Rent Asura's Wrath for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Asura's Wrath

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

2502 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic game!

posted by BookWormGamer (BOUNTIFUL, UT) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very fun, a lot more than I was expecting. I loved the story and all it contained. I also loved the awesome beat downs on bosses when you beat the tar out of them. My only problem is how short this game is. It is only like 6 or 7 hours long. Overall a definite must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

By it's cover...

posted by S0V3R3IGN (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is seriously different. More like a book or manga, than something you play. You watch most of it, and boy are there things to watch. Asura's Wrath is a true step in the direction of games as art, with most of it being presented as either "quick time events" (pushing buttons as they show up on screen as in interacting with a cutscene), or short, well put together fighting or shooting sequences. The art style is fantastic and the animation is incredible.

HOWEVER, if you're like me. The story and art of this game are not really my style. I give it a high rating because it controls solidly, looks good, and feels great to play with a fleshy story; but I didn't play it for more than an hour because I could not get into that story. You don't sit there and read a book that you don't like the story to, do ya? If you like the story, sit back and enjoy; but if you don't like crazy gods and space shenanigans, stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different...in a good way

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Feb 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

26 out of 31 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game is quite different compared to others, it's more of a interactive anime movie than an actual game.

You play as a very angry god named Asura looking for vengeance. This god really needs a chill pill cuz he is crazy!

The game looks great, this really is japanese animation at it's best. You will often look at very cool scenes were you have to press buttons repeatedly in order to succeed. All this is really cool, but you will spend about 75% of you're time watching instead of actually playing the game, this might be a cool twist for some, but others won't appreciate this idea. You can skip all of Asuras many cutscenes, but then you would skip through most of the game, and they are really interesting to watch. This game really feels like a Movie or tv-series, each chapter is about 30 minutes and at the end of each chapter the credits will show up, just like in a movie.

The combat is simple, but yet very fun, and all the missions are very different, so you will never find yourself doing the same thing, over and over again.

Although it has some of the best cutscenes you will see in a game, Asura's wrath only took 5 hours for me too beat, and there is no multiplayer or reason to comeback, unless you want to play the campaign all over again. So lets sum it all up.

Pros:
- Great cutscenes, some of the best iv'e ever seen!
- Great animations
- A very interesting plot
- Something you've never seen before, great for someone that wants to try something new.

Cons:
- Way too short, I finished this game in 5 hours and shipped it back the next day after getting it.
- Sometimes it feels like the game forgets about you and you just watch for a very long time.

A unique experiences, and a fun one, although this is a game you should only rent because you don't want to buy a game this short!

7,5/10 toasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rent it and You won't regret it

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great game like a good anime but with abiltiy to control it. It is short so it makes for an excellent rental. This game is so visually appealling. Rent it. Do it NOW!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this is an interactive DVD not a game.

posted by Wrathel (BRONX, NY) May 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

It's just like watching anime, it's amazing story line don't get me wrong but this is no video game, is DVD that you need to watch and you only play during fights, you can beat this game in one day or two, I guarantee it.
Thank god for GameFly! I would have been beyond mad if I bought this game,this is a game you rent and later buy at a discount at the GameFly store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Behold: Anime Masquerading as a Video Game!

posted by herpofool (WHITEFISH, MT) Jun 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Don't be put off by the number score; I'm telling you right now, this game is as fun as a barrel full of monkeys! However, it's just that this isn't so much of a game as it is more of a rollercoaster. The whole game plays out more like an anime series as the majority of the game is taken up by quick time events on top of beautiful animations and crazy action.
Seeing how this is more of a show rather than a game, we have to take more into account the story and execution; both of which have been topped off with great talent. The action will get at least the most guilty Dragonball Z fan absolutely excited, and the story pulls strings of anger or adoration for the characters within. I'll tell you right now, chapters 10 and 11 are the very best in the whole game; just you see.
The musical score is purely brilliant; so well orchestrated and befitting the various situations greatly.
But when you get down to the meat of the gameplay...there's no meat to it. You're gonna be trying to get to the marrow of the bone to get some actual gameplay, as the beat-em-up and on-rails-shooting segments are usually unfullfilling. Especially the brawling; smack on a legion of enemies or enemy enough until you've filled up a gauge, release it in order to get into the next segment. Flying shooter segments are a bit more entertaining, but still not too varied. It leaves to be desired.
But once again, I have to tell you: Don't take this as a game, take it as an experience. This is a madhouse of awesomeness with explosive fun within the story and visuals. Those into asian culture will notice nice touches of hindu and buddhist influence in the game mythos. I'll say it again: check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Watch anime? Play this

posted by EmoChips (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

There's not much to say about this game. If you like anime, you'll like this. Go in with the mentality that you are being told a story, a story that has some gameplay sections.

There are more cutscenes and QTE sections than actual gameplay sections. The game manages it very well though, and nothing ever gets really stale. Still, I HAVE to point out that if you are expecting a multi-plat God of War this isn't it.

The gameplay itself. It varies from a beat-em up style, to a somewhat third-person shooter, boss battles, and QTE's. The latter being the majority as far as I can see.

The graphics on the enemies and the main cast is really well done. Some set pieces are down right beautiful. But regular npc's look horrible.

The soundtrack and story are awesome. If you're a fan of revenge stories this is for you.

In conclusion this is an interactive anime if you need to think of it that way. Very few gameplay sections compared to cutscenes, but if your main interest is to see the story [like myself] you won't mind. Definitely a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

aaarrrggghhh

posted by xllEnderllx (SAN LEANDRO, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game does something that I have not experienced while playing the 100's of 360 games i've played.
The game, which I thought was great b/c of the awesome cut scenes and good story, ends with a pretty good cliffhanger.
Wanna know how it ends? All you gotta do is pay 560 MS points and you can play the last few levels of the game.
That's right, instead of putting the last four levels on the game disc, the geniuses at CyberConnect2 decided to wait until after the release, then put the levels as DLC which must be purchased.
They really reached a new low in the video game industry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Half a Game but fun

posted by Karinka88 (MONTROSE, CO) Feb 27, 2012

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was.... ok if many o cutscenes and QTEs arnt ur thing you might want to let this one pass the combat was pretty descent although i hated the lockon feature i personally didnt feel overwhelmed by all the QTEs it was a descent enough blend i prefer pure 100% combat but this was worth the rent for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THE JAPANESE GOD OF WAR

posted by jtofly (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is like god of war only theres no blood and its not as graphic or convincing because the main characters speak english and the people on the planet speak japanese and you cant change it,other than that its a great game and its kinda like naruto too.Hopefully they make it rated M and make it only for Xbox as payback for God of War only being on playstation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC

posted by Zerofwrath (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Though I only played all the way to act 2 so far, I have to say this is a realy epic game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Must see experience

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that people are going to love or hate. But I think if you know what to expect then you will not be disappointed.

Allow me to get right to the heart of the matter: Asura's Wrath is not so much a game as an interactive anime series with some QTE's and fighting mixed in occasionally. It's obvious that the creators wanted to make an anime and in this respect the presentation nails that perfectly! The game is broken up into separate episodes complete with opening credits, commercial breaks (minus the commercials), and previews of the next episode. It really makes you feel like you are watching an anime.

Speaking of the presentation, the graphics are amazing! The sound design is equally wonderful, fitting each scene perfectly and making the experience even better. The only problem I had is that the sound balance is sometimes off, making it hard to hear what characters are saying.

As for the gameplay, yes it isn't a strong point. For the majority of the game your interaction is just QTE's during cinematics and occasionally simple beat-em-up combat segments. But the QTE's are done well (usually giving ample time to press the button and not ending the game if you aren't perfect) and they fit the action, ie moving the sticks to dodge an attack or mashing B to rapidly punch. It surprisingly made me feel part of the action and often caught myself yelling in effort just like Asura as he exerted himself. While nothing complex the third person combat is easy to learn and gets the job done fine, though the camera can be a little off when things get heavy.

I think nime fans, in particular those who love over the top action such as DBZ, will love the experience enough to overlook any minor problems. It might not be worth a buy (especially at $50+) but anyone remotely interested should experience it at least once!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game !!!!

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here is how the game goes........

Level 1: Cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, 15-30 seconds of action, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, and finally level over.

Level 2: Cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, 15-30 seconds of action, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, and finally level over.

Level 3: Cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, 15-30 seconds of action, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, cut scene, and finally level over.

You get the picture. This has to be the worst game I have played in awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

posted by ManuToa (SAN PEDRO, CA) May 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was amazing soooooo fun well worth the wait but for ppl who like action games this games more of a cinematic action game many cool cut scenes and awsomness

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same gameplay throughout the whole game

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because it looked extremely cinematic, which is was. The art look cool and the big fights looked amazing. The huge problem with this game is that the gameplay never changes. You exactly the same thing throughout the entire game. You don't learn any new moves or get any new weapons at all. This made the game quickly repetitive and boring. The monsters are same throughout too, plus you get the hear the main character yell all game long. I literally fell asleep playing this game because I got so bored with the gameplay. I was going to send this game back but read that it was short, so I just went ahead and finish it.

The creators also made the game like how an anime series is portrayed. Like at the intro of each episode, they show the their team credits like "Publish by Capcom. Developed by" etc... This actually annoyed me because they show it all the dang time.

Overall, I thought this game was bad. It got boring and repetitive really fast. It gets a five.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not for me

posted by beast_mode (JACKSON, CA) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i am not a fan of anime or anything like that (the game story seems to be like any other japanese cartoon geared towards 10 yr olds) so the game is really just not for me. first off there are way to many cutseens (all very anime style and way way way to long) and the gameplay (what very little there is) is repetative and some what boring. rent it if you must but i beat it in under 3 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

more movie than game

posted by Ogodzokratos (BILOXI, MS) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there is a cut scene every 15 seconds just about and the game boast that you can control asura during cutscenes. well you have to cuz the entire game is essentially one giant cutscene with very few actual fights i think there was only like 10 fights in all 18 level. every thing is pretty much this button pops on screen hit it then repeat that process over and over and over. to some it up good movie boring video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Asuras Wrath review

posted by Twizzle (ATWATER, CA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is okay, the action parts at least, but it feels more like I'm just watching dragon ball z or some darn cartoon, I have to keep skipping the movies to get to the action, but the action dont last long, a couple punches, wam bam, thank you maam, and then a 2 hour movie to watch, I made it through episode one, i think, but after that it's already in my mailbox on the way back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Looks great... doesn't play as well

posted by aced018 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok so there are a lot of really good things to say about Asura's Wrath. The characters look really cool and stylized, the music really sets the mood, and there are some epic fighting scenes. But thats where the awesomeness ends. Overall, the story was confusing and lacking. The gameplay itself was really limited. You couldn't travel through any stages like DMC, only take control when the game allowed you to. Even when you were allowed to play, you either mashed the hit button, fired a billion shots at targets, or waited to press the Y button. Not to mention, there was more talk than gameplay, the game paused in the middle of each level like an anime does for a commercial break, and there were unnecessary credits and the beginning and end of every level. Also, there were just too many "what the f" moments in the story and not in the good way. Overall, Asura's Wrath would have made a great anime series, not a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A little below average

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) May 21, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a little below average, it has a lot of very strong pieces that no one decided to put together at all. When I first saw this game I wanted to play it, I thought the characters were different and the story would be very strange(which I normally like) but when I played it I realized that everyone spent so much time trying to be different that they forgot one key component...GAME PLAY! The formula is simple, fight mindless drones until you can activate rage meter then get a cut scene symbolizing end of the fight, then go to boss and mindlessly wale on him until you can activate rage mode and do quick time events until you beat him. YAY rinse repeat and if that formula wasnt bad enough the levels are only 5 minutes long each and there are to be continued messages at the end of every one, then when you start the new level they show you a preview so you can watch the cut scenes twice in a row. All and all the characters were kinda cool and the visuals weren't bad, but with the game getting broken up every five minutes and you have seen everything the game will offer in the first fifteen I cannot recommend this game to anyone, Capcom has been known for doing something different and sometimes it just doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Weird

posted by norse (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just can't get into this game - it's too jerky in terms of storytelling. Graphics are so-so, art is pretty interesting, but the game feels more like a button-masher on rails with cut-scenes than I can stand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's just ok.

posted by Diskey4 (DECATUR, IL) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has an incredible amount of cut scenes and art (comic book interludes). I do not care much for that so I skipped through all of it and was able to complete the campaign in a few hours. Most of the game play is mini game style push button fighting, and a small amount of fighting. I prefer a hack and slash style so this was somewhat boring to me. I was able to rack up about half the achievements in one play through.

Gameplay- 3
Visual- 8
Achievments-5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

more watching than playing

posted by tibber (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While playing it seemed that i was watching cutscenes more than i was playing. This is game also has far to many QTEs in it than a game should have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It warms up to ya

posted by ZebisJeb (MISSOULA, MT) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first I was a hater, but by the end I was really surprised. The story itself has the same feel to me as one of my favorites which is the God of War series, just the lore and "Gods of Japan" history like lesson was worth the ride. I'd rent it again and/or eventually buy it for a cheaper price down the line just to come back to it. Not as bad as some have told me, and not exactly what I was expecting. That in itself makes it shine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Bouncer-revisited

posted by CapnSpank (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you like more movie than game that has you hit buttons on que, then this is the game for you. My taste in gaming takes a tad bit more skill. This game does epitomize why i have a gamefly account though, because it was definitely a rental and not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse