Rent Avatar: The Burning Earth for Wii
view large frontback

Avatar: The Burning Earth

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, PS2, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

359 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but buggy

posted by yegman (ROCKLIN, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I've played through half of the game so far and have found it to be ok.

Pros:
Fun to play with the kids. The story is pretty close to the cartoon series. Puzzles are ok.

Cons:
The game seems to be half baked. It definitely needed to be kept in the oven for a few more months before it released. The controls fail sometimes. The cut scenes are not very good. The mouths don't move. They really didn't spend the time to fine tune the overall game.

Besides the downfalls (if you can get past them), it has been fun to play so far. Worth the rent, but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Avatar: The Burning Game

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Somewhat better graphics than before at 480i/p. Much more linear game-play than its predecessor (don't know if that is a good thing). You can practically jump right into the game. Funny storyline that was laughable, which didn't quite match the more seriousness of the game-play. Got away from the puzzle writing and set aside the subtitle stories.

Cons:
Don't want to be a nag, nag, nag, but there was so much lag, lag, lag, this will actually help you to lose and repeat levels constantly; especially when you are flying the beast. No widescreen support, longer load times, funky menu interface, awkward power-up setup system; takes some time to get used to. Moving camera angle was making me dizzy. Power-ups takes forever to do any real damage as it did in Last Air Bender (LAB).

I think the lag comes from the in your face graphics and the moving camera angle would not have been a very big deal for me if they kept to the same wide and small look as they did in LAB.

The game feels totally new and very different. Aang no longer has his staff, which I think made LAB so fun. I have played this game over the weekend and I am more than ready to send it back. Flying the bison is impossible because 1). LAG 2). LAG 3). LAG 4). Did I mention LAG 5). The darn bison does not turn. Instead of puzzle writing, they put in place a new awkward thing. Whether it be freezing water into an ice block, or earth bending, the controls seemed way off its mark doing these maneuvers. As far as I got to test it, to the end of book 2, you are no longer part of the whole gang. Instead, you are paired off most of the time.

The Burning Earth feels less polished than LAB and more like the first set of games released for the Wii as a test. It is also more challenging and linear.

-1 for the in your face graphics with lag.
-1 for the camera movement making me dizzy.
-1 for leaving out the staff.
-1 for unresponsive controlling of bison.
ran out of character spa

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avatar the last airbender (The Burning Earth)

posted by Link11 (MUNDELEIN, IL) May 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I think this game needs more chapters and bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEESSSSSSSSSOOOOMMMMEEEE

posted by Eddy2665 Aug 5, 2012

so cool so cool so cool so cool so cool so cool so cool so cool so cool so cool so ccool so cool so cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty fun but short

posted by Reviewer15 (FAYETTE, AL) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This might be the worst Avatar game. They didnt put much work into it. In cut scenes the mouths dont move and some graphics arent the best. Its also very short, not much to do. if your going to play i recommend that you use cheat codes but not one hit dishonor. that will make it even shorter. i dont really recommend this game but i do recommend the first and last!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Avatar The Last Airbender, This game is AMAZING!!!

posted by ilovavatar (TULSA, OK) May 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

First off I'd like to say that this game does not exactly explain where you are or what to do at the very beginning. It sort of just jumps into the action without the player even knowing so much as how to attack. But all previous players of avatar games should sort of know whats going on. Anyway, The game features several characters available to the player such as Aang, Katara, Sokka, Toph, Jet, Prince Zuko, and Uncle Iroh. All of the characters boast upgradable moves, combos, and special attacks! You can upgrade your moves simply by breaking lots of objects throughout the game. When breaking these objects they usually aloose a glowing vapor of some sort and they all go into a meter that once you fill all the way up you gain a level and get a new point which allows you to either upgrade your combo attacks, special or ranged attacks. But enough about that, this game has excellent animated movie shorts that are all based directly on the Avatar The Last Airbender show! The areas that the gang of two at a time (whichever two characters you have to use at that point in the game) travel through are simply breathtaking!! The amount of time and work put into this game must have been alot. But the story of this game pretty much follows the show, except seeing as there are some episodes or chapters that couldn't be put into the game since they had no action. But they crammed them all together. There are pretty much two chapters in one all throughout the game. Well the only bad thing that I can say about this great game, is that it was dissapointingly too short! :( Allthough I guess this is about the longest they could have drawn out the entire story, it only took me 7 hours and 39 minutes to beat it. But shortness put aside this game was truly great and I would play it again and again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was awesome

posted by brison (ANTHEM, AZ) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

it was a awesome game i always have a great time playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great show makes an pretty decent game

posted by Brattleman (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Good
Pretty tough bosses
Okay graphics

Bad
Characters mouths don't always move when they're talking
somewhat small areas to play in

Overall i think its a pretty decent game but I think sience its game before it didn't follow the storie of book 2 but this one followed a little closer to it but not completly.I hope the next video game is made in a different animation style, I mean seriously this is the Seventh generation not the sixth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Avatar the Burning Earth

posted by blahboy (PRINCETON, NJ) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

Fun game. Not as bad visuals as the last one. And no more random animals and wolfs! And you get to play as Toph this time which is a big plus. Also you use the avatar state more. Didn't really follow the story... Overall a Good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

avatar the burning earth

posted by synbios (MAYNARD, MA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

the game was great it followed the second season perfectly but i would have been better if you could play through twenty chapters like in the show they could have gone back to the few last chapters in the first season for levels or even done a few in the third

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pretty Disappointing, doesn't do Avatar justice

posted by konamicode (TRENTON, NJ) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I wasn't expecting much when I rented this... THQ / Nickelodeon games tend to be pretty rushed / under developed. This game is really no different. If you're a big Avatar fan, I suggest you skip it as it will probably insult you.

The last review was really thorough and pretty much hit all the marks so I won't repeat them all, but biggest issue is that the game is buggy, laggy, the animation is of substandard quality for next-gen and half the 'cutscenes' lack lip syncing so it looks like a cheap Nintendo 64/early Playstation scene. We beat the game in only 2 sittings which is pretty disappointing.

I will say some positive things... it's nice to have a 2 player co-op game with cooperative puzzles... though the puzzles are rather simple and remedial. OK for younger players I suppose. And its great to have the original voice actors from the show.

This game is more or less a testament to the 'quantity over quality' doctrine that most game developers seem to live by these days.

Skip this one if you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »