Rent Atelier Meruru: The Apprentice of Arland for PS3
view large frontback

Atelier Meruru: The Apprentice of Arland

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $32.99

GF Rating
7.2

287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the previous two

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Atelier series is a JRPG based around Alchemy and exploration, in fact Atelier is French for "Workshop". The previous two PS3 entries were light-hearted JRPGs, with a very deep alchemy system. This is the 3rd entry and stars a newcomer, Princess Meruru. although she is not as likable as the previous two main characters (Rorona and Totori), she does have her own unique motivations and personality. The main emphasis this time is building your kingdom from a tiny village into a large city, by accomplishing various requests. The tight schedule means there isnt a lot of time to explore and experiment with alchemy, you will constantly be watching the due dates. Fans of the previous two entries definitely should give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Atilier is getting its mojo back!

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many of the NIS released games in this current gen of consoles have been huge failures in my eyes, though I'm still a big fan of the company. Atiler Meruru halts this trend with (finally) a great addition to the Atilier series. It does take a little warming up. Beginning rather slowly, but once you get your rhythm down, you'll find this a very addictive romp.

Speaking of Rhythm, one fault of Meruru is it's clunky pacing. You'll have your master plan to develop 5 ingredients to make one big item you need for a chain of quests, but you can't do anything in this game without being constantly interrupted by inane cutscenes full of vapid babble! I love cutscenes folks! But this was just too much. Almost everything you do takes in-game-days. Cutscenes activate on certain days. Spend too much time adventuring or creating alchemy items and the moment you zone to another region you will be bombarded with cutscenes. Often 2 or more!

Still, the time-management formula is an addictive one, and combat is not as tedious as recent iterations. The combat graphics and ability-sequences are some of the best NIS has to offer.

I really enjoyed playing through this game, but it doesn't do a very good job of giving you important goals. Meruru gives very little indication of the precise goals you are to complete to achieve a good ending... rather than the somewhat depressing normal ending.

The time management system in Meruru is a little oppressive, leaving little time to experiment. There are many time-wasting red-herrings as to things you should do, but upon completion do not produce any useful results. It is difficult just to have enough time to upgrade a single party's equipment, but the game is constantly urging you to switch party members. This makes things intense but also a little bitter.

Over all though, fans of the series will enjoy this game, though i'm not sure I'd recommend it to new comers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

atelier meruru the apprentice of arland

posted by hotbetty (BEDFORD, MA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game was amazing my only complaint is that it wasn't long enough however the graphics were beautiful and the cut scenes were funny i hope they continue to release more games in this series keep up the good work nis america

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Typical JRPG garbage

posted by Sageous (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Like every other NIS rpg I've ever played, this one is utter garbage. Meruru is another in a long line of horrible NIS games dressed up with pretty visuals. The usual nonsensical, annoying and juvenile characters and dialogue are here, along with shallow gameplay. It's like NIS develops its games for horny young boys, or maybe the developers themselves are. And to be quite honest, I'm sick of playing games where the main character is a female. I'm far from a sexist, but a constant deluge of scantily clad women, particularly the over the top anime ones that NIS specializes in, is not my idea of a hero. If you like pretty rubbish and your brain doesn't exist, then this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as good as the Prev 2

posted by Silinu (PLANO, TX) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Ok game. Graphics are what you expect from the series, storyline is differant but cant say I like it. I wish they would make one of these games that did not have the 5 year time limit. Or if it did that it let you keep playing till you were ready to start over. Always feel so rushed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game

posted by zzetagundam (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I rented this out of the blue cause I haven't played RPGs in a while, but open starting this game I admit it made me want to return it. There are constant annoy cutscenes that gets between you and gameplay but as I played the game it became more fun and addicting with all the alchemy and what not. The story wasn't too bad I quess but not great really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting

posted by NxLocke (DALY CITY, CA) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is quite addicting with its vast alchemy items.
Even though the game focuses on Alchemy, it does not lack battle related gameplay nor storyline.
The story, characters and BGM really comes together making it fun to replay along with its multiple endings and story pathways.
Although you may have to rush through the game due to the limited time you have, it was still plenty of fun trying to strategize on what and how to do your quests or in what order.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good for 10year olds

posted by Keszek (NORTHBROOK, IL) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Didn't play the game. I hated the opening movie.
I figured if the movie was bad so was the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »