Rent Atelier Ayesha: The Alchemist of Dusk for PS3
view large frontback

Atelier Ayesha: The Alchemist of Dusk

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
6.7

267 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love this Game.

posted by kanochi (ARVADA, CO) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've personally never played any of the previous Atelier games, and I wasn't sure if it was going to be a brand new story or a sequel so I was a bit worried going into it, but it's a brand new story.

To be honest I'm still a bit sad that they didn't include the original Japanese voice acting but after a couple hours I got over it, and the english voices can be pretty cute once you get used to them.

But anyways on to the game, the crafting system in this game is just wow it's the best system I've ever seen in a game. There is so much to it, and as you level up your crafting you gain even more different combinations and such I played this game for 48 hours so far, and I've probably spent at least 20 of that just playing around with the crafting system.

Personally the combat system I found entertaining mostly because I enjoyed creating new items and trying them out, without that though it's a pretty standard combat system usually you end up doing the same kinda combat over and over and the animations can get a bit tiresome after seeing the same move for the 100th time. But regardless it's a solid combat system I can't really fault it, there are better ones out there but the turn based combat system does have a certain charm to it.

I really did enjoy the story, and there is around 9 or 10 endings to the game to see so there certainly is a lot to see and do in the game. I won't spoil the actual story since that would kinda take a lot away from the game so that's all I have to say on that haha.

The music is top notch most times I hardly pay attention to the music in games let alone remember anything about it 10 minutes after I stop playing it, but it had some really beautiful songs and one that was even from my favorite singer lol so that was special.

Anyways I definitely think the game is worth checking out if you enjoy RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Atelier got a new fan

posted by Jasonal (BROOKLYN, NY) May 1, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's my first Atelier game that I played and the mix review keep me on edge when I start this one out. When I saw that it's about alchemy, I start losing interest in it already -that's just me being bias against how a standard JRPG should be like.

Game start out slow for me -cutscene after cutscene- at time I find myself smashing the "X" button just so I can get onto the Gameplay. Gameplay is your standard turn-base action -nothing new- not to say that I didn't enjoy it, but it can get tiresome seeing the same reskin mod, inputing the same action almost every battle. Gameplay is definitely not the forte in this game.

Another Atelier system we got is the time system where you actually got "in game time" to look out for. Everything you do outside of town takes up your time measure in "day/month/year" like going to a new area or gathering for material or crafting alchemy all takes time and time is crucial in this game for it'll affect what type of ending you get (Multiple ending).

The core of the game, alchemy crafting, is what this game is all about. I wasn't interest in it at first and just doing the minimum requirement for it, but once I start learning the depth of it......let's just say I got addicted to crafting. I spend more time crafting than the rest of the game itself. What's interesting is a single item in this game has hundred of different uses for ex: "Herb" - let's say I have 2 herbs with a base of healing HP, but one give additional buff while another give you additional MP healing - 2 same item with different usage and that is what alchemy manipulation is about and there're tons of item to play around with - experiment em all.

I never realize crafting can be made so fun and it made gameplay enjoyable due to different item usage in battle. The time system is a mix, but I did enjoy it during my 2nd playthrough where I know where to go and plan ahead to save time. To sum it up, I recommend JRPG fan to give this game a try for I'm glad I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mehhhh... So-So.

posted by nintendotodd (CHICAGO, IL) May 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I tend to lean toward the RPG-side of the gaming spectrum, enjoying even the most bizarre (like Nier), to old-school (Etrian Odyssey's party-first-person style), and even action RPGs (Skyrim, Fallout, etc). However, this series just doesn't hook me. Especially this particular entry.
The action is low, the story is sub-par, and the characters and humor is much too sugary-sweet for my own tastes. Even the alchemy aspect of the game feels flimsy, due to lack of information regarding ingredients and such.
I dunno... I considered buying this used at one point to give it a try, but thanks to Gamefly, I discovered that it really wasn't my cup o' tea.
Now... if only GF could get things mailed out faster like netflicks keep a decent stock of games to rent so that you don't have to wait 15 months just to take a whack at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright game

posted by deathwolf28 (PRICE, UT) Sep 16, 2014

Member since May 2011

It's an alright game in all , but this game was not the type of game that I'm into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this whole series!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

Progressively better than the last chapters - I love the storyline, relaxing music, item-gathering and [I view as pure comedy] pointless Japanese dialog. The characters are always lavishly dressed - which leads me to believe this game must be a launchpad for digital fashion design.
I will say as I do in all my Atelier game reviews, that this is not a typical game, and many will put it down because they think it's supposed to be "intense" or be overly challenging. I feel thats the whole point - it's not! No matter what your play style, you will not lose lives. The battles and missions which you can do any time throughout the timeline will give you points to level up. This allows you to see greater areas of map to explore and gather materials used in the alchemy, and further the storyline.
Time Requirements: actually, it seems like there are zero time restraints, but you are expected to find and reach certain goals in the games ie: "3 years", but it's almost a non-point. Winning in this game means finding Ayesha's sister, Neo, which almost has nothing to do with the gameplay. nor does any action you do in game come close to this (I find that hilarious!)
Characters: This chapter brings in a whole new combo of characters, and I feel the new alchemy expert, Ayesha is way less annoying and has a wonderful voice, attitude and personality (wheras in previous chapter, Meruru, was quite annoying with her shrilling, whiny voice.)
Storyline: This storyline is much more engaging, and takes you deeper into alchemy it's mysteries. Interaction with characters is funny and entertaining too.
Alchemy and gameplay: As you might expect, the new interface and alchemy goals are refined and in top form. Finding and using the alchemy ingredients to make things used in the game are in top-form as well. Making explosive weapons to battle the various enemies is just one of the many cool things that make this game fun to play.
Overall, Great game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Supremely disappointing

posted by Kapowne (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

I rented this game because I had heard really good things about the atelier series. I found quickly that this game is full of nothing but annoying characters with no development, a great plot drive that wasn't nearly driven enough. and a combat system that spelled MEH to a T. Even the alchemy system was a total bore. I got about 8 hours into this game and still found myself just going from map point to map point hoping for the game to take SOME serious direction.

As a person who watches a lot of anime (part of the reason i wanted to play this) I hated the characters. Which means a lot. I have seen these character archetypes done a million times, and ive seen them done a million times better. All the characters were bland, annoying and had zero to no relationships.

The combat was exactly as such as well. Bland and boring. Hit them with your staff or throw a bomb or two. ugh!

If you're looking for an anime style game with great graphics and crummy characters and combat system this is your game, as the graphics are the ONLY redeeming quality. and even then it isn't NEARLY redeeming enough to make this game even remotely playable.

THUMBS DOWN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is nice and the reviews lie!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

u r not timed in this game I enjoyed the plot and story u must rent this game asap!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard to figure out

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Once you level up, it's even harder to get equipment decent enough to keep you alive in some battles. But it takes forever to level up and even longer to figure out the game and what it is you need to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Zzzzzz

posted by Orlandooom (WINTER PARK, FL) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

As a long time JRPG fan this game's dialogue put me to sleep in less than 30 minutes.

It's sad because Aterlier Iris, back on PS2, was hilariously corny enough to balance out the immersing gameplay and itemization. Oh how the mighty hath fallen (far).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mid-play

posted by gambit071892 (GASTONIA, NC) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

So far I have played about 7hrs of game play. The animation, graphics, and music are all a lot like Eternal Sonata if you have ever played it(if not definitely is a must!). It is a turn based rpg that is different from others that I have played, in the sense that only the main character (the Alchemist) can use potions and items (so far). At first I didn't think it would be all that good knowing that it was mainly about Alchemy and synthesizing, but it actually became very addicting very quickly. Overall in my own opinion I believe that it is definitely worth trying out if you are in to rpg games, and especially if you enjoy alchemy and finding new ways to combine materials to make new things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not good

posted by hotrod111 (PELL CITY, AL) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Very repetitive and the combat was not great

graphics were great, story and characters were ok

over all not recommended

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

time limit

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

What truly killed this game was the pressure from it to just get things done as fast as you can or be punished by the ending. The battles were to easy and then all of a sudden sky rocket to hard with the middle boss. The music was nice, graphics were cute also so that was a plus.

but i dont like games that force you to do somthing in a timely manner (its the one flaw in persona/devil survivor games). If it wasnt for the time limit i would have enjoyed this game more then just frantically trying to do everything i can as fast as i can only to learn that taking your time on the first playthrough will give you a horrible and somwhat depressing ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game is just another average.

posted by Zerocrash (SHREVEPORT, LA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

The graphics are mediocre as in most these days, but the horrible flaw to this game is the voice overs. Long delays on fill in story that really have no purpose into getting what the game is about via the story line. Controls are laggy along with the battle system. The alchemy creation system is a nice touch but not enough to save the game. Overall, you can save time by by passing this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Register Items or else

posted by dadep (OAK PARK, CA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The only thing I can say about this game is to make sure you register the items you use regularly at the shops in town and around the world. I spent to much time making items, and In the end ran out time and got the poor ending. Register your items that's all I can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dissapointing, I Expected Better.

posted by Laergna (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I tried the game out and cleared the prequel story line in ten minutes or so and told myself that the nagging doubts I had about the game were just that; in this case however they were not. The game itself has a beautifully drawn art style that is particularly excellent when it comes to the flowers and plants in the game; the music is well done and the characters voices are clear and seem for as far as I managed to get, suitable to their characters. This game feels to me in the first hour of play to be a gateway game that tries to bring in people who are not into this kind of game or gaming in general I admit I did not give it much of a chance however so take that with a grain of salt. If I had Kids or a niece or Nephew in the 7-12 age range I would have passed this on to them had I bought it in a second, and I think they would truly enjoy it, but this game is not for me personally. Definitely in the Rent Before you Buy Category.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

atelier ayesha the alchemist of dusk

posted by hotbetty (BEDFORD, MA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

this was a fantastic Role playing game the only thing i didn't like was the fact that it wasn't long enough however the gameplay was easy and fun and the story was well written i hope their are more atelier games in the future for north America however i wouldn't suggest buying it because the game only has 3 years but anyone who love rpg's should rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »