Rent Atelier Totori: The Adventurer of Arland for PS3
view large frontback

Atelier Totori: The Adventurer of Arland

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

442 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best in the Atelier series

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you played 2010's Atelier Rorona, or any other Atelier game ( by the way, Atelier is French for Workshop), you will know exactly what to expect here. A JRPG based around alchemy and exploration. You get ingredients by either hunting, gathering or merchants, and you then use alchemy to combine the ingredients into items. The items are then used to fulfill quests and level up. Repeat. The graphics are colorful cel shading, but wont impress anybody. Nice music, voicework ranges from decent to horrible. Gameplay is almost identical to previous Atelier games, with some improvements. You no longer need to have the item in your inventory to hand it in, it can be in your workshop chest. Other changes include a different time schedule, different type of deadlines, and more emphasis on adventuring. The story centers on Torori and her goal on becoming a great adventurer. A lot of characters from Atelier Rorona appear in the game, making this feel like a direct sequel, more than a new entry. Overall, if you enjoy JRPGs and light-hearted games, I recommend this game, especially for females, but dont be afraid to play it if you are a guy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's fun, but, fair warnings.

posted by Jsouleyrette (EASTMAN, GA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

1. This game is not good for renting, it is very long, and you'll probably play through certain parts twice before you even get a good ending.
2. Only buy this game if you are willing to submit DAYS of your life to completing it, spoiler alert, the main thing you'll probably want to figure out the entire time you're playing this game is "what happened to the girls mom?" in order to find this out, not only do you have to get past the time limits the game sets, but you have to unlock most of the endings, then you finally find out, and honestly, it is enjoyable, but eventually, you get a little tired of playing it. You may want to do more alchemy, but your time limit says, do more jobs, or you may need money to get some of the things you need, but your time limit remaining won't let you spend the needed time to get enough to do exactly what you're wanting to do.
3. As mentioned before, there is a time limit, and if you do not get everything done by the time limit, you start over with only your money, and your equipment, thats right, all the alchemy you did, all the cutscenes you watched, everything, started over, and after your first time limit, you get another, however, noone tells you, finish the boat, or you have to start all over again, from before the previous time limit, so now, you have the first limit, then this second limit, all over again. However, this is the only truly bad part of the game.

Those are the warnings for this game, however, the characters are all very likeable and fun to play with, the gameplay doesn't really get that repetitive feel that most turn based rpgs get, and you'll probably really enjoy it if you can get past the time limits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Replay value!

posted by GFcritic (AUBURN, WA) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love these kinds of games. You almost have to play twice to get a access to some of the tougher areas. I'm on my third playthrough and decided to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Potential Waste of Time

posted by Axlkaitoshin (NIXA, MO) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

My wife and I for the most part genuinely enjoyed this game for of 24 hours according to the in game clock. The game has a very light hearted tone which really is kind of a nice change compared to most RPGs and one of the few RPGs we've actually liked at all this console generation. Bottom line however is that this game plays it safe, it doesn't excel in any conceivable way, but on the flip side, it doesn't fail at anything either. A fair warning however, looking through the games trophy list of the few that are not hidden there is one called "Bad Ending." I won't give any details so as not to spoil anything but be warned that if you reach the middle of year 6 without completing the main objective of the story the game will abruptly end for no apparent reason, you cannot go back unless you keep multiple save files and every thing and I mean EVERYTHING except the gear on your character is taken away and you start back at the begining. You lose your stats, any items you created (and you will have A LOT by this point) any money you had, you get the point. Not to Mention that the "Bad ending" is a complete slap accross the face the sucks out any motivation that you may have had to get the other endings. Worst of all, you are given no indication of a time limit at any point in the game. When this happened I had no hesitation in changing my previous score of this game from an 8 to it's new 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The heroine goes "commando", and it ain&

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Feb 11, 2012

Member since May 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

She should learn the first rule of adventuring is to ware some decent clothes... More on that in a minute.. The game starts off as a standard JRPG, with predefined hero group of specialists(meaning that the axe user will continue to use axes throughout the entire game when you use her; the same is true with the swordsman and so on and so forth), The heroine cries out "What shall I do?!" whenever an enemy targets her(directly) for an attack, which requires you to either press a button, so one of her friends will take the hit for her... The game features semmingly unskippable cutscenes that seem like they were made for a 5 year-old... You get the idea that the game is an RPG for kids... Then it happened.. I was down at the docks in the first village at the end of the pier where the heroine's father is fishing when I noticed something odd.. I was faceing the "camera" and I made the heroine jump, when I realized that the Main heroine doesn't have any under garments on.... Call it what you will, but I find a pretty disturbing trend of lewd dressing habits in the JRPGs of late.. I just get the feeling that the JRPG genre must be in some pretty deep trouble if they think they need to start introducing little children to to such pornographic ideas... If I were the heroines sister I wouldn't let her go on an adventure!! Cecilia(Ceci) was right about Totori's quest she should have stayed home.... Don't get me wrong here the game has nice graphics, but if the game didn't reveal its more disturbing side I would have recommended it for kids, but now I can't really recommend this to anyone... Kids might pick up the WRONG idea, and adults will probably be bored with it ; if not disgusted with it... Try before you buy!
You have been warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Childish

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

The beginning of the game was down right painful to play... I pushed through and tried some of the item creation and battles. The view angle is LOCKED and you have to view the game from one angle all the time. The characters are super childish and Totori is kind of annoying. For what I am looking for in a RPG I feel this game is very lacking. I think that Star Ocean 4 or Final Fantasy 13 are way better RPG's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent game.

posted by Kurzathan (LAKEBAY, WA) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game was a pretty decent game in my opinion. The characters were amusing and the one or two that got grating after a bit could be changed at anytime which is a bonus. The downside is the repetitive need to do alchemy till you get to the good stuff but that's kinda expected in this series so meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed really, very short

posted by MadMax2012 (WALLACE, ID) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

At first i really enjoyed the game, it was fun but after a while i hit this game over menu. At first i though it did something wrong, i had platinum rank and was doing my mission when it happened, then i had to start all over with half my stuff gone. Then i found out the game is incredibly short! I had to go to an event or something i missed.

I ruined the experience for me, it's to constraining game play wise you have to do quest after quest to max your AR with little fun in between... That and the (harvest) seemed to wast 4 like hours? really, wow i know walking would take time but picking something up haha.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It was a rip off!

posted by 246 (MESA, AZ) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Okay, first off, Totori was an adventurer at first, then once her license is at Gold, it's expires and I have to start over again to Glass! It's was lame, huh, guys? There's nothing I can do to find some DLC to make it a longer game. It's worse than that To Be Continued phrase at Final Fantasy XIII-2 (I didn't quite see it). I was so looking forward to play it!

But get to this: Cordelia thinks that it's was Totori's fault for being lazy because of her expired license. That's how I gotten ripped off, twice in a darn row! I don't know what to deal with this, but darn it! There's gotta be a DLC that can make her a permanent license.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

25 minutes in and I was tearing up... from boredom

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This is basically glorified anime RPG. I can totally see a 10 year old getting into this game. I could not get passed the idiotic dialogues. You know those pointless dialogues that plague most animes, except here it is never ending.

First 25 minutes is basically a tutorial like in pokemon. You cannot turn the camera, you cannot leave the starter zone.

Even the monsters in the game are fluffy cute creatures that you want to hug. I do first impression videos on youtube and I wanted to poke my eyes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by lost_wishes (LOVELAND, CO) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I didn't really care for this game actually. Then again it was a very slow intro and there was a ton of learning. I love RPG's but this one took WAY to long to get to the story line. Also, the main character is pretty pathetic. I wouldn't recommend this game to someone who is looking for a quick paced-FF-style-kind of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A JRPG

posted by yopeople (SAN MARCOS, CA) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Just another typical Japanese RPG, Great and beautiful art but graphic wise is a bit cartoony which is still good in a way.

Characters voices where right on the money. i can say that i enjoyed the game just for the voices of the characters and that's a very rare thing in me to look for a game like that.

Game play was just like an rpg game containing a turn base style and very little monster that were recycled.

armor/weapons are crafted by just a single brick of iron or "ingot" and cloths. no such thing as ultimate weapon or armor. u give a guy some cloth and he makes you a piece of armor from a category you choose from the list with just 1 piece of cloth likewise with armor/ingot
very cheap to make as well...the highest price to make the highest grade of weapon is 1,000 and something...

the best part of the game was crafting system. each item you harvest has a special trait and combining some trait together in a recipe create and item with all the harvesting traits. of course you need to pick those traits from a list of harvesting traits that was added to a recipe with a maximum of 5picks.

learning new recipe is bought from shops. only 1 city and 2 towns you will go through. ( not very big)

Story line was not linear. multiple endings but in order to get a perfect or true ending you need to play the game repeatedly. go anywhere and everywhere you want. A lot of landscaping to explore but the maps are very small. you can reach from one side of the map to the other side of the map in about 5 seconds or so. about 5+ big maps and i mean big maps.

buying this game would take about 100+ hours.
if your going to rent this game, you will never see the true end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »