Rent Avatar: The Last Airbender for Wii
view large frontback

Avatar: The Last Airbender

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS2, DS, GC, GBA, Xbox
GF Rating
5.7

489 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome show, Great game

posted by weaponx (VISALIA, CA) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2004

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I waited to play this game on the wii instead of another system and man was it worth it. The wiimotes capabilities make it really easy to get into the powers and the focus moves are also a nice touch. By all means this game is not perfect though. While the graphics were subpar the animations for the characters and their moves were very well done. The story was a good one i just wish it had toff in it and aang should have been more customizable with his powers, limiting him to just air limits what he could potentially be. Also the game should have allowed you to revisit old areas with appa instead of just always moving forward, especially if you miss a quest or two. All in all this was a great game and i really hope they do a sequel and improve the areas that are keeping this game from being awesome like the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A surprisingly good game...

posted by boopuft (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is far cooler than I expected. Maybe my expectations were low to begin with, but I was really surprised with the graphics and gameply. It plays like an RPG-complete quests, outfit your team, buy/sell, develop your character. The graphics are nice and if you watch the show, really keeps in line with the plot. I recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wii fun

posted by Iknowthis (GLENOLDEN, PA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This was the first game that I played on the wii outside of wii sports. So I was amazed by the game play, you have to swipe the wiimote up, down, left, or, right to do the special attacks. I found it felt natural and easy to use even when surrounded by enemies. Plus the focus tests were a fun challenge.

All and all I think that it was a good kid game, not to deep but fun with a decent story line. Although I do not think that I would of enjoyed it as much if I played it on a different system. Wii Rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good

posted by Soniccloud (SOMERSET, KY) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun! You run around kicking fire nation butt and going through the main story-line running into a variety of character from the series. you visit great locations in the fire. water, air and earth nations. You can switch through characters and like sakka ange, katara and momo! You can level up and learn new abilities which you set to flinging the wii-mote and certain directions.
The things I don't like about this game is, It doesn't take complete control of the Wii's Capabilities and that it does get a little repetitive after you go through mission after mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A supper good game

posted by christ (RICHMOND, VA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I think that this game is a supper good game. The reason why is that the Wii captures the game play very well. Also that the graphics are very good. You can really capture the characters moves. The only problem is that Toft is not in this game, but you have a earthbender named Haru instead. One minor problem is that the story in the game has nothing to do with the story in the TV show. Overall this is a great game.
Graphics-9
Game play-10
Missions-8
Attacks/moves-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just ok

posted by lemmings4u (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) May 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game is fun enough, but the Wii mote is not used to its full potential. During battle some commands become combersom trying to swing the wii mote through the air while keeping the character aimed in the right direction with the nunchuck.

Overall, its a good game worth playing once, but probably a better rental than purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Avatar the Last Airbender

posted by blahboy (PRINCETON, NJ) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok... I'm a big fan of the show. And I really liked this game. Its just that you only pretty much needed to walk and hit A. Also you violate abiut 25 animal abuse laws by KILLING wolves, Shirshues, Hogmonkeys, and cats. But still besides the bad animation, this game had good voice acting and was pretty dang fun to play. Thx.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good and Long Game

posted by Reviewer15 (FAYETTE, AL) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game doesn't exactly go along with book 1 but its still very fun. The controls are good and being able to play as Aang, Katara, Sokka, and Haru is really cool. I recommend getting the cheat codes for it and all the other Avatar games. I also Recommend this and every other avatar game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for the fans

posted by Joncres245 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

To any casual gamers who play this,you may find this game to be repetitive and fairly boring pretty quick once you figure out how to defeat bosses and the best strategy to kill enemies,even if most of them don't require any.For the fans of the Avatar series this game still offers a good deal and found it to be enjoyable.Being able to play as Aang, Katara, Sokka and Haru offers a lot of different attacks that can be executed.The Focus move feature, which you use to reveal hidden chests or access areas that aren't available to you is a little hard if you don't pay attention and that too gets rather tedious. You also need the right character in order to get it working. Like for instance if you need to focus move an area that is earth specific you need Haru and so forth. The only real tough boss fights are surprisingly the human bosses, like the fire nation jailer or the earthbender counsel. The others are all giant machines and they flash their weak point at you when you're able to hit.The fights aren't hard so much as just taking forever to defeat them. One other plus I can think of is the voice actors from the cartoons are there providing the voices again along with some new faces, and the cel shaded animation style made it real cool to watch. The humor is still here so be sure to get a laugh or two from this game, but as far as what this offers to casual gamers it's not a whole lot. I still recommend it just to try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Repetitive fun

posted by WiKK3D6iX (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

The title is really the point here. Very fun title fun the Wii, But to me, it just got old after awhile. I played through the entire campaign and it took about 6 hours. I think fans of the series will be more interested in playing this game. The controls for the Wii are fun, which is hard to come by for some titles. The graphics hold true to the cartoon, which is to say, it looks like a chinese american comic book. Which is good, for the fans. To best of my knowledge, the game follows the story from the series pretty well, so you won't be treated to any secret story segments or anything like that.

There are no game engine quarrels here though which is also hard to come by on the Wii. I have played through half of Avatar: The Burning Earth for 360, and I must say, that this game series is much more enjoyable on the Wii.

Overall, This game has motivated me enough to check out the other 2 Avatar titles for the Wii, but it has also not excited the poo out of me either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Simplicity

posted by drjsizzle (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game is enticing to any fan of avatar and is not bad at first dose. Game does eventually become very repetitive and the controlling is amazingly simple.

Pros: Easy controls, Easy to follow story line and objectives.

Cons: Extremely repetitive, no challenge for even moderately experienced gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Avatar the last air bender the game

posted by themaxgame (NAMPA, ID) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I am a big fan of the show when I tried the game it was amazing. With having up to 4 members in your party you can buy or find Item's you can build your group members to be powerful with special abilities only that member can do. You can fight anything from cats to bending machines with atleast 1 boss enemy at the end of each level if warriors are to easy. Take it from me this game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If You Like Baldur's Gate...

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Ok, this game is not Baldur's Gate or Champions of Norrath, but it is that type of game, just weak and cheesy in spots. When are the developers going to release a new Baldur's Gate or Champions of Norrath 2 player co-op? The Wii needs a high quality 3rd person action/RPG like that.....please!!!! Overall, not worth buying, but worth a try. A generous "7".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable

posted by codekitten (SHORELINE, WA) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Certainly not a challenging game for the long time gamer, but definitely enjoyable with good controls for the wii. Definitely kept me entertained for awhile with a storyline along the same lines as the cartoon series, but not the same. Overall, a good, fun time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by ssbfan (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game was ok but not as good as I thought it would be.You don't get to fight zuko.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One of the WORST games for the Wii

posted by Joey15 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

This game is boring. All you do is go and find an item and then you have to spend like ten minutes getting back to the place where you started. Has NO action!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Artwork not so good..

posted by galdon (ORANGE, TX) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

So far as game-play goes, it functions reasonably, though, with moves that tell you to hold Z then move the remote, you really need to press and hold while making that movement if you really want it to work on your first try.

What gives me a hard time are the graphics. I like the show, and when I saw the in-game graphics, I was highly disappointed, some lines were invisible, while some were poured on thickly, and it is obvious that the artist from the show had nothing to do with character design. Physical movements matched the characters reasonably, the mouths don't move right, and the eyes... just freak me out.

The game also allows you to play as Momo for collecting certain items. unfortunately it is in third person, but still in 'Momo vision' those who have not seen the show, that is where it shows what Momo sees, and its blurry around the edges and clears in the middle. In third person, that means the only thing you can see clearly is Momo, and the swirly blur gives me a headache after a while.

They do have customization, at each level, you can equip new skills, but you only have your main 4 for combo, then four defencive, offencive and special moves. An element not in the show at all however, is that you have to collect and equip your characters with armor and trinkets to make them stronger.

Overall, this was an attempt to make money off a show, and they could have done a lot better if they had a desire to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wonderful surprise

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

Pros:
This game surprised me with its in-game graphics and game-play. Control interface is simple and clever. Highly addictive with a good story to boot.

Cons:
Requires very little patience. Puzzle writing-don't know why the developers even bothered. Video slow way down when using special moves, it gets really bad. No speech, just subtitles.

Even though the cons are a nuisance, it shouldn't detract you from the main purpose: game-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much like Pokemon

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game felt like it really did a good job of making use of the wii remote and it felt like it was a good RPG as far as character development, weapon customization but it just had that corny kid feeling to it that didn't allow me to play it much longer although I felt like it had more to offer. Kindof like Pokemon it seemed to have a really cool idea or theme but it was just too young. This is a game that I think my 10 and 12 year nephews could play for months and tell me about for even longer but there are just too many other games out there for me to spend any more time on this. Buy it for your kid, it will make them think and it is a lot better than many of the bogus kids games that are based on movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beware if you are a fan

posted by bigbear20 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

this game dishonors the series by being a typical tv based game. Which means that this game has some good fewatures but none that redeam it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Standard.

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

The same thing w've seen about a million times before.

Gameplay: 6.0
Originallity for an action game: 1.0
Originallity in use of Wii-Remote: 1.0
Replay Value/Amount of time gameplay remains fun: 3.0
Story: 5.0

Gameplay:
It's pretty much every other action game ever. Attack, use special abilities, etc.

Originality:
Complete ignores the power of the Wii-Remote. In fact this game is probably better on gamecube.

Replay Value:
As with most action games it's more or less the same thing about 1000 times. Long enough, and with enough new abilities to learn to keep mild interest thoughout.

Story:
Follows somewhat closely to the show (from what I know of the show). Not bad, nothing to write home about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

would rather play marvel ultimate

posted by ferth750 (CARDIFF BY THE SEA, CA) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Good game but basically X-men or marvel ultimate in play. If you like those types but dig Avatar cartoon more, than this is for you. For me I'd rather be Captain America than a little bald kid with a stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »