When you bang doors your car ends up sideways and the AI keeps going like nothing happened. Just isn't very realistic. Hopefully if there is a sequel they will improve on that aspect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BAJA

posted by TODADUNES (SAN MARCOS, CA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

THIS GAME COULD HAVE BETTER GRAFIX,BUT AS FAR AS THE WAY DESERT RACING,REALLY NOT BAD AT ALL,THEY DO NEED TO HAVE ALL RACES RANKED,,,GIVE A POINT TO TRY TO COMPLETE THE 1000.RATING,,7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Baja: Edge of Bad Control

posted by Storm78 (CLAREMONT, NC) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Graphics are great but that's where it stops. The average gamer will find the controls (well lack there of) to be horrible. It seem at times that the vehicles just go where they want to. When you hit bumps in the road you are suppose to use the mid-air controls to land. The biggest problem with that is there are times when you don't have time to correct for the bumps in the road because there are so many. Making it seem like the vehicle is more like a pin-ball. The computer, no matter what you do, will run its line. Even if it means going through you. Don't rent this game unless you are a hardcore baja fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

baja disapointing

posted by mjlucas6 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

The graphics should have been way better for being a PS3 game. The hill climbs were kind of lame because the hills were small, and the 4-wheel drive vehicles should have been able to make it over some of the hills I tried. Other that that it kept my interest for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waist of time

posted by JCDRAC (TOWNSEND, TN) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

The graphics are just ok and it has large environments but that's where it ends. Game play is not good at all. Hopefully the next version Baja 1000 that comes out 10/30/08 will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste Of Time

posted by ozzbad (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

There was a time when this games graphics would be considered amazing. 10 years ago

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse