Rent Assassin's Creed for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.9

33129 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Think Zelda meets Hitman(w/a dash of sands o time)

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Dec 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

477 out of 558 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

So, if your reading this your either realy bored, or you have already read the reviews posted by the "top 10 360 reviewer"and decided they werent good enough. Since that is probably not the case, let me ease your bored little mind and tell you why this game is good. For one, lets take a look at who made it.....Ubisoft Montreal.They rock. Next lets take a look at the graphics......okay.well, no, not ok. its more than ok. these graphics are phenominal from start to finish. these graphics will take you mind like a psychotropic drug and make you chase the white pony into the city of god. you will be so immersed in the beautiful lighting and scenery that you will beleive that you ARE IN jerusalem.every stone, every tree, every fabric, looks just like it should. the only complaint i have with the graphics is that with how great everything else looks, the faces on the characters in-game look kinda hokey and fake(they coulda taken a note from half-life.)
now for the gameplay:sure, it has a "one-button combat system", but the combat is so cool looking that you wont even notice. Sure the gameplay may seem a little repetative, but the things you can do are so cool that YOU WONT EVEN NOTICE! and sure...the story may confuse/tick off alot of uptight religious types....but....THE ENTIRE EXPERIENCE OF THIS GAME IS SOO GOOD....wait for it.......YOU WONT EVEN FLIPPING NOTICE!!! this is esentially zelda for big kids, and it does for the 360 what zelda did for the gamecube. now go, rent this game, buy this game....just go do it now! quickly! GO CLIMB THE STEAPLES OF ACRE! THE BUILDINGS OF JERUSALEM! THE TOWERS OF DAMASCUS! GO KILL YOU OPPONENTS IN A STEALTHY MANNER, OR SCREW IT AND JUST WHIP OUT YOUR SWORD AND GO MIDEVIL ON THEIR ACES'! just please......when your done doing all of that....and realize i was right about this game....mark this review as "helpful" so that i too can have people other than those who are bored reading my reviews. NOW GO RENT ASSASSINS CREED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well made and fun.

posted by kongming (Lake Geneva, WI) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know i threw my controller a few times playing this game but i still gave it an 8. Ive never given a game a 10 but part 2 just might make the grade(we'll see).
Gameplay was fun. Combat was simple but enjoyable. Technically you can get all achievements in one playthrough wich is a big bonus for me because i'm a hunter but i don't have the patience to sit through games while i have to beat it on multiple difficulty settings. Of course i had to play through more than once anyways because i missed a cutscene somewhere and missed the "conversationalist" goal but it was even more fun the second time through wich is rare for me. I would have given it a 9 or possibly even 10 but for the repititious nature of the game. You basically bounce between 3 cities and your guild doing the same stuff every time but the storyline and gameplay itself makes up for it. Now i'm just waiting for part 2. Think i'll pull a lister and go into stasis until it does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game Kill Kill Kill

posted by Cooper1986 (CRANSTON, RI) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a really good game IF u know how to play it. Most of the people that didnt enjoy playin this game really didnt know how to play the combat aspect. But for the people that can master the combat in the game theres nutting funnier then rounding up about 30-50 guards and turnin the streets into your own private slaughter house. The story line is really good,the side missions are also fun. Hands down this is a must rent game if u love to just go around an kill people at will. Personily i loved everything about this game sence the first time i played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Masterpiece

posted by libra92310 (PHENIX CITY, AL) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has blown my mind. The story is fun and never boring.The missions take on a simple format. First, you must investigate what the target has been doing and then kill them. While the game is not very bloody, each kill makes you feel like an actual assassin.Graphics are astounding with only the ocasional glitch.Also, you know how every game that lets you ride horses controls suck? This games horse contols are perfect. This game is great and I cannot wait for the sequal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Medieval version of Hitman with awesome graphics

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Nov 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

204 out of 248 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed is a fun game if you like stalking your prey. The premise is that you are tasked with killing 9 select individuals, people of some import that are generally surrounded by guards. You need to gather information by skulking around, eavesdropping on conversations, picking people's pockets, "interrogating" people, etc. There's a minimum amount of info you need before you'll be able to take out your target, but you can get extra rewards for collecting all the information available. Then it's time to go in for the kill, which you can actually accomplish quickly, quietly, and unnoticed if you plan everything out properly. It's incredibly rewarding to stab someone's neck after tailing them for hours, and then get away completely unseen.

This game is going to have a lot of haters, though. The game looks fantastic, but some people are gonna dog on the controls because they don't want to take the time to get used to them. I admit that it's kinda puzzling and complex at first, but things start to make sense after an hour or so of game time, and you eventually get to the point where it feels normal.

It's kinda strange in a free-roaming sandbox game that there is no jump button. The way you control your character is kinda like just putting him in different modes by holding down certain buttons. There's regular/sneaky mode, run/jump mode, fighting mode, and climb mode. Like I said, at first it really makes you wonder why it had to be so complicated, but after running across rooftops and along wooden beams, you begin to understand how difficult (and not fun) it would have been to accurately time all of those jumps.

Assassin's Creed also has a twist to it, but I won't spoil it. Personally, I didn't like it, so be prepared for the big surprise to be kind of a letdown. There may be some people out there that think it's cool, but I think it was totally unnecessary and detracts from the (presumed) story. Overall, it was fun, and that's all that matters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!!

posted by Fishhobbyest (FALLBROOK, CA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No need to say anything but just that it is very boring game i have more fun witha pokemon game thats for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed Review

posted by KyleFer (HARRISBURG, NC) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

46 out of 55 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game alot, and getting every achievement for it was a blast. This games history was very accurate, and I really enjoyed the basics of an ARMY of assassins. Like the fact that the Assassins Bureau's are always located in the center of adjacent buildings, with no doors to get in, the only way in is to scale the buildings and jump down through the rooftop, so no civilians will even know its there. The storyline is a little sketchy, I highly doubt they will make a machine soon where you can relive genetic memories, however genetic memories could exist.

The game play is graphically amazing, and the animations are speechless, sword fighting in this game is on a level I have never seen before. I like the basic things other game designers overlook, like how when you are surrounded and the guards are afraid to strike yet, and you equip your hidden blade, he pulls his hand back so the blade will come out of its armband and then point it at the enemy, yet if you hold the right trigger to inapt a high profile action, he puts the blade behind his back but still has it out, hiding it from the foe He's facing, so when the foe strikes believing you are harmless, you can dodge the blow and put the blade in his head, and he had no idea what was coming.

However it is still an amazing experience being able to be Altier, an assassin who has mastered the art of free running, stealth, and killing, but not obedience. living in 1191 A.D. during the Third Crusade, video games are the time machines of the 21st century, and this game is an incredible experience. The fact that this ARMY of people DID exist in 1191 A.D. just makes it more believable.

My only complaint, that really drove me crazy, was the fact that Monks are called Scholars in this game, just because of the religious content. I highly doubt Assassins Creed would have been taken off the shelves for calling them Monks, this just makes it unrealistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassins Creed reaches high and catches the ledge

posted by My360Games (ALLEN, TX) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Assassins Creed is an amazing game with excellent graphics and game play, it falls short from a perfect 10 due to its lack of plot and a repetitive environment. For though of you who tire from a good but repetitive game assassins creed will have you bored and out of fun in no time at all. All though the setting changes and the difficulty and look of the enemy change you can still see the copy and paste fights that you encounter throughout the cities. The fighting is fun and there are new abilities to unlock after each city is completed but the game lacks any new and drastic differences as you progress through the game.
That's not to say that the repetitive missions and main objective aren't good. There's nothing wrong with using a good mission idea again, but some find it detracts from the game.
Ignoring the lack of verity in objectives the game is flawless in its both its intricacy and cinematography. There is nothing quite like running through ancient Jerusalem killing guards with throwing knifes and hidden daggers as you jump from roof top to roof top. The game has an excellent game interface that allows you to run like the wind, sore like an eagle, fight like a tiger, and strike like a snake.
All in all this game could have been perfect but is held back by its repetitive though interesting mission objectives, this is still not enough to destroy its amazingly addictive combination of realistic environment and intuitive controls. This game makes a great addition to the library of anyone who enjoys a good single player action adventure game. We can only hope the second and third Assassins Creeds will be just as good and have a more varied and intricate plot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

two words

posted by MIGGYD (LA HABRA, CA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

buy it.
pros
beautiful graphics. amazingly told story. very open-ended. action OR stealth, you choose. and its not like an rpg where your going through menus and junk like that. you play the game. see an enemy. stealth kill him so perfectly that even he wont know it, or run at him sword flailing.
cons
little awkward controls, but i picked it up fine in about five minutes. should be no problem.
action can be a little slow due to a not so aI.
still gets a 10 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fluidity of Bloodletting

posted by SpiteR (POCATELLO, ID) Nov 15, 2007

Member since May 2007

28 out of 35 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Before the release of AC it was announced that the controls would be based on body parts, with buttons correlating to your head, arms, and legs. While seeming like a complex way to function, the beginning of the game intuitively helps make the control of these functions become easily understandable without that usual "When will the training get over?" feeling.

Also before the release of the game, all focus was on the assassin-in-the-crowd part of the game with mostly only minor hints at the sci-fi aspects. The game does well to quickly involve you in those elements, submerging you into a second, overlying story. This duality of stories in the game proves to make it all the more intriguing right from the start.

The character models are flawless and really come to life. The sessions of dialog are of particular note, as you will see that even if you turn your character away from someone who is speaking to you, if you stand still a moment he will automatically turn to face that other person. And if you were to pace around during the conversation the other person will continue looking at you. This all combined with contextual body language between characters and impeccable voice acting makes the conversations astoundingly realistic.

Another item that I found especially impressive was the fluidity of Altaïr's body movements. There is not a single bit of jerkiness as he changes posture, attacks, jumps, or makes any other movement. Even when you stop running, rather than immediately changing pace as we have seen in games of the past he slows to a trot and canters down over a couple of seconds before fully slowing down to walking.

While none of these elements are the big aspects of a game, like having superior graphic quality, they make up a few of the finer details that make the difference between a great game and a game that has been refined into excellence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strong First Showing

posted by gameboy04 (WASECA, MN) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed has taken stealth gaming in a different direction. You don't have fancy gadgetry, or long range weaponry, you are left to your own devices. Especially early on. You have some cool weapons, but you have to know how to use them. Unlike in games like Splinter Cell where you can, if exposed, start opening fire, you have to dispatch all opponents in hand to hand combat. Swordplay is fun in this game, but can be glitchy at times. Watch out when you counter an attack or get hit once or twice, you will lock off of targets and stand waving the blade back and forth and not do anything. I really liked the story overall, but it did often get repetitive. Go here, climb 4 or 5 towers, pickpocket, interrogate, evesdrop or a combo of the three, kill some guards, and then talk to some nondescript self righteous, often rude bureau chief to get your orders. Then run across rooftops again watch a cutscene, kill a guy, and start all over again. They did a nice job breaking things up with the side story, but I feel they could have spent more time on it. All in all I think the game was fun and had plenty of thrills, but just needed some fine tuning. I can't wait for the next installment. Definitely a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The devil's in the details (no spoilers)

posted by Thirsty (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

47 out of 61 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I'll make this short. Three reasons why this much-hyped game is only average to me:

1. This game is at odds with itself. It's this huge, detailed, beautiful world but there isn't enough to do in it. There are ony a few investigation mechanics and they are painfully simplistic in execution. And, from what I understand, if I chose to finish this game I'd have to perform each one of them nearly 30 times without any real variation.

2. Sound is awful. The voice acting for Altair sucks. Badly. To me, this ruins the game. Especially since he talks a lot and there is no subtitle option. The atmospheric sounds of the city are lame too. All people ever say is "Why would he do that? ...He must be crazy!". Lame.

3. The pacing is poorly thought out. You don't ever spend enough time doing any one thing. You're doing assassinations, then you're watching cutscenes, then you're investigating the game's "other" portion. It just doesn't come together well. A game should set you up, then suck you in, then ramp up the difficulty a few notches every once in a while to keep you interested. I didn't get that from Assassin's creed.

I'm an adult, I don't have time to play wack games. If you're anything like me you only want to spend your money and time on the very best interactive gaming experiences. You want a great story, realistic sound, and gameplay that is engaging, challenging and creative. Creed can be fun at times but it's NOT one of those "top notch" type of games at all. Big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassins Creed DOWNFALL in game play

posted by SwableKing (BELLWOOD, IL) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

In Assassins Creed, the you play a character named Altair and in the game you go through many Missions for many hours. You will have to go through pickpocket after pickpocket, Eagle Viewpoint after Eagle Viewpoint. Get my point?, I think not. Assassins Creed does not suffer from story and player emersion, but repetition and a stupid guard alert system. I have heard that the story is extremely interesting full of twists and turns, but only if you can finish the 30 Hour repetition of game play. Good Luck with that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm going to go out on a limb here...

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) May 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

and say that after playing all AC titles this is my favorite. AC2 had alot more very interesting content and very cool protagonist in Ezio and new cities and even more so in AC:Brotherhood but both games were lacking in the difficulty department...I'm not saying that I didn't die on either games but the combat was toned down so much as to be too easy IMHO..and that's where this game shines..I remember a few scenes towards the end of the game where you are racing to confront King Richard and you are fighting down a path slicing through templar after templar and to be honest it was one of the more memorable sweaty-hand moments that I've had in gaming...parrying, dodging, running through many many enemies..I'll also never forget the first time I climbed up atop a church in Damascus to take in the 360 panoramic view thinking that was the first real idea of what the next-gen games had to offer...also I really dug the protagonist Al'Atair..mostly his naivity spoken through his cloaked visage and how that changed by the end of the game...mind you I also give the other 2 AC games a 9 each and all are definately worth playing..thanks for reading -peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Prettiest let-down ever made.

posted by epimedium (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) May 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Believe me, this game is gorgeous: Not only is it brilliantly rendered up-close, but it is chock full of breathtaking vistas that look nigh on photorealistic. The controls have a shallow learning curve, and once you get a handle on those it's a breeze dashing from point to point in about any way you want. The sound design is also magnificent, and everything from footfalls to idle chatter is amazingly well presented. Most of the AI is also uncannily realistic, certainly enough to make interacting with the world very believable.

...aaaand hat's about where the good stuff ends. The story is laughable, and the terrible writing is delivered by the stiffest bunch of voice actors since early Resident Evil titles, and the juvenile attempts at different accents are unforgivable.

On top of this, the gameplay is pretty dull after the first mission. Basically, you have to run around a city and do three or so random side missions to "gather information" on your main target. The side missions subsist of only these varieties:

1) Sitting on a bench and listening to someone.
2) Killing random "special guards" you can inexplicably pick out of a crowd
3) Gathering flags in a time limit
4) Grabbing belt pouches off of the most inattentive people in the known universe

Then you go kill someone and get a badly written/acted cutscene and always seem to end up feeling like a [donkey].

You also can save either a male or female person from being hounded by city guards, but they get unbearably irritating since they not only recycle voices, they give these NPCs the SAME EXACT LINES in DIFFERENT ACCENTS for each city. You get to hear the same spiel about a bajillion and a half times, but at least the terrible "generic middle eastern" or "generic english" accents sort of spice things up. Sort of.

All in all, I was astonished how downright boring such a well polished game got. Not only was it unnecessarily repetitive, each mission subtype was only fun the very first time. Such a crying shame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hungry For More... - Assassin's Creed

posted by Comatoes (THE DALLES, OR) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

All the basics of a great game are in place here. The gameplay is solid and the common complaints about guard AI and repetitiveness are put to rest if you play through the game at a leisurely pace; trying your best to play through each situation in the way you'd think you'd do it if you were the one in Altair's shoes.

To clarify, the worst thing you can do in this game is blow through the main storyline as fast as you can without noticing any of the game's rewarding subtleties planted everywhere in the game. The complaint about the repetitiveness of the game is derived from people who blew through the game quickly only doing the assassinations and most likely, beating the game in one day.

There's not much I can say about the story and how intricate it becomes without spoiling anything so i'll just say this; the unbelievable amount of research that went into this game by the developers is astounding. I will also say that this is the first game in a trilogy that is sure to satisfy, by the time the last game is released. When I finished Assassin's Creed and I did some research into all the... "findings" that I encountered throughout the game and I was left hungry for more.

I was expecting a basic stealth-action game about an assassin and I knew there was a futuristic twist about the whole thing but I never expected to encounter the depth the storyline went to. Of course, this being a single player game, one should expect to have a strong storyline to back up the gameplay since that is one of the biggest reasons I play single player games.

Overall, this is a satisfying stealth-action game that was definitely worth the wait and I can't wait for the next games to come out so I can continue the deep storyline i've stumbled upon.

Gameplay = 8 - there's room for improvement but I expect it to be perfect in the coming sequels.
Storyline = 9 - This is a perfect first chapter for a new series.
Graphics = 10 - this why we have next-gen systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassinate my Free Time

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

47 out of 65 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed, to put it simply, is freakin' sweet. It basically goes like this: You are given a target to kill. You have to go to that city and do little missions to gather intel on the target. Once you get enough, you can go after the guy. You can gather more than you need, giving you a whole picture of the target and extra info about good ways to get in and out of the area for the kill. There are four cities and the huge "kingdom" area that connects them all. 3 of the cities are divided into districts and each "mark" takes place almost entirely in each district, which is a bit of a disappointment. These cities are gorgeous and pretty large, but you'll only be dealing with them in thirds.

Combat is incredibly fun if you get into it, but I can see it becoming a bit boring for some. It starts off pretty straightforward and even when you get more skills, you'll still be using your starter ones for the most part. The animation is what really makes combat great. It's really only one button, but the things you can do to people with that one button are brutally fantastic!

All in all, I'd say it's a pretty fun game. The story is fairly solid with a few predictable twists and turns that keep things interesting, but nothing that will really shock and amaze anyone. The info gathering missions can become a bit tedious, but you don't have to do them all if you don't want to. Combat is incredibly fun, as I've previously stated. Between the acrobatics and the combat, you'll really feel like an amazing super assassinating machine in no time. Some might find the controls too simplified, but I like the fact that I can across a series of lamp posts by just holding RT and A. I like the fact that I only really have to worry about RT, X, and A when I fight. There is no difficulty setting that I've been able to find, but it seems to fit into a good comfortable spot with me, as it probably will with most. I strongly recommend to everyone to have this on your GameQ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by Marcus163 (BRONX, NY) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. Even when you are done with it, you continue to play it for the fun of it. I enjoyed it very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed

posted by Altair123 (DANVILLE, KY) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Assassins creed is personally the best game i have ever played. Alot of people say its to reptitive and you do the same thing over and over. Well thats not true at all, each assassination target is diffrent and either easier or more diffucult then the last,also for players that have beaten the game theres free roming and save the cititzen challenges. Theres more than that to,like collecting all the flags for each city,doing all the waypoints,which rewards you with a varitie of acheviments. The only repetitive and bad thing about Assassins creed is the combo kill,theres like literly 6 diffrent combo kills and its annoying seeing the same one all the time. Hopefully they will change this in Assassins Creed 2,ive seen game walk throughs on youtube and it looks as if thats one of the new features,more combo kills. All in all i think Assassins creed is 99.9% perfect and i cant wait for the second.

Altair~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassin, you say?

posted by Settwi (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is great. I wish there was a keep it price, but oh well. I like the fact that if there is no one around you can just walk up to a soldier or something and shove your hidden blade in their back... I recommend this game to anyone who likes third person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful, but repetitive gameplay

posted by illusion96 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is easily the most beautiful game I've played on the Xbox 360. The graphics are the best I've seen so far. The environments are great to look at and your character's movements are very natural and smooth.

Unfortunately, the game suffers from repetive game play. Your job is to assasinate 9 targets. Unfortunately, the joy of killing them wears thin after the 3rd or 4th assassination. The problem is that you have to gather intelligence prior to each assassination. These pre-missions involve grabbing flags, eavesdropping, pick pocketing, beating a confession out of someone, or timed assassinations. And that's it. 5 mission varieties repeated over and over again.

The story is fairly good and it's supposed to be a trilogy. Hopefully, the future games are as beautiful, but with improved gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prince of persia on ice

posted by Deadml221 (MEADOWLAKES, TX) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I began to lose faith in ubisoft, famous for Tom Clancy Splinter Cell and the PoP games. Only recently have they been developing licensed games. But they have mixed the best elements of there best games and added a free world setting to create possibly the greatest game yet!

Assassins creed is what it's name suggests you play as the bad #$& and very ,very, unlikely hero named altiar{ which means the flyer in Arabic } You are almost forced to hunt down 9 very important people that govern or general the 3rd crusade doing this in hope will end the war and create peace. a few lives for a million. Who would of thought murderers could be peace makers go figure. any way the detail is spectacular i had fun just watching citizens react to altiar when he kills a guard and they scatter and trample each other like real shock driven idiots. overall I will never doubt ubisoft again ,unless they make another sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Assassin's Creed Review by Rasy2kG

posted by Rasy2kG (CHULA VISTA, CA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me get this out of the way first: Assassin's Creed is a beautiful game to look at from afar. The visuals are impressive, and the animation is particularly slick and fluid, especially when you're in the middle of free running segments or bouncing over rooftops. Similarly, if you understand swordplay, you'll recognize the flowing nature of parrying and attacks that makes combat rather enjoyable (even if you have to relearn simple things like countering strikes all over again). However, when you get closer and you see the constant amount of pop-in of items and NPCs, repeated render passes, textures that tear and other visual issues, you can't help but feel like some bugs weren't fully eliminated. Perhaps this is because solving elements like the repetitious gameplay elements for assassinations or the buggy visuals were somewhat lost in favor of the bigger picture, which was the set up for an obvious sequel. The future context comes across more as an interruption than a device to help push the plot forward, and its clunky segments, coupled with its abrupt and disappointing ending will probably have fans throwing controllers at screens after they've invested dozens of hours exploring the secrets of Acre, Damascus and Jerusalem. Had the game kept its focus squarely within the time period of the Crusades and only at the end explained its Matrix-like attachments to the real world, the supposed cliff hanger would have been much better. As it stands now, Assassin's Creed is one of those titles that was big on promise, but short in some ways on its overall execution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Slow, Boring, Repetitive

posted by DaMan1 (MABLETON, GA) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

21 out of 33 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Tree words describe it, Slow, Boring, Repetitive!
With all the hype of this game I expected soooo much more!!!! The concept was nice, they just fell wayyyy short of the goal line on this one.
You basically do the same thing in each mission. And the going back and forth to the different cites is getting REAL old!
DO NOT BUY! Rent this game only!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Probably one of the Greatest Games of ALL TIME!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

46 out of 75 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting for Assassins Creed since the first trailer,and the time has finally come. The task may have seemed impossible to build such a great looking, open-ended stealth game! But, assassins creed delivers all of that and more! The story is pretty engadging and i wont reveal the secret behind it for people that dont want it to be spoiled but the storyline delivers a very immense action-stealth-adventure game. All cinematics are done in real-time so you can even walk while your watching a cinematic, similar to CoD4. But what really sets this game apart from ANY game in the history of Video games, is the freedom to do thinks how you want, when you want, and in the order you want. It really lives up to the free-roaming aspects that Jade Raymond and the developers have been talking about. The best part about the game is getting to climb buildings, run-up walls and jump form 5 story buildings into a stack of hay. Its like the platforming of Prince of Persia, times 500,000! because you dont follow a certain path o get up somthing, there are several ways to usually get up a building but YOU can go how you want and the way YOU think looks best. And its all very easy and looks VERY very fluid and realistic.On that note, Assassins Creed has got to be THE best looking game since bioshock or Gears of War! Every city, person, object, building etc. looks so detailed and realistic that you will forget its a game. Maybe the only game that looks better than this is Killzone 2 but thats not even out yet! The combat is awsome too. Im only liek 7 or 8 hours into the game and already it seems liek there are tons of moves and counter attacks that all look brutal and stylish. Assassinating people looks sweet too! The controls are also easy to pick up and play and very fluid. my only complaint is that some of the side missions get a bit repetetive, but their still really fun!
GAMEPLAY:10/10
GRAPHICS:10/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS:9.9/10
STORY:9.3/10
OVERALL:11/10, BUY THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse