Rent Avatar - The Last Airbender: Into the Inferno for Wii
view large frontback

Avatar - The Last Airbender: Into the Inferno

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
6.8

431 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

love the game and the show

posted by lilbrother (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game contains levels of action and adventures where you go through the season three of the show. You can play as Aang, Katara, Toph and Sokka to help Aang master firebending and fulfill his destiny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SPOILER Two Thumbs Up

posted by Kamden (BRUSH PRAIRIE, WA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is the first time that I have played it and so far it is quite fun. You get to visit the factory, ember island, and the first episode. Excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great addition to anyones Avatar Collection

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 20, 2009

Member since May 2003

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Based off of Nickelodeon's series Avatar: The Last Airbender, comes this very fun and well composed game by THQ. The controls are pretty simple, you use the Wii Remote and Nunchuck. You use the Wii Remote to aim and with some motion you can conduct your air, fire, water, and earth bending skills. The Nunchuck, is what moves your character, which you will also use the Wii Nunchuck's motion for other bending abilities. The Camera angle is fixed so it keeps you on one screen as you wonder threw the Avatar's world.

You play as Aang, Toph, Katara, Zuko, and Sokka, flying to distant Isles on Aang's Bison, Appa. Appa is only used while selecting the destination in which you are wanting to go on the world map. There isn't a real fixed scenario you have to follow, to get to a next stage, you basically are able to select the Island where you want to go. You unlock Islands, side missions, and small fun activities as you eliminate the dreaded Fire Nation threw each Isle. There is a couple of stores which you can purchase new outfits, and weapons that will boost your fighting abilities. Interaction is real fun, all the motion is very fluent and fighting is very easily mastered. The puzzles you encounter, to get around obstacles, are fun an will keep you busy for hours.

Avatar The Last Airbender - Into the Inferno can be played with one or two players, you switch characters that perform other abilities to endeavor obstacles on the different islands. The best aspect is that you can play the entire game cooperatively with a buddy if you get tired of destroying the Fire Nation on your own.

Game interface is sorta like Lego's series games that keep you on one screen doing small activities or fighting off enemies. With awesome voice talents that are funny, amazing graphics, environments that are in brilliant depth, and with funny cut scenes, that really set you in this adventure of the Last Airbender.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Third time is no charm for "Avatar"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

As I was playing Avatar: Into the Inferno, I got a thought in my head:
Lead Developer: We've got a five hour game that has to be stretched out. Any suggestions?
Assistant: Well, we could throw in long load screens and clunky bending controls.
Lead: That's not enough.
Assist: Well, we can put in really tough puzzles that aren't logical or rational at all so the players get stuck really easily. And we have the player battle massive numbers of basic fighters.
Lead: Good, that's what I'm looking for.
Avatar: Into the Inferno isn't all that bad; there's some ingenious puzzles, and fans of the show will like playing as their favorite characters.
But this game has several problems.
First, the stationary camera makes it hard to traverse the level. It can also get blocked by stationary items, making it hard for you to see what's going on screen.
Second, the bending controls are imprecise and clunky. Grabbing water or fire was incredibly difficult. Fighting off bad guys was better done by mashing the A button.
Third, some of the puzzles - namely in the Western Air temple - fail to follow any logic. In one puzzle the player has to do actions in a sequence, but the sequence you uncover is wrong - you'll have to try all possibilities in order to find the right sequence.
Fourth, the fights are boring. Bad guys just drop in from the sky in many, many waves. For some reason, the average fighter can block a flaming bolt with his bare hands. How's that possible?
Fifth, the load screens are very long and occur too often.
And the game's too short; I finished it in about five to six hours.
Only die hard fans of the show should get Avatar: Into the Inferno. The rest of us can skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The avatar into the inferno

posted by lyonkyn19 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game never came

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best One

posted by Reviewer15 (FAYETTE, AL) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is probably the best Avatar game. Controls and Graphics and Gameplay is a lot of fun(You can completely control the elements!!!). Its completely the story of Book 3 except everything isn't there( unimportant parts). I recommend the cheat codes and getting help on the Air Temple part on YouTube from Bakuganpokemon2468.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Avatar: Into the inferno

posted by gamester01 (GILBERT, AZ) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I found this game to be fun and a lot like the nickeloden television show, Avatar: the last air bender. You get to expirience all of the elements and most characters from the t.v show. The only problem i had with this game is that the story is very short and easy to complete. For some that is great but i enjoy a little challenge. I beat the game on 4 seprate occasions and each time in less than a day. Other than this i really enjoyed the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sad game for Great Series....

posted by officerjay (PENNSAUKEN, NJ) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Upon renting Avatar: Into the Inferno, I was expecting a fairly good game. The opening scene seemed to start off pretty good but lead to a complete an utter mess. The controls for the game were horrible. When trying to attempt to water bend or air bend the remote is all over the place. You would figure if your in the third book that Ang would know alot of air bending moves. Instead he only knows very few from the start and your expected to fight firebenders and beasts with what little moves you have. The only way I would ever play this game again is if it were all redone with better graphics and put either on Xbox 360 or PS3. Very Very Low Replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally!

posted by DylanC78 (ELKRIDGE, MD) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

They finally get Avatar right for the Wii. While the first two Avatar games played like 1990's RPG's, this one actually uses the Wii-mote to its fullest, getting the player to actually 'bend' the four elements in the game. Alas, if they would now remake the first two games in this style this would be a classic Wii trilogy.

A great game for Avatar fans and general players alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

VERY VERY VERY Easy Game

posted by RightVB (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This must have been one of the easiest games I have ever played. There are only about 10 levels (including boss fights). The graphics definitely need some work, and you can beat this game in about 3 hours total (I did not play it for that long, I promise). Don't get me wrong it's fun and what not, but once I beat it, I was just like, "Is that it?" I just expected there to be more. They skipped a lot of what happened during the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »