Rent Attack of the Movies 3D for Wii
view large frontback

Attack of the Movies 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.2

192 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

This Attack Needs More Imagination

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You are the hero in six action scenes from six generic movies in Attack of the Movies 3D.
The six levels are: Insect Invasion, Cosmic Combat, Into the Emperor’s Tomb, Robot Rebellion, Deep Sea Danger, and Graveyard Gunfight.
In each level, you take on enemies in a rail shooter; as you move along a predetermined path, monsters pop into view and you blast them before they reduce your life bar down to zero. At the end of each level is a boss fight where you take on a huge creature - by shooting it with your gun several dozen times.
But the creativity in this game is seriously lacking; each level has a set of monsters, but I found myself shooting the same creatures far too often and you only get three guns (a pistol, semi-automatic rifle, fully automatic machine gun). I would’ve liked to see a shot gun, magnum bullets, grenade launcher, laser pistol/rifles, a goo cannon and a crossbow. But nope, you are stuck with only three guns.
The level design isn’t that great either; there’s no real story being told in any of them, there’s no secrets to uncover in any of the levels, and this is one of a few games where players can actually beat it in less than one hour. They’re charging us $30 for this?
Which bring us to the reason why they made the game: the 3D. Problem is, if you buy the game, then you are stuck with those glasses that probably won’t be used in any other Wii game - and a game that gets bland very quickly
If you rent the game, you won’t get the 3D glasses, so you are left out of that experience.
So, the best thing to do about Attack of the Movies 3D is not to try it at all. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by flyguy420 (ALPHARETTA, GA) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game was awful even my 7 year old son was bored in less than 3 minutes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

shoot past this movie

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was excited about shooting the action movies. The first movie you start with is invasion of the bugs which is pretty cool but you lose lifes quickly. The bugs start firing green gobs of goo at you which drains your life quickly. The graphics on this game are pretty good although the bug movie looks like a b movie. I like how you are able to use the wii remote and either the b button or a button to shoot so the controls are really good. The downfalls I have to this game are you cant choose all the movies to start the game and even on easy mode the game is still hard. This is a fun game to play as a rental but I would not recommend buying this game there are definetly better shooter games out there for wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

3d gamer

posted by gamefly3 (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

i like this game because it has lots of zombies and spiders
and scary stuff i rated it a 6 out of 10 because it was extremely hard i did not like that game to much it was not even 3d never try this game on the wii system i have not tried it on the xbox yet because i do not even have an xbox system yet but for next year christmas i will have it on the top of my list farewell and check out the game left
for dead i heard it was a big hit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bored and frusterated out of my mind

posted by cheyenneblue98 (TORRANCE, CA) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

"Attack of the movies" is a suckish game. i was bored after the first day of playing it! and what annoyed me the most was that when you play the first level themed with bugs it takes a long time to pass it because the shooters aren't accurate, so when they blast those big green balls at u the only one that can destroy them is the double shooter!!!
DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME, IT SUCKS!!!!!!!
----------------------------------------------------------
No offence to gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game very simple

posted by REVERNDSQUICK (PORT HUENEME, CA) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

I finished this game in a couple of hours. I had to send it back to get another game. (Has anybody else noticed a lack of available games from the top five? or do they just dislike me?) anyways, the game was highly entrertaining but not a mind stretcher. Graphics ar ok but wash out on the bigger screeens. All you have to do is be able to pull the trigger in a rapid manner and you will finish the game. I do not think that I even died once. But this would be a good game for short attention spans or drinking parties. That is about how long it would keep innterest. If you are going for a perfect score, that may be a tougher challenge. Overall great fun but not a long time game unless you are a collector. I would not pay more than $8 for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks big ticks

posted by flames297 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

i played this game i hated it the zombies look very fake and theres only 3 guns i would never play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is boring!

posted by ReviewIt7 (FRESNO, CA) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game isn't really in 3D. I couldn't even play for 5 minutes before setting it down. I thought this game was fun, but I was wrong.

I bought the Wii Zapper in hopes of finding a fun shooting game to play and this certanly isn't. The only cool thing about this game is the front cover which is misleading people to believe this game is fun, but it's horribly bad.

Even in HD the 3D doesn't appear that well. Avoid this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

over by level 2, boring!

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

couldnt even play this wasteful trash after level 2, at least it supports anaglyph 3d without slowdown, i think, well at least it starts out with a giant ant level, i love that stuff. play earth defense force.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Better 3D on 360 Indie game. No 3D depth.

posted by 3xTopper (SEVILLE, OH) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I rented it in 3D. How? Just get a copy red/cyan glasses from a 3D movie like Spy Kids 3D, Hanna Montana Concert, or Creature from the Black Lagoon (on Betamax). As long as it's red and cyan, (a light blue) it doesn't matter.

The whole success of this game depends on how well the 3d effects are. I've seen better effect with red/cyan glasses on a 360 Indie game called 3D Infinity. The 3D effects are barely passable. The colors are cool in 3D, meaning, you can see in full color with glasses, because the lines are so thin, but the 3D is not very extreme, and a light gun shooter is not conducive of making a game where 3D effects help. The 3d effects shows layers of things in front of things, but not the characters having depth within themselves. (in the red/cyan sense) You think giant bees would lok spherical in body, and have their stings come right to you on the screen. The 3d looks like animated cardboard cutouts placed on different planes. By the way this is a description of the Wii graphics. Most people say the 360 graphics are Wii-like. The only it might look better is if it has better red/cyan effects, which I don't know if it has.

As for the actual game, it's a below average light gun shooter which needed the 3D gimmick to have any hope of succeeding. Some people say it's to easy on hard. I say it's too hard on easy. Maybe a programer accidentally switched or confused the settings. I don't know. Accidentally shooting the hostages just registers as a no hit, not a penalty. (and it's still pretty hard on easy). Controls sound better on the Wi using a Wiimote aiming as opposed to thumbstick cursor.

Anyone who has 3D glasses should look at the 3D effects on the 360 version, and tell me if they're cardboard cutouts on different planes, or if it has better 3D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No way to calibrate?

posted by CPCrawley (CALHOUN, GA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Game was very lame and the inability to calibrate made it horrible. The worst game I have ever attempted to play, no fun, no control, lame graphics. i might have stayed interested if it was calibrated correctly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The best shooter in a long time!!!!!

posted by ooberpappa (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Ok maybe not the best, but still the idea is awesome! We beat the easy level with 3 players in about 30 minutes. The gameplay was great, the graphics were bright and fun. I think there needs to be more fun party style games like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by sherylr (ROCHESTER, NH) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is a fun game for an older age group. I have two children ages 7 and 10 and both found it too hard to play. They liked that you get to shoot bugs but as you play the game gets harder and there are more bugs to shoot. I think they found it a bit overwhelming and could not make it past the first level. I found the game very interesting and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Solaris

posted by Solaris (DELTONA, FL) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Worst aspects of the game:

Even with 3D glasses, the 3D is lame.

Game play is too short. Entire game beatable in less than an hour.

Absolutely no storyline or plot, or options to enhance the game. You are only shooting at several different scenes.

Best qualities of the game:

At least of you rent it you won't be upset about a bad purchase.

This is why I use GameFly. Games like this should never be released. It's like a FullSail freshman designed a mini game for a homework assignment, got a B+ and somebody said hey let's sell it.

The game was beat in less than 1 hour. I thought there would be mini-movies that cut to action scenes where you would fight, but that's not the case. You don't get anything not even any type of story.

Save your time and rent something else!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »